366 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

ymeng85
post Jul 21 2016, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jul 20 2016, 09:35 PM)
hi guys, need to ask some basic questions....

1. The coffee bean, is it ok if i fill up the top storage area of the grinder?

2. Is that ok if i grind say 10 cups of coffee bean in a go? If yes i just need to store it in a  air tight container?

is there any website that teach the basic info on making good coffee?

** I have a delonghi kg89 grinder
There's probably too many websites depending and what level you are currently at and how deep you want to go . Google is your best friend
Rule of thumb, grind only as much as you need at the moment. If you're making one cup, grind enough for one cup
Ground coffee loses flavours within minutes after grinding.

Curious ques: If you have a grinder, why the need to grind ahead?
ymeng85
post Jul 21 2016, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jul 20 2016, 09:35 PM)
hi guys, need to ask some basic questions....

1. The coffee bean, is it ok if i fill up the top storage area of the grinder?

2. Is that ok if i grind say 10 cups of coffee bean in a go? If yes i just need to store it in a  air tight container?

is there any website that teach the basic info on making good coffee?

** I have a delonghi kg89 grinder
There's probably too many websites depending and what level you are currently at and how deep you want to go . Google is your best friend
Rule of thumb, grind only as much as you need at the moment. If you're making one cup, grind enough for one cup
Ground coffee loses flavours within minutes after grinding.

Curious ques: If you have a grinder, why the need to grind ahead?
Coconut
post Jul 21 2016, 04:32 PM

1,268 posts

my kitchen top has limited space, that's why i plan to grind it in one go and keep it in storage, otherwise keep kena complain biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Jul 21 2016, 04:43 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jul 21 2016, 04:32 PM)
my kitchen top has limited space, that's why i plan to grind it in one go and keep it in storage, otherwise keep kena complain biggrin.gif
On the other hand you might get complaints when your espresso doesn't come out right because the grinds are stale biggrin.gif

lowkl
post Jul 21 2016, 05:07 PM

88 posts

Hi coffee-loving people;

I've managed to get my hands on a range of green/raw coffee beans.... too much for me to consume personally.

Stuff I've got:

- Vietnam Robusta
- Brazil Peaberry
- Tanzania AA Mbozi Region
- Brazil Yellow Bourbon
- Brazil Obata
- Ethiopia Yirgacheffe
- Nepal Mt Everest
- Kenya AA Top

Please PM me if you are interested.
Dan430
post Jul 21 2016, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jul 21 2016, 04:32 PM)
or on the other hand you might complain to coffee roasters that their beans/coffee taste so stale/bad. biggrin.gif

in that case its cheaper to get powered coffee from retailers, like "aik cheong" "nescafe" etc. no point wasting beans that you find "average" / no difference from kopitiam coffee.

just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif

Dan430
post Jul 21 2016, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jul 21 2016, 05:07 PM)
Hi coffee-loving people;

I've managed to get my hands on a range of green/raw coffee beans.... too much for me to consume personally.

Stuff I've got:

- Vietnam Robusta
- Brazil Peaberry
- Tanzania AA Mbozi Region
- Brazil Yellow Bourbon
- Brazil Obata
- Ethiopia Yirgacheffe
- Nepal Mt Everest
- Kenya AA Top

Please PM me if you are interested.
Woah!! have fun Profiling these amazing beans!!

to PM for green beans or roasted beans? coz i don't have roaster nor popcorn maker. sweat.gif
lowkl
post Jul 21 2016, 05:27 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Jul 21 2016, 05:15 PM)
Woah!! have fun Profiling these amazing beans!!

to PM for green beans or roasted beans? coz i don't have roaster nor popcorn maker.  sweat.gif
I've just started roasting with a popper, so I'm not confident enough to roast for you. As such, it will have to be green beans for now.

If I can get consistent roasts (probably after I hack the popper with a PID, temperature probes, airflow control, etc) I'll get back to you.

I must say that roasting coffee is an amazingly fun process... very sensory (sight, sound, smells), fast & involved (absolutely CANNOT take your eyes off during the entire process!!) and you get absolutely FRESH coffee!! I have NEVER seen so much crema!

.... and did I mention ECONOMICAL? The popper will pay itself off in two months or less, based on my current consumption level.

