148 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

etigge
post Feb 19 2016, 11:47 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(lucifer93 @ Feb 19 2016, 01:20 AM)
Would like to ask around,
Is it possible to get a 31.6mm seatpost with a length >410mm?
Yes, most seat post have lengths to 400mm. Is the extra 10mm critical? If it is then Thomson has that size you wanted.
etigge
post Feb 19 2016, 12:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Feb 18 2016, 10:22 PM)
I've had two Alfine bikes before.  I sold the first one and immediately regretted the decision.  Luck was with me and I had the opportunity to buy another identical bike in better condition and cheaper!  Thought I wouldn't ever sell but after a year, I couldn't live with that gap in the ratio, which was at my usual speed, meaning as soon as theres a slight headwind, one ratio down was too low and one up was too high......sigh

Never tried Rohloff or NuVinci but these guys are over 2 kilos, just the hub, no joke!  Make the back wheel crash through every slightest imperfection on the road. There's a NuVinci hub for sale here and I was considering it for my single speed bike, but the weight put me off.

A 10mm spread each side is doable, but as you said the dropouts needs to be angled back in....tricky.  I guess the B was never intended to go touring or be ridden at high speed.  It is just that it feels capable that made people want to do more with it.  With demand that high, they won't be coming out with a new frame anytime soon! 

Sometimes I wonder why we bother modifying foldies.  Some of you would have had ridden single speed BMX or regular bikes and I dont recall having missed not having more gears.  You would ride to the capability of the bike and accepted the top speed or you get off and push up that hill.  The way I ride my single speed is the same.  I ride up to the maximum speed, or speed that I'm comfortable at that moment to stick to it, if my legs start to go too fast, I freewheel for a bit, then crank again.  If I start pushing it, I'd soon be wishing I had more gears.

This is interesting. Why?

For me, when I was foldie biking, riding around KL/PJ becomes boring. Ride to Klang for eats, rides in Putrajaya which I have to go 2 laps to satisfy and Broga. For that my Dahon Eco C7s were enough already. Then we ventured to Parit Buntar to Taiping, Jerantut to Taman Negara, trans Titiwangsa from KKB to Raub and the 7 speed just don't cut it. SO, I started modifications after I tried Genting Peras with my 7 speeders. Me and wife needs 3 HOURS to peak. From there , the Eco C7 went 27 speed and finally all other rides that was mentioned. Why not just buy a bike with that specs?

Did you see the price of a Tern 18 speeder? That 6K plus. The cheapest then was the Dahon Visc which was selling at 2K at that time but I don't like the frame. The KHS 27 speed cost over 3K at that time. Cost is the factor. Not everyone can afford one lump sum to get the bike they wanted. So, we do it in stages. First we go for the rear mods then the front and then components. Off course lah, last time we don't need multiple gears..............in fact I rode around Penang island with a Raleigh Chopper. BUT that was last time lah! Now after so many years , no exercising , no cycling, suddenly we start to ride, the more gears the better lah!

The way you describe is true, riding at your own pace but when you are in a group of 30 riders......sometimes the others may not mind but sub consciously, you feel like an obstacle to them. If the wait is 10 to 30 minutes is fine but when others have to wait like an hour it's a bit of a let down, especially for the sweeper. When we did Jerantut to Taman Negara, there were 33 riders ! It was so hard to control that it fragmented into 5 groups. The first group, checked into their motel at 1.45pm and the rest .... re-assembled in a warong 8 kilometers from the destination in stages. The first group sat there at 3.00 pm and 3, 4, 2 riders starts converging in intervals of 30 minutes. Finally, 4 was un -accounted for rclxub.gif

