QUOTE(superhifi77 @ Jun 4 2007, 05:45 PM)
if ur sources doesnt improved, how good ur spec is.....it doesnt really make a diff Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Jun 4 2007, 09:35 PM
2,753 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Metropolitan College(KL) or JB Johor Bahru |
Jun 4 2007, 10:20 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: London |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 4 2007, 10:56 AM) Yes, it will void the warranty as it is only meant for thier servive personnel to access it. LOL I already accessed mine but I doubt it saved as I turned the main plug off instead of switching it off. The date and time at the service menu indicates the last update made and it was in March not May.djdyks, Toshiba and LG is less than RM3K now. What cc are you using? should be fine.....I hope. |
Jun 5 2007, 10:56 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Jun 5 2007, 03:27 PM
3,136 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(groucho @ Jun 4 2007, 03:59 PM) i can agree with this.. the DVP NS76H is great, as well as this, pioneer and phillips are great brands with good reputations. Hi,I think Sony is best overall however. they look good, have good features, good build quality and have good remotes as well Ill throw in de oppo models too... but no agent feedbackla.. |
Jun 6 2007, 01:26 AM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jun 2 2007, 08:13 PM) if you have extra 444 then you can consider Sony's S200 or someplaces offering V200 at RM3999. 32" LCD. Think its quite sharp and rich in colors as it comes with S-PVA panels. Is your Samsung's CMO S-MVA panel comparable with Sony's S-PVA panels. If I'm not mistaken, Sony's panel is made by Samsung too, right? So which Samsung models are using S-PVA panels? The M8 series? I ended up with Samsung's R81 32" which comes with a CMO S-MVA panel at RM3850. htkaki is selling at RM3800 if I'm not mistaken.Can check with him. Not sure about other brands as I normally go for these 2 brands but inter alia, I find Sharp and Panasonic to be quite good as well. Maybe you can consider them as well? Jusco seems to be offering 50% discount for hitachi plasma. |
Jun 6 2007, 03:04 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 6 2007, 01:26 AM) Is your Samsung's CMO S-MVA panel comparable with Sony's S-PVA panels. If I'm not mistaken, Sony's panel is made by Samsung too, right? So which Samsung models are using S-PVA panels? The M8 series? as far as I know AUO's A-MVA are supposed to be equivalent to Samsung's S-PVA which is also used by Sony. CMO produces both MVA and S-MVA. The lower end models of samsung uses MVA (their pixel is shaped like bricks/rectagular) compared with S-MVA which is shaped like honeycombs/hexagonal. They are no where close to S-PVA.The higher ends like the Mozel series uses S-PVA which is the exact same panel as Sony but the difference in Picture Quality is inter alia partly due to the engine(bravia and dnie). The 40" for low/midrange like the R81 uses A-MVA panels which thought claimed to be equivalent to S-PVA but in reality, there is a difference under controlled environment. The pixels for A-MVA and S-PVA are shaped like >>>. So for those getting a samsung, check your panels to know if you're getting it at a good bargain. Check the Serial number which is normally located on the back-right of the screen and the model number behind. You can tell with alphabets like C,S or A. Another way which I took was reviewing the service menu whereby you'll be able to see the lcd panel type and manufacturer. Yet another more convincing yet simpler way is to bring a camera to the showroom and take a macro photo of the screen. Zoom in and see the pixel's shape. It will be more accurate than checking the serial but until now no complains from those who relied on the serial. |
Jun 8 2007, 10:57 AM
So, that means Samsung uses various types of panels even for their LCD tvs too? I guess it's the same scenario as those Samsung 226BW widescreen LCD monitors, there are grade A and B panels in the market so I assume that if the price of R8 drops further, we can assume that it will be replaced with an inferior panel then.
Alright, to clear my confusion, is the S-MVA panel a 10-bit colour panel like the S-PVA panel? If the S-PVA is superior, why is the dynamic contrast for S-MVA panel is higher because the technology is newer? According to Samsung's website, the R8 has a dynamic contrast of 8000:1, the S8 has around 7000:1 while their Mosel F7 series with S-PVA panel only has a dynamic contrast of 6000:1. As for their M8, the dynamic contrast is the highest 15000:1 but of course, I'm not sure what panel that the M8 is currently using. I know these dynamic contrast figures are inflated ones and don't represent the actual value, I'm just curious though why the S-PVA panel sports a lower value. Besides that, how does S-MVA and S-PVA compare to Hitachi, LG and Philips's ALiS panels? Are they more superior or inferior than ALiS panels? Hope Bro schizophrenic can shed some light here since you know a lot about these stuff. |
Jun 8 2007, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 8 2007, 10:57 AM) So, that means Samsung uses various types of panels even for their LCD tvs too? I guess it's the same scenario as those Samsung 226BW widescreen LCD monitors, there are grade A and B panels in the market so I assume that if the price of R8 drops further, we can assume that it will be replaced with an inferior panel then. As far as I know M8 is also using S-PVA and the dynamic contrast...not sure how it works but doubt the panel is the cause of the higher dynamic contrast ratio....I know more about the types of panel as I was figuring out what panel was my R8 supplied with. LOL apart from that I know nutz. SorryAlright, to clear my confusion, is the S-MVA panel a 10-bit colour panel like the S-PVA panel? If the S-PVA is superior, why is the dynamic contrast for S-MVA panel is higher because the technology is newer? According to Samsung's website, the R8 has a dynamic contrast of 8000:1, the S8 has around 7000:1 while their Mosel F7 series with S-PVA panel only has a dynamic contrast of 6000:1. As for their M8, the dynamic contrast is the highest 15000:1 but of course, I'm not sure what panel that the M8 is currently using. I know these dynamic contrast figures are inflated ones and don't represent the actual value, I'm just curious though why the S-PVA panel sports a lower value. Besides that, how does S-MVA and S-PVA compare to Hitachi, LG and Philips's ALiS panels? Are they more superior or inferior than ALiS panels? Hope Bro schizophrenic can shed some light here since you know a lot about these stuff. Perhaps htkaki could share his view. Or anyone else? On how does Dynamic contrast works and if it is related to the quality of the panel. Also on How does S-MVA and S-PVA compare to Hitachi,LG and Philips' AliS panels? |
