NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

voncrane
post Feb 22 2016, 10:14 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Feb 22 2016, 09:55 AM)
Currently Netflix is good in Malaysia with alot of content but its unfair to pay the same rate as the US which is getting 100x  more content.

Hope they increase the content or reduce the rates.
It's mostly about international laws, censorship compliance, content licensing & all that bla bla... Cars, TVs, mobile phones, Internet, etc.. Are all cheaper in the states than here & while it's unfair, well....... Netflix did promise to increase content and I believe they will as soon as things are sorted out. However, do not expect to pay any lesser than the USA folks, cuz it might be costing Netflix more money to deliver content to Malaysia than the USA. $10 ≠ RM10.
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 10:37 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 07:57 AM)
Yup, Netflix works best in fibre connection. Especially if you expect Full HD or UHD quality.

A bit trick about UHD though, I find if I use my android box (UHD capable), the Netflix apps seems to skip the UHD contents. But if I play diretcly from the tv apps, the UHD contents will be there.

I'm not sure is it because of the android apps or the fact that I use AV receiver for my android box.

For this, I play Netflix directly from my tv.

Anyone have similar issues?
because yr device is not netflix certifed but yr tv is.

netflix hd/uhd works very well even with WIFI!

something interesting i found - PC can get HD but not UHD; there are some unique videos labeled "super hd" not seen on the smart tv. perhaps the pecking order is uhd4k-superhd-hd-sd. and the PC is between 4k and hd?!

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 08:22 AM)
Is your Android box a certified Netflix device? Also, what do you mean by UHD contents are skipped?
not skipped, all there, just the label changes from UHD 4K to blank for uncertified device, i.e. sd.

Netflix has become my fav app. at least for now until i exhuast he contents i wanna watch! laugh.gif

On the other hand, IFLIX is much less reliable. it gave streaming problems yesterday - slow, laggy, not smooth.
nikrizal
post Feb 22 2016, 10:45 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 08:22 AM)
Is your Android box a certified Netflix device? Also, what do you mean by UHD contents are skipped? Is it that 4K flicks like Daredevil, etc don't show up when searched on your Android box but show up on the Smart TV app? Contents are available or missing depending on regions.. Not due to resolution,and so, non-4K devices have access to the exact same library as a 4K device, provided both are running from the same region.. Example, Malaysia.
I'm using the old Minix Neo X8-H Plus, I guess it's not Netflix certified then, though it's a 4K device.

Exactly as you mentioned, I only can see the 4K contents like Daredevil etc only when I play Netflix from my tv..
voncrane
post Feb 22 2016, 11:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2016, 10:37 AM)
because yr device is not netflix certifed but yr tv is.

netflix hd/uhd works very well even with WIFI!

something interesting i found - PC can get HD but not UHD; there are some unique videos labeled "super hd" not seen on the smart tv. perhaps the pecking order is uhd4k-superhd-hd-sd. and the PC is between 4k and hd?!
not skipped, all there, just the label changes from UHD 4K to blank for uncertified device, i.e. sd.
Netflix has become my fav app. at least for now until i exhuast he contents i wanna watch! laugh.gif

On the other hand, IFLIX is much less reliable. it gave streaming problems yesterday - slow, laggy, not smooth.
Oh I see.. Yeah, I'm yet to have seen or heard of Netflix 4K on a regular PC. Capable graphics card or not. Guess Netflix has to work on that one by improving their current Windows app or perhaps allowing browsers to handle it. I'm really rooting for iflix to be more successful, especially at the current price point which is slightly above FREE! Perhaps a couple of years down? Alternatively, could be a biz strategy & Netflix buys them. Won't be the first time a big fish swum into the pond & ate the smaller fish. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 10:45 AM)
I'm using the old Minix Neo X8-H Plus, I guess it's not Netflix certified then, though it's a 4K device.

Exactly as you mentioned, I only can see the 4K contents like Daredevil etc only when I play Netflix from my tv..
Ah, the Neo X8-H Plus, while a capable device is definitely not Netflix certified.. The guys at Minix have tried to get certified, but Netflix is yet to respond favorably.. So for now, it's much more better to use the Netflix app on your TV, especially since it natively supports 4K. Compared to navigating an Android box's UI, the lady of the house simply loves pressing just 2 buttons (startup & profile selection) on the TV remote & she's scrolling happily away.. tongue.gif
nikrizal
post Feb 22 2016, 12:17 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 11:45 AM)
Ah, the Neo X8-H Plus, while a capable device is definitely not Netflix certified.. The guys at Minix have tried to get certified, but Netflix is yet to respond favorably.. So for now, it's much more better to use the Netflix app on your TV, especially since it natively supports 4K. Compared to navigating an Android box's UI, the lady of the house simply loves pressing just 2 buttons (startup & profile selection) on the TV remote & she's scrolling happily away..  tongue.gif
Exactly! Using the native app on my 4K tv turns out ro be surprisingly easy, and I must say 4K quality from Netflix is outstanding!
Cap Jones
post Feb 22 2016, 01:09 PM

