Job Title : AM
Years spent in company : 1 year 8mths
Company : MNC
Industry : Financial
Employment Level : AM
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background :Master Degree in Finance
Monthly Salary : RM3.9k

Took some time following my own passions in studying..when finished dun felt like becoming lecturer so apply work in current company.
party
post Dec 13 2015, 08:52 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(MealOnMe @ Dec 13 2015, 02:15 PM)
Job Title :
Job Desciption : Internal sales support
Years spent in company : <1
Company : Local
Industry : Manufacturing
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior exec
Experience before joining : nil
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma
salary : RM2.1k

Dear sifus, any advice on anything?
Plan to search for another job with better learning opportunities and career path on begin of next year.
With diploma at 2.1k i said quite good. Is the career progression in the com good?

How many mths in current conpany? Make it around 6mths if this is ur 1st job before jump
party
post Dec 23 2015, 03:11 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(SaitamaSensei @ Dec 23 2015, 01:02 AM)
job : blending exec BAT aspac
job : application dev engr at Lubrizol
ed : bachelor degree in polymer
years of exp : 2 years
last drawn salary : 2.9 k

got two job offerings from bat and lubrizol.
bat is giving around 5.5 k including allowance lubrizol is offering 3.5 but about to revise cos i said that bat is offering much more.

currently pening where to go polymer or tobacco 😩
Tobacco 1st? then 1 year later jump another place...higher salary, benefit, exposur. laugh.gif
party
post Dec 27 2015, 04:45 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(kennynyc @ Dec 26 2015, 08:40 PM)
Job Title : Executive
Job Desciption : Investment operation / back office processing
Years spent in company : 2.5 years
Company: some outsourced processing company
Industry : Finance
Employment Level : Junior Executive
Experience before joining : No experience
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor of Science (Maths)
salary : RM 3000

Cons: no/limited career advancement, repetitive work (can't develop more skills), cant bring hp to office, job will probably disappear soon (automated by computer programs).
Pros: easy job(spm oso can do), repetitive work (it's a pros if u want easy life).

I feel like my degree is kinda wasted(since the work spm grad oso can do), I'm in my comfort zone now, I want to switch to a more challenging job like programming but no experience/knowledge, and the economy is bad. i dun wan to do any kind of sales job...
Hdpm?
party
post Dec 27 2015, 09:07 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(kennynyc @ Dec 27 2015, 05:13 PM)
yea ..  biggrin.gif  u work there too?
Yup..the work seems repetitive but the room to grow is high there but depends in oneself n the mo whether want to grab the chance.

Some ppl work ther 4years do same thg but ask abut complicated thgs related to that process their answers is dunno.
party
post Jan 16 2016, 06:03 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Jan 15 2016, 11:24 PM)
Nah, i already confirm during my internship with them. Will get OT AND big bonus xD
How u confirm? Verbal, written o stories from colleague?
party
post Jan 16 2016, 09:04 PM

811 posts

In contract confirm big bonus?

Company..wanted to join.
party
post Feb 6 2016, 09:46 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Feb 6 2016, 03:22 PM)
I was a fresh graduate 2 years ago with salary not more than 3k, now after 2 years still hardly reach 4k, not to mention you ll be taxed on ur income yearly too. So the take-away package after deduction from taxes and EPF is hardly there to sustain your life, which I agree.

You have the options:

1. To move out from your comfort zone by moving to Spore / other countries to work (which can gain you x2 or x3 earnings).

2. Work 2 jobs in Malaysia (with part time)

3. Work full time + Invest smartly (this is sooo difficult for fresh grads out there provided they hv been trained guided properly on the strategy and with capital)

Which you see yourself to be in order to earn?
Started workin 2014. Tis year gross 4k. Advise above is not the brightest i ever heard.
party
post Feb 10 2016, 03:34 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Feb 10 2016, 01:42 AM)
I doubt i would have problem looking for job in the future. What is worry is the company culture.

Dont be so sure on this. Things might hit u hard unexpectedly.

But then..choose 3. 8 is too long and a career killer. No other companies out there going to pay the penalty for a 8year bond.
party
post Apr 18 2016, 02:52 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(cap86 @ Apr 17 2016, 12:22 AM)
Job Title : Design engineer
Job Description : Design Plant equipment
Years spent in company : 3.5
Company : US Based
Industry : Construction/Industrial Equipment
Employment Level : No senior/junior ranking provided, was the only engineer around.
Experience before joining : 3.5 years (Manufacturing & Business Analyst)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
current salary : 4.5k (No 13th month pay despite US based company)
Bonus: Have been no bonus for 2.5 years (Only got once in the com), no benefits no claims other than medical (general panelist)
Yearly increment: 7-9%

Question to sifus:
Is my pay low comparing to the market? Comparing with the forummers here makes my pay awful.

Trying to learn different things now by exploring different position opening (multi position) in the same company and also seeking opportunities outside. I am interested in going into business development/marketing or Project management, how much pay should I be expecting seeing that I have no direct experience in those?

I am also undertaking an MBA from a more prestige Business school, any sifus could share from experience the potential effect on the salary (assuming after grad I'll take a role that I have no experience).

Thanks in advance, would answer some questions if able.
I would say low and it's time for you to swim further.

