NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

voncrane
post Aug 17 2018, 12:53 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Orzie @ Aug 17 2018, 11:43 AM)
Hehehe, the link over here: https://help.netflix.com/en/titlerequest
Best to sign in with your netflix account before requesting so they can add the titles to your registered market.

Hmm, I tried using SurfEasy VPN but unfortunately detected by Netflix...
Just put in the requests for all 5 movies in the collection.. Need to check my hoard, probably have the set stored..

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 17 2018, 12:30 PM)
MI 1-4 can watch on iFlix.
Just checked and true.. All there.. But iFlix still streams at SD and no surround sound right?... With Netflix, I'd get FHD or UHD plus DD minimum.. I'll wait as long as I can.. If nothing.. Then iFlix or ehem lor.. smile.gif
voncrane
post Aug 18 2018, 12:33 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Thanks all.. So I checked and Yup.. Already collected all MI movies.. 1-5.. Though 1-3 were yts releases and since I've gotten use to higher quality stuffs. Resorted to ehem ways. Just watched the remastered version of the first MI movie from 1996.. Onwards..
voncrane
post Aug 20 2018, 07:57 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 18 2018, 05:28 AM)
I think there is some interest now to watch back the earlier ones because some of the newer viewers don't know about  or have forgotten about the history of Julia (Ethan's wife) - MI 3.

Also some point of interest is that MI2 which was directed by John Woo is still the top grosser domestically in US. None of the other movies in the series have managed to beat MI2 domestic gross although globally, Ghost Protocal (MI4) onwards till Rogue Nation (MI5) have done better.

Fallout is still running so lets see if it will finally  beat MI2 in domestic gross earnings in US.
Yeah.. Was able to stream the remastered Blu-ray versions of the older ones.. Finished em all and ready to see the latest one at the cinema.

QUOTE(IVL @ Aug 20 2018, 02:16 PM)
Hi If I subscribe to Netflix Msia.. and buy ExpressVPN or SmartDNS.. then I VPN to Netflix US content.. will I block by Netflix Msia?
Plan to Unblock US for Directv aswell
It's a cats and mouse game.. Works till it stops.. None of those services can truthfully promise 100% guarantee.
voncrane
post Sep 12 2018, 12:03 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 11 2018, 11:31 AM)
Haha. Suddenly noticed now netflix got prepaid top up sold in 7/11. Should i finally jump the netflix bandwagon today? laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
As a Netflix Grandpa.. I say go for it.. Don't even have to pay first cuz first month's free.. Get you hooked first.. Verily worth.. thumbup.gif
voncrane
post Sep 14 2018, 11:00 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 14 2018, 03:08 PM)
After playing and hooked

Think that i be retiring my torrents soon

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Ah.. Done swallowed the bait have you.. laugh.gif.. But nah, you'll still need the occasional p2p content.. Especially for those die hard stuffs that aren't available on Netflix Malaysia or otherwise yet.. nod.gif Great thing about Netflix are their awesome originals content. For years (I'm glad it's paid off) I've always wished for a service that collects money and reinvests it into making even more content and making that content easily accessible. Not tied down by Big Media licensing rights, etc. Netflix has done exactly just that.
voncrane
post Sep 15 2018, 02:25 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 15 2018, 01:09 PM)
Any possibility of Netflix broadcasting live in the near future?
Not in the near future or perhaps at all. Right now, they've got an excellent business model. One where not many customers complain about streaming issues. Broadcasting live and doing it well takes up a lot of resources, planning, funds and revamping their well planned strategy. Netflix is extremely great and successful at what they are doing. Even their CEO Reed Hastings confirmed this earlier this year.. They have no plans and don't intend to go into sports or live TV.
voncrane
post Sep 15 2018, 09:28 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 15 2018, 02:41 PM)
hi guys, im new to Netflix, just started the first month free subscription.
wanted to ask if:
1) can set the default language other than English (interface) ?
2) how to default set the subtitle to Chinese? for now, i have to manually set it everytime before watching the movie.
Login with a web browser and try changing language...Might work for both or one..

Language preferences

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Sep 15 2018, 08:35 PM)
Hi guys, I'm started to try Netflix trial.
But I encounter problem during registration.

I'm stuck at Credit Card info.
After proceeding, it always give me error:

"Sorry, something went wrong. Please try again later."

I already called bank CS and everything is okay according from their side.
Anyone encounter this problem before?
Were you doing this over a disguised IP? Use a desktop browser and try again.. If still cannot, then contact Netflix CS.. Maybe there's a block on your account or something.. Last option would be to buy codes from 7Eleven shops and manually apply to your account..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 15 2018, 09:29 PM
voncrane
post Sep 15 2018, 09:45 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 15 2018, 09:40 PM)
seems the options only available with web version instead of the Mibox.
thanks for the info smile.gif
That's expected... Apps on devices are focused on easier UI and fast playback.. not settings.. You can fine-tune much more and manage other things such as your watch list, etc from the account settings on their website. If you have the speed and quota, make sure to change the playback settings to the highest possible. This will reflect across all devices and will force the apps to always seek max res as per your account and the device.. You are welcome.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 15 2018, 09:45 PM
voncrane
post Sep 20 2018, 08:38 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 19 2018, 10:18 PM)
haha just redeem RM100 into my account after 1 week free trial

