281 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Investors Club V9, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

Avangelice
post Feb 1 2017, 10:36 AM

5,272 posts

just gathered a total of 8k worth of funds.

how liquid is doing stocks. I was on hlebroking live stock exchange and I know BQ and SQ so let's say I buy 8k worth of stocks and pay t+3. what if I were to sell it all two months down the road.

would I be able to sell all?
troller2
post Feb 1 2017, 06:47 PM

170 posts

I just checked. Melacca securities offers the best price in the town.

-0.05% commission
- T+7, some I saw it's up to T+10.

My question is.
1. Why can't other brokers offer the similar competitive price?
2. What are the drawbacks of trading with them?

Suicidal Guy
post Feb 1 2017, 11:09 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 26 2017, 02:15 PM)
Based on your earlier stock ...
you can see...

[attachmentid=8441107]
Tqtq.. thumbsup.gif
Suicidal Guy
post Feb 1 2017, 11:35 PM

567 posts

For learning purpose, is the stock considered as consolidating from 13th Jan until 27th Jan? The volume is low but the share price did not retreat much. If one is looking at the chart on 27th Jan, is it right to anticipate that the price will move up soon?
max_cavalera
post Feb 2 2017, 10:56 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Feb 2 2017, 12:35 AM)

For learning purpose, is the stock considered as consolidating from 13th Jan until 27th Jan? The volume is low but the share price did not retreat much. If one is looking at the chart on 27th Jan, is it right to anticipate that the price will move up soon?
parabolic curve movement

go research whats the possible outcome
max_cavalera
post Feb 2 2017, 01:51 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Jan 30 2017, 11:14 PM)
Yup I do get the notion.

For me, short term play, no harm going in but not say 5 years down the road. Long term play, definitely not proven good. My relatives had DRB-Hicom from the 2000s at 2.50ish. When it went up to 3 in 2012, told them to sell off and take profit as the Proton deal was just temporary and the technical indicators point to an extremely overbought condition, said that the stock can go 4 and only 2015, sold it at around 1.90. If we go back to the late-90s, it was 5+, what happened now?

Today? 1.18. Same goes to Air Asia and infamously AAX. Only good riding the stocks when it is warm, get out when it is hot. UMW is because their automotive sector has been profitable but not their O&G business, DRB-Hicon due to the upcoming tie-up with a foreign partner.

Even so, you cannot look at just the news but the financial statements. Just my 0.005 profits, DRB failed to disclose the losses in Proton, hence making the judgement even harder. But in the end, I do not call the shots. All investors fight and determine the price equilibrium when setting the price.
Lately i notice retail participation not as good...1st wave uptrend goreng by insider/institutional up high....once it retrace(they do profit taking) the 2nd uptrend wave by retailers mostly failed....like i bet on 5, only 1 or 2 surpass 1st wave rally....

I change back my strategy to be much more cautious...
😅
ILoveLalat.net
post Feb 2 2017, 02:44 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 2 2017, 01:51 PM)
Lately i notice retail participation not as good...1st wave uptrend goreng by insider/institutional up high....once it retrace(they do profit taking) the 2nd uptrend wave by retailers mostly failed....like i bet on 5, only 1 or 2 surpass 1st wave rally....

I change back my strategy to be much more cautious...
😅
This, let us discuss a little bit further.

From what I have also observed lately, it is also what you see on the local bourse right now. EPF, "MasterChefs" or anyone who encourages to come in at first sight will succeed so but not retailers. Why is that? If we look at the figures of value traded, value, not volume, only a measly 16 percent of the value was traded on Bursa Malaysia. So what about the rest? 71.49 percent of the players are institutional bankers, EPF, Khazanah, you name it.

Slightly over a half is played by our favourite EPF, Tabung Haji, Khazanah, PNB etc. Retailers do not call the shots, hence the share selloff in shares like Sime recently. This also explains why our stock market have been less responsive compared to regional markets. Even some of the fledgling and small liners are lagging behind fundamentally and technically by a huge margin! If we look at other markets in Thailand and Singapore, local participants dominate the market, their stocks are somewhat more responsive. We have the numbers to have huge values traded but there is obviously something wrong with this whole system! mega_shok.gif

On the second uptrend wave, it always happen to trap some local participants on the top. Hit out and once their minimum shares are slowly flushed out on the sell side, boom! Buy side price also all gone, so who did it? Obviously the insiders, institutional investors etc.
troller2
post Feb 2 2017, 04:06 PM

170 posts

I think there's very less retail traders trading the market. Hence less liquidity.

Main reason is, majority are trading forex and don't trade shares because the lack of margin.

Another reason is the platform, the retailers are used to indicators, and so on which is only available in advanced standalone platforms. In bursa, the bursastation is costly for newcomers.
Boon3
post Feb 2 2017, 04:14 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Feb 1 2017, 11:35 PM)

Err... I think this is an example of a high base breakout strategy.

For reference, you can refer this video: http://dai.ly/x3ene7

Boon3
post Feb 2 2017, 04:16 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Jan 31 2017, 10:25 AM)
It does happen to me. The other day, sold out some HSI calls and after I sold off for a 4 tick profit, it jumped 20 ticks!

I've really learnt a lot that chasing to a point of no return is just not good. If you win, just enjoy your wins, no need to complicate things further.
I see some good chat.

thumbsup.gif

Got to say one thing though...
It's unfair for some long term players if you use DRB as the defining example not to trade long cos DRB as a company....
errr..... not that good la....

icon_rolleyes.gif
Boon3
post Feb 2 2017, 04:25 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 2 2017, 04:16 PM)
I see some good chat.

thumbsup.gif
It's unfair for some long term players if you use DRB as the defining example not to trade long cos DRB as a company....

icon_rolleyes.gif
... and the the other worthwhile comment would have been....

well known brands (ie big local corporation) does not necessary means it will be a good investment/trade

i m saying this cos i see many ...
assume...
that big name = big stock = big money...

icon_rolleyes.gif
ILoveLalat.net
post Feb 2 2017, 05:43 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(troller2 @ Feb 2 2017, 04:06 PM)
I think there's very less retail traders trading the market. Hence less liquidity.

Main reason is, majority are trading forex and don't trade shares because the lack of margin.

Another reason is the platform, the retailers are used to indicators, and so on which is only available in advanced standalone platforms. In bursa, the bursastation is costly for newcomers.
Not necessary that newbies should use the Bursastation. Yes, Bursastation is very useful when identifying stocks using TA or FA but one can also use ChartNexus for indicators, not as comprehensive but still something.

That being said, it is pretty much countable when discussing on how many retail traders are there in the market.

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 2 2017, 04:16 PM)
I see some good chat.

thumbsup.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 2 2017, 04:25 PM)
... and the the other worthwhile comment would have been....

well known brands (ie big local corporation) does not necessary means it will be a good investment/trade

i m saying this cos i see many ...
assume...
that big name = big stock = big money...
icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes, you did bring up a good point on DRB and the fact of, "just because its a big name does not equate to big profits". But I have known people who held great faith in that company, although I myself hate this company's fundamentals and more importantly, their non-disclosure on Proton. We will most likely never know their losses and that so is a red flag! Makes sense, to disclose Honda's sales but not Proton? doh.gif

But of course, it defines the concept of long term traders, some hold 10 years but after that particular period, the stock they are holding drop like rocks. A simple examples on Bursa are FGV, SKPetro and foreign companies such as Citigroup and recently, Deutsche Bank. Some companies do turn around, some never came back up, it depends on the analogy of the investors choice. innocent.gif
Boon3
post Feb 2 2017, 05:50 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Feb 2 2017, 05:43 PM)
Not necessary that newbies should use the Bursastation. Yes, Bursastation is very useful when identifying stocks using TA or FA but one can also use ChartNexus for indicators, not as comprehensive but still something.

That being said, it is pretty much countable when discussing on how many retail traders are there in the market.
Yes, you did bring up a good point on DRB and the fact of, "just because its a big name does not equate to big profits". But I have known people who held great faith in that company, although I myself hate this company's fundamentals and more importantly, their non-disclosure on Proton. We will most likely never know their losses and that so is a red flag! Makes sense, to disclose Honda's sales but not Proton? doh.gif

But of course, it defines the concept of long term traders, some hold 10 years but after that particular period, the stock they are holding drop like rocks. A simple examples on Bursa are FGV, SKPetro and foreign companies such as Citigroup and recently, Deutsche Bank. Some companies do turn around, some never came back up, it depends on the analogy of the investors choice.  innocent.gif
Hahaha!!!!

Again well said! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Feb 2 2017, 05:52 PM
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 2 2017, 09:32 PM

1,231 posts

Buy nestle for dividend
max_cavalera
post Feb 2 2017, 10:30 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Today most of the counter i shortlist, become green again after CNY....they start pouring money again into Bursa biggrin.gif
Suicidal Guy
post Feb 2 2017, 10:53 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 2 2017, 10:56 AM)
parabolic curve movement

go research whats the possible outcome
interesting.. if this is a parabolic curve, then the stock will vomit out its gain soon..

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 2 2017, 04:14 PM)
Err... I think this is an example of a high base breakout strategy.

For reference, you can refer this video:  http://dai.ly/x3ene7
this high base breakout is more bullish than the price consolidating down with lower volume.. correct ah?

Suicidal Guy
post Feb 2 2017, 11:03 PM

567 posts

Is this the opposite of high base breakout?

I'm vested in this stock icon_question.gif
max_cavalera
post Feb 2 2017, 11:19 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Feb 3 2017, 12:03 AM)

Is this the opposite of high base breakout?

I'm vested in this stock  icon_question.gif
U can view this from a lot of angle.

From my point of view i would say latest price movement is on wave 4 pullback/consolidating phase of elliot wave theory...

U can wiki that...

But u can look from other angle as well...

So far none work 100% of the time...

If ud find a system that works 60-70% of the time you already have the best method suitable to your oersonality...

Anyway its the tight risk management that will get u far in this game....

jusTinMM
post Feb 2 2017, 11:59 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 2 2017, 09:32 PM)
Buy nestle for dividend
Any other recommendation for dividend stocks?
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 3 2017, 09:06 AM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 2 2017, 10:30 PM)
Today most of the counter i shortlist, become green again after CNY....they start pouring money again into Bursa biggrin.gif
Ya seems this yr start all bullrun. I want find opportunity cheap stock also can't. Madafaker. Alll suddenly become rich ka

281 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:44 AM