128 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V54-+♠+-, Welcoming new legacy Persona owners!

mayalab
post Jun 12 2016, 03:29 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SoccerIsMyLife86 @ Jun 12 2016, 11:57 AM)
Bro, you mentioned that been using Miller CFS?
How good is good? FC and performance as good or even better than the 2 I've mentioned? How much is it and where to get it?
Need more details as I do not want to go through a engine overhaul...hehe...
Thanks. Need to change today as my mileage reaches 9000km on Motul Htech.
Let's do a simple comparison of the few products mentioned here (similar products of grade XW-40). We list down two key parameters to determine the quality of engine oils scientifically, not through hearsay in layman terms.

TBN (Total Base Number, the higher the number the longer it lasts)
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - 12.6 mgKOH/g
2. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - 10.11 mgKOH/g
3. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - 10.0 mgKOH/g
4. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - 7.44 mgKOH/g

VI (Viscosity Index, The higher the value, usually it dictates the better the performance in the test)
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - 186
2. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - 177
3. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - 171
4. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - 170

Of course there are many other critical scientific parameters (such as Cold Cranking Viscosity, NOACK Volatility Test, etc.) to determine the quality of the oils, but they are not available from the official published data for comparison. I happened to see both Millers products have CCV of 6,600, which is actually a very poor result from a fully synthetic product.

On a side note, Millers EE LONGLIFE 5w40 offers a TBN figure of 7.44 only, which is indeed a worrying number. Personally i won't use it for OCI of 10,000km for traffic conditions in Malaysia. Perhaps it should be drained at 7,000km at best.

Let's go back to pricing:
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - RM152/4 quarts
2. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - RM200/4 litres (with free labour + oil filter)
3. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - RM240/4 litres (with free labour + oil filter) (Price quoted from TDUEnthusiast)
4. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - RM352/4 litres (Price quoted from Lowyat Garage Sales)

Just my 2 cents. Hope it helps...
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 12 2016, 06:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mayalab @ Jun 12 2016, 03:29 PM)
Let's do a simple comparison of the few products mentioned here (similar products of grade XW-40). We list down two key parameters to determine the quality of engine oils scientifically, not through hearsay in layman terms.

TBN (Total Base Number, the higher the number the longer it lasts)
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - 12.6 mgKOH/g
2. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - 10.11 mgKOH/g
3. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - 10.0 mgKOH/g
4. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - 7.44 mgKOH/g

VI (Viscosity Index, The higher the value, usually it dictates the better the performance in the test)
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - 186
2. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - 177
3. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - 171
4. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - 170

Of course there are many other critical scientific parameters (such as Cold Cranking Viscosity, NOACK Volatility Test, etc.) to determine the quality of the oils, but they are not available from the official published data for comparison. I happened to see both Millers products have CCV of 6,600, which is actually a very poor result from a fully synthetic product.

On a side note, Millers EE LONGLIFE 5w40 offers a TBN figure of 7.44 only, which is indeed a worrying number. Personally i won't use it for OCI of 10,000km for traffic conditions in Malaysia. Perhaps it should be drained at 7,000km at best.

Let's go back to pricing:
1. Mobil1 Advanced Full Synthetic 0W-40 - RM152/4 quarts
2. Fosser Premium VS 5W-40 - RM200/4 litres (with free labour + oil filter)
3. Millers EE LONGLIFE 5W-40 - RM240/4 litres (with free labour + oil filter) (Price quoted from TDUEnthusiast)
4. Millers CFS 5W-40 NT - RM352/4 litres (Price quoted from Lowyat Garage Sales)

Just my 2 cents. Hope it helps...
Yup.. I happened to notice that the EE LongLife's TBN seems to be quite low, and much lower than its semi synthetic brother (EE Semi Synthetic) which has 10. I usually change the oil by date though, and so far after owning this car for 4 years+ I've only racked up about 36k KM of mileage.
NMZjj
post Jun 12 2016, 10:11 PM

shine!
755 posts

any good tyre shop to recommend at ampang area? last time kena conned with chamber screw stuff like that, dun wish to go back to that shop again
benson92
post Jun 13 2016, 09:29 AM

1,010 posts

been having weird petrol like smell or engine oil smell idk which at the front passenger seat, seems like engine oil leaking at the front so i suspect the smell is from there. yesterday leaking quite a lot until floor also have, zordaq charge me rm100 for labour and the rocket gasket cover seal, reasonable? i believe their proton parts are cheaper than the other workshop, the boss say is original from proton

This post has been edited by benson92: Jun 13 2016, 09:30 AM
allenultra
post Jun 13 2016, 09:44 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:29 AM)
been having weird petrol like smell or engine oil smell idk which at the front passenger seat, seems like engine oil leaking at the front so i suspect the smell is from there. yesterday leaking quite a lot until floor also have, zordaq charge me rm100 for labour and the rocket gasket cover seal, reasonable? i believe their proton parts are cheaper than the other workshop, the boss say is original from proton
Gasket Rocker Cover PW811643
RM78.87

If RM100 include labour, its a good deal.
HengEkHan
post Jun 13 2016, 01:35 PM

79 posts

Hi guys, just want to try my luck and ask if anyone knows when the new Persona 2016 model will be released ? Thanks.
kennywee92
post Jun 13 2016, 04:07 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(kinkeet @ Jun 12 2016, 10:11 PM)
any good tyre shop to recommend at ampang area? last time kena conned with chamber screw stuff like that, dun wish to go back to that shop again
If you don't mind. Mahkota Cheras got one smile.gif
voscar
post Jun 13 2016, 04:55 PM

1,525 posts

I think our car definitely need camber screw? Been reject this to ALL tyre shop, EVERY tyre shop I went sure will ask camber screw. Some even adjusted the alignment lari so much that my reverse will get into b another side and almost bang the gate when the steering is straight... Return back they will say no camber mar, it's like that...
Meantime another few cars in house never got asked for camber screw... Makes me wonder is camber really necessary?
IceBikers
post Jun 13 2016, 05:15 PM

960 posts

finally i witness myself how the water leak into car. this happened yesterday raining.
some say the door weather shied has to redo with new adhesive.

