~House of Poodles~, Post and talk all about poodles here :)

sampan1027
post Dec 26 2006, 02:10 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(napnap @ Dec 24 2006, 09:45 PM)
Really? Thanks for yr advice. Was considering to rare a poodle cos not so much dropping of fur. Comb regularly means? how regular? everyday?  rclxub.gif
Actually .. poodle no need to comb everyday one ler ... once a week enough already .. which means after shower lor smile.gif but make sure before shower, ur poodles dun have any tangles if not the tangles will be worse rclxub.gif
Check whether the ketiak there got tangles or not .. the neck there .. the stomach there .. alaaahh everywhere laa then can already lorrr thumbup.gif
sampan1027
post Jan 5 2007, 10:07 PM

138 posts

plucking the fur in the ear won't be so painful one .. once your poodle get used to it, it won't struggle anymore .. juz stay there and let u do your thing. But have to make sure don't kena the skin/meat of the ear. Once terkena, MAYBE your poodle wont let you do it anymore in the future coz no sense of security already.
sampan1027
post Jan 5 2007, 10:28 PM

138 posts

Yalor .. Every dog food is good(i'm not talking about those very commercialised ones) but it won't be good unless your dog loves it and is suitable for it. So i suggest right you can go to any pet shop and ask for food samples to try at home first. To see whether they are suitable to what brand and which flavour of food.
sampan1027
post Jan 6 2007, 10:39 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM)
List of questions to ask:

1. If after meals, i wait for 30 minutes, then I take the poodle to his "toilet".  Do I make him squat down there or what??  And how do I know if he wanna poop or not??

2. Do I always leave her water bowl there?? Or give her water after meals, then remove it?

3. After bathing, need to blow dry?

4. Which gender is more recommended?? Female or male?

5. Besides those "pelleted" food, what else should I buy for him?? Eg Nylone bone, etc .. wud are the stuffs to get her??

I'll post some more questions when I've thought about them .
1. U dont really need to wait for 30 mins.. juz look at what your dog is doing all the time(after meal). When they wanna she-she or poo-poo that time, they will always sniff around and when they found the right spot, they will turn in sniff+turning in circles. Upon seeing this, quickly transfer your puppy to the 'toilet'. Repeat this all the time, everyday after meal until your puppy gets the message.

2. Dogs, like human also need alot of fresh water everday. I personally dont provide water in bowls but i use the bottle (eheh i dunno what it's called but u can find it easily in pet shops) so u just put that somewhere so that your dog can have water all the time.

3. It is best to blow dry after bathing so that can prevent your dog from catching a cold and also your dog can be as clean as possible. When they are wet, if they lie down on the floor, their coat will easily stick with the dirtiness and germs on the floor. So their body will have the smelly odour very fast. Besides that, blowing dry will also make your dog's coat condition better just like human hair icon_rolleyes.gif

4. Female is more easily trained. Male however , because of their natural instincts, they will tend to pee around to mark their territory. 1 male is okay .. but with other dogs coming to your place for visit, they will tend to pee around to mark territory.

5. You can buy any snacks u want for your dog. When they are still puppy, buy those snacks which they can bite very long and will help them clean their teeth and also prevent them from biting your belongings and furniture biggrin.gif
sampan1027
post Jan 7 2007, 10:21 AM

138 posts

There is this absorbent pad esp. for dogs sold in pet shops. It is quite expensive though.. if i'm not mistaken it's around RM20 for .. dunno how many pieces rclxub.gif

They absorb pee well and wont stink the house also thumbup.gif

So u can train your puppy to pee on the pad too biggrin.gif
sampan1027
post Aug 17 2007, 07:49 PM

138 posts

I think ur puppy dun have sense of security a ... tats y ur puppy treat the table like shed like tat.. to protect itself.. Try giving him/her lots of confidence
sampan1027
post Jan 1 2008, 03:56 PM

138 posts

maltese mix with poodle shud be ok la i think .. the look wont be weird or anything ..
what's the parent's color?

0.0418sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:51 AM