130 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

Devil4life
post Dec 18 2015, 12:54 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(kakashi... @ Dec 18 2015, 11:51 AM)
What is the best /most rebate for petrol card rebate currently?

Monthly petrol usage around rm800 to 1k
Hong Leong Wise Card. Should not be issue for you to have at least 10 x RM50 transaction.

First year annual fee waived, make sure apply gold for lower annual fees amount
kakashi...
post Dec 18 2015, 01:44 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Dec 18 2015, 12:54 PM)
Hong Leong Wise Card. Should not be issue for you to have at least 10 x RM50 transaction.

First year annual fee waived, make sure apply gold for lower annual fees amount
Annual fee can waive for following months?
karcity
post Dec 18 2015, 01:47 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(kakashi... @ Dec 18 2015, 01:44 PM)
Only first year is free. Subsequent year AF is a must
Devil4life
post Dec 18 2015, 01:47 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(kakashi... @ Dec 18 2015, 01:44 PM)
No, i think the annual fees about RM300 plus, for more detail head to that thread.

but it is 10% rebate, minus annual fees will be about 8.X%
laymank
post Dec 18 2015, 03:44 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Dec 18 2015, 01:47 PM)
No, i think the annual fees about RM300 plus, for more detail head to that thread.

but it is 10% rebate, minus annual fees will be about 8.X%
Opt for the Standard Wise card (non platinum) so that AF is lower.
SUSDavid83
post Dec 19 2015, 07:01 PM

52,874 posts

Today I bought some gold jewelry and paid using credit card.

The shop charged me 2% for card fee and the fee attracts GST too.

I'm wondering if the so called card should attract GST or not?

I'm not complaining or what but overall deal is still cheaper than if I buy it from Tomei/Wah Chan/Poh Kong franchise.
Savor_Savvy
post Dec 19 2015, 10:33 PM

2,776 posts

New to cc. Plan to apply for one. Any recommendations? For petrol (SHELL) and online purchases.
charymsylyn
post Dec 19 2015, 10:39 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 19 2015, 07:01 PM)
Yes, GST should also be charged on the entire total inclusive of any fees.
SUSDavid83
post Dec 19 2015, 11:02 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Dec 19 2015, 10:39 PM)
Yes, GST should also be charged on the entire total inclusive of any fees.
But the 2% charge fee should be bear by the merchant and hence with the GST itself.
Belphegor
post Dec 20 2015, 02:00 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 19 2015, 10:33 PM)
New to cc. Plan to apply for one. Any recommendations? For petrol (SHELL) and online purchases.
UOB CC.Try browse around on that CC. Has petrol and online purchase rebates.
karcity
post Dec 20 2015, 03:56 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 19 2015, 11:02 PM)
But the 2% charge fee should be bear by the merchant and hence with the GST itself.
I asked the same questions before. No one could give a clear answer in this forum. I remember subsequently someone mentioned VISA card shouldn't have charge us 2% while master cards are allowed by their term.
I bought jewellery and being charged 2% few times at different shops before. What to do....
sj0217
post Dec 20 2015, 04:10 PM

6,483 posts

Same like paying Indah Water bill through POSonline, charge two GST, one for the bill, another for card fee
Human Nature
post Dec 20 2015, 04:12 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=76661674
read here
charymsylyn
post Dec 21 2015, 05:29 PM

500 posts

I agree with you that the credit card fee should be included in the sales price to you but since it wasn't, GST covers the entire amount of goods and services charged to you unless there are any zero-rated or exempt items in the invoice.
rayz112
post Dec 22 2015, 05:12 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kakashi... @ Dec 18 2015, 11:51 AM)
What is the best /most rebate for petrol card rebate currently?

Monthly petrol usage around rm800 to 1k
Try this link:

http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Whats-...ol--Touch-.aspx
laymank
post Dec 22 2015, 10:59 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(rayz112 @ Dec 22 2015, 05:12 PM)
Go HLB WISE card!
Davidtcf
post Dec 23 2015, 09:35 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

HSBC Visa Platinum not good? Just got it a few days ago.

I always go to shopping malls so means will swipe there for makan etc..

https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2//personal-banki...#_visa_platinum

Faster to earn RM50 vouchers also if compare with Maybank2Card:
https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgm...ards/index.html

15k for RM50 voucher, compare to Maybank is 23k for RM50 voucher. And it's Visa so means much more easily accepted compare to 5x points Amex Maybank card:
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/TPoint...ption300415.pdf (page 18)

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 23 2015, 09:36 AM
laymank
post Dec 23 2015, 10:09 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 23 2015, 09:35 AM)
HSBC Visa Platinum not good? Just got it a few days ago.

I always go to shopping malls so means will swipe there for makan etc..

https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2//personal-banki...#_visa_platinum

Faster to earn RM50 vouchers also if compare with Maybank2Card:
https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgm...ards/index.html

15k for RM50 voucher, compare to Maybank is 23k for RM50 voucher. And it's Visa so means much more easily accepted compare to 5x points Amex Maybank card:
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/TPoint...ption300415.pdf (page 18)
Seems to me you are drawn by the 8x reward points offered by the card.

When I looked at the T&C, the 5x/8x reward program will end in 31Dec15 (8 days from now??).
chiahau
post Dec 23 2015, 10:18 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 19 2015, 07:01 PM)
Today I bought some gold jewelry and paid using credit card.

The shop charged me 2% for card fee and the fee attracts GST too.

I'm not complaining or what but overall deal is still cheaper than if I buy it from Tomei/Wah Chan/Poh Kong franchise.
Refer to the reply I posted from Visa / Mastercard.

Human Nature already enclosed the link.

Please do not hesitate to contact your merchant bank and make a fuss.

And GST is on the total amount of sales, so you will be slapped with 6% GST on top of your 2% Card charges.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 19 2015, 10:33 PM)
No single card to cover both.

No salary bracket as well?

1. MBB Ikhwan ( Friday~Saturday 5% Petrol + Groceries) OR
2. UOB One ( Petrol weekend 5% + 2% $mart at BHP ) OR

For Online :-

1. CIMB CR ( RM 30 online CB / 2% petrol on daily basis ) OR
2. UOB Vox ( 5% online / 1 swipe per month / utilities applicable )

If salary above 100k :-

1. MBB Visa Signature ( Daily groceries and petrol 5% )

+

2. PBB Visa Signature ( Online 5% )

For more info, go to respective thread and take a peek.

QUOTE(karcity @ Dec 20 2015, 03:56 PM)
I asked the same questions before. No one could give a clear answer in this forum. I remember subsequently someone mentioned VISA card shouldn't have charge us 2% while master cards are allowed by their term.
I bought jewellery and being charged 2% few times at different shops before. What to do....
It's not SHOULD but it's MUST not charge.

BNM already stated, no minimum purchase and no fee should be imposed to customers.

I have repeated encourage people to stop such practice by listing the outlet and making official paper trail complaints to BNM / Banks / VISA or MASTER or AMEX to encourage them to ban such behaviors as well.

Side note : I shopped at Tiffany, never once I've been asked to cough up any surcharges tongue.gif

Pick your merchant wisely, if you don't want to get slapped with surcharges.

ashskywalker
post Dec 23 2015, 01:24 PM

18 posts

Any other CC have same function as OCBC Platinum? Which is the auto IPP where purchases over a certain amount will automatically be split into 3-6 months depending on amount.

130 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:59 PM