Strongly recommend everyone to try this out!!
d33pbluez
post Jul 21 2016, 05:37 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Jul 20 2016, 11:02 PM)
@d33 Beautiful mod!! Welldone and glad your enjoying brewing again!! but 1Q isn't it the same boiler? how do you cut short the steam time?
Thanks. But still there is a few more touch up to be done like covering back the knob hole and some paint job since there is scratch mark on the cover. I'm imagine if i can put this kind of art beside my machine, it would be awesome.

Same boiler but different internal parts build (Namely, Piston & Body, i believe is the opening of the internal part would be a bit larger space when lever are push to back). i ran a bench mark test with youtube video vs my actual brew time... not sure how accurate it is... biggrin.gif but definitely it feel quite fast....

But i still paranoid about the hissing sound made when the boiler is heating up.... feel like something is leaking inside or could it be the hissing sound coming from anti vacuum release vapor that turn into water touching the anti vacuum hot body.... Anyway im still waiting for my pressure gauge to measure the opv .... guess i had to wait for 2 more weeks.

Dan430
post Jul 21 2016, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jul 21 2016, 05:27 PM)
I've just started roasting with a popper, so I'm not confident enough to roast for you. As such, it will have to be green beans for now.

If I can get consistent roasts (probably after I hack the popper with a PID, temperature probes, airflow control, etc) I'll get back to you.

I must say that roasting coffee is an amazingly fun process... very sensory (sight, sound, smells), fast & involved (absolutely CANNOT take your eyes off during the entire process!!) and you get absolutely FRESH coffee!! I have NEVER seen so much crema!

.... and did I mention ECONOMICAL? The popper will pay itself off in two months or less, based on my current consumption level.

Strongly recommend everyone to try this out!!
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif good start!! you are on the way to become a pro!! for me i stay in a condo so can't afford to roast as i heard the coffee smoke will ring the smoke alarm!! sweat.gif do let us know once you are ready to make some profit from your special blend!! smile.gif

And yes fresh coffee always have thick crema but i do notice after 3-5 days or so its the best cup ever i can say its the peak of the beans and the flavour gets bold!!

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jul 21 2016, 05:37 PM)
Thanks. But still there is a few more touch up to be done like covering back the knob hole and some paint job since there is scratch mark on the cover. I'm imagine if i can put this kind of art beside my machine, it would be awesome.

Same boiler but different internal parts build (Namely, Piston & Body, i believe is the opening of the internal part would be a bit larger space when lever are push to back). i ran a bench mark test with youtube video vs my actual brew time... not sure how accurate it is...  biggrin.gif but definitely it feel quite fast....

But i still paranoid about the hissing sound made when the boiler is heating up.... feel like something is leaking inside or could it be the hissing sound coming from anti vacuum release vapor that turn into water touching the anti vacuum hot body.... Anyway im still waiting for my pressure gauge to measure the opv .... guess i had to wait for 2 more weeks.
hmmm on the hissing sound is it long hiss? as it should be hiss (1-2sec) then the valve will be closed/locked. and there shouldn't be any vapour? unless its really close to the boiling water which the valve maybe touching the water which it shouldn't. anyway I'm not too sure as I've not mod it before, just base on my own analogy. because "hiss" happens when the pressure is going up then it should lock.
hazelnet
post Jul 21 2016, 07:16 PM

104 posts

How come I never realize there is this thread for coffee lover????? bangwall.gif wub.gif
dwRK
post Jul 22 2016, 08:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jul 20 2016, 09:54 AM)
but one thing i don't like about this is, it spritz a bit of water due to steam pushing vapor and water out of the anti vacuum before the pin / lever close the hole, that leave the surrounding bit wet and possible corrosion on the metal.

Another was the vapor release will be also affecting the metal below the cup warmer and possible corrosion as well.

Still waiting for the pressure gauge to come in so i can check on the pressure on the brew head.
You can fashion a small cup and cap to catch and block/divert the water when it spids out...I've used aluminum foil...it will evaporate away in da cup.. .

You can do a flow test to set the opv in the meantime...

d33pbluez
post Jul 22 2016, 08:14 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Jul 21 2016, 07:13 PM)
hmmm on the hissing sound is it long hiss? as it should be hiss (1-2sec) then the valve will be closed/locked. and there shouldn't be any vapour? unless its really close to the boiling water which the valve maybe touching the water which it shouldn't. anyway I'm not too sure as I've not mod it before, just base on my own analogy. because "hiss" happens when the pressure is going up then it should lock.
It is normal for the anti vacuum to release vapour and some spritz of water when it close to boiling point and that is the function of it. It act as self release pressure rather then normal practise where you had to manually open the steam wand while boiler heating up to release some fake pressure before close back.

