Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

ikanbilis
post Dec 18 2015, 12:18 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,542 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 18 2015, 11:54 AM)
those rich unker like u hope for 6% fd next year. poor ones like me cry as loan >6%. cry.gif
If got 6% unker Bones will withdraw his EPF to put in FD lo. tongue.gif

gsc
post Dec 18 2015, 12:30 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 11:34 AM)
I think if we look at domestic only.. Yeah, when economy down, interest rate should go down to spur more economical activities. When economy up, interest rate should go up to sustain the inflation from blowing over.

Yeah,in my opinion, this is applicable if the world is only Malaysia.

But when it is about global economy, I dun think the interest rate thing is applicable for this. Because Malaysia is not taikor in economy, so I view malaysia as no great power, only can be follower. US hike rate, that will stem out money leaking to US, and currency will be weaker. If they don't defend the currency, many big corporate with usd denominated bond and loan will suffer and break. If they defend, local consumption will struggle..

End up, usually will defend.. haha

All is just my opinion.. biggrin.gif
Most of the bonds are denominated in RM.

Next Malaysian Government Securities will be due on 15 Jul 2016 (RM11.5b) and 15 Sept 2016 (RM 15.2b).

As mentioned earlier, BNM has to look at domestic economy trends and also global financial trends as Malaysia is part of the global system before determing the OPR. Following US increase the rate will tighten further the weakening economy and move towards recession. The question here will be how soon will BNM react. Anyway, your guess may be correct as it is very difficult to predict domestic and global economy with so many uncertainty in economic, political and the threat of IS.

This post has been edited by gsc: Dec 18 2015, 12:31 PM
Bonescythe
post Dec 18 2015, 12:34 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 18 2015, 12:00 PM)
30 years housing loan, how to get rid? unkle? oh no unkle, no loan, rich young fax? tongue.gif
i drive proton persona only leh.. cry.gif cry.gif
How to be rich young fax.. doh.gif doh.gif

Lets talk back about rate.

So when 1997 1998, why Malaysia interest rate can shoot up to 10% ?

sandkoh
post Dec 18 2015, 12:39 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 12:34 PM)
i drive proton persona only leh..  cry.gif  cry.gif
How to be rich young fax..  doh.gif  doh.gif

Lets talk back about rate.

So when 1997 1998, why Malaysia interest rate can shoot up to 10% ?
laugh.gif brows.gif

u no loan meh? hmm.gif brows.gif

1997, 98 10% rate, you <13 yrs old? brows.gif talk wiith unkle @gsc. he knows better. whistling.gif
Bonescythe
post Dec 18 2015, 12:50 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 18 2015, 12:39 PM)
laugh.gif  brows.gif

u no loan meh? hmm.gif  brows.gif

1997, 98 10% rate, you <13 yrs old? brows.gif talk wiith unkle @gsc. he knows better. whistling.gif
Sadly... i really no loan. sad.gif

1997 1998. Malaysia foreign currency reserve tarak cukup ma.. but this round, will cukup?

Human Nature
post Dec 18 2015, 01:42 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

While we were talking about UOB charging different fee for BC few days back, I sent an email to UOB to inquire what is the actual fee for pure FD upliftment and today I received a reply:

We wish to share with you the fees are as below:
Cheque processing fee -  RM0.50 + RM0.03(gst)
Stamp duty RM0.15
We hope the above clarifies.

which is consistent with the penang branch.

I am going to show the print out of the email to the branch manager at my place as she has been insisting that the fee is RN2.xx all this while

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 18 2015, 01:42 PM
familyfirst
post Dec 18 2015, 01:43 PM

1,311 posts

Where can I find history of interest rates in Malaysia say for the past 10 yrs esp those promo rates?
sandkoh
post Dec 18 2015, 01:46 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Dec 18 2015, 01:43 PM)
Where can I find history of interest rates in Malaysia say for the past 10 yrs esp those promo rates?
u mean FD interest PROMO rates? dun think there is any data on fd promo rates for past 10 yrs. hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 01:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2015, 01:42 PM)
While we were talking about UOB charging different fee for BC few days back, I sent an email to UOB to inquire what is the actual fee for pure FD upliftment and today I received a reply:
which is consistent with the penang branch.

I am going to show the print out of the email to the branch manager at my place as she has been insisting that the fee is RN2.xx all this while
UOB BC was even just RM0.15 cents early 2014. I have been saying this even Captain Gen-X was doubting this figure. He also quoted higher BC charge from UOB for Klang Valley. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Dec 18 2015, 01:52 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 18 2015, 01:49 PM)
UOB BC was even just RM0.15 cents early 2014. I have been saying this even Captain Gen-X was doubting this figure. He also quoted higher BC charge from UOB for Klang Valley.  biggrin.gif
the extra RM2.00 can pay for parking biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 02:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2015, 01:52 PM)
the extra RM2.00 can pay for parking biggrin.gif
Ya, save the RM2+ for parking fee, for you guys in KV. But the Pg branch that I normally use is in a bungalow, free parking ! thumbup.gif gsc also use that branch and where we all agreed no leng lui RM (he always disagreed with me on OCBC leng lui RM). tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 18 2015, 02:01 PM
dEviLs
post Dec 18 2015, 02:03 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

just collected the 20' barry smith luggage from ocbc..my 3rd bag this year sweat.gif
hopefully next year they change to something else tongue.gif
familyfirst
post Dec 18 2015, 02:13 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Dec 18 2015, 02:03 PM)
just collected the 20' barry smith luggage from ocbc..my 3rd bag this year sweat.gif
Cost of those bags must be pretty low. Buy liquor from KLIA also giving out trolley travel bags last week.
matow
post Dec 18 2015, 04:50 PM

