156 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v7

arslow
post Dec 28 2017, 01:39 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 27 2017, 04:02 PM)
Job Title : Network Engineer
Job Description : Network design + network implementation + network troubleshooting + network maintenance (our team does all the dirty field work, its fun tho) + kena main con tiaw kaokao lat
Years spent in company : 1 year 1 month
Company : Local System Integrator
Industry : Major railway/highway communication network
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : Fresh graduate
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Network
salary : RM2850 (before deduct) + RM250 allowance + petrol & toll claim
*NO OT pay entitled (once worked from 9am to 6am, sometimes ended earlier at around 1am or 2am, but still when there are testing and commissioning I can stay up to 4am)**

The management is kinda shitty (Chinese boss, known for kiamsiap) and benefit is also shitty (super low mileage claim) but my job scope is super fun and interesting. Its hard to find another local company that can do such big scale of network implementations.
I would say u shud tahan for at least 2 years here, then try to find someplace new...pretty sure u will get something far better with the experience u have by then 😉
qwertyuioped
post Dec 28 2017, 01:45 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(nickz8918 @ Dec 9 2017, 09:09 PM)
Job Title : Customer Service Professional
Job Description : Provide level 1 support & troubleshooting via inbound call, prepare report, update customer on current report
Years spent in company : 4 month
Company : Vads Berhad
Industry :IT & Business Outsourcing
Tenure : Leasing (12 Month)
Employment Level : Level 1 Support
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Foundation in IT
salary : RM2200 (Basic) + RM560 (fix allowance) + RM7.69 per night (transport allowance if finish work after 10pm) + OT + 12 days leave + EPF + SOCSO + Basic hospital insurance + medical claim + Rm300 bonus (if KPI hit) + Others bonus

Pros: Good salary + tons of allowance + incentives + bonus
Cons: Got to face behavior & unreasonable customer with tons of procedure and rules to adhere in workplace.

P/S: please be considerate if u ever call 100 TM. We are human and we try to help
Few years back I only gt 1.5k basic supporting Streanyx under VADS. How did they get so generous
BacktoBasics
post Dec 28 2017, 02:05 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Dec 27 2017, 12:12 PM)
erm 830 till 630 7 depends... but im always on standby cause my boss will call me to send her stuff after work. depends on the urgency of the work. for tax, there is no requirement for pro paper to be completed. unless you are in audit... im 26 in 2017.
Nais salary for a 26 year old. Working hours seems good also compared to audit line.
hiroshi87
post Dec 28 2017, 03:46 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 27 2017, 04:02 PM)
Job Title : Network Engineer
Job Description : Network design + network implementation + network troubleshooting + network maintenance (our team does all the dirty field work, its fun tho) + kena main con tiaw kaokao lat
Years spent in company : 1 year 1 month
Company : Local System Integrator
Industry : Major railway/highway communication network
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : Fresh graduate
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Network
salary : RM2850 (before deduct) + RM250 allowance + petrol & toll claim
*NO OT pay entitled (once worked from 9am to 6am, sometimes ended earlier at around 1am or 2am, but still when there are testing and commissioning I can stay up to 4am)**

The management is kinda shitty (Chinese boss, known for kiamsiap) and benefit is also shitty (super low mileage claim) but my job scope is super fun and interesting. Its hard to find another local company that can do such big scale of network implementations.
well .. we are in the same field. I am working for a local SI as well. what I can tell u is.. save up and get some certs. definitely will help u to boost up your salary. I am an IE now and getting 5 digits. with 6-7 years of exp. so way to go bro.
ngmx88
post Dec 28 2017, 08:07 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Dec 26 2017, 04:34 PM)
I'm from science background. Now 32, baru hit 7k and this is already my 5th job. Imagine my colleague who stayed at the same company, i wonder what are they getting. The only positive point was i got some good incentives while working as a pharma rep.
Haiz..I am only in my second job. Our age is close, but my salary is 40% lower. I have a career break for three years, maybe it's part of the reason too.
post Dec 28 2017, 10:27 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Dec 28 2017, 01:39 PM)
I would say u shud tahan for at least 2 years here, then try to find someplace new...pretty sure u will get something far better with the experience u have by then 😉
My plan is stay until my major project ends, which will be 4 years later I guess hahahahaha. Then only see how the company treats me lol

