7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

limeuu
post Jan 25 2018, 04:17 PM

12,290 posts

It's pretty difficult to determine enrich miles required, as it is now linked to the actual price of the tickets...which varies day to day, flight to flight....only way is to do a trial booking....day by day...

Unlike the zone method used before, and still used by most other airlines ffp....
limeuu
post Jul 22 2018, 11:55 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jul 22 2018, 01:37 AM)
just redeemed 2 return business class tickets to europe on SQ. New A380 to Zurich and A350 from Munich back home.. got to say, SQ availability is quite good considering that my dates are not that far off.. Called the Singapore CS and got them to piece together the itinerary and confirmed the tickets within like 15 mins.. very efficient, compared to MH.

I realized that the trick is to get the tickets on mid week (Tuesday or Thursdays). Somehow, wednesday tickets are always on waitlist. total damage on tax was about RM 800 only while using 340k miles for 2 pax.

Highly recommend those who can credit to singapore airlines do so via SQ... MAS is ridiculous, one return flight to London (only destination to Europe) is almost 410k + taxes..
Yes, mh enrich j redemption is now rubbish....

You starting from kul?....
limeuu
post Jul 22 2018, 02:37 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jul 22 2018, 11:57 AM)
Yea. Transit in changi.
Also doing a stopover in changi on the way back. That's why call the CS to piece together all the segments under one ticket to get free stopover. If book online, can only do one way redemption hence have to pay for the stopover.
I thought can do a multi sector booking with a stopover in sin using the krisflyer online system?....
limeuu
post Feb 18 2019, 10:12 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 17 2019, 09:48 PM)
SQ announced Krisflyer Spontaneous Escapes for Mar 2019. Many discounted Y & J seats
Unfortunately too "spontaneous".....only for travel in March....sad.gif
limeuu
post Feb 23 2019, 05:26 PM

12,290 posts

No point joining a ffp unless you fly frequently with that airline....

Swiss is part of star alliance....so maybe sq will be the more likely airline you will use....
limeuu
post Mar 18 2019, 10:39 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(frozz@holic @ Mar 18 2019, 10:07 AM)
not sure right place/thread but i recently just found out when a friend pointed it out, can someone help to explain why are they so many seat codes like below

Y / B / H / K / M / L / V / S / N / Q / O / G / X / A / W / P / J / C / D / I / Z

I understand for the different class but for different paid fare for same class too ?
so service commensurate with price paid ? or just to discriminate ?
Ticket pricing is a complex science....many factors come into play.....early purchase, different markets, different portals, group bookings, etc all can have different codes....

It entitles you to different levels of flexibility to amend booking, cancel, rebook, reroute, frequent flyer miles earned, eligibility for upgrade to higher class travels and/or choice of seats to choose from on check-in...

However, once in aircraft, only the main classes are relevant.... economy, premium economy, business or first....whether you are y(full fare) or k or v or o(discounted economy) or g(group) class, you get the same service on board....
limeuu
post Mar 24 2019, 10:15 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Mar 23 2019, 09:35 PM)
krislfyer just devalue star alliance redemption chart, I remember the last devaluation for star alliances chart was just around one years ago, seems like devaluation become more and more frequent
It gets easier to get miles from CC .....

But the actual miles earned by flying remains the same.....so it's becoming more of a CC perk than the original "frequent flyer" program...
limeuu
post Mar 25 2019, 11:27 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(owodog91 @ Mar 25 2019, 11:15 AM)
Ya..Economy
Actually can go for business class but i feel save the point to use again next time
In terms of value for your points, it's always better to redeem j class.....

If you get low miles redemption for y, you can get it cheaply in cash too....
limeuu
post Mar 25 2019, 10:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Mar 25 2019, 10:04 PM)
Yes, i used to saw mh selling business class for rm4k
Which is why the redemption is also cheap....

Btw, after "to" always present tense.....lol
limeuu
post Apr 2 2019, 12:16 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Apr 2 2019, 12:12 PM)
How much ampoint per one ringgit spend?
5 points per RM spend overseas....still not as good as ambank's vi/m2p.....but the wmc will save you about 1 Sen per RM due to lower FC conversion charges.....
limeuu
post May 2 2019, 11:52 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(isaacchew @ May 2 2019, 08:51 PM)
Anyone knows if there's a card similar to BigPay in Australia?
Tried finding but couldn't find. A lot of things they don't have, don't even have e-wallets
They have a well developed system of EFTPOS....but using the visa/MC network on the debit cards.....it's very widely accepted and you can even take money (cash out) when you pay at supermarkets....

