206 Pages « < 164 165 166 167 168 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V23, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

fruitie
post Jan 18 2016, 01:53 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 18 2016, 01:42 PM)
why still no news of promo for vip 5? sad.gif
In the future, they won't be anymore VIP plans. I doubt they will do any promo there.
wcypierre
post Jan 18 2016, 02:18 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 18 2016, 01:53 PM)
In the future, they won't be anymore VIP plans. I doubt they will do any promo there.
there's no in the future. The future is now laugh.gif

Plain english: VIP plans has been discontinued.
fruitie
post Jan 18 2016, 02:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 18 2016, 02:18 PM)
there's no in the future. The future is now  laugh.gif

laugh.gif Discontinued already ah for new subscribers?
fkinmeng
post Jan 18 2016, 02:26 PM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 18 2016, 02:18 PM)
there's no in the future. The future is now  laugh.gif

used to have the rumor of cheaper price for vip 5 existing customers.

guess it's just a rumor after all. sad.gif
OKLY
post Jan 18 2016, 02:35 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 18 2016, 02:26 PM)

Exactly, they should start rolling out a more affordable 5mbps plan around the RM100 range for start, then more can experience fibre broadband.

Even if they are not willing to make UniFi cheap, they should at least make Streamyx cheap.
wcypierre
post Jan 18 2016, 02:44 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 18 2016, 02:21 PM)
laugh.gif Discontinued already ah for new subscribers?
has already been discontinued for 1 month+ already laugh.gif

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 18 2016, 02:26 PM)

well, they can always roll out a Unifi Advance 5 in the future, no? laugh.gif

I believe that their main goal for now is to push 100mbps, and probably after that only maybe we will start to see plans on the lower speed plans.
kliang87
post Jan 18 2016, 02:55 PM

25 posts

Hello all,

I received call from TM to upgrade from VIP 5mbps to 30mbps last week, i already agree to upgrade from that phone call.

Question, Will i get any notification call or email from them to inform me? Normally its takes how many days?

Thanks!

dreamthief
post Jan 18 2016, 03:52 PM

Banned
2,657 posts

QUOTE(kliang87 @ Jan 18 2016, 02:55 PM)
Hello all,

I received call from TM to upgrade from VIP 5mbps to 30mbps last week, i already agree to upgrade from that phone call.

Question, Will i get any notification call or email from them to inform me? Normally its takes how many days?

Thanks!
My own experience, was told 3 working days. But 3rd day went by, nothing happened. 4th day I called in, say why don't upgrade for me. End of the business day, activated.

Summary, it can be done within the day if TM wants to since it's just configuration change.
fruitie
post Jan 18 2016, 03:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 18 2016, 02:44 PM)
has already been discontinued for 1 month+ already  laugh.gif
well, they can always roll out a Unifi Advance 5 in the future, no?  laugh.gif

I believe that their main goal for now is to push 100mbps, and probably after that only maybe we will start to see plans on the lower speed plans.
I guess 5Mbps will really need to be eliminated. Slow for today's standard, imagine your data on phone is faster than that. YouTube can watch Full HD but second device will suffer.
wcypierre
post Jan 18 2016, 04:19 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 18 2016, 03:56 PM)
I guess 5Mbps will really need to be eliminated. Slow for today's standard, imagine your data on phone is faster than that. YouTube can watch Full HD but second device will suffer.
agreed. still, 179(unifi advance 30) is a burden for certain individuals/families, so I hope that they will have a 5mbps plan to cover for the lower income market (I don't see that it will come for this year or next year, as they need to push 30,50 and 100mbps). Not to say that streamyx is not good, but given the diversity of our landmark, using copper isn't really a good choice anymore unless we restructure whole Malaysia sweat.gif

I believe the video below is a good watch regarding the pricing for internet @ Malaysia(still true even after so many years he gave that talk at tedxkl)

welwitchia
post Jan 18 2016, 04:19 PM

1,219 posts

Try starting your direct downloads at 4am (yes 4am) and you'll get your "normal" download speeds. Speed goes down again after around 9am. It has been like that for a month now. Don't bother calling the support line. Its a waste of time.. and since you're using jdownloader, you can schedule your downloads to start at 4am.