1 had a crashed and hitch hiked on a gas lorry and er companion accompanied her to the hospital. another 2 had to be rescued. A concerned rider borrowed a moped and rode out and back tracked. Another rider saw it and wanted to pillion ride on it for fun. When they came back, the he came back with another rider (cramped on both legs...hahaa) and the pillion rider rode his Brompton back with the other rider who accompanied him. Wouldn't it be nice if there were more gears? With more gears , you can control your cadence and not overwork but a single speed, you can't. Maybe you can if you stay near the coastal areas where it is flat like the Netherlands.
lucifer93
post Feb 19 2016, 01:43 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 19 2016, 11:47 AM)
Yes, most seat post have lengths to 400mm. Is the extra 10mm critical?  If it is then Thomson has that size you wanted.
Ok. Thanks for the info. Currently using a 400mm, would prefer a slight increase.
etigge
post Feb 19 2016, 02:42 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(lucifer93 @ Feb 19 2016, 01:43 PM)
Ok. Thanks for the info. Currently using a 400mm, would prefer a slight increase.
If 10 mm is critical, I guess you have a wrong sized frame. I don't know what bike you ride, most probably a mountain bike or the Dahon Dash. Just 10mm, I think you can get away by just clamping slightly below the safe level.

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/332029/120c...-sl218-seatpost

This one is even 420 mm,
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/297350/amoe...proven-seatpost
desastar
post Feb 19 2016, 03:28 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 19 2016, 12:10 PM)
This is interesting. Why? 

For me, when I was foldie biking, riding around KL/PJ becomes boring. Ride to Klang for eats, rides in Putrajaya which I have to go 2 laps to satisfy and Broga. For that my Dahon Eco C7s were enough already. Then we ventured to Parit Buntar to Taiping, Jerantut to Taman Negara, trans Titiwangsa from KKB to Raub and the 7 speed just don't cut it. SO, I started modifications after I tried Genting Peras with my 7 speeders. Me and wife needs 3 HOURS to peak. From there , the Eco C7 went 27 speed and finally all other rides that was mentioned. Why not just buy a bike with that specs?

Did you see the price of a Tern 18 speeder? That 6K plus. The cheapest then was the Dahon Visc which was selling at 2K at that time but I don't like the frame. The KHS 27 speed cost over 3K at that time. Cost is the factor. Not everyone can afford one lump sum to get the bike they wanted. So, we do it in stages. First we go for the rear mods then the front and then components. Off course lah, last time we don't need multiple gears..............in fact I rode around Penang island with a Raleigh Chopper. BUT that was last time lah! Now after so many years , no exercising , no cycling, suddenly we start to ride, the more gears the better lah!

The way you describe is true, riding at your own pace but when you are in a group of 30 riders......sometimes the others may not mind but sub consciously, you feel like an obstacle to them. If the wait is 10 to 30 minutes is fine but when others have to wait like an hour it's a bit of a let down, especially for the sweeper. When we did Jerantut to Taman Negara, there were 33 riders ! It was so hard to control that it fragmented into 5 groups. The first group, checked into their motel at 1.45pm and the rest .... re-assembled in a warong 8 kilometers from the destination in stages. The first group sat there at 3.00 pm and 3, 4, 2 riders starts converging in intervals of 30 minutes. Finally, 4 was un -accounted for  rclxub.gif

1 had a crashed and hitch hiked on a gas lorry and er companion accompanied her to the hospital. another 2 had to be rescued. A concerned rider borrowed a moped and rode out and back tracked. Another rider saw it and wanted to pillion ride on it for fun. When they came back, the he came back with another rider (cramped on both legs...hahaa) and the pillion rider rode his Brompton back with the other rider who accompanied him. Wouldn't it be nice if there were more gears?  With more gears , you can control your cadence and not overwork but a single speed, you can't. Maybe you can if you stay near the coastal areas where it is flat like the Netherlands.
I guess what I was trying to say is that you buy a foldy knowing its limitation, hence you should ride within the capabilities. I suppose it is also natural that we end trying to make something better! biggrin.gif

desastar
post Feb 19 2016, 03:30 PM

42 posts

Nobody has mentioned the Birdy. Why is that? No like??