216 posts

After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office. The HLB branch there was quite busy with many people. My turn came and I proceeded to inform the counter girl that I want to place FD on the promotional 4.5% rate for 6 months. The counter girl ask if I have a saving account with the branch, I say no but I do have a a savings account with another branch. She says cannot, I have to open another account with the branch in order for me to place the FD. I need to take another que number to open the account. Got fedup, took my money and proceeded to Affin Bank. There I was greeted like an old friend, attended to immediately by a middle age lady (no leng lui here...sigh) and she proceed to explain to me on the promotional rate of 4.6% where by 20% of it need to be placed in either a 1 month (4.05%), 2 months (4.10%) or 3 months (4.3%) FD while the balance 80% will enjoy the 4.6% pa interest. She advised me to take up the 3 months FD @ 4.3%. After making some rough calculations, the first 3 months interest came out more that than the HLB 4.5% FD (3 months period). After that, I can take the 20% and find other FD to put (hopefully can find a better rate) while the balance 80% can enjoy the 4.6% interest.
I find that the customer service experience at Affin bank so much more better, we are really being treated as customers instead of being treated like livestocks at HLB.
pisces88
post Dec 18 2015, 05:11 PM

3,968 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Dec 18 2015, 02:03 PM)
got mine too. chose the grey one. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Dec 18 2015, 05:39 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 18 2015, 04:50 PM)
After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office.
How do you transfer your uplifted FD from SCB?
Human Nature
post Dec 18 2015, 05:39 PM

26,524 posts

After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office.
matow
post Dec 18 2015, 06:35 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2015, 05:39 PM)
Bought a Cashiers Order. SCB charged me RM2.80 for it.

This post has been edited by matow: Dec 18 2015, 07:03 PM
Bonescythe
post Dec 18 2015, 06:45 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office. The HLB branch there was quite busy with many people. My turn came and I proceeded to inform the counter girl that I want to place FD on the promotional 4.5% rate for 6 months. The counter girl ask if I have a saving account with the branch, I say no but I do have a a savings account with another branch. She says cannot, I have to open another account with the branch in order for me to place the FD. I need to take another que number to open the account. Got fedup, took my money and proceeded to Affin Bank. There I was greeted like an old friend, attended to immediately by a middle age lady (no leng lui here...sigh) and she proceed to explain to me on the promotional rate of 4.6% where by 20% of it need to be placed in either a 1 month (4.05%), 2 months (4.10%) or 3 months (4.3%) FD while the balance 80% will enjoy the 4.6% pa interest. She advised me to take up the 3 months FD @ 4.3%. After making some rough calculations, the first 3 months interest came out more that than the HLB 4.5% FD (3 months period). After that, I can take the 20% and find other FD to put (hopefully can find a better rate) while the balance 80% can enjoy the 4.6% interest.
I find that the customer service experience at Affin bank so much more better, we are really being treated as customers instead of being treated like livestocks at HLB.
Wow.. my fren, tat is a bad experience by you with hlb. Looks like the HLB staff in bukit tinggi is rather blur. There is no such thing as opening a saving acc with them in order to place.

I did it like your style. I cash out my alliance with banker cheque at MV costing me almost rm3. Then i went to HLB at MV also to do it. My main branch is not at MV, and i am only requested to open a FD acc with HLB MV branch, not saving acc. So the Monthly interest will be bank into my saving acc which is opened at KL Main.

My FD placement is quite fast. Took me maybe 10 to 15min from going in to branch, fill up FD acc opening form and placement. But i used their HLB greenlane service, so no nid queue
gsc
post Dec 18 2015, 06:50 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 18 2015, 02:00 PM)
Ya, save the RM2+ for parking fee, for you guys in KV. But the Pg branch that I normally use is in a bungalow, free parking !  thumbup.gif gsc also use that branch and where we all agreed no leng lui RM (he always disagreed with me on OCBC leng lui RM). tongue.gif
Let's calibrate our eyeballs. Look at BCC Ocbc leng lui photo, is your leng lui better looking than that?

The gold price has came down but still much higher than before RM depreciated....US interest rate up again, gold will continue going down

Analyst said next year OPR remain in 2016....

http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-ne...m_content=links

This post has been edited by gsc: Dec 18 2015, 06:52 PM

125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:51 AM