127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

~House of Poodles~, Post and talk all about poodles here :)

Syrian
post Dec 29 2006, 11:49 AM

2,761 posts

Hello all, I'm planning to get a poodle in June 2007. But before that, I wanna know more information on poodle. What should I get ready before I buy the poodle? And how much does it cost for grooming and how often?
napnap
post Dec 30 2006, 05:12 AM

Validating
168 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Dec 27 2006, 05:48 PM)
i have a poodle as well
his name is xiao mao, 5 mths old.

[attachmentid=171629]
[attachmentid=171631]
Wow.. SO cute. Looks like the soft toy teddy bear like tat. Cheers to u rclxms.gif
magnumao
post Dec 30 2006, 03:14 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(napnap @ Dec 30 2006, 05:12 AM)
Wow.. SO cute. Looks like the soft toy teddy bear like tat. Cheers to u  rclxms.gif
now grow up a lot liao.
last time when he just came about 2 mths old, looks more like soft toy biggrin.gif

btw poodle is really great companion, and good to keep in apartment.
Xiaomao brought so much fun to our family.

magnumao
post Dec 30 2006, 03:29 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 29 2006, 11:49 AM)
Hello all, I'm planning to get a poodle in June 2007.  But before that, I wanna know more information on poodle.  What should I get ready before I buy the poodle?  And how much does it cost for grooming and how often?
nothing to worry
my family has never kept a dog before for the past 20+ years, but xiaomao poodle fit into our life well & fast.

for the grooming part, u can learn to do it yourself (for those simple one, like nail cutting etc). Even do it at pet shop also wont cost you much, if you dont do it very often.
Syrian
post Dec 30 2006, 08:21 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Dec 30 2006, 03:14 PM)
now grow up a lot liao.
last time when he just came about 2 mths old, looks more like soft toy biggrin.gif

btw poodle is really great companion, and good to keep in apartment.
Xiaomao brought so much fun to our family.

Whao .. are all those 4 doggies poodles?? Super cute wub.gif. How to toilet train poodle to pee poo on newspapers??
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 3 2007, 10:53 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Dec 27 2006, 05:48 PM)
i have a poodle as well
his name is xiao mao, 5 mths old.

[attachmentid=171629]
[attachmentid=171631]
Hello...
Xiao Mao is a great looking male... u keep other poodles besides him?... so many other poodle frens... wink.gif
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 3 2007, 11:01 PM

150 posts

Syrian, smile.gif

preparing to bring home a puppy is a huge thing... I like to think of it as welcoming home a baby... so all the basic essentials like sleeping place & some toys are called for... prepare urself especially emotionally & physically for some tough puppy parenting & training especially the toilet traning part... as cute as our poodle darlings are, they still need to be toilet trained... poodles can get very attached to u if there are not many family members around so be prepared for some real manja-ing... kekeke smile.gif ...
I groom my poodle myself... outside it can range anywhere between rm60 to rm100 depending on where u send to... u'll probably need to send for proper grooming every 3 months the most... anything longer than that u'll have a real scary dog to handle... tongue.gif If u dun really have much time for grooming, i suggest u keep the coat short for easy maintainace...
one more advice, choose & pick carefully before u buy... try to avoid pet shops & puppy millers... it's heart breaking to hear frens bringing home puppies & loosing them after few weeks...
good luck...
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 3 2007, 11:04 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 30 2006, 08:21 PM)
Whao .. are all those 4 doggies poodles?? Super cute wub.gif.  How to toilet train poodle to pee poo on newspapers??
I toilet trained my Ladee on newspaper in one day... the secret is consitantcy which mean u gotta be there the whole time to take ur pup to the the paper toilet... they usually need to pee after nap & after makan... poo is usually after makan... somehow my Ladee has this face she shows when she need to go & she'll come & show her 'toilet face'... but some dogs takes longer so dun be discourage if ur future poodle dun pick it up in a day... wink.gif
Pucca
post Jan 3 2007, 11:47 PM

320 posts

i also have a too poodle but i can't attach picture.

This post has been edited by Pucca: Jan 3 2007, 11:48 PM
Syrian
post Jan 4 2007, 02:32 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 11:01 PM)
Syrian,  smile.gif

preparing to bring home a puppy is a huge thing... I like to think of it as welcoming home a baby... so all the basic essentials like sleeping place & some toys are called for... prepare urself especially emotionally & physically for some tough puppy parenting & training especially the toilet traning part... as cute as our poodle darlings are, they still need to be toilet trained... poodles can get very attached to u if there are not many family members around so be prepared for some real manja-ing... kekeke  smile.gif ...
I groom my poodle myself... outside it can range anywhere between rm60 to rm100 depending on where u send to... u'll probably need to send for proper grooming every 3 months the most... anything longer than that u'll have a real scary dog to handle...  tongue.gif If u dun really have much time for grooming, i suggest u keep the coat short for easy maintainace...
one more advice, choose & pick carefully before u buy... try to avoid pet shops & puppy millers... it's heart breaking to hear frens bringing home puppies & loosing them after few weeks...
good luck...
QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 11:04 PM)
I toilet trained my Ladee on newspaper in one day... the secret is consitantcy which mean u gotta be there the whole time to take ur pup to the the paper toilet... they usually need to pee after nap & after makan... poo is usually after makan... somehow my Ladee has this face she shows when she need to go & she'll come & show her 'toilet face'... but some dogs takes longer so dun be discourage if ur future poodle dun pick it up in a day...  wink.gif
Heya, thanks for the advices!!! Great advices!! Help me a lot in taking care of a poodle. Don't worry - I plan to keep his fur as short as possible. I don't like long fur either - Messy and get all tangled up.

