Investors Club V9, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

Boon3
post Aug 15 2016, 07:06 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Aug 15 2016, 06:56 PM)
I second that. Lol, I only bought it due to the quarterly results hype due for this week, after that, we're finished business.

Anyway, I have also seen that some cup with handle formations are perfect. However, failed to break to the upside and just went sideways.

The thing with TA is that it can go one or two ways. While it works most of the time, it can also fail (while the percentage is small). Yes, that is coming from a person who also uses TA albeit only on 5 minutes to 1 hour candlesticks.

But experience-wise, I can see AAX rebounding again (sideway trend forming on a 1 month chart) but it is unclear whether it can break 41.5 this time or not as it has been tried several times but to no avail. I'll save the support set at 39 with a heavy resistance at 41.5. If the resistance breaks through, it can fly up.

Just my opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif
well if it breakouts of the 41.5 sen...
this would have been an ascending triangle breakout.

icon_rolleyes.gif

and how does one trade such a possible play?
be the early worm?
or wait ........

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

spring onion
post Aug 16 2016, 12:13 AM

1,087 posts

so it's a go or wait? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by spring onion: Aug 16 2016, 12:13 AM
Boon3
post Aug 16 2016, 06:47 AM

15,942 posts

LOL !!!!!

You don't think who think then?
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 16 2016, 07:02 AM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Everyone also having doubts, some take opportunity. Up to you all. laugh.gif

Boon3
post Aug 16 2016, 07:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Aug 16 2016, 07:02 AM)
Everyone also having doubts, some take opportunity. Up to you all. laugh.gif
tongue.gif

It's all about the risk.

Early worm can get the bird rolleyes.gif

But the risk for the poor worm is..........
the breakout might not happen...
or worse still....
a breakdown could happen....

Waiting?
Some are good chaser....
Some? Cry like 2nd mother saying the damn ayam lari .....

Me ?

I write toxic garbage only nia.....

ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 16 2016, 07:41 AM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 16 2016, 07:11 AM)
tongue.gif

It's all about the risk.

Early worm can get the bird rolleyes.gif

But the risk for the poor worm is..........
the breakout might not happen...
or worse still....
a breakdown could happen....

Waiting?
Some are good chaser....
Some? Cry like 2nd mother saying the damn ayam lari .....
Me ?

I write toxic garbage only nia.....
Of course. Technically, even whatever I write here is also toxic. tongue.gif

At the end of the day, we still have to make our own judgment and research before just hantaming every share. Because the individuals make the call not us. rolleyes.gif

Boon3
post Aug 16 2016, 08:50 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Aug 16 2016, 07:41 AM)
Of course. Technically, even whatever I write here is also toxic. tongue.gif

At the end of the day, we still have to make our own judgment and research before just hantaming every share. Because the individuals make the call not us. rolleyes.gif

Honestly....

buying a ticket first VS whacking upon breakout is such an interesting issue for traders.

there doesn't seem to be a 100% correct method.

sometimes it pays greatly to be the early worm.

many times it doesn't.

and for those who understand this issue....

it's a bit like investors.....

for example....

the oil plunge of recent.

many deducted from their value reasoning...
them beaten down stocks would represent fantastic deep value investing opportunity....
many moons have passed since then...
and the 'current' or is it 'end' results ....
it's clear that it did not pay to be the early worm....

yeah...
belum sell belum rugi....
of course....
but remember...
1) if ever need of cash - ie the urgent need to cash out.... those belum rugi stocks WILL HAVE TO BE SOLD AT A LOST
2) the wasted opportunity. these money could have been invested in much better investment that would have yielded far better results.

of course...
there are many cases where such investing worked.

but whatever it is....
like I said....
understanding that four letter word....
the word starting with the letter R...

flex.gif
kevraul
post Aug 16 2016, 09:36 AM

mr.
1,407 posts

there dont seem to be handbrake for kesm
Boon3
post Aug 16 2016, 05:12 PM

15,942 posts

As its name implies, there are two parts to the pattern: the cup and the handle. The cup forms after an advance and looks like a bowl or rounding bottom. As the cup is completed, a trading range develops on the right hand side and the handle is formed. A subsequent breakout from the handle's trading range signals a continuation of the prior advance.