Hissing sound happen on the initial warm up when close to boiler point or machine almost finish done its thing and ready to be used, it continue on for a while until after a few round of disposing through either the brew or release some steam then the hissing stops.... i assume it could be from the anti vacuum ..... hmm.gif

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 22 2016, 09:13 AM)
You can fashion a small cup and cap to catch and block/divert the water when it spids out...I've used aluminum foil...it will evaporate away in da cup.. .

You can do a flow test to set the opv in the meantime...
Yeah, It would another great idea mod to stop the water and vapour from flowing out damaging the surrounding. Btw, seem like you had already install the anti vacuum on your machine. Do you get hissing sound like water touching the hot cup or anything like that when the boiler almost done with the heating process ?

For OPV, I rather wait for the gauge but i heard it is already pre set to 10 bar straight out from the factory, means to say you don need to adjust anything. Just fix and used. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Jul 22 2016, 08:22 AM
dwRK
post Jul 22 2016, 08:36 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jul 22 2016, 08:14 AM)
Yeah, It would another great idea mod to stop the water and vapour from flowing out damaging the surrounding. Btw, seem like you had already install the anti vacuum on your machine. Do you get hissing sound like water touching the hot cup or anything like that when the boiler almost done with the heating process ?

For OPV, I rather wait for the gauge but i heard it is already pre set to 10 bar straight out from the factory, means to say you don need to adjust anything. Just fix and used.  hmm.gif
Mine's not the Oscar... Comes with it already... My hissing sound is just before the anti vacuum valve sets...

Could your hissing be some of the water hitting some hot surface and flashing off sound?

BTW...nice mods... I prefer the knob to I can have slow steam to steam buns laugh.gif

Dan430
post Jul 22 2016, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 22 2016, 08:36 AM)
Mine's not the Oscar... Comes with it already... My hissing sound is just before the anti vacuum valve sets...

Could your hissing be some of the water hitting some hot surface and flashing off sound?

BTW...nice mods... I prefer the knob to I can have slow steam to steam buns laugh.gif

hahaha Steam buns!! thats first!! rclxm9.gif i use it to steam my cold brew if i want to drink hot long black minus the acidity!! Awesome too try it!! drool.gif

d33pbluez
post Jul 22 2016, 03:17 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 22 2016, 09:36 AM)

Yes, Hissing sound came from water hitting some hot surface and flashing off sound. I tried to check but there is no leak found. Last time i encounter 2 leak but was solve ( one from the pstat leak from T-piping and another is male to male fitting on the steam due to gap).

I also did a few verification, like machine water intake, how fast the heater kick in, steam power, brew flow. seem everything looks normal to me. Just only the hissing sound.... doh.gif

Used steam wand to heat up bun.... lolz....

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Jul 22 2016, 03:18 PM
dvatranslate
post Jul 23 2016, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jul 14 2016, 11:17 AM)

Oh I just order a new one sad.gif could save a few dollars. But any way have a few question to you. I've read a review http://jonsguide.org/best-home-espresso-ma...appuccino-maker And found it does not possess the auto shut down option. What that means? confused.gif
dwRK
post Jul 23 2016, 05:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(dvatranslate @ Jul 23 2016, 09:05 AM)
Oh I just order a new one  sad.gif  could save a few dollars.  But any way have a few question to you. I've read a review http://jonsguide.org/best-home-espresso-ma...appuccino-maker  And found it does not possess the auto shut down option. What that means?  :confused:
...useless blog/blogger...
Irishcoffee
post Jul 24 2016, 03:28 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

QUOTE(dvatranslate @ Jul 23 2016, 09:05 AM)
Oh I just order a new one  sad.gif  could save a few dollars.  But any way have a few question to you. I've read a review http://jonsguide.org/best-home-espresso-ma...appuccino-maker  And found it does not possess the auto shut down option. What that means?  :confused:
Doesnt matter.
Probably auto shutdown when the water is running out
Just make sure u turn off your machine , dont leave it open overnight

LeEspionnage
post Jul 24 2016, 10:53 PM

Hi guys, not sure if this is relevant to the coffee over thread but I'm looking for the MCT oil, which is one of the component for the Bulletproof coffee. Any idea where i can get it in Malaysia?

Cheers guys

366 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:28 PM