119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

babykon101
post Dec 30 2015, 02:31 PM

Bodyslammin' Sailormoon
585 posts

QUOTE(tatabahasa @ Dec 30 2015, 02:21 PM)
It's not as easy as it seems. They need to pay higher levy for foreign workers now. If im xwrong, SGD 300+ per pax.

I also heard that the big4 firms in Malaysia were reluctant to recruit foreigners as they had to pay for the visas+levies too, odds are, this applies to Sg big firms and they are particularly selective on hiring foreign workers. only those with experience will be considered.

Now even the Sg graduates also offer themselves for below market rates, needless to say, the Sg firms will surely prioritise sg local graduates (no need permits, levies and quotas to applied for permits)
But for local, they have to pay CPF etc isnt it? And for foreigner most companies do not pay CPF and that's where they can save on the levy probably. + locals have to go gov duty every now and then I think.
tatabahasa
post Dec 30 2015, 02:51 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 30 2015, 02:31 PM)
But for local, they have to pay CPF etc isnt it? And for foreigner most companies do not pay CPF and that's where they can save on the levy probably. + locals have to go gov duty every now and then I think.
Not too sure about the cpf part. in the past, if an employer wanted to hire a msian they need to submit 3 Sg/PR, dont know if this still applies or stricter than before.

They will ask to put on file till they get enough quota to hire u i heard. highly unlikely, in this case, they'll proceed with ur application

they are more keen to hire those who have to serve ns once in a while, it's a question they normally will ask in their job application. it's more like they give more opportunities to those who do gov duty.

Not saying it's totally impossible to land a job in sg, but need to try hard n practise a lot, firms are always looking for all-rounders. Should be able to get one if you never lose faith. (the pay now will be lesser too, considering the workforce in sg is fully packed while ppl with better backgrounds areasking for lower pay)
sparda
post Dec 31 2015, 05:38 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Dec 30 2015, 10:44 AM)
Would appreciate if we can get more input about the Consulting Part of the Big 4 Firms. smile.gif
I'm from the consulting arm of one of the big 4.

Broadly speaking there are three divisions:

1) Management consulting - these guys are supposed to do strategy work, but most of the glam strategy work goes to MBB so the bread and butter is project management work.

2) Tech consulting (I'm in this one) - we do stuff like SAP/dashboard/database implementation etc, again the high-level IT strategy work goes to MBB.

3) HR consulting - they do stuff like human resource role transformation etc.

Anything in particular u wanna know?
MsUniquelyWeird
post Jan 5 2016, 01:24 PM

28 posts

Hi, I've just sent online job applications to PwC and KPMG.(5 Jan 16) I've also sent my resume through a contact to EY. Regarding Deloitte however, I seem to have a slight problem. I want to apply for the audit associate position as I'm a fresh graduate(ACCA), but the job doesn't show up on the online application process. Any other way to go about applying for it? They have openings for Assurance and Advisory Staff Assistant. That's not the same as Audit Associate right?

Also, what to expect once applications are sent out?

This post has been edited by MsUniquelyWeird: Jan 5 2016, 01:30 PM
crystalfenix
post Jan 5 2016, 02:16 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(MsUniquelyWeird @ Jan 5 2016, 01:24 PM)
Hi, I've just sent online job applications to PwC and KPMG.(5 Jan 16) I've also sent my resume through a contact to EY. Regarding Deloitte however, I seem to have a slight problem. I want to apply for the audit associate position as I'm a fresh graduate(ACCA), but the job doesn't show up on the online application process. Any other way to go about applying for it? They have openings for Assurance and Advisory Staff Assistant. That's not the same as Audit Associate right?

Assurance and advisory staff assistant is the same with audit. In Deloitte, fresh grads in audit their position is Audit Staff Assistant II. Doesnt sound good like audit associate but ya. Lol.
zhou.xingxing
post Jan 5 2016, 04:03 PM

:3
1,863 posts

anyone working at bakertilly sg? whats the salary range they usually offer? for a senior associate / associates? is this the right place to ask this?
Rei Ayanami
post Jan 6 2016, 07:01 PM

20 posts

Are there any big or medium 4 that accept diploma graduates?

If there are, what position can I apply for?
MsUniquelyWeird
post Jan 6 2016, 10:15 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Jan 5 2016, 02:16 PM)
Assurance and advisory staff assistant is the same with audit. In Deloitte, fresh grads in audit their position is Audit Staff Assistant II. Doesnt sound good like audit associate but ya. Lol.
So that means this is the starting post that all fresh grads should apply for? Thanks!
crystalfenix
post Jan 7 2016, 10:36 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(MsUniquelyWeird @ Jan 6 2016, 10:15 PM)
So that means this is the starting post that all fresh grads should apply for? Thanks!
Yes.
1231_lion
post Jan 10 2016, 08:30 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(tatabahasa @ Dec 30 2015, 02:51 PM)
Not too sure about the cpf part. in the past, if an employer wanted to hire a msian they need to submit 3 Sg/PR, dont know if this still applies or stricter than before.