Jabil Circuit, Inc (JBL) Cup with Handle example chart from StockCharts.com

Trend: To qualify as a continuation pattern, a prior trend should exist. Ideally, the trend should be a few months old and not too mature. The more mature the trend, the less chance that the pattern marks a continuation or the less upside potential.

Cup: The cup should be “U” shaped and resemble a bowl or rounding bottom. A “V” shaped bottom would be considered too sharp of a reversal to qualify. The softer “U” shape ensures that the cup is a consolidation pattern with valid support at the bottom of the “U”. The perfect pattern would have equal highs on both sides of the cup, but this is not always the case.

Cup Depth: Ideally, the depth of the cup should retrace 1/3 or less of the previous advance. However, with volatile markets and over-reactions, the retracement could range from 1/3 to 1/2. In extreme situations, the maximum retracement could be 2/3, which conforms with Dow Theory.

Handle: After the high forms on the right side of the cup, there is a pullback that forms the handle. Sometimes this handle resembles a flag or pennant that slopes downward, other times it is just a short pullback. The handle represents the final consolidation/pullback before the big breakout and can retrace up to 1/3 of the cup's advance, but usually not more. The smaller the retracement, the more bullish the formation and significant the breakout. Sometimes it is prudent to wait for a break above the resistance line established by the highs of the cup.

Duration: The cup can extend from 1 to 6 months, sometimes longer on weekly charts. The handle can be from 1 week to many weeks and ideally completes within 1-4 weeks.

[/B]Volume: There should be a substantial increase in volume on the breakout above the handle's resistance.

Target: The projected advance after breakout can be estimated by measuring the distance from the right peak of the cup to the bottom of the cup.

As with most chart patterns, it is more important to capture the essence of the pattern than the particulars. The cup is a bowl-shaped consolidation and the handle is a short pullback followed by a breakout with expanding volume. A cup retracement of 62% may not fit the pattern requirements, but a particular stock's pattern may still capture the essence of the Cup with Handle.

http://stockcharts.com/school/doku.php?id=...le_continuation

sign0014.gif sign0014.gif sign0014.gif
Boon3
post Aug 16 2016, 05:25 PM

15,942 posts

The below chart...

That is not a cup and handle.

icon_rolleyes.gif
hehe86
post Aug 17 2016, 12:31 PM

Gratitude
1,497 posts

Wow the breakout, i just only realized....
SUSlowya
post Aug 17 2016, 10:32 PM

4,821 posts

look for ULICORP rebound.
Boon3
post Aug 18 2016, 09:03 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ Aug 17 2016, 12:31 PM)
Wow the breakout, i just only realized....
Wow everyday got stocks breakout, I just only realized....

notworthy.gif
Boon3
post Aug 18 2016, 09:09 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2016, 10:32 PM)
look for ULICORP rebound.

shocking.gif shocking.gif

no other stocks meh
sub_noob
post Aug 18 2016, 09:59 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 18 2016, 09:09 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif

no other stocks meh
Wow. What happened?
Boon3
post Aug 18 2016, 10:06 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(sub_noob @ Aug 18 2016, 09:59 AM)
Wow. What happened?
Nothing much happened.... tongue.gif

just that the floor collapsed rather spectacularly....

atm down 22% !!

ps....
I think better don't die a hero...
there are so many other stocks.

twhong_91
post Aug 18 2016, 10:08 AM

1,637 posts

what happened to ulicorp? lol.. scgm, ulicop and slp all same fate.

i caught the falling knife yesterday. :'(
Boon3
post Aug 18 2016, 10:10 AM

15,942 posts

SLP. A growth stock whose earning 'stopped' growing .....

Don't die a hero.... tongue.gif
Boon3
post Aug 18 2016, 10:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Aug 18 2016, 10:08 AM)
what happened to ulicorp? lol.. scgm, ulicop and slp all same fate.

i caught the falling knife yesterday. :'(

sorry to hear.

you might seriously wanna consider the cut loss option.

u caught which knife?
twhong_91
post Aug 18 2016, 10:12 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 18 2016, 10:11 AM)
sorry to hear.

you might seriously wanna consider the cut loss option.
u caught which knife?
i caught ulicorp and scgm.

any comments boon?

yesterday big fall i tot gonna rebound today, mana tau drop again cry.gif

This post has been edited by twhong_91: Aug 18 2016, 10:14 AM

281 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:44 PM