Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

cybpsych
post Dec 13 2015, 07:44 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Daphne.M @ Dec 12 2015, 10:35 PM)
Ocbc 4.5% is it have quota? And do I need to open a savings account with them?
all FD have quota, per placement and per campaign/promo.

if you really search OCBC website, the T&Cs stated it clearly: http://ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts/tnc...l2_43_45_en.pdf

'bout opening savings account, generally they do required for interest crediting purposes. but you can try tell OCBC that you dont want to open the SA. it's possible.
cybpsych
post Dec 13 2015, 11:11 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 13 2015, 10:42 AM)
As explained before by cybpsych, OCBC e-SmartSavers is a saving account that functions as a fixed deposit, offering 4% of interest per annum if no withdrawal is made.

So, there is an extremely low possibility that OCBC will extend the date for the 4% of interest, beyond 31 December 2015, right?

For those who have OCBC e-SmartSavers, what would you do after 31 December 2015? After the interest is credited, do you all make full withdrawal and close the account? 

Thanks for the advice. smile.gif
assuming the promo rate not extended, the e-SmartSavers is basically like a conventional SmartSavers. it's redundant though. blink.gif

not sure what's the exit plan (for e-SmartSavers promo rate) or continuity plan to maintain this product (as opposed to SmartSavers)

problem with e-SmartSavers that i found out earlier on was that you are required to visit the branch to close the account, that's why i didnt bother to open it at the first place.

Note: I've already opened the conventional SmartSavers when placing for FD last year.

cybpsych
post Dec 13 2015, 11:19 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2015, 11:17 AM)
Not only that. If one were to make withdrawal of >RM25K/year,  one will need to visit the counter to do it. Kind of defeats the purpose of an eaccount
if you read the T&Cs, the "e" doesnt mean the account is fully "e" (e.g. m2u savers/savers-i)

the application processs is the "e", the rest is conventional processes.
cybpsych
post Dec 14 2015, 07:28 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Dec 14 2015, 07:11 PM)
Hlbb 4.5% 6 months promo valid until when?
read 13 posts above.
cybpsych
post Dec 15 2015, 02:51 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 15 2015, 02:03 PM)
The statement made it sound like that. Or is it the promo help them to collect the cash required to pay the fine?
doesnt matter la. gsc's comment could just be a conjecture anyway.

if we keep commenting over and over something that is not official, this would turn into /k/.
cybpsych
post Dec 22 2015, 03:36 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 03:14 PM)
How come like that? Now at 4.3% I get from CIMB, next year I call them or go to branch to settle again at promo rate? Just threaten, or talk nicely? This is too difficult to understand now, all peoples saying many different things.
don't kill your braincells.

place to whatever fd promo now that suits you.

when near maturity, figure out where to put.

from now till maturity, a lot of things can change.
cybpsych
post Dec 23 2015, 08:59 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Hong Leong Term Deposit-i 3-month @ 4.20% p.a. [ HLISB | T&Cs ]
14 Dec 2015 - 31 Jan 2016

cybpsych
post Dec 28 2015, 11:44 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 28 2015, 11:39 AM)
Called up RHB Bank. Have one 6 figure FD due on Friday 1/1. If withdraw on 4/1, will lose 3 days interest. After some talking, agreed to pay me the 3 days interest if I withdraw on the Monday.  rclxms.gif

Last time the manager just said cannot pay the weekend interest. After I read one "nice" forummer's post, talked to RHB manager again. Initially still asking me to continue to their step-up 4.4% FD, but later still agreed to pay me the 3 days interest even if I withdraw.  biggrin.gif
curious, how does the bank "calculate" the extra 3 days interest?

manually calculate the 3 days' interest? or extend the maturity to 4 Jan instead?
cybpsych
post Dec 28 2015, 01:50 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ywbl330 @ Dec 28 2015, 01:29 PM)
FYI. This product is not PIDM protected. I don't quite recall whether the rate published is guaranteed or based on performance of the underlying assets.
everything not guaranteed for GIA. read up the promo's PDS and FAQ.

published eir may not be actual rate given.

so far, first 6 months will be given 4% p.a., the base GIA rate also 4% p.a. nothing much to compare for now.

the interesting part would be the last 6 months, whether the actual eir will match the published eir (or as close as possible).

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Dec 28 2015, 01:53 PM
cybpsych
post Dec 28 2015, 03:09 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 28 2015, 02:43 PM)
I blif Maybank GIA will honour the 2nd 6 mths provided BNM maintain the OPR
same. a little assurance from mbb biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Dec 31 2015, 08:34 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

here's the website and full T&Cs for HLB Festive FD: 6-month @ 4.50% p.a.

