Job Desciption : IT
Years spent in company : To join soon
Company : -
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Not sure is which level
Experience before joining : 5.5
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Adv Diploma
salary : 11K Basic + 3K Fixed Allowance

I am not sure is this high or low as I have never work in Malaysia since graduated. Anyway I am CCIE x 2 certified.
hiroshi87
post Sep 7 2017, 06:11 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 7 2017, 06:00 PM)
That is freaking high lol.

Before 30 and you're reaching 20k soon

Where did you work before?
I have been working in SG for 4.5 years in System Integrator and moved to Myanmar as a Solution Architect for around 1 year.

Anyway I have invested a lot to get my CCIE and compared to oversea i still think my salary is not that high thou. But yeah I know working in Malaysia is different from oversea so I don't expect to be on par with oversea salary.

Anyway don't ask me why I stop working in oversea, "family" first =D.
hiroshi87
post Sep 10 2017, 02:42 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Dead4Life @ Sep 10 2017, 10:11 AM)
Cool you got CCIE. Of course by getting this cert, you can demand to get 5 digit salary.

BTW what do you mean to get CCIE x 2 actually?

Where do you went for the exam?
CCIE x 2 meant i have certified in CCIE DC & SP.

For exam I went HK, SG and Sydney before. failed twice to get my DC.
hiroshi87
post Sep 10 2017, 02:42 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 10 2017, 12:11 AM)
Previous salary?
my previous salary were in USD. which is much higher than now.
hiroshi87
post Sep 11 2017, 01:45 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 11 2017, 01:08 PM)
Salary in USD but work in where?
myanmar.
hiroshi87
post Sep 11 2017, 01:47 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(arize @ Sep 11 2017, 12:48 PM)
Walao...everyone here so young already 15~30k monthly, although I think those are exceptional individuals

I think average joe/jane salary should be around like this

Age 23-25: 2500-3500
Age 26-30: 3500-5000
Age 30-35: 5000-8000+
i think more or less it depends on how much are u willing to sacrifice. especially time and how do u reinvest in yourself.
hiroshi87
post Sep 11 2017, 04:12 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(wkc @ Sep 11 2017, 03:34 PM)
I think they trying to lowball you for only RM11K. CCIE should have better pay than this and you have 5.5 years of experience.
Since this is my first job in Malaysia I don't mind to have lower pay thou. wanted to move back asap.

i think 11K+ the allowance shall allow me to survive in kl. i am still single anyway.
hiroshi87
post Sep 12 2017, 01:02 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 12 2017, 01:10 AM)
Yes - to survive rm2k also enuf.

However, accepting this range will open the gate to ur future employers to offer 20-30% higher only instead of better offer which might wxceed ur usd equiavalent.
i don't mind thou...it's not all about money. if u read my previous post the reason i am moving back "family" =).
hiroshi87
post Dec 28 2017, 03:46 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 27 2017, 04:02 PM)
Job Title : Network Engineer
Job Description : Network design + network implementation + network troubleshooting + network maintenance (our team does all the dirty field work, its fun tho) + kena main con tiaw kaokao lat
Years spent in company : 1 year 1 month
Company : Local System Integrator
Industry : Major railway/highway communication network
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : Fresh graduate
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Network
salary : RM2850 (before deduct) + RM250 allowance + petrol & toll claim
*NO OT pay entitled (once worked from 9am to 6am, sometimes ended earlier at around 1am or 2am, but still when there are testing and commissioning I can stay up to 4am)**

The management is kinda shitty (Chinese boss, known for kiamsiap) and benefit is also shitty (super low mileage claim) but my job scope is super fun and interesting. Its hard to find another local company that can do such big scale of network implementations.
well .. we are in the same field. I am working for a local SI as well. what I can tell u is.. save up and get some certs. definitely will help u to boost up your salary. I am an IE now and getting 5 digits. with 6-7 years of exp. so way to go bro.
hiroshi87
post Dec 28 2017, 11:38 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Avatarless @ Dec 28 2017, 10:27 PM)
My plan is stay until my major project ends, which will be 4 years later I guess hahahahaha. Then only see how the company treats me lol
Hahahaha wow you got good salary there. Good thing about my boss is he is willing to pay for my certifications. Company provided me a full CEH courseware but I find it a little overkill for me as I am still studying R&S and firewalling extensively. Unfortunately we are so busy until I have no time to study at all. Barely to study on weekends and a little bit of free time.
hmmm if u r into networking probably R&S is a better choice. CEH is nothing but to learn how to use tools. if u r into security then probably the best hand on cert will be GSEC GPEN etc ... for firewall it's really vendors game. each vendor have their own products and certs :z. at least R&S provide u the general knowledge which u can still utilise it if u r not doing Cisco.

0.0182sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:03 PM