7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 07:16 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

hi guy, received a birthday gift from my friend which i dunno where to start (in my last 30 year) i only pay for coffee but never do anything on it ....
Normal coffee lover, drink 2-3 glass cappuccino/latte a day ...

What do i received :
1. Philips Saeco Poemia
2. Welhome ZD 10T
3. Some mug, stainless steel stuff.

ok where do i go from here ????
btw pls don't ask me to upgrade or anything, cause i have enough hobby which my salary can't afford another one .........
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 07:40 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 24 2016, 11:41 AM)
Supplier price means he selling u at cost price then how he make $$? Make in Europe ship to China... He stole them? Lol
http://www.coffeeitalia.ie/brands/mazzer

Well PRC shy away from branded stuff on taobao claiming 99% time fake. ^^;
basically most item is make in china already, even they said make in italy or any part of euro, that doesn't true, cause euro gov don't control it ..... only country required 100% clear of country made is US ....
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 09:00 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Apr 3 2016, 08:46 PM)
A good coffee beans, internet data and latte/cappuccino 101 on youtube. How lucky you are.. I wish i had the same set for my birthday present πŸ˜‚
Where to find a so call good coffee bean.. .... hhahhahahh
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 09:39 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 3 2016, 09:03 PM)
free office and good  free coffee as well thumbup.gif

got free wifi or not?  brows.gif
that is my friend trying his best to drag me in to coffee ...... hahah
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 09:41 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Apr 3 2016, 09:40 PM)
I can hook you up with beans. Will PM you the details  smile.gif
will kena chop or not ? hahhaha this what beginner always kena smile.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 09:59 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 3 2016, 09:45 PM)
you can try ikea's coffee beans first only rm12.90/250gm bag, the cheapest around

but you need to put some sugar cos quite bitter  biggrin.gif
i don't take sugar leh .....
any reasonable online coffee bean seller ?
in KL lazy go around also prevent addict tongue.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 3 2016, 10:19 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

btw what type of milk with low lactose n fat and suitable for coffee ?
SonnyCooL
post Apr 4 2016, 12:13 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 4 2016, 12:04 AM)
Hi SonnyCool,

I am also a Poemia owner/user, so this is what I use/do:

- I usually order my beans from Mister Coffee ,  which is based in Johor. They ship by courier to your doorstep for orders more than RM 60. Their espresso blends range from RM 35 to RM 49 for 500gm, which is pretty comparable to supermarket coffee beans while being much much fresher. Unfortunately they don't print the Roast date but I estimate the beans cannot be older than a month....much much better than Ikea. They also ship fast & reliable...never had to wait more than 3 working days to get my order.

The other source I use is Lebistro coffee (pls Google for the website I forget); based in Penang.  These people roast *on order* so super fresh and also they even ship a single bag for free! My only issue is they currently only have a Sumatra blend, which regretfully is not my favourite.

- Once you open the bag,  remember to use it up within 2-3 weeks. What I do to keep it as fresh as possible is to re-bag it in thick sandwich bags (best so far from Aeon Jusco) in about 150gm per bag...approx 10 double shots. Since I make about 3 cups a day, I open a new bag every 3-4 days

- I grind 15.5gm per cup,  which fills the Poemia portafilter nearly to the brim. Using the provided plastic scoop /tamper, I just press down lightly so that it's easier to clip in the machine. For pressurized filters such as this, you are not to do a real tamp.

- you have to trial & error the grind size, but around course sugar I'd what I aim for. Do not try to match  professional espresso machine  grind fineness as it will have bitterness problems... you can check out a YouTube by Seattle Coffee Gear on this.

-So far I've been unable to get a specialty cafe grade shot from the poemia; but I primarily blame my cheapo China 600N grinder for it. Nevertheless I can now get consistently better coffee than Starbucks or Coffee Bean and even Espresso Labs. Not bad for RM 1.50 of beans & a RM 750 espresso machine!

Enjoy your coffee!
thanks bro ....
i did spend my whole week end for understand what is coffee machine, grinder and bla bla bla .... hopefully i won't get addict on it smile.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 4 2016, 03:44 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 4 2016, 03:29 AM)
Cause i do international logistics ....
U know how many product is actually makr in malaysia ?
cool i love ur wiki sources

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Apr 4 2016, 03:45 AM
SonnyCooL
post Apr 4 2016, 11:51 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 4 2016, 07:17 AM)
Your wire, metal and such China no doubt not even USA does that. The 51% rule comes to play in eu, and you pay for the QC. Play by the rules no fine since there are establish laws to use make in Italy however loose it may be.

As for 100% USA close but not really the rules complex
https://www.ftc.gov/tips-advice/business-ce...de-usa-standard

There is a reason why Prc shy from their own products when given a choice go for German or Italian made.

I am not concern with made in Malaysia.
i love your knowledge ....
SonnyCooL
post Apr 9 2016, 03:13 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 9 2016, 02:49 PM)
It's funny; I find the price of coffee at specialty cafes actually lower than second wave shops (like Coffee Bean or Starbucks). Cafe lattes are about RM10 compared to RM 13. Perhaps it's because of overhead.