QUOTE(hiroshi87 @ Dec 28 2017, 03:46 PM)
well .. we are in the same field. I am working for a local SI as well. what I can tell u is.. save up and get some certs. definitely will help u to boost up your salary. I am an IE now and getting 5 digits. with 6-7 years of exp. so way to go bro.
Hahahaha wow you got good salary there. Good thing about my boss is he is willing to pay for my certifications. Company provided me a full CEH courseware but I find it a little overkill for me as I am still studying R&S and firewalling extensively. Unfortunately we are so busy until I have no time to study at all. Barely to study on weekends and a little bit of free time.
hiroshi87
post Dec 28 2017, 11:38 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 28 2017, 10:27 PM)
My plan is stay until my major project ends, which will be 4 years later I guess hahahahaha. Then only see how the company treats me lol
Hahahaha wow you got good salary there. Good thing about my boss is he is willing to pay for my certifications. Company provided me a full CEH courseware but I find it a little overkill for me as I am still studying R&S and firewalling extensively. Unfortunately we are so busy until I have no time to study at all. Barely to study on weekends and a little bit of free time.
hmmm if u r into networking probably R&S is a better choice. CEH is nothing but to learn how to use tools. if u r into security then probably the best hand on cert will be GSEC GPEN etc ... for firewall it's really vendors game. each vendor have their own products and certs :z. at least R&S provide u the general knowledge which u can still utilise it if u r not doing Cisco.
party
post Dec 29 2017, 06:18 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 28 2017, 09:51 AM)
Yup, I was quite frustrated when it comes to wages and benefits. Like what you guys said, volunteer job. My boss says engineers with wages of RM2k above do not entitled with OT pay lol wtf? Its totally based on company and I am unfortunate enough to be in this company which "follows" the employment act to avoid "extra expenses".
But I don't think there is another company which can offer me job scope like this already. As a fresh I think I put experience first.
Any System Integrator (SI) companies around to intro?
Run. Amyone who ask u to stay is idiot.

There are alot of companies out there that can provide what you wanted!
post Dec 31 2017, 05:45 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi87 @ Dec 28 2017, 11:38 PM)
hmmm if u r into networking probably R&S is a better choice. CEH is nothing but to learn how to use tools. if u r into security then probably the best hand on cert will be GSEC GPEN etc ... for firewall it's really vendors game. each vendor have their own products and certs :z. at least R&S provide u the general knowledge which u can still utilise it if u r not doing Cisco.
I also felt CEH is nothing. Didn't pay much attention to the course tho. R&S concept is basically the same throughout the network world. Been immersing in R&S and firewall concepts alot.

QUOTE(party @ Dec 29 2017, 06:18 PM)
Run. Amyone who ask u to stay is idiot.

There are alot of companies out there that can provide what you wanted!
You are not the first one to say like this lol. Yep there might be companies that can offer the same thing, I can't find one as for now. Will ciao when there is a better offer.
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 1 2018, 05:39 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Dec 27 2017, 12:12 PM)
erm 830 till 630 7 depends... but im always on standby cause my boss will call me to send her stuff after work. depends on the urgency of the work. for tax, there is no requirement for pro paper to be completed. unless you are in audit... im 26 in 2017.
You joined the company when you were 21yrs old? 26yrs old with RM4900 is considered good in Kuching.
party
post Jan 2 2018, 12:39 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(smallyfry @ Jan 1 2018, 12:17 AM)
Job Title : Senior exec
Job Desciption : Business Operations
Years spent in company : 4 years
Company : MNC
Industry : Electronics
Employment Level : Mid-Senior
Experience before joining : 1 Yr
Highest paper qualification/ education background : M. Sc
salary : RM 7500 with RM1500 housing allowance

I am 30 year old, was an engineer before promoted to this position. Kinda feel bored, should I become an engineer back n earn lower salary?
If u r single without commitment, why not? but then think carefully if you want to work the same position until u retire or u want to go forward further in the future before making decision.

