366 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

ymeng85
post Jan 20 2016, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(PegasuS87 @ Jan 20 2016, 02:27 PM)
yup espresso. i love latte smile.gif
upgrade to something like eureka mignon and ns oscar. around that budget.
is that good?
I like the way you think! Go for it
But since you are ready to splurge on a good grinder, the latest comparison by socraticcoffee is showing that the SmartGrinder is a serious performer even when placed next to the coveted Malkhonig EK43

This is a comparison done on espresso level grind settings. Just look at that particle distribution curve for uniformality

This post has been edited by ymeng85: Jan 20 2016, 03:41 PM
PegasuS87
post Jan 20 2016, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:17 PM)
I like the way you think! Go for it
But since you are ready to splurge on a good grinder, the latest comparison by socraticcoffee is showing that the SmartGrinder is a serious performer even when placed next to the coveted Malkhonig EK43

This is a comparison done on espresso level grind settings. Just look at that particle distribution curve for uniformality
sry i dont really understand the graph, it shows the smart grinder was the best?
is it durable compare with mechanical machine?
ymeng85
post Jan 20 2016, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(PegasuS87 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:51 PM)
sry i dont really understand the graph, it shows the smart grinder was the best?
is it durable compare with mechanical machine?
It's more on consistency of grind. The graph can be a good indication of uniformity but we don't know how it will perform across different grind settings
As for durability, commercial grinders would probably outlast it since there's still plastic parts within the grinder. But the cost is 10x difference
You are looking at home use or cafe?
PegasuS87
post Jan 20 2016, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:59 PM)
It's more on consistency of grind. The graph can be a good indication of uniformity but we don't know how it will perform across different grind settings
As for durability, commercial grinders would probably outlast it since there's still plastic parts within the grinder. But the cost is 10x difference
You are looking at home use or cafe?
home use ....hek hek hek ~
i was hoping that this upgrade would last for at least 3 to 5years....so durability is my main concern
is it possible for this price range? ohmy.gif
Castreal
post Jan 20 2016, 04:31 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(PegasuS87 @ Jan 20 2016, 02:27 PM)
yup espresso. i love latte smile.gif
upgrade to something like eureka mignon and ns oscar. around that budget.
is that good?
NS recently launched the NS Oscar II. Do check it out, its really quite an update from the old Oscar.

Dankoff should be carrying them, but I think it only starts selling in Europe end of Jan 2016, so not sure when it will reach our shores.

As for Breville Smart Grinder, I've been using the older version BCG800, seems to be quite consistent and easy to use.

This post has been edited by Castreal: Jan 20 2016, 04:35 PM
ymeng85
post Jan 20 2016, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(PegasuS87 @ Jan 20 2016, 04:23 PM)
home use ....hek hek hek ~
i was hoping that this upgrade would last for at least 3 to 5years....so durability is my main concern
is it possible for this price range? ohmy.gif
If you're a 1-2 cup a day person, it will easily outlast that duration thumbup.gif

lowkl
post Jan 20 2016, 05:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:15 PM)
How i wish i could get an espresso but due to budget and space constraint, i can't.
Have to enjoy my French Press & Moka Pot for now. biggrin.gif

Heck, even in office i cant make coffee using fresh milk and have to resort using condensed milk because there's no fridge and the pantry's super far.
You MUST try Aeropress.... it is still my favourite method anywhere outside home. Super convenient, makes really really good coffee, easy to clean up, very forgiving in terms of technique, one of the cheapest .... At my wife's office, I can even brew at her cubicle (cleanup at the pantry of course); just that the two minutes on the Hario Skerton attracts some attention! That, and the wonderful aroma..... !!

For milk, try the packet UHT milk... full cream seems better than the "fresh" type, IMHO. No need to refrigerate, the small packet makes about 2 decent lattes.
TSmax_cjs0101
post Jan 20 2016, 05:49 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jan 20 2016, 05:26 PM)
You MUST try Aeropress.... it is still my favourite method anywhere outside home. Super convenient, makes really really good coffee, easy to clean up, very forgiving in terms of technique, one of the cheapest .... At my wife's office, I can even brew at her cubicle (cleanup at the pantry of course); just that the two minutes on the Hario Skerton attracts some attention! That, and the wonderful aroma..... !!

For milk, try the packet UHT milk... full cream seems better than the "fresh" type, IMHO. No need to refrigerate, the small packet makes about 2 decent lattes.
I did consider an Aeropress before but i like my coffee with some "dirt" and residue in it. I feel im getting a bolder taste (without filter medium) and that's why i opted for both the Moka Pot and French Press.

ymeng85
post Jan 20 2016, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jan 20 2016, 05:49 PM)
I did consider an Aeropress before but i like my coffee with some "dirt" and residue in it. I feel im getting a bolder taste (without filter medium) and that's why i opted for both the Moka Pot and French Press.
Aeropress with a metal filter can also get you that
PegasuS87
post Jan 20 2016, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jan 20 2016, 04:31 PM)
NS recently launched the NS Oscar II. Do check it out, its really quite an update from the old Oscar.

Dankoff should be carrying them, but I think it only starts selling in Europe end of Jan 2016, so not sure when it will reach our shores.