I do like the look of it, but never ridden one. If one comes along at a good price...... rclxm9.gif

Maybe.......
etigge
post Feb 20 2016, 02:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Feb 19 2016, 03:30 PM)
Nobody has mentioned the Birdy.  Why is that?  No like??

I do like the look of it, but never ridden one.  If one comes along at a good price...... rclxm9.gif

Maybe.......
I have a friend who rides a Tyrell FX and his wife a Birdy. After a while, he sold off the Tyrell to get another Birdy. That's shows the Birdy is better right? Full suspension too! But I kind off put off with the front fork, looks weird. In Pacific Bikes stable, I still prefer the IF Reach, even the older model excites me. But these are not functional bikes , I call them boutique bikes. I serviced a Tyrell FX once and did a few rounds on it and I find the riding geometry not suitable for me. The Dahon Dash or the Performer mininvelo rides better than it. Probably my body's anatomy is wrong for the bike, hahahaa. tongue.gif
desastar
post Feb 21 2016, 08:58 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 20 2016, 02:58 PM)
I have a friend who rides a Tyrell FX and his wife a Birdy. After a while, he sold off the Tyrell to get another Birdy. That's shows the Birdy is better right?  Full suspension too! But I kind off put off with the front fork, looks weird. In Pacific Bikes stable, I still prefer the IF Reach, even the older model excites me. But these are not functional bikes , I call them boutique bikes. I serviced a Tyrell FX once and did a few rounds on it and I find the riding geometry not suitable for me. The Dahon Dash or the Performer mininvelo rides better than it. Probably my body's anatomy is wrong for the bike, hahahaa.  tongue.gif
I really don't have a lot of time riding bikes but I enjoy working on them. I like to collect iconic models hence I'm thinking about the Birdy. At first I too hated the front but now I like it. I much prefer the older series. The new one, whilst nice has a softer edge to it.
The only reservation I have is to introduce another wheel size to my collection! 16, 20 then 18? Not that I would go through tyres and tubes quickly though...

desastar
post Feb 21 2016, 11:22 AM

42 posts

Talking about Bromptons, this lady in UK has 18!!

Thank god I'm normal after all! Hahaha

etigge
post Feb 21 2016, 11:54 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Feb 21 2016, 08:58 AM)
I really don't have a lot of time riding bikes but I enjoy working on them. I like to collect iconic models hence I'm thinking about the Birdy. At first I too hated the front but now I like it. I much prefer the older series. The new one, whilst nice has a softer edge to it.
The only reservation I have is to introduce another wheel size to my collection!  16, 20 then 18? Not that I would go through tyres and tubes quickly though...
Risse and Muller did cameout with a limited 10th anniversary edition of the Birdy and that came with 20 inch wheels. If you can find that in the market, you have a 20 inch model....original I mean! nod.gif Off course many also modded to 20 inch. Fei Lee of GW Cycles did a few and he's the expert about Birdys around Malaysia. icon_rolleyes.gif
azamunekurone
post Feb 21 2016, 02:39 PM

140 posts

yesterday story ipoh foldies @ fraser hill

we start driving from ipoh around 3am in the morning. meetup with our members around da way to south and seafely arrived at Kuala Kubu Baru after morning prayers.

we park our cars at kuala kubu baru mosque and catch some light & heavy breakfast at one on the only mamak at here.around 9.30am we start our journey.

after 7km of the way before the dam, my friend faizal had some dizzyness.he get head back down alone as i try to insist escorting him but he refused. he grab his car and we meet up at sg chilling.

after regroup back with faizal, we continue our journey. my target around 10-15km i had to stop and regroup the others. its hard to take care 20riders on one time.besides everyone had their own paced and rythm climbing.

after the 1st stop i decided to continue the journey at meet up at the fraser roundabot coz after that we will climb another 8km with pain. after few km we were stopped by a roadbike cyclist named din coz his pump got a problem. he said he just bought the vintage roadbike online from holland and received the bike just two weeks ago!