Anyone in this forum can make decision for you but what happens then will they take the responsibility for you?
zhou.xingxing
post Jan 2 2018, 12:59 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 1 2018, 05:39 PM)
You joined the company when you were 21yrs old? 26yrs old with RM4900 is considered good in Kuching.
22... yeah considered not bad. banking industry would be better tho. no complains because i got good exposures in these 5 years
Win Win Inspiration
post Jan 2 2018, 10:02 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(smallyfry @ Jan 1 2018, 12:17 AM)
Job Title : Senior exec
Job Desciption : Business Operations
Years spent in company : 4 years
Company : MNC
Industry : Electronics
Employment Level : Mid-Senior
Experience before joining : 1 Yr
Highest paper qualification/ education background : M. Sc
salary : RM 7500 with RM1500 housing allowance

I am 30 year old, was an engineer before promoted to this position. Kinda feel bored, should I become an engineer back n earn lower salary?
This is a very good package.
Selectt
post Jan 3 2018, 10:25 AM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Dec 21 2017, 05:23 PM)
Only RM14K?
With your years of experience I think should be around the region of RM50K. biggrin.gif
hse manager can earn rm50k? adibyusoff beto ka?
lyt25_1234
post Jan 3 2018, 10:40 AM

1,152 posts

QUOTE(Selectt @ Jan 3 2018, 10:25 AM)
Don't you find my statement a bit sarcastic? biggrin.gif

Selectt
post Jan 3 2018, 10:41 AM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jan 3 2018, 10:40 AM)
Don't you find my statement a bit sarcastic? biggrin.gif
i not that terror to smell sarcasm on interweb.
adibyusoff
post Jan 3 2018, 01:14 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(Selectt @ Jan 3 2018, 10:25 AM)
got HSE manager earn MYR70k per month locally. i've met one before. aged 30+. met also malaysian working abroad in hse field earning 800-2000 usd per day. but it's a niche role. you have to be well equipped with all kinds of certification etc. itulah namanya rezeki.. come and go in all sorts of way.. console.gif
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 3 2018, 02:30 PM

216 posts

I am 33 IT Business Analyst Senior.
Earning : 7.1k/month in Penang.
3 years in this MNC. Previously also MNC with 9 years experience.
Previously had a team leader/supervisor role in the dept but due to being unable to go up to a managerial position I departed. Now I am not in a leadership role.

The longer I work, the more I think what I am doing is very menial and not really learning anything new. I launch applications throughout the world for the MNC, work on the development a bit. In terms of technology I do am not an expert in it just have to know the application well on the front end and help the site users to troubleshoot and ways to upgrade the system to suit their needs. I am finding it hard to find new jobs cos I don't fit into the technical skill-sets of the job they list out.

7.1k for a 33 year old seems very little to me.
I used to earn better income than my peers but since the past 5 years i am crawling while they seem to be climbing up as managers and what not.

How to get out of this Rut?

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Jan 3 2018, 02:31 PM
adibyusoff
post Jan 3 2018, 02:32 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Jan 3 2018, 02:30 PM)
I am 33 IT Business Analyst Senior.
Earning : 7.1k/month in Penang.
3 years in this MNC. Previously also MNC with 9 years experience.
Previously had a team leader/supervisor role in the dept but due to being unable to go up to a managerial position I departed. Now I am not in a leadership role.

The longer I work, the more I think what I am doing is very menial and not really learning anything new.  I launch applications throughout the world for the MNC, work on the development a bit. In terms of technology I do am not an expert in it just have to know the application well on the front end and help the site users to troubleshoot and ways to upgrade the system to suit their needs. I am finding it hard to find new jobs cos I don't fit into the technical skill-sets of the job they list out.

7.1k for a 33 year old seems very little to me.
I used to earn better income than my peers but since the past 5 years i am crawling while they seem to be climbing up as managers and what not.

How to get out of this Rut?
time for you to spam your cv and jump ship when the opportunity present itself bro smile.gif
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 3 2018, 02:34 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jan 3 2018, 02:32 PM)
time for you to spam your cv and jump ship when the opportunity present itself bro smile.gif
I've sent out my resume for the past one year but till now no calls for interviews.

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Jan 3 2018, 02:34 PM

156 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:53 PM