Highly doubtful prices will go down. Most of the cost is from services ; actual "raw material" should only represent 20% of the cost.
rental abd labor cost that kill everything .....
seriously yougster now day asking crazy paycheck when they still in learning stage
SonnyCooL
post Apr 12 2016, 09:28 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

guy where to find saeco poemia part ?
my water/pump control broke after 1 day of using but sen heng refuse for warranty claim .... wtf
SonnyCooL
post Apr 12 2016, 09:57 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Apr 12 2016, 09:42 PM)

Sorry to hear that, but senheng should at least help you with the warranty or parts.

Alternatively you could go to philips service centre at Jalan tandang PJ and enquire about the price of the replacement part.

Is it the silver knob that is broken? The pump and machine still functioning well?
yup the knob broken .... saw US philips selling at usd 18 sad.gif
pump and the rest still function smile.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 12 2016, 10:06 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

SonnyCooL
post Apr 14 2016, 05:04 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 14 2016, 04:49 PM)
I got mine from a restaurant supply shop at GM Klang Wholesale City (4th Floor)....Luxury Composite Tel+60178718138 +60333251713.

You can also search for "coffee grinder" at lelong.com.my.... there are quite a few there.

Please note that most don't use the name 'Feima'.
i thought u said no good ? hehehhee
SonnyCooL
post Apr 14 2016, 05:33 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 14 2016, 05:30 PM)
I have one major problem with the 600N (or at least the 600N "version" that I have): retention. Allow me to share a photo:

[attachmentid=6385214]

Every once in a while the grinder coughs up a large clump of fines, most probably from these retained grounds finally shaking free.

Exactly what this does to the actual taste of the coffee, is a good question.

The problem is I don't have any reference point to measure against. In terms of clumping & retention, the manual Hario Skerton is the only thing I can compare with.
hhahaha i know nothing abt it and still not collecting my grinder yet tongue.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 18 2016, 06:29 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 18 2016, 06:00 PM)
Sea freight through agent. 代运。
I pay to seller myself. Shipment fees around rm 38-50. It will take 1 month to arrive. I will buy insurance 10% of item price ~ rm180

Final price is around rm2.1k
for that prices u should use air d .....
rm 1907 for device.
< rmb 350 for air shipping
SonnyCooL
post Apr 18 2016, 08:27 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 18 2016, 07:34 PM)
It is individual preference. I like sea freight, cheap & no sensitive item charge, no GST, good past experience purchase electronic products & furnitures. Was told by agent sea freight safer. Courier ppl usually throw the parcel when handling it at warehouse.
Is samething .... risk is Journey from ur seller to port warehouse (mass abuse d), from malaysia port to local, another abuse .....

Saw too many, u want lagi save, track ur item 24/7, when reach malaysia call them to hold as u do self collect, it safe from local abuse .... hahahh
Handle too many similar issue..

SonnyCooL
post Apr 22 2016, 04:08 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 4 2016, 12:04 AM)
Hi SonnyCool,

I am also a Poemia owner/user, so this is what I use/do:

- I usually order my beans from Mister Coffee ,  which is based in Johor. They ship by courier to your doorstep for orders more than RM 60. Their espresso blends range from RM 35 to RM 49 for 500gm, which is pretty comparable to supermarket coffee beans while being much much fresher. Unfortunately they don't print the Roast date but I estimate the beans cannot be older than a month....much much better than Ikea. They also ship fast & reliable...never had to wait more than 3 working days to get my order.

The other source I use is Lebistro coffee (pls Google for the website I forget); based in Penang.  These people roast *on order* so super fresh and also they even ship a single bag for free! My only issue is they currently only have a Sumatra blend, which regretfully is not my favourite.

- Once you open the bag,  remember to use it up within 2-3 weeks. What I do to keep it as fresh as possible is to re-bag it in thick sandwich bags (best so far from Aeon Jusco) in about 150gm per bag...approx 10 double shots. Since I make about 3 cups a day, I open a new bag every 3-4 days

- I grind 15.5gm per cup,  which fills the Poemia portafilter nearly to the brim. Using the provided plastic scoop /tamper, I just press down lightly so that it's easier to clip in the machine. For pressurized filters such as this, you are not to do a real tamp.

- you have to trial & error the grind size, but around course sugar I'd what I aim for. Do not try to match  professional espresso machine  grind fineness as it will have bitterness problems... you can check out a YouTube by Seattle Coffee Gear on this.

-So far I've been unable to get a specialty cafe grade shot from the poemia; but I primarily blame my cheapo China 600N grinder for it. Nevertheless I can now get consistently better coffee than Starbucks or Coffee Bean and even Espresso Labs. Not bad for RM 1.50 of beans & a RM 750 espresso machine!

Enjoy your coffee!
I try order once from lebistro but till now (5day) after payment make, stillvno sign of delivery .....
Called them 3 day ago, they said some one will call me but nothing ....
Found one shop in sri hartamas which selling beans with reasonable prices too, i think i will be their regular hahah

SonnyCooL
post Apr 22 2016, 09:08 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Apr 22 2016, 09:01 AM)
Yikes! Thanks for sharing.... my experience with them was better, but I haven't ordered from them for a while (as they only have one type of bean which is not my favourite).

Can share the Sri Hartamas source? Cafe Olle?
dunno that company name, they sell segafredo, bones and few more brand (inside plaza damas) smile.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:00 AM