HLB | T&Cs (EN) | T&Cs (BM) | T&Cs (CN)

cybpsych
post Dec 31 2015, 12:36 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Dec 31 2015, 12:31 PM)
this is probably not the most appropriate thread (but also likely most knowledgeable since the people here spend a lot of time hunting for best fd deals smile.gif )

but does anyone know the best accounts to park temporary funds? currently i am using cimb money multiplier (2.5% but min balance 10k). back about 5 years ago, eon bank has an interest bearing current account which pays almost 1 month fd rates but too bad no more after being taken over by HLB.
how temporary is temporary?

you need to fund, say, in next 6 months? if not, perhaps HLB's 6mth @ 4.50% p.a. FD is best for you.

if you need the fund is shorter terms, suggest you roll it into eFD instead.
cybpsych
post Dec 31 2015, 06:25 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Maybank “Profit Now! Account-i (PNA-i) 9” Campaign - 9 months @ 4.22% p.a.
22 Dec 2015 – 22 Jan 2016

Maybank | Terms and Conditions Apply
cybpsych
post Jan 1 2016, 08:53 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(poor man @ Jan 1 2016, 08:48 AM)
mbsb Flyer_Prosperous fd promo

3 mth 3.88%
6 mth 4.08%
12 mth 4.18%
This Campaign shall commence from 1st January 2016 until 30th April 2016

Full terms & conditions
cybpsych
post Jan 1 2016, 12:04 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 1 2015, 05:35 PM)
you sure you've tested in OCBC?
MBB -> OCBC = NO IBFT

OCBC -> MBB = YES IBFT

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 1 2016, 11:35 AM)
Sorry for being out of topic.

Can anyone use OCBC online website to perform IBFT?

When I select 'Transfer Now', there is no option for me to select IBFT.

Well, since the 4% interest rate per annum for OCBC e-SmartSavers expires today, I plan to use IBFT to transfer all my fund today.

If IBFT is unavailable, using IBG will not be useful, since it is only effective next Monday.  sad.gif

Appreciate any advice from experts here. smile.gif
there is IBG/IBFT topic, alongside FD topic, u know that ?

yes, ocbc can IBFT out. I tried that with my smartsavers to m2u (per screenshot above)

**Updated: I stand corrected. based on post here and here, the IBFT option is temporary removed.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 1 2016, 05:25 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 2 2016, 09:49 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jan 2 2016, 08:35 PM)
ocbc's smartsavers has become 3.90%. are you still looking to exit?
doesnt mention if the promo rate applies to existing smartsavers customers. hmm.gif

if yes, time to cancel m2u efd and push here rclxms.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 3 2016, 09:13 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ Jan 3 2016, 09:12 AM)
Hi, can you share the link?
i couldnt manage to locate the ocbc smartsaver deals promo in their website? tq
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ac...promotions.html
cybpsych
post Jan 4 2016, 07:19 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 4 2016, 02:43 AM)
I saw the OCBC promo still on their website, but it says until 31st Dec. So is it still on-going??

and must we give our details and register online??
either they extended it, silently, or takes time to remove from website. always better to call the branch for info.

p/s: when did you check the website? since few days back, they've changed the promo liao.

9 months @ 4.15% p.a.
15 months @ 4.30% p.a.

valid from 1 January until 30 April 2016

QUOTE(ONGEDWIN @ Jan 4 2016, 07:09 AM)
Any CIMB & Maybank latest FD promo for 3 , 6, 9, 12 months??
have you read post 1 and 2?

dont waste TS' effort updating them.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 4 2016, 07:24 AM
cybpsych
post Jan 4 2016, 09:12 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ONGEDWIN @ Jan 4 2016, 08:48 AM)
already read, as CIMB last promo was till 31/12/2015, so asking if anyone knows this month or latest promo for it?
there are few ways for you to find out new/upcoming promos, if any:

1) read the pages in this topic. yes, read all if you want to know all. or do a quick [Search].

2) if no info found, wait for few more days for others to post updates in the forum. ppl voluntering updates here as and when they visited the bank (either for fd upliftment, other banking activities, or purely simply asking).

3) if cannot wait, try searching the bank's website. they could've silently update without us knowing, yet; or their update is slow (usually few days to weeks to get it published on website).

3) if still cannot wait, call or visit the bank yourself. Then you can share the updates here for others' reference.

rinse and repeat. that's how forumers here found out info and share with us.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 4 2016, 09:13 AM
cybpsych
post Jan 4 2016, 11:39 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Jan 4 2016, 11:35 AM)
yeap saw the banner that day, 4.5% for 6 months... ice cool.

any idea, the rate will stay the same after? or board?
what does the t&c state upon maturity?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0547sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:10 PM