as a roadbike user, 1stly i check his wheelset.saw the rimtape a bit old. i suspected the wheeltape as i saw 2 of his tube got problem after he replacing it. we quickly tape the rim with plaster and pump. the tyre a bit problem but it will last the trip.lucky he brings extra tube.

azamunekurone
post Feb 21 2016, 02:40 PM

140 posts

so we climb up and last stop at this roundabout. we stop nearly one hour as few of us got cramp and injured. some had a refreshment from the shop near.

after then we start climb, and those 8km really high and few of us had to stop. after 2 hours all of us arrived safely.we stopped for 2 hours and had our lunch.i bough some keychain and fridge magnets as for sourviner

the crusing down timing is around one and a half hour. the road are bumpy so i cannot get highest top speed, buat after sg chilling waterfall i had a topspeed of 61kmh. not bad for folding bike i can say!

pallidum
post Feb 21 2016, 02:44 PM

222 posts

Thats an awesome ride azamune!!!

Can i join u guys next time, me just beginnerr with cheap foldiee

azamunekurone
post Feb 21 2016, 04:30 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(pallidum @ Feb 21 2016, 02:44 PM)
Thats an awesome ride azamune!!!

Can i join u guys next time, me just beginnerr with cheap foldiee
sure can, even a cheapo 6speed japan used bike also manage to climb fraser hill
kepompong
post Feb 22 2016, 09:36 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Feb 16 2016, 06:48 PM)
ada abam kepom, long time no see notworthy.gif
ada abam nod.gif cuma budak baru belajar mcm saya ni mmg banyak membaca je...wah best tgk naik fraser ye..manyak terer woh kaki masing2 notworthy.gif
azamunekurone
post Feb 22 2016, 10:01 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(kepompong @ Feb 22 2016, 09:36 AM)
ada abam nod.gif cuma budak baru belajar mcm saya ni mmg banyak membaca je...wah best tgk naik fraser ye..manyak terer woh kaki masing2 notworthy.gif
kaki tak kuat bro, hati dan jiwa mau kena keras skt baru boleh smpai.jgn mengalah ajer..
kepompong
post Feb 22 2016, 10:15 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Feb 22 2016, 10:01 AM)
kaki tak kuat bro, hati dan jiwa mau kena keras skt baru boleh smpai.jgn mengalah ajer..
salute notworthy.gif ini hari keroje idak?
PaulKong
post Feb 22 2016, 03:30 PM

Hi azamune,
It's really nice to see so many foldies going up Fraser hill at the same time. Probably, yours is the biggest foldy that went up.
Are you the organizer, how do you manage such a big group?

azamunekurone
post Feb 22 2016, 06:48 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(kepompong @ Feb 22 2016, 10:15 AM)
salute notworthy.gif ini hari keroje idak?
kroje la weh.jd kuli cmni lah..

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Feb 22 2016, 03:30 PM)
Hi azamune,
    It's really nice to see so many foldies going up Fraser hill at the same time. Probably, yours is the biggest foldy that went up.
Are you the organizer, how do you manage such a big group?
err.. this really a hard question actually.
bydwy, i just ask them if they were free.and then they answer by showing up. but before that i promise them that all of them will arrived to the top.dont care about the time you take to climb, the picture up there is more valueable.

as for organizing this trip,
yes i had to stop few time in oder to regroup with them. when stop i let them rest for a while, bring some medics to insist them.i dont stop motivate until the end.thats the only key for they success!

bydaway,
i will organizing ipoh foldies open day this year also.just wait for the announcement. usually after hari raya. i like to create event especially involved foldies. we always heard there an event for roadbikes (century ride, fellowshipride) and also mtb (jamboree) but we never heard about folding events.so why not i create an event specially for foldies?

the key point in a group we do share the same interest. yes i do admit in big groups there were some people trying to be a leader. i just let them to create an event and support back.foldies are small community, why not we unite our same interest?
PaulKong
post Feb 22 2016, 11:03 PM

i would really like to join you in your organize ride. Do keep us inform 😄😄😄

148 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:40 AM