I don't plan to train him to pee poo on newspaper. Plan to get a container of toyogo box size but lower height. Then get some kinda plastic basket that have holes like siever and diy myself and put on top of the container - wanna make it like a "real" toilet. Fill in a low level of water in the container. And carry the poodle to make him sit on top of the "siever-like basket" everytime after he makan and nap. Make him know that is his "toilet" and he shud go thr when he wanna pee poo. Is it possible to train him in this way??

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 4 2007, 02:34 AM
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 4 2007, 04:25 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 4 2007, 02:32 AM)
Heya, thanks for the advices!!! Great advices!!  Help me a lot in taking care of a poodle.  Don't worry - I plan to keep his fur as short as possible.  I don't like long fur either - Messy and get all tangled up.

I don't plan to train him to pee poo on newspaper.  Plan to get a container of toyogo box size but lower height.  Then get some kinda plastic basket that have holes like siever and diy myself and put on top of the container - wanna make it like a "real" toilet.  Fill in a low level of water in the container.  And carry the poodle to make him sit on top of the "siever-like basket" everytime after he makan and nap.  Make him know that is his "toilet" and he shud go thr when he wanna pee poo. Is it possible to train him in this way??
Wonderful plan... just gotta be more thoughtful bout the height & size of the toilet... if u ask me, with poodle, anything is possible... they are bty the secondmost smartest breed... wink.gif

have u located a breeder?... any preference in colour?...
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 4 2007, 04:36 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Pucca @ Jan 3 2007, 11:47 PM)
i also have a too poodle but i can't attach picture.
how old?... colour?... male / female?... smile.gif
Syrian
post Jan 4 2007, 05:05 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 4 2007, 04:25 PM)
Wonderful plan... just gotta be more thoughtful bout the height & size of the toilet... if u ask me, with poodle, anything is possible... they are bty the secondmost smartest breed...  wink.gif

have u located a breeder?... any preference in colour?...
Not really with location of breeder but have been checking the price range from lowyat - those few ppl who sells dogs. As for colour - either white, brown or cream biggrin.gif. Gender still not decided yet but most probably a female. Wud kinda food do u give to ur poodle? And do I need a cage or can jz tie it with collar and leash when i zzzz at nite?

magnumao
post Jan 4 2007, 11:28 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 30 2006, 08:21 PM)
Whao .. are all those 4 doggies poodles?? Super cute wub.gif.  How to toilet train poodle to pee poo on newspapers??
yup all poodles, the other 3 belongs to another owner. nv seen them since then..... cry.gif
it took xiaomao ard 2-3 weeks to understand the toilet training. not very difficult, but need patience.
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 4 2007, 11:30 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 4 2007, 05:05 PM)
Not really with location of breeder but have been checking the price range from lowyat - those few ppl who sells dogs.  As for colour - either white, brown or cream biggrin.gif. Gender still not decided yet but most probably a female. Wud kinda food do u give to ur poodle?  And do I need a cage or can jz tie it with collar and leash when i zzzz at nite?
I feed Nutro Choice Lamb & rice formula to my Ladee coz she has sensitive skin & I think she is allergic to chicken flavoured food as few times I bought for her, she developed red spots & got itchy all over... poodles can become very choosy eaters as soon as they learn that when they dun eat u start to provide variety, so try to resist & dun give in... I made that mistake with Ladee... tongue.gif

I m against all form of caging or chainning up dogs so pls forgive me if I sound 'rude'... if u are worried that ur puppy may roam & dirty all over the house, u may like to get a play pan instead... it's sort of act like a cage but more spacious & its durable with out a top... put a bed in there so ur puppy knows it's where he/she shud sleep, eventually they wud find a comfy sleeping spot & as they grow older, messing wud not be a problem... one piece is about 2" & u can get like 6 pieces to make a nice enclosure... in there u cud also include the toilet tray but dun place it too near the bed...

I gave Ladee soft toys like the beanies type for her to chew & play wif since day one I got her back & she never chewed on any of my household things...
magnumao
post Jan 4 2007, 11:36 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 10:53 PM)
Hello...
Xiao Mao is a great looking male... u keep other poodles besides him?... so many other poodle frens...  wink.gif
Not mine, the other 3 belong to another owner. This place is a dog park located in JB. A good place for dogs and their owners to hang out.