This post has been edited by IceBikers: Jun 13 2016, 05:15 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 13 2016, 06:36 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 13 2016, 04:55 PM)
I think our car definitely need camber screw? Been reject this to ALL tyre shop, EVERY tyre shop I went sure will ask camber screw. Some even adjusted the alignment lari so much that my reverse will get into b another side and almost bang the gate when the steering is straight... Return back they will say no camber mar, it's like that...
Meantime another few cars in house never got asked for camber screw... Makes me wonder is camber really necessary?
Don't think so... I think you haven't found a good and honest shop. I believe that our car's alignment should be done easily considering that the toe for all four wheels can be adjusted without requiring any parts to be changed. When my car was fitted with camber bolts last time (also kena con), they just adjusted the reading to be 0 with the car in the air. But this was on the pretext that the tyres will wear out faster on the outer edge, which doesn't make sense since a more positive camber will make it worse I think, in addition to having bad/aggressive toe adjustments.

My current all round camber readings are - 1.xx deg + and the shop I go to still can make it straight. The toe reading is also affected by the camber, but as far as I can see, as long as they can get the toe adjustment right, the car will go straight. When I first switched to sports suspension, the camber reading was -2 deg left and -3 deg right. The car's alignment still could be done correctly without any adjustments to the camber.

ckdenion
post Jun 14 2016, 11:33 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Jun 13 2016, 04:07 PM)
If you don't mind. Mahkota Cheras got one smile.gif
bro...forgotten to ask u. is ur car equipped with GC and the VS that i've given to u?
kennywee92
post Jun 14 2016, 12:00 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 14 2016, 11:33 AM)
bro...forgotten to ask u. is ur car equipped with GC and the VS that i've given to u?
I am using the VS only for now. Took out the GC already.
MjMax15
post Jun 15 2016, 03:01 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

hi all
salute lah this tered still on 1st page thumbsup.gif

i just change my headlamp to projector one (like eagle eye model)
but i find the projector very dim, thinking to upgrade to HID hmm.gif
will got problem or not if i done this? afraid messing up with wiring
Sh@rty 5
post Jun 15 2016, 09:19 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jun 15 2016, 03:01 PM)
hi all
salute lah this tered still on 1st page thumbsup.gif

i just change my headlamp to projector one (like eagle eye model)
but i find the projector very dim, thinking to upgrade to HID hmm.gif
will got problem or not if i done this? afraid messing up with wiring
HID kit these days semua plug and play type

thumbsup.gif

p.s like eagle eye? cause some cheaper type of headlight , the light output would always be slightly lousier..
hyloy
post Jun 16 2016, 07:13 PM

May i know our persona using what type of steering oil ? Think of DIY next week.
MjMax15
post Jun 18 2016, 03:20 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jun 15 2016, 09:19 PM)
HID kit these days semua plug and play type

thumbsup.gif

p.s like eagle eye? cause some cheaper type of headlight , the light output would always be slightly lousier..
thanks,
yup just now back from shop. my previous xenon bulb using H7 socket
so my foreman just replace with hid kit
too bad i want 4300k but No avail sad.gif

really confuse with jpj regulations
some said its ok as long u changed the whole headlamp
same said prepare donation
hmmmmmmmmm

This post has been edited by MjMax15: Jun 18 2016, 03:21 PM
mayalab
post Jun 18 2016, 03:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jun 18 2016, 03:20 PM)
thanks,
yup just now back from shop. my previous xenon bulb using H7 socket
so my foreman just replace with hid kit
too bad i want 4300k but No avail sad.gif

really confuse with jpj regulations
some said its ok as long u changed the whole headlamp
same said prepare donation
hmmmmmmmmm
Theoretically all aftermarket HID are illegal.
Only the factory fitted ones (which come with original car) are considered road legal.

MjMax15
post Jun 18 2016, 04:20 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(mayalab @ Jun 18 2016, 03:51 PM)
Theoretically all aftermarket HID are illegal.
Only the factory fitted ones (which come with original car) are considered road legal.
ive made bad decision
summore 6000k, should insist 4300k so looks normal one sad.gif
zr125
post Jun 18 2016, 05:10 PM

780 posts

my persona reverse sensor/light is always on when i switch on key(free gear)... anyone know whats the problem?
hyloy
post Jun 20 2016, 06:45 PM

Today service my persona at mileage 70k. Total damaged:

Engine oil and oil filter rm140.00
Atf proton sp iii. 5L rm110.00
Brake pad front proton rm 40.00
Fan belt/v belt. rm100.00
Labour rm 80.00
Total. rm470.00
Changing Steering oil - use leftover gear oil

Next service is time to change timing belt.

128 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:12 AM