As for Breville Smart Grinder, I've been using the older version BCG800, seems to be quite consistent and easy to use.
beautiful machine !!! thumbup.gif
Castreal
post Jan 20 2016, 07:14 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(PegasuS87 @ Jan 20 2016, 06:22 PM)
beautiful machine !!! thumbup.gif
Exactly! When it launched in Italy, I immediately messaged Dankoff when will it be available... but he has no firm dates then.
It's a complete changeover... talking bout VW Beetle > Chevrolet Camaro level Bumblebee!
dwRK
post Jan 20 2016, 08:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jan 20 2016, 07:14 PM)
Exactly! When it launched in Italy, I immediately messaged Dankoff when will it be available... but he has no firm dates then.
It's a complete changeover... talking bout VW Beetle > Chevrolet Camaro level Bumblebee!
Now really looks like stripped down Musica inside and out biggrin.gif

Well...outside at least...dunno what's been done inside.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 20 2016, 09:44 PM
sabahan62
post Jan 20 2016, 08:47 PM

58 posts

Since I have seen so many members here talking about freshness of the roasted beans, how about doing home roasting?

Wondering anyone here has ventured into roasting green beans? Like using Gene Cafe roaster or other brand? Or even using a pop corn maker to roast like I saw on YouTube. Btw, where to buy green beans?
mel5582
post Jan 20 2016, 09:39 PM

None
777 posts

Wow, a v2 thread already. Nice!
patryn33
post Jan 20 2016, 09:53 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 20 2016, 06:42 AM)
Quite sure he/she is seller promoting lah... biggrin.gif dats why I see one eye...
I get dude is promoting the product he or she selling.
I just like to highlight its black not white...
WaSzupDupe
post Jan 20 2016, 10:00 PM

I like coffee that sell in ordinary kopitiam. But 1 particular shop that sell kopi ais, they blend it after mixing it with coffee and susu pekat. It makes the coffee looks nice as it have extra bubble on top.

On side note, if anyone happen to been to a small place in called Selama, Kedah/Perak. There is a shop call selama cafe that have a good kopi ais. Second generation of kopi bancuh
PegasuS87
post Jan 20 2016, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jan 20 2016, 07:14 PM)
u are interested on it as well..hoho
what machine u using now ?

This post has been edited by PegasuS87: Jan 20 2016, 10:36 PM
lowkl
post Jan 20 2016, 11:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(sabahan62 @ Jan 20 2016, 08:47 PM)

Since I have seen so many members here talking about freshness of the roasted beans, how about doing home roasting?

Wondering anyone here has ventured into roasting green beans? Like using Gene Cafe roaster or other brand? Or even using a pop corn maker to roast like I saw on YouTube. Btw, where to buy green beans?
Finally! Someone interested in the same thing, and asking the same question!

I've been interested in trying out some home roasting as well; not quite using a popcorn maker but to use one of those halogen turbo ovens sitting on a simple motorised stirrer.

But the big problem seems to be getting the green beans! It seems such raw coffee beans can only be imported into Malaysia with an AP (another crony enriching mechanism) so getting them direct from Sweet Maria's is out. I have found a couple of importers but they all do only wholesale... so unless I commit to at least many kilos of beans they are not interested.

I have raised this topic on this forum before, with zero responses. Perhaps we can raise some interest and if we find a few more like-minded individuals we can buy a sack of beams to experiment....
patryn33
post Jan 21 2016, 02:54 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(sabahan62 @ Jan 20 2016, 08:47 PM)

coffee needs to degas for few days to achieve its peak after roasting.
store bought roasted on 21st Jan 2016 and home roasted on same day not going to make yours any fresher. Home roasting you can nail down the time its roasted but I yet to come across studies that 1hr diff makes great diff.

home roasting makes sense if one cannot get access to "fresh" beans by that I mean beans that have degassed for over few days. many tried to consume their beans with 14-15 days after their roast date.

many times home roasters is doing it out of passion more so than freshness of beans.
lowkl
post Jan 21 2016, 05:20 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 21 2016, 02:54 AM)
coffee needs to degas for few days to achieve its peak after roasting.
store bought roasted on 21st Jan 2016 and home roasted on same day not going to make yours any fresher. Home roasting you can nail down the time its roasted but I yet to come across studies that 1hr diff makes great diff.

home roasting makes sense if one cannot get access to "fresh" beans by that I mean beans that have degassed for over few days. many tried to consume their beans with 14-15 days after their roast date.

many times home roasters is doing it out of passion more so than freshness of beans.
You forget two other factors.... control & cost.

If you control the roast, you can try out different roast profiles using the same beans. It would be nice/interesting to try out different profiles to see what suits your personal preference instead of the roasters. The other thing you can control is the blend since most green beans are effectively single origin when purchased.

The other factor is the cost. Getting consistently freshly roasted beans in turn mean two things: premium services and small quantities. Premium services because not all coffee beans sources cater for aficionados ; eg all regular store-bought beans from supermarkets don't have roasted - on dates. Small quantities because unless you are a heavy consistent coffee drinker (or pull shots for more than one person like I do) it is difficult to finish a large bag before the tail end gets stale. Therefore, small bags. Small, frequent and fast supply means high transport costs.

Both these factors mean substantially higher prices. Roasting at home means you can guarantee freshness by roasting exactly what you consume, exactly when you want/need it, exactly how you like it. You buy green beans in bulk (by the kilo) as they can keep easily for 6 months to a year without significant degradation. You aren't paying some courier company RM 6 every 2 weeks to move a paltry 125gm or 250gm bag a few km, or the parking fees/petrol/car maintenance costs incurred when you drive to the few stores that stock beans with Roast by dates.

Thus ends my geek rant....

366 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0148sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:36 AM