Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 1 2015, 05:08 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(timetolaugh @ Dec 1 2015, 11:02 AM)
will big4 pay for acca annual subscription?
U can claim. But theres an annual cap
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 10 2016, 04:50 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Jan 10 2016, 01:17 PM)
No, its not. More disciplined and punctual is more like it.

The people there start work at 8.30. In Malaysia, some reach at like 10am also like normal thing. Lol.
Hmm, I spent 1 year in EY SG, also same ah. Some buggers reach work after lunch also got.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 11 2016, 08:26 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(1231_lion @ Jan 11 2016, 07:59 AM)
U mean they dun hv to work till the wee hrs? For all dept?
Lol. They do. My former batchmates in kpmg sg and pwc sg work till midnight too.

Hehe.. In its own way audit life in singapore has its own... Challenges
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 5 2016, 02:55 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(coppycop @ Feb 5 2016, 12:28 PM)
yawn.gif  had a boring interview with a fresh grad candidate.

Her voice is so soft until i have to ask her to speak louder.

Note to others: Do some research on big 4 before going for interview.
Dun hire. After cry when kena scold by nasty client
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 15 2016, 06:13 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

If u r not rdy to spend a few years working rly late.. Pwc is not the place for you.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 28 2016, 12:28 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Hackmon @ Sep 25 2016, 05:02 PM)
Anyone applying big 4 Singapore recently? Wondering anyone get shortlisted for interview here.
Direct application as fresh grad is very very tough as big 4 in singapore have a policy of hiring their local big 3 uni first (nus ntu smu), then singaporeans from oversea uni, and thdn.only us.

Source. I was a former big4 manager in sg, and hr tell me its their policy to hire local first. I was trying to get an.opening from a relative, but failed.

QUOTE(ChanYip1000 @ Sep 27 2016, 11:01 PM)
Should I try for internship before finishing ACCA? Take a break after P1 - P3 and work a bit before going back?

Parents keep telling me to go study all the way, but some tell me to work before doing P7 and P6 - is this a good idea?
Dont bother. Just go holiday and have fun. Live a life, because u wont have much once u start work.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 30 2016, 02:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Sep 30 2016, 01:45 PM)
when they pay bonus? feb?
Ey in november.
Pwc in july.
Kpmg and deloitte i think feb (not sure)
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 10 2016, 11:57 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(zomode @ Oct 9 2016, 01:26 AM)
Any advice on how to get into SG Big 4 as a Malaysian fresh grad?
Never read thread isit. I dunno say how many times liao, big 4 in singapore hire their local graduates and singaporeans first. In this kind of economy, are you from harvard or oxford or LSE? If not, dun.bother. find a job in malaysia big 4 and go over after 2 years experience.

QUOTE(Hackmon @ Oct 10 2016, 12:00 AM)
Anyone working in Pwc financial services assurance? Is their pay different with general assurance?
Same pay. Ex pwc here. Bro oso in pwc. Lul.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 11 2016, 06:38 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Hackmon @ Nov 11 2016, 06:26 PM)
PwC KL (FS) vs KPMG SG (General)
AM vs Senior

Which would you choose?
Take money la. So sg.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 23 2016, 11:13 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(HouHouSek @ Dec 19 2016, 07:33 PM)
Wonder how quick can one be promoted as Manager and Senior Manager.
Managers in Big 4 should be young.
QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 23 2016, 10:13 AM)
Career progression for average performer, can be faster or slower depending on performance:
From fresh grad to senior - 2 years
From senior to AM - 2 years
From AM to M - 2 years
From M to SM - 2 years

After that is very much by merit and whether or not the bosses like you

Personally I've met a 4.5 year manager but the poor girl burnt out quickly and I'm guessing basically does not have the emotional maturity to handle managerial role. Sometimes it's not a good thing to expedite promotion even if the person is a star performer.
The 2 year Am thing is relatively new (they changed it every few years.). Back when I was still in big 4 it's only 1 year, so by 25 I was already a manager, but as they say, it's not an easy job, and many of us burn out very quickly.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 28 2016, 03:25 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Dec 28 2016, 02:40 PM)
I always thought the motivation to stay in the firm is that one day they can leave (to a better place), quite ironic.
There is a sweet spot to leave, where its easier to get a job in te role you want, but you are not too expensive that they wont hire for the lack of relevant experience.

Then again, msian companies are rather fond of auditors...
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2017, 03:00 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Advisory is nice. Its much nicer than the boring drudgery that is financial reporting.

As a financial reporting person for the past 9 years... do advisory. Audit is just self torture
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 6 2017, 10:06 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

I suggest he stay put. Big 4 is not suitablr for everyone and i think from what i sense so far, he doesnt seem to have the mental ability to take the kind of shit big 4 will throw at him.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 11 2017, 06:39 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(bluetopaz @ Nov 11 2017, 03:38 PM)
That’s the problem with you new generations. Easily get upset on stuffs like this. You should consider yourself lucky that they gave u a chance to explain why u fail and how u overcome it. Instead of honestly telling what was the problem u faced and how did u overcome it, u blew ur chance.

A suprising thing was, u realised that you do not have a good results, but you weren’t expecting or prepared to answer questions about your results. How are the big4 gonna hire u if u cant show them u are prepared? There are alot of 1st class graduate applying for the job and they need to know WHY they must pick u.

Nowadays the audit managers dont really give a shit about whether you are 1st class or 2nd lower. What matter the most is we give, u deliver. You’ll be suprised how many of my so called 1st class juniors can’t even do a simple financial statements tie-outs.

For the record, PWC would have just stopped the conversation once they heard u failed a subject.
i failed a subject. i still got the job in pwc.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 14 2017, 10:10 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

fresh grad pay is pretty stamdard. dun fight too much over the 50 or 100. aim for the promo to senior and manager. thats when money gets better.

0.0233sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:05 PM