366 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

kuluuluk
post Aug 2 2016, 10:35 AM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

Hey guys, lately I've tried Bali Kintamani beans and love it....

Anyone else tried this?
ymeng85
post Aug 2 2016, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jul 31 2016, 12:32 AM)
Taobao or tmall? Seller info to share?
Nah, I had personal service of a friend to buy locally and bring back for me
Not sure where he got it from
ymeng85
post Aug 2 2016, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 31 2016, 08:52 PM)
Good find. I also realized that Cloud Catcher sells green coffee beans although not as cheap and at much bigger quantities (5kg)

https://shop.cloudcatcher.asia/collections/green-coffee
CloudCatcher beans are good quality and bagged very well. Recommended

doppatroll
post Aug 3 2016, 09:13 AM

1,123 posts

Those green beans, What you used to cook with.... popcorn roaster ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Aug 3 2016, 09:14 AM
d33pbluez
post Aug 3 2016, 09:15 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Aug 3 2016, 10:13 AM)
Those green beans, What you used to cook with.... popcorn roaster ?  hmm.gif
Yes, Pop corn roaster.

Some update guys:

Finally, I was able to gauge my pressure on the group head

Initial reading after install OPV kit

Second reading after some adjustment....Almost there

Third reading after more adjustment.....dang i over kill it ....10 bar

Finally. It is there... went all the way to 8 bar then meter start slows down then it creep into 9 bar and stays there....

Run another 5 times, get consistent reading of 9bar. So i pretty much done with machine except for some mysterious minor hissing sound that i yet to solve.

When i get money i might add in permanent gauge onto the machine instead of using portafilter one....
ycs
post Aug 3 2016, 09:15 AM

4,220 posts

nice, does the coffee taste better now?
d33pbluez
post Aug 3 2016, 09:34 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 3 2016, 10:15 AM)

nice, does the coffee taste better now?
Still haven't go live with coffee yet. Kindly of busy this few week. I try out and let you know biggrin.gif
Castreal
post Aug 3 2016, 12:24 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 2 2016, 01:39 PM)
CloudCatcher beans are good quality and bagged very well. Recommended
I'm a latte guy. So i stumbled upon the Rubix Blend by Cloud Catcher, according to the roaster's notes:

Harmonious balance is they key to exceptional coffee, though when you add milk to a well balanced espresso the harmony is completely drowned out by the milk! To solved this puzzle, we roast Rubix differently than we roast our espresso’s. Then just like solving the Rubik’s Cube puzzle, we are able to solve the puzzle of achieving delicious harmony in our milk based coffee’s

Somehow I feel the blend lacks a punch, as in the espresso seems to have been diluted/drowned in all the milk, perhaps that's what they mean by "harmony", though it claims it has solved the puzzle.

Havent tried their other blends though.
luvox
post Aug 3 2016, 12:28 PM

626 posts

To start to roast bean, between popcorn machine & ceramic roaster which one is better? Or other better economic option less than 3k?Attached Image Attached Image
lowkl
post Aug 3 2016, 12:34 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 3 2016, 12:28 PM)
To start to roast bean, between popcorn machine & ceramic roaster which one is better? Or other better economic option less than 3k?Attached Image Attached Image
Most of home roasters start of with a different popcorn popper than the one pictured; using hot air.

More like this: user posted image

You can get made-in-China versions easily on online stores for under RM100; usually around RM80.

The ceramic one looks interesting, but just too difficult to do consistent roasts, unless you are a real expert. The other issue being the small quantity; I think I would be roasting two batches a DAY to meet my consumption!

Other home roasting techniques include:
- a Whirley Pop popcorn maker, which is very similar to your pictured popcorn maker, but manually driven and meant for the stove top.
- using a heat gun (china-made, less than RM150), with either a metal bowl or even better with a bread machine for automatic agitation (fondly known online as a Coretto setup)
- an oven, ideally with a peanut/coffee roasting cage attached to the rotisserie
- a wok, but everyone says this is tough (haven't personally tried it though)

Of course most of the above can also be modded to improve the roast/roasting process, eg. by adding thermometers/thermocouples, controllers/dimmers to adjust the heat or fan levels, motors to automate moving the beans around, etc.

At RM3K you can look at very "serious" dedicated home roasters, such as the Gene Cafe. Personally if I start to get to that level of interest, I would explore a Kaldi.

This post has been edited by lowkl: Aug 3 2016, 12:47 PM
Dan430
post Aug 3 2016, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Aug 3 2016, 12:24 PM)
I'm a latte guy. So i stumbled upon the Rubix Blend by Cloud Catcher, according to the roaster's notes:

Harmonious balance is they key to exceptional coffee, though when you add milk to a well balanced espresso the harmony is completely drowned out by the milk! To solved this puzzle, we roast Rubix differently than we roast our espresso’s. Then just like solving the Rubik’s Cube puzzle, we are able to solve the puzzle of achieving delicious harmony in our milk based coffee’s

Somehow I feel the blend lacks a punch, as in the espresso seems to have been diluted/drowned in all the milk, perhaps that's what they mean by "harmony", though it claims it has solved the puzzle.

Right now I'm drinking rubix too. yeah its kinda like solving the puzzle with this blend. which makes it exciting. rclxm9.gif

what is your recipe when you say diluted/drowned?

but i have to agree latte with this is not so "nice" IMHO.

here is my recipe i drink it 3 ways. Espresso, cortado (1:1 Ratio), gibraltar (1:2 Ratio).

