207 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

akachester
post Jan 15 2007, 10:23 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 15 2007, 08:27 PM)
Check Zamree7 bulk.
Well, i was about to purchase the Element 500W last time out due to the great amount of recommendation given and amazing review but recently, the stop the production of the Element for the Strider.I will definitely get the Strider 560W but not now..The CM Real Power 450W is serving me good but i wanted a more reliable one..As far as i can see, i wanted something that is modular and might be cheap but there aint one..So, the Strider 560W is definitely my best choice now..
Kataro
post Jan 16 2007, 10:35 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 15 2007, 08:27 PM)
Check Zamree7 bulk.
12V rails fluctuate about +/-5% is normal.
5% of 12V should be 0.6V right? but my almost of time it stay at 11.19V, the different is 0.81V, so still consider normal? Before I change to Pentium D 820, the +12V is at 11.49V... so in case I add in Palit 7600GS PCI-e, and 1or 2GB DDR2, it still can handle? I hope it can, otherwise I will need to change PSU again... doh.gif

Anyway, thanks for the reply... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(afosz @ Jan 15 2007, 08:31 PM)
Enermax Iron Max 460W RM279 hmm.gif

thanx a lot notworthy.gif
You are welcome... laugh.gif
TSyehlai
post Jan 16 2007, 08:54 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jan 15 2007, 10:23 PM)
Well, i was about to purchase the Element 500W last time out due to the great amount of recommendation given and amazing review but recently, the stop the production of the Element for the Strider.I will definitely get the Strider 560W but not now..The CM Real Power 450W is serving me good but i wanted a more reliable one..As far as i can see, i wanted something that is modular and might be cheap but there aint one..So, the Strider 560W is definitely my best choice now..
Yup.. really cheap. So i got myself one..
yuka
post Jan 16 2007, 09:32 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

i'm planin' to upgrade my agp rig, see my sig...
and currently i'm using iCute 450w... do u think this PSU can stand for some few times after i upgrade my proc, rams, gc, some ccfls, fans, and dvd-rw? icon_question.gif
should i upgrade? if yes, pls recommend me...
budget dont know, but recommend me some low-end PSU that suitable to my rig nod.gif
TSyehlai
post Jan 16 2007, 09:39 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Jan 16 2007, 09:32 PM)
i'm planin' to upgrade my agp rig, see my sig...
and currently i'm using iCute 450w... do u think this PSU can stand for some few times after i upgrade my proc, rams, gc, some ccfls, fans, and dvd-rw?  icon_question.gif
should i upgrade? if yes, pls recommend me...
budget dont know, but recommend me some low-end PSU that suitable to my rig  nod.gif
Soon or later i will cause u some prob.. especially after u upgrade rig.
if u lucky the pc will reboot.. if worst then it might burn some hardware or PSU explode..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=10019428
yuka
post Jan 16 2007, 09:48 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 16 2007, 09:39 PM)
Soon or later i will cause u some prob.. especially after u upgrade rig.
if u lucky the pc will reboot.. if worst then it might burn some hardware or PSU explode..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=10019428
err... after i upgrade, i'll list my rig and let u recommend me PSU icon_rolleyes.gif
sniperwolf
post Jan 17 2007, 09:34 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 15 2007, 09:50 AM)
No doubt for tight budget, CM Extreme is a nice choice.. but after some forumers die or explode their CM Extreme PSU and one of them post me the pic, now i dont recommend CM Extreme alrdy. Moreover CM = ACbel, so i rather get an ACbel.
In term of Price/Performance i would rather go for SilvStone 400w than CM Extreme.
Do you ever think why a psu will blow up? Its because of the faulty psu or more on user's wrong doing like overdose on their psu? The extreme is suitable for those which on normal usage. with a good pricing where you can get below rm150. And if you think you can get miracle for less than rm150, you yourself is already a miracle then. I would always recommend things base on user usage instead, such as no point asking someone to get most high end pc if its only used for normal office work and some casual gaming.

Situation you mentioned is just like you saw a proton car being thrash like junk in an accident and would you ever get your butt into a proton car anymore?
TSyehlai
post Jan 17 2007, 07:34 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Since he dint set his budget yet, sure im gonna recommend him some better stuff instead of CM Extreme. Its different story with your fren's rig...
For low budget PSU i still think Silverstone Element 400w is a steal.
This PSU comes with A.PFC, Stable 12V rails, High eff. and nice cooling which CM Extreme cannot offer. nod.gif

CM Extreme 450W: RM 160
Silverstone 400W: Rm 199

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jan 17 2007, 07:42 PM
MyCJS01
post Jan 18 2007, 02:24 AM

56 posts

this system need how many watt PSU to support it ?