don't need 1 month because I already hooked after 1 week laugh.gif  rclxm9.gif
Wow, so fast... laugh.gif Good choice. thumbup.gif
voncrane
post Sep 24 2018, 10:38 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 24 2018, 10:26 AM)
gift card is sd only, you'll have to top up your own for the HD/UHD
Oh like that huh? I always assumed that it's just credits to be deducted from monthly as per plan..
voncrane
post Jan 6 2019, 04:14 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Jan 6 2019, 04:07 PM)
Is there any differences between Netflix Malaysia and US content?
Yes there are.. Similarly with other countries as well.. It's mostly due to licensing rights and or if certain content are requested by the host country to be blocked/omitted i nthe country's library.
voncrane
post Jan 7 2019, 10:21 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Jan 7 2019, 04:16 PM)
There are sellers in LYN that sell Netflix Gift Card too. Just search  biggrin.gif
Your signature so colorful like that.. What else to search.. laugh.gif
voncrane
post Jan 8 2019, 07:58 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 8 2019, 04:19 PM)
everybody wants a slice of the cake laugh.gif

but the situation won't last long, it's about the survival of the fittest

Audience will want choices & diversity, imo new services like DC or Disney+ will not last long if their contents are all in house movies/series only.  Once the audience finished with it, they'll cancel the sub and look for others, slowly they will die one by one and left the strongest with the most choices of show to watch.

It will be a very difficult up hill fight with Netflix & Hulu, which already has a impressive library, and audience base.

and for us in M'sia, not really applicable, as the streaming scene is just at the beginning, dish broadcasting still dominates, and many of those streaming? still streaming astro or pirated shows from pirate tvbox doh.gif

Currently Netflix MY already improved a lot, lots of new contents added, especially animes and asian shows, iflix on the other hand, is going down the drain, counting days already, I think tongue.gif
I agree. Netflix came in and dominated in ways they didn't expect and I hope they remain as such. Cuz they are handling the service exactly as I'd like it. low monthly sub, quit at will.. Funds used to make more and more Original TV series and movies. Not re-hashing of old titles .. Delivery is excellent and almost never encounter any Netflix-specific issues. So yeah, I'm strongly in support of Netflix remaining King.

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 8 2019, 04:37 PM)
My wife register for 1 year many months back but forgot whats the package. But what I notice that I cant get 4k resolution.

May I know how to check what package that I has?
That's okay.. As suggested.. Just get a browser and log on.. Go to the settings area to check. You can switch plans there too.
voncrane
post Jan 12 2019, 11:52 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Jan 12 2019, 09:35 PM)
Hi, I would like to know in order to enjoy Netflix in 4k HDR, what TV requirements are needed?

Plan to upgrade my aged LG plasma HD TV to get 4k HDR on netflix.
You'd need to get a TV that's capable of outputting 4K + HDR.. Typically, the HDR here is HDR10 tech. it's the more widely used one for consumers.. Netflix recommends minimum 25Mbps to stream.. But IMO, have at least 50Mbps for smooth streaming.. Especially if you have other users and or heavy network usage on other devices. Also, depending on your room size and viewing distance.. make sure to get a decent size that matches the viewing distance.. Of course, you should be able to instantly notice a difference between your trusty plasma and today's 4K HDR TVs. Personally, I won't go with any size smaller than 55".
voncrane
post Jan 13 2019, 08:28 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2019, 02:06 AM)
Sorry if this was asked before, is there any way to sign up for Netflix US content in Malaysia without using  VPN?
By yourself? Nope! Ask your pal in the states to do? Yep.. But then to watch it here, you'll still need some form of location masking good enough to fool their servers. Else, regardless of signup location, the library will only reflect content from your current location.. I.e Malaysia.
voncrane
post Feb 8 2019, 01:50 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Feb 8 2019, 12:33 PM)
Thanks bro! Guess need to pay for 2 subscription (netflix + purevpn) for netflix US content
Yep.. Good soup no cheap.. biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Feb 10 2019, 02:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Feb 10 2019, 08:20 AM)
Nordvpn cannot use for netflix?

Netflix detected im using vpn/proxy when i turned on nordvpn. Hmm maybe i should get refund from nordvpn.
Seeking a refund is up to you. Depending on the device you are using, there might be other means beside the ip address that Netflix was able to detect foul play.

QUOTE(adix4 @ Feb 10 2019, 09:23 AM)
if i subscribe to Netflix in Malaysia and then use VPN automatically change to US content or not?
With the right one.. It will. See above though.
voncrane
post Feb 24 2019, 11:40 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Feb 24 2019, 07:49 PM)
Quick question, does NETFLIX support Dolby Digital 5.1 over optical from smartTV app?

Or must I have a smarttv with Dolby digital plus support for 5.1 surround?
All depends on the TV model and it's abilities.. Most recently manufactured Smart TVs can support outputting Netflix's DD 5.1 (using the TV's app) either through their speakers or via optical.
voncrane
post Feb 25 2019, 01:35 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(enkil @ Feb 25 2019, 12:40 AM)
Not all content have Dolby issit?
I'm not entirely sure as I've obviously not watched all available. However, of the thousands of content I and or SO watched over the years.. I'm yet to come across a title that doesn't have DD.
voncrane
post Feb 25 2019, 11:24 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Feb 25 2019, 07:25 AM)
Thank you. I ask this because on their support page it says Netflix supports DOLBY DIGITAL PLUS only. So I assume it has standard Dolby Digital through optical as well
I could be wrong.. But here's my take on all this..Dolby Digital Plus does not allow S/PDIF output, only HDMI 1.3 output and above.. So signals like DD+ and TrueHD end up being "downgraded" to DD on your TV and passed on. Why? cuz even with TrueHD, there's the core DD in it. But again, ultimately it depends on your TV or AVR.. Mine is from 2014, supports DTS and Dolby TrueHD.. However when I play Netflix, I get DD on the TV/HT.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 25 2019, 11:25 AM

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:59 PM