Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

dirtrun
post Jan 19 2007, 09:56 AM

3,136 posts

What about de Oppo981?
dirtrun
post Jan 21 2007, 03:25 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jan 20 2007, 12:34 PM)
Heheehee

Bro if tat is for my benefit ... no need le I am in de following MO already ...

Too much poison running around

Hehehe
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Jan 24 2007, 09:58 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 24 2007, 09:09 AM)
I was supposed to get the Oppo 981 but then... after think think think... well... its difficult. Of course, when you get to compare side by side with different players, you might see the difference... but if you don't, I guess the Sony 76H was enough. Ha! Ha!

To get Oppo, I need to go to Singapore, visit SLT Technology Pte Ltd, and ask them reserve for me. And surely, there won't be warranty as Oppo does not give international warranty to resellers.

The next thing, Oppo is still a good player. Their idea of the player is-cheap material and simple set up but using good chips and performance orientated.
Aiya bro Tim,

If u r staying up north then I got kangtao for de Sg oppo lo...

But like u said no warranty but I am hoping that de normal one year u get from buying a branded player will be just as good here(meaning de oppo wont spoil during de year) after that well then they are on even footing...besides I cant afford de 2930, hehehe so literally beggars cant be choosers le

Cheers
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Jan 25 2007, 11:44 AM

3,136 posts

Hehehe,

When I say got , got lah... and did I mention that it is from Sg ...

NVM bro u already got de sony so just enjoy...

Me still waiting for de Oppo but then again I dun have Pj yet either...hehehe ... different mah

Now to decide hmmnn AX or not AX...shheessh

Cheers
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Jan 26 2007, 02:27 PM

3,136 posts

Hehehe,

I talk SvS oso but that one old news already since now got 13in drivers...

Hehehe
Dirtrun
BTW I see lite at de end of my search already...hehehe

dirtrun
post Feb 14 2007, 01:38 PM

3,136 posts

Sorry to hijack tis thread...

Has any bros tried/ tested out de Quayle brand of Lcd Tvs...de reason I am asking is dat I am offered at a quite tempting price and was wondering if it was half decent?

Thanks for ur comments
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Apr 2 2007, 04:31 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 2 2007, 02:12 PM)
Hey guys..
I don't usually keep in touch with AV equipment but there's one thats making waves.

Oppo DV-981HD

Official Oppo website:
http://www.oppodigital.com/dv981hd/dv981hd_index.html

Someone in a S'pore AV forum is enthusiastically doing a mass order.
Damn machine plays everything..including SACD, and I think I read it can be hot-rodded.

Friend using it wif Bravia 42in and he is very happy wif it.
Pics are nice but of cos wouldn't be able to tell you if it is better than other hdmi equipped players but comparing wif his old samsung dvdp... no comparisonle

Cheers
Dirtrun

dirtrun
post Apr 2 2007, 05:23 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 2 2007, 05:20 PM)
Aiyo... how to compare with Samsung? Apple and ciku la...
Hi Bro,

If you were to ask a man on de street he will choose samsung le if u give him dat and de oppo ....

Hehehe
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Apr 3 2007, 09:24 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 2 2007, 08:53 PM)
Thats true...

Oi... maxguy, you go bulk it le... count us in... kekekeke

Even my friend (net savvy but not into forums...) went 'Wah!!! 1k for what brand again'... when I told him about de oppo 981HD, but after checking ... he was very glad I could pass him my first unit.

I guess for de price cannot complain le...

Now waiting for my own ...
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Apr 6 2007, 04:54 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Quenox @ Apr 6 2007, 08:20 AM)
Denon DVD-1930 is a good buy, its scaling circuit supports up to 1080p not just 1080i.
Yup,

But I ended up wif de oppo981 ... but I did short list dat model denon...

Cheers
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Apr 9 2007, 01:10 PM

3,136 posts

Just to add dat de Oppo 981 hd is pretty good with uhm er not so ori dvd's. Discs dat have problems wif my pioneer 380 can play on de oppo...

Bad, bad oppo...
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post May 7 2007, 11:32 AM

3,136 posts

Oppo 981 hd is selling for S$425 at de moment thru a group buy in one of de forums...

Sorry la no time to do group buy ... besides it takes my contact in Sg a long time to transport it out to Mal( I am a very patient man mah...) ... oh ya and I am up north so lagi teruk cos most of you guys are in KL, rite?

Maybe, some kind soul in JB can help do tis?

On performance of de oppo981 : de other nite one of my dvds was hangin on de oppo so transferred to my trusty pioneer 380 and continued where we left off and my wife who is a total noob( dunno wat is 480 or 720 or anything like dat) went on to say, wah, de picture looked better playing from de oppo(I am outputting 720p out to my epson pj) .... so there is some difference after all..

Cheers
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: May 7 2007, 11:33 AM
dirtrun
post May 7 2007, 02:41 PM

3,136 posts

96 X 54 inches
dirtrun
post May 7 2007, 05:29 PM

3,136 posts

You are rite...

On friends 42in bravia de improvement was there but not so noticeable, I guess ... but friend liked it and took de oppo 981 off my hands there and then ...
As is this is my second oppo 981 liao...
Hehehe
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: May 7 2007, 05:31 PM
dirtrun
post Jun 5 2007, 03:27 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(groucho @ Jun 4 2007, 03:59 PM)
i can agree with this.. the DVP NS76H is great, as well as this, pioneer and phillips are great brands with good reputations.

I think Sony is best overall however. they look good, have good features, good build quality and have good remotes as well smile.gif

Ill throw in de oppo models too... but no agent feedbackla..

dirtrun
post Aug 22 2007, 02:24 PM

3,136 posts

Ok,

Enuff of showing its innards...

Hows its video and audio performance pls...

Kekeke tongue.gif
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Sep 7 2007, 04:52 PM

3,136 posts

Hiya,

Sorry to have to ask u guys to go back a few steps but does de Philips 5986 have components connexion???

Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Sep 11 2007, 12:49 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Sep 7 2007, 07:18 PM)
Of coz have  rclxm9.gif

Allrite ... Philips it is ... cheap and good - stop gap until Hi Def

Thank you
Dirtrun

dirtrun
post Sep 11 2007, 04:17 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Sep 11 2007, 02:07 PM)
Did anyone consider

http://www.oppodigital.com/

981 user here ...

Uhmm I am looking for another dvdp for de bedroom set hence asking abt de Philips hdmi dvdp...

Cheers
Dirtrun
dirtrun
post Sep 12 2007, 11:48 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Sep 11 2007, 07:38 PM)
mind telling us where/how much u got the oppo for ?  icon_rolleyes.gif

In Sg for S$425/-

Cheers
Dirtrun

0.0408sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:36 AM