294 posts

So, what's the netflix certified device apart from apple tv - apple products / android based device / pc / mac , like android box ?
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:21 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Feb 22 2016, 01:09 PM)
So, what's the netflix certified device apart from apple tv - apple products / android based device  / pc / mac , like android box ?
netflix certified hd/uhd:

Nvidia Shield
Roku 4
TiVo Bolt
Amazon Fire TV (New Version)
British Telecom - BT DTRT-4000
More devices coming soon!

and smart tv's:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/13444
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:25 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 11:45 AM)
So for now, it's much more better to use the Netflix app on your TV, especially since it natively supports 4K. Compared to navigating an Android box's UI, the lady of the house simply loves pressing just 2 buttons (startup & profile selection) on the TV remote & she's scrolling happily away..  tongue.gif
QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 12:17 PM)
Exactly! Using the native app on my 4K tv turns out ro be surprisingly easy, and I must say 4K quality from Netflix is outstanding!
definitely better direct on tv - easy start up, easy navigation, forget about other devices.

fast-fast get to watch in hd.

and dd5.1.

can't get better than that! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 22 2016, 01:26 PM
nikrizal
post Feb 22 2016, 01:26 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2016, 01:21 PM)

Nvidia Shield
Roku 4
TiVo Bolt

and smart tv's:
Well I guess Netflix supports many 4K Smart TV but only limited numbers of android players.

AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:29 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 01:26 PM)
Well I guess Netflix supports many 4K Smart TV but only limited numbers of android players.
i do not know if all smart tv's are but i think all 4k tvs are.

if not mistaken, netflix authorize/license people like amazon to make deals with tv makers to put netlfix on their models once certified.
silbii
post Feb 22 2016, 02:29 PM

963 posts

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Netfl...patible_devices
GuyM
post Feb 22 2016, 07:51 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2016, 01:29 PM)
i do not know if all smart tv's are but i think all 4k tvs are.

if not mistaken, netflix authorize/license people like amazon to make deals with tv makers to put netlfix on their models once certified.
Sifu

You have q16 too, is the 4k playable?
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 08:11 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 22 2016, 07:51 PM)
Sifu

You have q16 too, is the 4k playable?
no.

it is not netflix certified.

so only sd whatever package u subscribe.
Cap Jones
post Feb 22 2016, 08:21 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2016, 01:21 PM)

Nvidia Shield
Roku 4
TiVo Bolt

and smart tv's:
you da man !! thanks bud ! your comments have been really helpful so far
clieman
post Feb 22 2016, 10:14 PM

730 posts

Ordered the Amazon Fire TV Stick from eBay. Will report once I received it.

This post has been edited by clieman: Feb 23 2016, 01:36 PM
'ed
post Feb 22 2016, 10:25 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(clieman @ Feb 22 2016, 10:14 PM)
Ordered the Amazon Fre TV Stick from eBay. Will report once I received it.
Netflix on Firetv stick only support resolution up to 1080p, and make sure your local wifi connection in good performance or u'lk regret later.. while for 4k content, only the new generation FireTV box support it.
alucard89
post Feb 23 2016, 11:58 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(clieman @ Feb 22 2016, 10:14 PM)
Ordered the Amazon Fre TV Stick from eBay. Will report once I received it.
Is it cheaper there?
I just bought mine from lelong
Be sure to set the stick on high priority for qos setting
That way it streams to hd quicker and no more sudden drops to sd.
clieman
post Feb 23 2016, 12:41 PM

730 posts

Around US$65 inclusive shipping.

I didn't check Lelong. My bad. I only check Lowyat forum.

Should have buy from Lelong, cheaper.

Roku stick selling RM300+

This post has been edited by clieman: Feb 23 2016, 01:40 PM
clieman
post Feb 23 2016, 01:37 PM

730 posts

QUOTE('ed @ Feb 22 2016, 10:25 PM)
Netflix on Firetv stick only support resolution up to 1080p, and make sure your local wifi connection in good performance or u'lk regret later.. while for 4k content, only the new generation FireTV box support it.
Full HD good enough for me as I only subscribe to 30Mbps package and don't have a 4K TV.

My main goal is to get the surround sound.

If it can play back Samba share I might also retire my HiMedia Q5 Quadcore.
'ed
post Feb 23 2016, 02:42 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(clieman @ Feb 23 2016, 12:41 PM)
Around US$65 inclusive shipping.

I didn't check Lelong. My bad. I only check Lowyat forum.

Should have buy from Lelong, cheaper.

Roku stick selling RM300+
Wow that is expensive, i bought mine last December from b&hphoto, USD 49 only, inclusive shipping from US.

74 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:24 PM