The one at the left is "Toh Dao", right is Roger.
This weekend Xiao Mao will join them to a swimming trip thumbup.gif

magnumao
post Jan 4 2007, 11:42 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 4 2007, 02:32 AM)
Heya, thanks for the advices!!! Great advices!!  Help me a lot in taking care of a poodle.  Don't worry - I plan to keep his fur as short as possible.  I don't like long fur either - Messy and get all tangled up.

I don't plan to train him to pee poo on newspaper.  Plan to get a container of toyogo box size but lower height.  Then get some kinda plastic basket that have holes like siever and diy myself and put on top of the container - wanna make it like a "real" toilet.  Fill in a low level of water in the container.  And carry the poodle to make him sit on top of the "siever-like basket" everytime after he makan and nap.  Make him know that is his "toilet" and he shud go thr when he wanna pee poo. Is it possible to train him in this way??
My dog dun have fur problem also, so dun think need to worry that. Vet has told me that food wont cause fur problem, u want to feed them "char siew" also can rclxub.gif
Xiao Mao now pee poo in his cage, his cage become his toilet and he roam freely inside the house. he sleeps in living room.
magnumao
post Jan 4 2007, 11:49 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 11:01 PM)
Syrian,  smile.gif

preparing to bring home a puppy is a huge thing... I like to think of it as welcoming home a baby... so all the basic essentials like sleeping place & some toys are called for... prepare urself especially emotionally & physically for some tough puppy parenting & training especially the toilet traning part... as cute as our poodle darlings are, they still need to be toilet trained... poodles can get very attached to u if there are not many family members around so be prepared for some real manja-ing... kekeke  smile.gif ...
I groom my poodle myself... outside it can range anywhere between rm60 to rm100 depending on where u send to... u'll probably need to send for proper grooming every 3 months the most... anything longer than that u'll have a real scary dog to handle...  tongue.gif If u dun really have much time for grooming, i suggest u keep the coat short for easy maintainace...
good luck...
so far we have only spent RM10 on grooming etc. that RM10 is to pluck the hair grow in inner ears. becoz it's painful to the dog that is why we dont want to do it ourselves.
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 5 2007, 12:00 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 4 2007, 11:49 PM)
so far we have only spent RM10 on grooming etc. that RM10 is to pluck the hair grow in inner ears. becoz it's painful to the dog that is why we dont want to do it ourselves.
what about the body?... how do u manage?... how old is ur poodle now?...
I DIY everything coz here in KL can be expensive I am terribly worried about my Ladee getting infection... once a fren sent her 2 dogs for grooming & they came back with skin problems... when they send to vet, vet said maybe the grooming equipments not disinfected properly... ohmy.gif

I pulg her ear hair once every 2 weeks & trim her coat every 1.5 months... got a pet grooming clipper specially for her... tongue.gif
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 12:26 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 4 2007, 11:30 PM)
I feed Nutro Choice Lamb & rice formula to my Ladee coz she has sensitive skin & I think she is allergic to chicken flavoured food as few times I bought for her, she developed red spots & got itchy all over... poodles can become very choosy eaters as soon as they learn that when they dun eat u start to provide variety, so try to resist & dun give in... I made that mistake with Ladee...  tongue.gif

I m against all form of caging or chainning up dogs so pls forgive me if I sound 'rude'... if u are worried that ur puppy may roam & dirty all over the house, u may like to get a play pan instead... it's sort of act like a cage but more spacious & its durable with out a top... put a bed in there so ur puppy knows it's where he/she shud sleep, eventually they wud find a comfy sleeping spot & as they grow older, messing wud not be a problem... one piece is about 2" & u can get like 6 pieces to make a nice enclosure... in there u cud also include the toilet tray but dun place it too near the bed...

I gave Ladee soft toys like the beanies type for her to chew & play wif since day one I got her back & she never chewed on any of my household things...
Ic. I know what is play pen. I don't plan to lock her up either. Jz thought of getting a basket and put some cushion pad and towel in there for her to sleep in (her sleeping bed). THought of leashing her up jz for the first few days/weeks to make sure she's toilet-trained first so that she don't pee poo on my bed when not supervised. I sleep on da floor whistling.gif. When she's fully toilet-trained, then I won't leash her anymore lor - jz let her roam freely biggrin.gif. I don't like to tie up a dog or cat - look kinda inhuman to me tongue.gif. So, that means I don't need to get a cage for her then. thumbup.gif.

Is Eukanuba or Science Plan or Nutriedge good ??

Between, what is crate training?? I kept saying ppl saying they crate train their shihtzu.

To Sc@ryM@ry,
In my thread, u mentioned something about getting the cert. So, u mean getting a poodle with MKA is important to prevent myself from getting cheated by the seller? I also don't really know how to differentiate. If the breeder tells me that's a toy, I'd also assume it's a toy sweat.gif. No experience in buying doggie.

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 5 2007, 12:30 AM

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:55 PM