Not much advantage using e-wallets.....

The WeChat pay/alipay system took off in China because they have no existing network of card based payment system, unlike Oz.....so it fills the vacuum in electronic payment.....
limeuu
post May 3 2019, 11:53 AM

12,290 posts

The main issue in Malaysia is the transaction costs....the visa(plus)/MC(cirrus) network is expensive to run for merchants as it need dedicated terminals and network connection to the servers....hence could not penetrate down the chain to low value retail....

On the other hand, the newer electronic payment systems run off existing infrastructure: your phones and normal internet connections....and hence cost almost nothing to set up....hence wider acceptance by low value retail....

How rapidly a country adopts these new payment systems depends on their existing infrastructure.... for PRC, with almost zero electronic payment system before, adopting WeChat is logical....

For Oz (and most oecd countries) with well established EFTPOS infrastructure in place, there is little advantage to adopt the e-wallets and phone based payment systems, and there may even be resistance, as they already have spent a lot of money on the EFTPOS system....

Going forward, I foresee the big 3 (visa/MC/amex) merging their card based system with the phone based system....ie doing exactly like fave.....I believe the wave functionality can be adapted to read a phone in addition to a card....and I foresee they slowly giving up dedicated terminals and migrate to cheaper QR code scanners....and they have one BIG advantage ....their system is international.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 3 2019, 11:55 AM
limeuu
post May 9 2019, 10:39 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ May 9 2019, 10:31 AM)

Im having a bit of dilemma.

As u all might heard, maybank will increase it redemption for airmiles by 10%.

So as a newbie in this game i have accumulated 400,000 tp in 4 months time. The situation is i need to redeem this TP to airmiles before 1/6/2019 (before the increase).

The dilemma is i have 60,000 EM(got it from CIMB Enrich programme) and 400,000TP, to which airmiles should i redeem it to EM/KF/AM?
Need to fly to Tokyo for 2 person.

Current redemption for 1 pax to tokyo:
EM: 130,000
AM: 100,000
KF: 180,000
Not enough for 2 pax j return, but should be enough for one way j .....and since you already have 60k miles in em, no choice but use em.....
limeuu
post May 9 2019, 11:14 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ May 9 2019, 11:10 AM)
Same destination but different miles needed.dies it means less miles for higher tax surcharges?
Yes.....am needs the least miles, but the yj is pretty steep....kf needs the highest miles, but yj is usually only few hundred MYR....
limeuu
post May 9 2019, 11:52 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ May 9 2019, 11:44 AM)
Kf to Tokyo don’t need 180k
I think he is quoting advantage redemption, 90k quoted, but unlike am or em, that quote is for return..... savers only 50k return!

limeuu
post May 9 2019, 12:06 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ May 9 2019, 12:03 PM)
Saver 50k return? Which airline?
Sorry, that's for y.....j is 94k savers return....
limeuu
post May 9 2019, 12:53 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ May 9 2019, 12:15 PM)
Whats the diff between saver and advantage besides more redemption?
More availability and stopovers in advantage....savers usually quickly get snapped up....
limeuu
post May 10 2019, 08:01 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ May 10 2019, 06:59 AM)
Does it make sense to convert treat point to Asia miles for hotel vouchers?
Hotel vouchers is converting miles Into it's cash value....never as good as to j flights, which always yield a higher return as calculated on the market value of these tickets....
limeuu
post May 15 2019, 02:31 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(act one @ May 15 2019, 01:16 PM)
bro,
how old is your kid?

mine is 5.
it is too young for them to take Suites class in flight?
Suite class for young children is a waste..... unless you are drowning in miles..... lol
limeuu
post May 17 2019, 10:04 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(alextan333 @ May 17 2019, 09:27 AM)
Anyone know how to get oneworld emerald (first class perks) and star alliance gold ( extra 20kg).. I usually fly business class on rewards ticket AM/Krisflyer
By being a emerald equivalent in a oneworld airline....in the case of mh, that means 130 elite sectors or 100,000 elite miles to get platinum status... almost impossible unless you travel weekly j class....or monthly LHR return.....lol

Note cc points conversion gets you miles.....not elite miles, hence you cannot redeem yourself into a status....

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2085sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:00 AM