125 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

sandkoh
post Dec 22 2015, 10:56 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(winnie619 @ Dec 22 2015, 10:46 AM)
HAHAHA, yea correct. since now IBG is free  drool.gif
use IBFT for instant transfer. but certain banks like ambank no ibft.
gsc
post Dec 22 2015, 11:03 AM

1,624 posts

A few months back HL junior saving rate instead of the same as 1 month FD has dropped to 2.5% but HL junior islamic isaving is still maintain at 1 mth FD. Was told yesterday, the islamic also drop to 2%.. Is this true.
knwong
post Dec 22 2015, 11:29 AM

3,559 posts

C***bank always do cold calling and recent one tried offer me RM10k for 3.2% personal loan.

I don't really need the money but if I was thinking if I take the loan and put into 4.5% FD can I earn?

Or it's not as easy as that?
cklimm
post Dec 22 2015, 11:40 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 22 2015, 11:29 AM)
C***bank always do cold calling and recent one tried offer me RM10k for 3.2% personal loan.

I don't really need the money but if I was thinking if I take the loan and put into 4.5% FD can I earn?

Or it's not as easy as that?
Note: you need to pay your loan every month, but your FD needs to complete the tenure before you actually earn
mamamia
post Dec 22 2015, 12:47 PM

6,423 posts

https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/assets/...-450-tnc-en.pdf

HLB MACH 4.5% FD 6 months T&C
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:00 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 22 2015, 08:40 AM)
kind of hearing: don't give free moxxx to the banks! rclxm9.gif  tongue.gif
That's the idea. tongue.gif

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 10:46 AM)
Brother, what you means when saying

"After 5 years, then only you move your money. Interest will not be added to the original amount (prinicipal)"

Meaning? Sorry I didn't catch it ya.
Money is locked up for 5 years. You do not need to go chasing for FD promo every year.
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:01 PM

24,334 posts

Went to Ambank just now, BC is RM2.80. New promo coming in January.

Didn't go place any FD. Just "transferring my money"
sandkoh
post Dec 22 2015, 01:07 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 22 2015, 01:00 PM)
say it out loud! brows.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 22 2015, 01:01 PM)
Went to Ambank just now, BC is RM2.80. New promo coming in January.

Didn't go place any FD. Just "transferring my money"
no more talk of bc rm5? brows.gif tongue.gif

transfer $$ to buy asnb ut? brows.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:10 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 22 2015, 01:07 PM)
say it out loud! brows.gif  rclxm9.gif
no more talk of bc rm5? brows.gif  tongue.gif

transfer $$ to buy asnb ut? brows.gif
Don't want la. Later kena curse. tongue.gif Next time I asked CIMB and Maybank and see how much is their BC.
Not transfer. Withdraw cash.
contestchris
post Dec 22 2015, 01:21 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 22 2015, 01:00 PM)
Money is locked up for 5 years. You do not need to go chasing for FD promo every year.
Again, what you mean by interest will not be added to principal amount?
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:38 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 01:21 PM)
Again, what you mean by interest will not be added to principal amount?
With 5 years FD, you will need to open a SA. Interest will be given every 6 months or monthly (if you are more than 50 years old - some FD) into that SA. The interest will never be added to your original amount
contestchris
post Dec 22 2015, 01:39 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 22 2015, 01:38 PM)
With 5 years FD, you will need to open a SA. Interest will be given every 6 months or monthly (if you are more than 50 years old - some FD) into that SA. The interest will never be added to your original amount
What? Lady at bank say to me, FD will always be taking my interest, campur balik to principal. You say now, after 5 years no more like this wan?
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:55 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 01:39 PM)
What? Lady at bank say to me, FD will always be taking my interest, campur balik to principal. You say now, after 5 years no more like this wan?
That is for 1-12months year FD where the instructions is interest add-on and renew at board rates (~3.x%). For > 1 year FD, usually one need to open a SA for them to give you the interest.
Gen-X
post Dec 22 2015, 02:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 21 2015, 11:03 PM)
4. Banks will never upgrade you to their best rates (4.x+%). You will received board rates (~3+%). Why should they give 4.x+% when they can give you ~3+%?  The only way to keep enjoying 4.x+% is to move your money around to another bank to get 4.x+% as banks only give 4.x+% for fresh funds (money not originally from their bank)

Bro, never say never tongue.gif

Last month I mentioned here that Affin Bank renewed my matured FD and gave me their Promo rate of 4.2% 12 months. All I had to do was talk to the Service Manager.

For UOB case - yesterday I had 1 FD maturing and another 3 next week. My RM told me that she will request 4.5% 12 months for all 4 FDs and within 15 minutes she told me that she had received approval from HQ for all 3 FDs. I am sure you are aware that UOB current promo is 4.4% for 12 months (if not, see Post#1). Therefore, I got higher than their "official advertised" Promo rate!

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 22 2015, 02:33 PM
contestchris
post Dec 22 2015, 03:14 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 22 2015, 02:33 PM)
Bro, never say never  tongue.gif

Last month I mentioned here that Affin Bank renewed my matured FD and gave me their Promo rate of 4.2% 12 months. All I had to do was talk to the Service Manager.

For UOB case - yesterday I had 1 FD maturing and another 3 next week. My RM told me that she will request 4.5% 12 months for all 4 FDs and within 15 minutes she told me that she had received approval from HQ for all 3 FDs. I am sure you are aware that UOB current promo is 4.4% for 12 months (if not, see Post#1). Therefore, I got higher than their "official advertised" Promo rate!
How come like that? Now at 4.3% I get from CIMB, next year I call them or go to branch to settle again at promo rate? Just threaten, or talk nicely? This is too difficult to understand now, all peoples saying many different things.
cybpsych
post Dec 22 2015, 03:36 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 03:14 PM)
How come like that? Now at 4.3% I get from CIMB, next year I call them or go to branch to settle again at promo rate? Just threaten, or talk nicely? This is too difficult to understand now, all peoples saying many different things.
don't kill your braincells.

place to whatever fd promo now that suits you.

when near maturity, figure out where to put.

from now till maturity, a lot of things can change.
!@#$%^
post Dec 22 2015, 03:45 PM

Safe Trader
17,498 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 03:14 PM)
before that, u need to understand gen x's background and how much money he has. lol

Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 03:58 PM

24,334 posts

You and I not same playing field what. doh.gif whistling.gif

Me have no Priority status with any bank and will never apply for any of their Priority status (waste of my money). laugh.gif
matow
post Dec 22 2015, 04:26 PM

216 posts

I just received a call from Hong Leong Bank sales person. She claims to be offering a new type of Savings Account whereby they can guarantee interest rates of 7 to 8% per annum but with some terms and conditions applied. She requested for a meeting with me tomorrow for a presentation at my office. I also clearly asked her if this was investment link type of savings but she said no, this is pure savings (almost like FD type) and no risk. I'm intrigued and said that I'll meet her and listen without obligation.
Anyone else got such telephone call from Hong Leong Bank?

Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 04:27 PM

24,334 posts

CIMB Clicks eFD 4.3% 12 months. Minimum RM10k
https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/eFD.html

125 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled