post Jan 10 2017, 09:59 AM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 23 2014, 11:34 PM)
Calculation (price adjusted for splits) :

Price at Dec 28 was 4.46.
Price at Nov 21 was 3.50.

Total loss (price only) = 4.46-3.50 = 0.96

End of 2007 there was only one div for 0.0714 (Ex date 26/12, he bought 24/12 so won't be in time for T+3, so no divs for 2007.)

for 2008-2014 = 25.9+25.21+20+14+27+22+22 = 1.5611

Total gain = 1.56-0.96 = 0.60 per share.

Total percentage gain = 0.60/4.46 = 13.45%

So percent gain per year = 13.45/6 = 2.24% per year

Compared with 3% a year for FD, still a loss smile.gif
If you invested Rm9,812 at that date :

2200 shares at 4.46 = Rm9,812

2200 shares at 3.50 = Rm7,700

Total capital loss = Rm2,112

Add brokerage costs = Rm2,112 + 43.26 = Rm2,154.26

Total dividends = 2200 x 1.5611 = Rm3,434.42

Total gain = 3,434.42 - 2,154.26 = Rm1280.16
If you deposited Rm9,812 in FD at 3% p.a :

Rm9,812 Compounded Annually at 3% for 6 years = RM11,716.04

Total gain = RM11,716.04 - RM9,812 = Rm1,904.04
Total difference = Rm1904.04 - 1280.16 = 623.88
I was stalking the past and looking for a dividend paying stock to invest and came upon this post by woodenus. (fyi thank you buddy again for the write up).

I just wanted to ask you guys, if this is true why do we do stocks?

Avangelice
post Jan 10 2017, 03:23 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 10 2017, 03:02 PM)
That guy is a troll.

Period.
oh lol. i figured as much.

anyways I am saving up a few thousands to jump into my first stock.

classic scenic. every stable. good paying dividend. low risk.

soon after I may want to buy into a telecommunications provider. ( maxis, digi, celcom)

add on a banking sector (maybank, cimb)

maybe top up one or two REITs/construction companies like sunway, ecovest

and finally TENAGA since its already a monopoly

what do you think bro? dont think i have the capacity to do day trading so my as well treat this as my diversified malaysian portfolio.
Avangelice
post Jan 10 2017, 03:34 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 10 2017, 03:27 PM)
Wah...u doing some homework rclxms.gif

Any more tipsy? brows.gif
I wish I got a specific stock to suggest but not many people here invest like me for the dividend and the fundamentals of the company. I plan to use said dividend to buy more stocks.

want to hit my investment goal of 70, 000 by end of this year with 60k going into my unit trust and 10k into stock portfolio. wanna hit 100k (not including epf) when I reach my 30th birthday.
Avangelice
post Jan 10 2017, 03:45 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Jan 10 2017, 03:43 PM)
can share ur first stock?
classic scenic.

Now waiting for my epf (home loan) for February, saved money from chinese new year (not visiting, not buying new clothes, not travelling) and a few cash from my treatments to be placed in my trading account.

here is why i am taking classic scenic

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/investi...t-type-company/

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/rhinvest/82235.jsp

old articles but it shows in their reports and stock price that they have been stable throughout these years.

ADD ON

http://www.valueinvestingstock.com/single-...c-Scenics-Visit

with the strong USD, Classic scenic who's main customers are us companies. It maybe favourable to invest in them now

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 10 2017, 03:58 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 10 2017, 04:19 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(zyrex_ho @ Jan 10 2017, 04:08 PM)
I guess we are in the same shoe, I am just about to get started in stock market, just waiting for the HLeBroking to open my account, gosh.. that executive told me it will take 2-3 weeks to process due to back logging issue from last year.

Classic Scenic is one of my target, still struggling which stock to start on. Most probably Homeriz, dividend ex-date is around the corner, wondering if i can make it for that, finger-crossed.
protip. install an app call klse screener in your phone. it's a faster way to look up stocks and check their Dividends, fundamentals and etc.

also neat about it is when you read the news at the bottom of the news they will attach which stock is affected or affecting the news.

also I did a little research on home riz. very stable company. not much movement in the past two years. dividend pay out isn't that great.

1myr for one share. Dividends are 0.03 per share (last interim) so for 8000 worth of shares. you get myr 240 for 8k.

let's say you get myr 460 dividend for this year. your yield will be 5.75
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 12:21 PM

5,270 posts

gathering ammo to buy into Mikroom next month. woo hoo.
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 01:32 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2017, 12:57 PM)
TNB price weakness, sudah beli ke belum? biggrin.gif

Topline growth is still healthy at 5%, only forex weakness dragging down earnings. I think good to buy.

When they have got their capital management exercise done, can expect 4-5% dividend yield. icon_idea.gif
how to buy when my money isn't enough bro. I have 6k sitting in the account now don't know if one lump sum into a stock o

or

divide to 3k and purchased into two different counters?
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 01:40 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2017, 01:34 PM)
Sail-lang on TNB devil.gif
thank you! I'll leave penny stocks for now
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 02:03 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2017, 02:00 PM)
caveat emptor! tongue.gif
just did a little book keeping. I can gather 8k by end of this month. I can buy 6 lots of TENAGA.