They will ask to put on file till they get enough quota to hire u i heard. highly unlikely, in this case, they'll proceed with ur application

they are more keen to hire those who have to serve ns once in a while, it's a question they normally will ask in their job application. it's more like they give more opportunities to those who do gov duty.

Not saying it's totally impossible to land a job in sg, but need to try hard n practise a lot, firms are always looking for all-rounders. Should be able to get one if you never lose faith. (the pay now will be lesser too, considering the workforce in sg is fully packed while ppl with better backgrounds areasking for lower pay)
Hi, anyone knows if singapore's big four working hrs is as crazy as msia?
crystalfenix
post Jan 10 2016, 01:17 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Jan 10 2016, 08:30 AM)
Hi, anyone knows if singapore's big four working hrs is as crazy as msia?
No, its not. More disciplined and punctual is more like it.

The people there start work at 8.30. In Malaysia, some reach at like 10am also like normal thing. Lol.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 10 2016, 04:50 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Jan 10 2016, 01:17 PM)

The people there start work at 8.30. In Malaysia, some reach at like 10am also like normal thing. Lol.
Hmm, I spent 1 year in EY SG, also same ah. Some buggers reach work after lunch also got.
tatabahasa
post Jan 10 2016, 10:38 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Rei Ayanami @ Jan 6 2016, 07:01 PM)
Are there any big or medium 4 that accept diploma graduates?

If there are, what position can I apply for?
Do you have pq like acca / cpa? big4 firms do accept those with pq. if you don't mind, you can start joining as a trainee / intern then only you convert once you've completed the training programme.

I heard they also recruit students who are still doing their pq, by offering them trainee posts. If a student has, in total, 5 pq to be completed, and they already completed 2 of which, they're considered as 40% completed, and once they complete the last paper, they'll be offered a job placement in the firm.

Don't worry. Always be on the lookout for job posts looking for interns, from there, you work hard during the period of time, soon enough, you'll be considered a job placement when they see your commitment to work.
tatabahasa
post Jan 10 2016, 11:12 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(MsUniquelyWeird @ Jan 5 2016, 01:24 PM)

Last time i checked Deloitte had jop openings for audit associate if im x mistaken. Go have a look once in a while.

As i know, you gotta wait for phonecalls. Ey n pwc normally will have phone interviews. Deloitte n kpmg will call you to ask n fix an interview appointment (normally would be hr assistant calling you). Both pwc n kpmg have online assessments before interviews. did the assessments at Deloitte office. I heard they've chenged it to on-line, too. Also should wait for 2nd phone interview, some they'll call back after a while, don't panic, just wait, be confident and calm when they call. These phone interviews are what the hr look at whether to call you again for a fce-to-face interview.
1231_lion
post Jan 11 2016, 07:59 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Jan 10 2016, 01:17 PM)

U mean they dun hv to work till the wee hrs? For all dept?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 11 2016, 08:26 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Jan 11 2016, 07:59 AM)
Lol. They do. My former batchmates in kpmg sg and pwc sg work till midnight too.

Hehe.. In its own way audit life in singapore has its own... Challenges
crystalfenix
post Jan 11 2016, 10:56 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Jan 11 2016, 07:59 AM)
In all companies, I believe they are people working until wee hours. Impossible whole co no one work until late.

If you fear working until late, maybe its not for you. Lol.
Rei Ayanami
post Jan 11 2016, 11:07 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(tatabahasa @ Jan 10 2016, 10:38 PM)
Do you have pq like acca / cpa? big4 firms do accept those with pq. if you don't mind, you can start joining as a trainee / intern then only you convert once you've completed the training programme.

I heard they also recruit students who are still doing their pq, by offering them trainee posts. If a student has, in total, 5 pq to be completed, and they already completed 2 of which, they're considered as 40% completed, and once they complete the last paper, they'll be offered a job placement in the firm.

Don't worry. Always be on the lookout for job posts looking for interns, from there, you work hard during the period of time, soon enough, you'll be considered a job placement when they see your commitment to work.
No i do not have those, only diploma. So with a diploma i can only join as trainee/intern?
tatabahasa
post Jan 11 2016, 09:00 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Rei Ayanami @ Jan 11 2016, 11:07 AM)
No i do not have those, only diploma. So with a diploma i can only join as trainee/intern?
So far I heard two of the big firms have enforcements on getting the employees qualified. They even asked if the candidates would like to take up pq. Hmm.. If you don't intend to get pq, can consider working for smaller firms first, then reapply after 1-2yrs. +1yr with big firm, you can get mia too. I've seen ppl coming from other medium/small firms to join big firms. Work experience is also another decision criteria for the HR. Truth be told, to get promoted to senior management, you definitely need a pq (it could be mia).
keeganwoon90
post Jan 12 2016, 12:36 AM

163 posts

Do you guys prefer working in a big four with no life, or middle size firms with a bit of life?

119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:51 PM