AMD althon x2 3800+ skt939
asus a8n32-sli deluxe
galaxy 7300GT DDR3 128mb
LG DVD-RW 16x
LG CD-RW 52x
maxtor 80gb sata harddisk
kingston KVR DDR400 256*2

budget is around RM200

*ask a question, i-cute 480watt dual fan blue LED << its pure watt is how many ? i cant search it from internet.. model also didn`t notice at its box.. just some japanese word there..

mashimarow
post Jan 18 2007, 07:41 AM

1,742 posts

Base on rough calculation, you need 380W to power them, unbranded PSU normally don't tell the exact watt produced, you need to check on the amp produced.
chickenducksoup
post Jan 18 2007, 08:13 PM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

hi can tell how 2 calculate the watt base on amp tat u state?

thank
TSyehlai
post Jan 18 2007, 08:39 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Jan 18 2007, 08:13 PM)
hi can tell how 2 calculate the watt base on amp tat u state?

thank
Here: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

ask a question, i-cute 480watt dual fan blue LED << its pure watt is how many ? i cant search it from internet.. model also didn`t notice at its box.. just some japanese word there..

If u heavent buy it yet , then void it..
If alrdy bought, then change PSU b4 tht iCute give u any problem.
Silverstone Element 400w. RM 200 is a good choice.

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jan 18 2007, 08:42 PM
ahdai
post Jan 19 2007, 10:03 PM

17 posts

just wanna get advice from u all, my old pc, pentium 4 2.4Ghz, ram 768MB ddr1, graphic card fx5200, any commend if i wanna buy a POWERLOGIC 450W (REAL) power supply, or ACBEL 350W (REAL)? i dun wan to spend too much on my old pc......or got other suggestion? thanx

sniper69
post Jan 19 2007, 10:38 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(ahdai @ Jan 19 2007, 10:03 PM)
just wanna get advice from u all, my old pc, pentium 4 2.4Ghz, ram 768MB ddr1, graphic card fx5200, any commend if i wanna buy a POWERLOGIC 450W (REAL) power supply, or ACBEL 350W (REAL)? i dun wan to spend too much on my old pc......or got other suggestion? thanx
Enermax FMA 350W should be good if youre going to buy 350Watter...or else, ACbel 450W is a good buy too...(although, i don't really recommend that...) but since there werent any other choice in getting good PSU to power up some old PC like yours...
ahdai
post Jan 19 2007, 11:01 PM

17 posts

so 350W is good enough?? how about powerlogic...the price seem quite cheap......
sniper69
post Jan 19 2007, 11:06 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(ahdai @ Jan 19 2007, 11:01 PM)
so 350W is good enough?? how about powerlogic...the price seem quite cheap......
FYI, i used to have PowerLogic Atrix 500T (500W), Dual-Rail...but failed on me on every part, randomly shut-down, continuous instability even though not into overclocking...till i switched to Enermax FMA 350W (i'm just testing whether is it due to my PSU or not -- so i just bought a cheap Enermax FMA series)...guess what...after 10 months using it, 24/7 Folding/BT-ing...still rock stable...not to mention, i'm on 60% overclocked system rig...(not that good, but considered a 350W PSU)... PowerLogic Atrix 500T @RM165, while Enermax FMA 350W @RM169...

This post has been edited by sniper69: Jan 19 2007, 11:07 PM
ahdai
post Jan 19 2007, 11:14 PM

17 posts

so if i wan to get a lower budget 1, better choose Acbel 350W rather than PowerLogic 450W? bcoz my budget is around 130 onli......
TSyehlai
post Jan 19 2007, 11:48 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 19 2007, 11:06 PM)
... while Enermax FMA 350W @RM169...
Yup.. agree. FMA 350w is good. If want 400w then can try Silverstone Element 400W. Only cost RM 200 at lyn bulk

QUOTE(ahdai @ Jan 19 2007, 11:14 PM)
so if i wan to get a lower budget 1, better choose Acbel 350W rather than PowerLogic 450W? bcoz my budget is around 130 onli......
FMA 350w is nice.
But if choose between Powerlogic and ACbel, then i think i will get ACbel.
CM iGreen is a ACbel too. Atleast ACbel make PSU for CM.

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jan 19 2007, 11:52 PM
afosz
post Jan 25 2007, 02:32 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Is Silverstone 400W good at LYN bulk?12V1 with 14A (Max) and 16A (Peak) is it a total of 30A or 12V1 14A 12V2 15A and total 29A?

Between this 4 Enermax Liberty 400W, Enermax FMA II 460W and Silverstone 400W, Fortron FSP SAGA 400W, which is worth your wallet?

This post has been edited by afosz: Jan 25 2007, 03:50 PM
hongchiang
post Jan 25 2007, 04:33 PM

44 posts

i am using a PSU with single +12V rail with 22A only. Then the total Watt is 460Watt.
For my rig in my signature is it enough to support that?
because sometime i having instability of my pc, restart, hang..
checking whether is PSU problem ..icon_question.gif

207 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:14 PM