I'm getting a little adrenaline rush from all this. something unit trust doesn't give. hahahaha
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 02:11 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2017, 02:07 PM)
Key word - HOLDING POWER
Don't worry boss. not gonna chase returns and do day tradings. don't have the time for it. planning to just place 8k into the counter and let the dividends come in while letting it appreciate.

I got all the time in the world for it. save up. buy shares. rinse and repeat. let it grow
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 02:50 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Jan 26 2017, 02:25 PM)
enter at what price
I cannot know for sure as gathering 8k first is my first and foremost prerogative. I'm thinking the long Chinese new year holidays would keep the price at it is now @13.66. hoping I can get to go in before it hits the 14 myr per share mark
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 02:58 PM

5,270 posts

I am currently having a cds account and I am clueless about the paper work I need to fill that everyone is talking about. what are these papers for? are they forms? do I need to fill them? is it alot of work?
Avangelice
post Jan 26 2017, 03:07 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2017, 03:03 PM)
Your broker makan gaji buta ka doh.gif
cds account means I have to do everything kan? or am I missing something here?
Avangelice
post Jan 27 2017, 02:07 PM

5,270 posts

8k into Mikroom or tenaga?

which one to choose?
Avangelice
post Jan 28 2017, 03:01 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Jan 28 2017, 11:40 AM)
Aax ftw.
be gentle on me. it's my first time so I am not sure which to buy between these two. slowly as I get more experience I'll branch out.
Avangelice
post Jan 30 2017, 06:08 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(troller2 @ Jan 29 2017, 09:08 PM)
Just want to ask. Are you guys short term or long term investor?
How long do you hold your positions?
long term for me.

but I'll set aside a few thousands when my unit trust and stock allocation have been met for day trading just for the kick of it.

I have already plan to allocate 10k into each of these stocks based on their nature of trade

Tenaga- Power (waiting for tp price to hit 17)
Classic Scenic - Export of frame (dividend)
Mikroom - Export of electronics (penny stock longterm hold)
Taan - Lumber and Palm Oil (Sarawak based company)

avoiding property in Malaysia and I will invest in AmAsia REIT unit trust as part of my allocation into property.

Either Ecovest or SunReit for Malaysian reit.

Avoiding Airline based stocks. very fickle.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 30 2017, 06:13 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 30 2017, 09:44 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Jan 30 2017, 07:39 PM)
Depending on what is the nature of an investor?

For me, I do a mix of day trading and pattern day trading, will not disclose what stocks that I have done in the past but I have hold counters for a few ticks for as long as 10-20 seconds before. Of course, there are some stocks that I do hold long term. 

The question is not about whether one is a short or long term investor, but it is how one manages the investment right.  icon_rolleyes.gif
why the bolded statement?
Avangelice
post Jan 30 2017, 10:01 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Jan 30 2017, 09:49 PM)
Because that was in the past. Pure gambling only, simply hantam stocks not limited to SCNWOLF and the infamous SGB-WA run up last year. All pure speculation. icon_rolleyes.gif

However, at the moment, I am looking at UMW, DRB-Hicom, ICON, UEMS and EKOWOOD. But those are purely suggestions, not really that I may go in. Done with UMW after profit taking. Might re-enter later. wink.gif
personally I tend to avoid companies that are risky esp automotive and airline as these are not commodities that people must live on. esp with the rise of funds for public transportation, I can forsee car sales will not be healthy.

my two cents.
Avangelice
post Jan 30 2017, 11:19 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Jan 30 2017, 10:14 PM)
Yup I do get the notion.

For me, short term play, no harm going in but not say 5 years down the road. Long term play, definitely not proven good. My relatives had DRB-Hicom from the 2000s at 2.50ish. When it went up to 3 in 2012, told them to sell off and take profit as the Proton deal was just temporary and the technical indicators point to an extremely overbought condition, said that the stock can go 4 and only 2015, sold it at around 1.90. If we go back to the late-90s, it was 5+, what happened now?

Today? 1.18. Same goes to Air Asia and infamously AAX. Only good riding the stocks when it is warm, get out when it is hot. UMW is because their automotive sector has been profitable but not their O&G business, DRB-Hicon due to the upcoming tie-up with a foreign partner.

Even so, you cannot look at just the news but the financial statements. Just my 0.005 profits, DRB failed to disclose the losses in Proton, hence making the judgement even harder. But in the end, I do not call the shots. All investors fight and determine the price equilibrium when setting the price.
thank you for allowing me to learn something today. I come from a back ground of unit trust investment where its better to hold a particular investment for years on end. trying not to apply that same understanding on my stock portfolio. thus I am keeping a tight discipline on myself by giving a target price and cut lost price. die die must initiate a buy and sell when I am happy with the returns/lost

then again there's where human greed comes along. what happens when you sell too early and the stock rises further?
Avangelice
post Feb 1 2017, 10:36 AM

5,270 posts

just gathered a total of 8k worth of funds.

how liquid is doing stocks. I was on hlebroking live stock exchange and I know BQ and SQ so let's say I buy 8k worth of stocks and pay t+3. what if I were to sell it all two months down the road.

would I be able to sell all?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1682sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:41 PM