Also, MBA brings no effect if you are not in management position. Coupled with 0 exp in related role it has near to nil effect on your salary. Also, the U where you get your MBA also need to be considered.

party
post Apr 18 2016, 02:54 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(Juvier @ Apr 17 2016, 05:35 PM)
Job Title : Resident Engineer
Job Desciption : Visualization, reasoning, decision-making, problem solving, project management
Years spent in company : 0
Company : Local
Industry : construction
Employment Level : fresh graduate
Experience before joining : 6 months interns
Highest paper qualification : Bachelor in civil eng.
salary : RM3500 (OT RM4000-6000 )

im not happy working as resident engineer and would like to work as design engineer but highest offer i can get is rm2800 only... hmm....
Intern and getting 3.5k?

If u really want design engineer then just jump. Dun look at monetary value in your early career. You can always jump and get higher once you get half foot into the job
party
post Apr 24 2016, 10:58 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(moomoosky @ Apr 24 2016, 09:45 PM)
i have a serious question want to ask,

if company offered you senior executive level but paid you executive level salary,
and if company offered you manager level position but paid you senior executive level salary.

How to make judgement between you position and salary ?

What wrong with the candidate or company?
How do you know its senior executive level but executive level salary? Title means nothing..look at bank. Fresh grad with title manager..does that means its manager level?
party
post Jun 5 2016, 07:50 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Jun 5 2016, 11:33 AM)
Hey bro currently I'm still in uni studying finance and economics but I'm not good at math and lost interest in finance. I dont like to sit in the office all day staring at the PC doing analysis and she!t.

What is it like in the finance field, or department, i've considered before to take CFA but I feel that I dont want to be in finance. Halp pls thanks!
If you lost interest in finance better don't take CFA.
party
post Jun 23 2016, 03:08 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(eunhyuk9090 @ Jun 22 2016, 05:11 PM)
hey everyone

i'm a fresh engineering grad and i'm about to sign a contract at this co. when i applied, i put low expected salary but after comparing with my peers, i believe that i should get higher. can negotiate?

(already got the offer, not yet sign. also, dont worry about the type/reputation/size of company, i'm just asking about the situation) thks
If you believe then you deserve to put how much you actually. The sky is the limit. Whether the company going to offer you or accept you is a different matter...
party
post Jun 24 2016, 02:20 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Jun 24 2016, 02:03 AM)
That's the beauty of CFA. Any Dick, Tom and Harry can take it.
and the number of Tom Dick and Harry who pass all three papers?
party
post Sep 23 2016, 10:07 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(wraymy @ Sep 23 2016, 06:46 PM)
Job Title : Civil & Structural Consultant
Job Desciption : undertaking technical and feasibility studies including site investigations, design drawings, 5 days work + 1 saturday of the month, able to perform OT where necessary
Education: Bachelor Degree
Years spent in company : Fresh graduate
Company : Malaysian Company
Industry : Consultant/construction
Employment Level : Consultant
Experience before joining : 0
salary : RM 3000

I work in KL puchong, am I underpaid?
Yes.

They should have paid you RM5,000.00 with transport, living, mobile and meal allowance. Resign from this stingy company and find a better pasture.

Serious answer, no but I feel you are overpaid.
party
post Oct 30 2016, 08:21 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Oct 30 2016, 02:14 PM)
Wow cAn work Microsoft thumbup.gif
Fresh grad salary already 9k? If experience 20k hehe
9k seems big to us but in Japan just a small number.
party
post Nov 4 2016, 02:42 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(charles12345 @ Nov 3 2016, 04:08 PM)
To a foreign MNC bank. Ill try to nego about RM 7.5k. Dont think its gonna be that easy considering i have zero industry experience. Thats also a fear getting that kind of salary but knows jackshit about my job later.

Not risks though, its more on projects & development management kind (not commission based).

Slightly difficult on SG side as i dont have connections and job market focus on citizens nowadays. Perhaps after 2-3 yrs in msia ill try jump back to SG
Are u planning for career suicide?
party
post Nov 11 2016, 04:10 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(julius8612 @ Nov 9 2016, 04:43 AM)
Currently -
Designation: Senior Head of Visual Merchandiser in Southeast Asia
Years spent in company : 3years & 5months
Industry : Retail - Merchandising
Employment Level : Management
Experience before joining : 5 years
Total Salary : SGD $ 10k
Citizenship: PR - Half

Next job offered -
Designation : Associate Director - Talent Acquisition Operation
Industry : Recruitment MNC
Total Salary : RM 15k
Citizenship: Permanent Resident

Due to tired of this company as current. Wanted to settle down in Malaysia.

I think my salary is higher since the market range of salary is not there as much right? Any advice?
Is like taking a pay cut to come back to enjoy life.
party
post Dec 26 2016, 11:47 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(adtzg3 @ Dec 25 2016, 12:54 AM)
Recently I received two job offer,

Company A told me must go for pre-employment before offering me the job and tell me the salary. Now the problem is, after the check, they send me the offer with the salary of RM2.1k with two years contract, the salary is quite low compared to Company B which offer RM2.5k and no contract.

So can I reject company A offer because i am not statisfic
Will them ask me to pay for the pre-employment check fee if i reject the offer?
Nope. You can reject Com A. If they ask compensation just go to Jabatan Buruh complain them.

QUOTE(cisco30 @ Dec 25 2016, 05:59 AM)
Job Title :Senior Engineer
Job Desciption :Firewall specialist
Years spent in company :1 year
Company : MNC
Industry :IT
Experience before joining : 4 Years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma
Certs-15 certificates.(CCNP,CCDP,ETC..)
salary : RM 7000

Am I underpaid?
Yes. You should be paid RM20k per month.

0.0978sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:48 AM