Jun 8 2007, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jun 8 2007, 10:33 PM) As far as I know M8 is also using S-PVA and the dynamic contrast...not sure how it works but doubt the panel is the cause of the higher dynamic contrast ratio....I know more about the types of panel as I was figuring out what panel was my R8 supplied with. LOL apart from that I know nutz. Sorry According to some Australian forums, the 32 inch R8 models normally come with either P-MVA or S-MVA panels but for the 37 and 40 inch R8 models, they're likely to come with S-PVA panels. Hmmm.... confusing, eh? Of course, S-MVA panels are not inferior because they do look better than the previous R7 models.Perhaps htkaki could share his view. Or anyone else? On how does Dynamic contrast works and if it is related to the quality of the panel. Also on How does S-MVA and S-PVA compare to Hitachi,LG and Philips' AliS panels? |
Jun 9 2007, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 8 2007, 11:51 PM) According to some Australian forums, the 32 inch R8 models normally come with either P-MVA or S-MVA panels but for the 37 and 40 inch R8 models, they're likely to come with S-PVA panels. Hmmm.... confusing, eh? Of course, S-MVA panels are not inferior because they do look better than the previous R7 models. I noticed 40" R8 to be equiped with AUO's S-MVA at harvey norman with pixels shaped like >>>never seen a 37" R8 yet |
Jun 9 2007, 10:55 AM
2,884 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Mummy |
QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jun 8 2007, 10:33 PM) As far as I know M8 is also using S-PVA and the dynamic contrast...not sure how it works but doubt the panel is the cause of the higher dynamic contrast ratio....I know more about the types of panel as I was figuring out what panel was my R8 supplied with. LOL apart from that I know nutz. Sorry My friend who's working in Samsung as R&D engineer told me, dynamic contrast are just figures, the panels are the same. It's only a firmware upgrade.Perhaps htkaki could share his view. Or anyone else? On how does Dynamic contrast works and if it is related to the quality of the panel. Also on How does S-MVA and S-PVA compare to Hitachi,LG and Philips' AliS panels? |
Jun 9 2007, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 9 2007, 10:55 AM) My friend who's working in Samsung as R&D engineer told me, dynamic contrast are just figures, the panels are the same. It's only a firmware upgrade. It doesn't seem to be the case right now if you were to check the service menu. For example, like R8 models, buyers are getting all types of MVA panels, some with S-MVA and P-MVA, basically, they're from the same manufacturer but the specs are different so resuilting in a slightly different picture quality. It's the same as our Sony PSP handheld, the first batch came with Sharp TFT screens, now replaced by Samsung TFT screens, upon closer inspection, they're not the same. Only the Mosel series stated clearly that they come with S-PVA panels, hence, the slightly expensive price tag. I guess Samsung is playing it safe by keep quiet about the panel used for their R8 or even their S8 models, otherwise, if not, we can sue them for false advertising especially if they mentioned S-PVA panels but we're given a MVA one instead. |
Jun 9 2007, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 9 2007, 11:25 AM) It doesn't seem to be the case right now if you were to check the service menu. For example, like R8 models, buyers are getting all types of MVA panels, some with S-MVA and P-MVA, basically, they're from the same manufacturer but the specs are different so resuilting in a slightly different picture quality. It's the same as our Sony PSP handheld, the first batch came with Sharp TFT screens, now replaced by Samsung TFT screens, upon closer inspection, they're not the same. offence under Trade Descriptions Act 1972Only the Mosel series stated clearly that they come with S-PVA panels, hence, the slightly expensive price tag. I guess Samsung is playing it safe by keep quiet about the panel used for their R8 or even their S8 models, otherwise, if not, we can sue them for false advertising especially if they mentioned S-PVA panels but we're given a MVA one instead. LOL there's a lot of issue with samsung's UK site whereby they stated S-PVA but infact it is shipped with S-MVA. LOL Read in other forums from their user's experience stated that Samsung's customer service replied saying they are all the same and that it is a codename for different manufacturers. LOL Eventually, samsung removed the S-PVA from their website. It was for the R87 and R88. supposed to be the same as our R81 except a few specs being different. Notably the Scart connector and the brightness level ours being 550 .... and theirs 450. |
Jun 10 2007, 08:17 PM
638 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Hey all,
Any views on the LA37S81B? Is it a good buy? Saw MBf's promo in my email and have some idle hands now... Thanks. |
Jun 10 2007, 09:24 PM
4,251 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
wats the promo? if it's cheap i dun see why not. samsung lcd is not half bad
Jun 10 2007, 09:37 PM
638 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Jun 10 2007, 10:36 PM
i use S7 model
rm3900 for 37 incher? grab it ~~~ i got my 40" for rm4999 |
Jun 11 2007, 12:31 AM
404 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
so ... my priority will be the R81 ... coz house small ... 32" will be enuf coz viewing distance 6 - 8 ft ngam ngam only ... any suggestions ?
Jun 11 2007, 01:26 AM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Jun 11 2007, 02:43 AM
yup, get a 37 incher at least ... for watch my 40" at 7 feet distance
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:06 AM |