20 Gram of coffee to 39-40 ml espresso for 25-30 sec

Try the cortado (my Fav). use 2 espresso cup (70ml) on your double spout extract 39-40ml which means approx. 20ml in each, 1st cup (cortado) pour in 20ml of hot milk and the other cup pour in 40ml of hot milk which makes the gibraltar. try both cup and make your choice. drool.gif

There are more ways to coffee than just cafe latte. and if you are using specialty coffee its best to use less milk to enjoy it.

Cheers!!

ymeng85
post Aug 4 2016, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Aug 3 2016, 12:24 PM)

I was referring to their Green Beans rather smile.gif . Never tried their roasted ones before
DtG4207
post Aug 4 2016, 07:44 PM

20 posts

Hi guys, I'm currently doing a master's research on coffee outlets in Malaysia and I stumbled upon this forum. As coffee lovers, I think your input would really be able to help me out with my study. If you have the time, can you please answer my survey below? It only takes 2 minutes. Thank you very much!

https://goo.gl/forms/aazaNZhdOg40qHtk2
SonnyCooL
post Aug 6 2016, 11:47 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

guy looking for another coffee machine for my new office, any recommendation ?
I ain't expert just normal user but not nespresso type.

Currently own two Poemie for home n office but needed third machine for new office.

any suggestion ?
Prices range 1k-2k ...
d33pbluez
post Aug 8 2016, 09:22 AM

559 posts

Update:

Many had been wondering, that i only show a complete mod of everything about oscar machine, So what happen to coffee brewing process of the machine. Well here it is finally, Yes spout is modded as well and i like this modded spout, look more professional brows.gif (Forgive me on the mickey mouse cup rclxm9.gif ) :

First sign of life of the coffee flow after the mod.

Second, After the black life came evolution of dark chocolate crema.

Third, Before it ended with light brown crema.

Final product of the coffee brewing.Beautiful brown crema ontop of the black sea of life.

Looks on the after brewing on the coffee ground. All clean and compact as it should have.

Well, About the taste..... it is damn bitter (I'm using full medium city beans, and i tested on the shop before i bought it...it suppose to taste like kopi o lightness with some espresso feel), possible over extraction. Must be due to i retain my previous Rancilio silvia fine grind setting . go to loosen up abit of my grind setting since oscar is bit more forgiving then rancilio silvia in brewing.

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Aug 8 2016, 09:24 AM
kuluuluk
post Aug 8 2016, 03:20 PM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Aug 8 2016, 09:22 AM)
Update:

Many had been wondering, that i only show a complete mod of everything about oscar machine, So what happen to coffee brewing process of the machine. Well here it is finally, Yes spout is modded as well and i like this modded spout, look more professional brows.gif (Forgive me on the mickey mouse cup  rclxm9.gif ) :

First sign of life of the coffee flow after the mod.

Second, After the black life came evolution of dark chocolate crema.

Third, Before it ended with light brown crema.

Final product of the coffee brewing.Beautiful brown crema ontop of the black sea of life.

Looks on the after brewing on the coffee ground. All clean and compact as it should have.

Well, About the taste..... it is damn bitter (I'm using full medium city beans, and i tested on the shop before i bought it...it suppose to taste like kopi o lightness with some espresso feel), possible over extraction. Must be due to i retain my previous Rancilio silvia fine grind setting . go to loosen up abit of my grind setting since oscar is bit more forgiving then rancilio silvia in brewing.
Post more.. thumbup.gif excited to know your testing results
lowkl
post Aug 8 2016, 03:49 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 6 2016, 11:47 AM)
guy looking for another coffee machine for my new office, any recommendation ?
I ain't expert just normal user but not nespresso type.

Currently own two Poemie for home n office but needed third machine for new office.

any suggestion ?
Prices range 1k-2k ...
Is this machine meant to be used by multiple people, or primarily by yourself?

Reason being I cannot imagine a manual espresso machine in a regular office environment, with a lot of people most of whom know very little about pulling a shot AND also have no interest whatsoever to learn.

I got the go-ahead to look into a superautomatic for my office, but after doing some research, found that most end up in a state of disuse, for one reason or another. They seem to take a disproportionately large amount of maintenance, which for an office is a show-stopper.

Unfortunately the only thing that seems to make practical sense are the pod/capsule type. Maybe the only "mod" to improve quality would be to have a grinder and fresh beans & use refillable capsules.

rockccf
post Aug 8 2016, 04:05 PM

215 posts

Sifus,

Any recommended brands/models for coffee bean grinder?
I'm going to make pour over dripping coffee.

SonnyCooL
post Aug 8 2016, 04:18 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Aug 8 2016, 03:49 PM)
Is this machine meant to be used by multiple people, or primarily by yourself?

Reason being I cannot imagine a manual espresso machine in a regular office environment, with a lot of people most of whom know very little about pulling a shot AND also have no interest whatsoever to learn.

I got the go-ahead to look into a superautomatic for my office, but after doing some research, found that most end up in a state of disuse, for one reason or another. They seem to take a disproportionately large amount of maintenance, which for an office is a show-stopper.

Unfortunately the only thing that seems to make practical sense are the pod/capsule type.  Maybe the only "mod" to improve quality would be to have a grinder and fresh beans & use refillable capsules.
Is there freah bean, refill type of capsules ?
kuluuluk
post Aug 8 2016, 04:47 PM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 8 2016, 04:18 PM)
Is there freah bean, refill type of capsules ?
buy fully auto type... like in hotel buffet type. There's also rental type for the auto type, which they come over to do maintenance.

I only know when such vendors called for appointment. Again, no machines = hassle free. rclxs0.gif

366 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:53 PM