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 17 2016, 12:44 AM)
when i use VPN(Singapore server), my speed returns. does that mean TM is throttling my speed?
megahertz
post Jan 18 2016, 04:21 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 18 2016, 03:56 PM)
not all people able to pay faster internet. some people just need internet for light usage only and want to pay cheap as possible.
if u say 5mbps slow for today standard, imagine those people that still use 1mbps streamyx tongue.gif

nikrizal
post Jan 18 2016, 04:35 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 18 2016, 04:21 PM)
not all people able to pay faster internet. some people just need internet for light usage only and want to pay cheap as possible.
if u say 5mbps slow for today standard, imagine those people that still use 1mbps streamyx tongue.gif
my mom's in law house only 384kbps shakehead.gif
wychoo
post Jan 18 2016, 04:38 PM

Hello Sifus,

Newly join this thread. I have upgraded from VIP5 to Unifi30 but did not subscribe to the RM 20/month voice STD20.
So got a big telephone bill as they charge 20sen/minute.

When I logged into the Unifi Portal, there is an extra row which says I can add "VOICE STD 20 [free]" " Click to ADD" " RM 0 /month" See attachment.

I added this and got a order number. It shows an activation date.
After the activation date, I went back to the portal, it does not show that it is already "ADDED"

I feel short-changed by this upgrade.

Any member tried this?

wcypierre
post Jan 18 2016, 04:43 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(wychoo @ Jan 18 2016, 04:38 PM)
Hello Sifus,

Newly join this thread. I have upgraded from VIP5 to Unifi30 but did not subscribe to the RM 20/month voice STD20.

When I logged into the Unifi Portal, there is an extra row which says I can add "VOICE STD 20 [free]"  " Click to ADD" " RM 0 /month"  See attachment.

After the activation date, I went back to the portal, it does not show that it is already "ADDED"

Any member tried this?

there's a post many pages back, saying that it will just be rejected. So if you make a lot of calls just subscribe for the Voice STD 20(which costs RM20 instead of 0)

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=77655583

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jan 18 2016, 04:43 PM
fruitie

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 18 2016, 04:19 PM)
agreed. still, 179(unifi advance 30) is a burden for certain individuals/families, so I hope that they will have a 5mbps plan to cover for the lower income market (I don't see that it will come for this year or next year, as they need to push 30,50 and 100mbps). Not to say that streamyx is not good, but given the diversity of our landmark, using copper isn't really a good choice anymore unless we restructure whole Malaysia  sweat.gif
That's why they need to eliminate it and reduce pricing.
Offer like from 10Mbps onward or something.

I understand but how to maju if we continue sticking with slow broadband? sweat.gif
GreenSamurai

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(wychoo @ Jan 18 2016, 04:38 PM)
Hello Sifus,

When I logged into the Unifi Portal, there is an extra row which says I can add "VOICE STD 20 [free]"  " Click to ADD" " RM 0 /month"  See attachment.

Any member tried this?

It has been discussed before. That is only available for people who got the call for upgrade by phone from a TM representative. For people like us who upgraded manually we don't get the free calls.
lolzcalvin
post Jan 18 2016, 04:51 PM

shibe in predicament
1,591 posts

Especially in the rural areas like many in pahang, sarawak and sabah (some even don't have internet connection / don't know what is internet...). Even in the area of my maternal's grandparents, many are still using <1mbps streamyx.

I remember there was a certain someone said we prefer slow internet.
wychoo
post Jan 18 2016, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 18 2016, 04:43 PM)
there's a post many pages back, saying that it will just be rejected. So if you make a lot of calls just subscribe for the Voice STD 20(which costs RM20 instead of 0)

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=77655583
Acknowledged. Thanks.
Sorry for missing out the earlier posts.
kliang87
post Jan 18 2016, 05:23 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Jan 18 2016, 03:52 PM)
My own experience, was told 3 working days. But 3rd day went by, nothing happened. 4th day I called in, say why don't upgrade for me. End of the business day, activated.

Summary, it can be done within the day if TM wants to since it's just configuration change.
Thanks for reply! Thats mean i hav to call back and ask for it? =.="

206 Pages « < 164 165 166 167 168 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:43 PM