44 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

TSdasecret
post Dec 11 2016, 10:39 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 10 2016, 09:03 PM)
UNITED ASIAN BOND FUND CLASS SGD - is this fixed income fund still performing ? It used to be my favourite fund in Sg FSM apart from First State Dividend Fund.

the recommended FSM portfolio suggested Legg Mason WAM GMS.
This is the fund feeding into FSM MY's RHB Asian Total Returns funds. look okok only. First State Div advantage also have not been great for the past 2 years. Somehow in FSM SG I cannot chase returns one, sure kantoi cry.gif
prince_mk
post Dec 12 2016, 09:37 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 11 2016, 10:39 PM)
This is the fund feeding into FSM MY's RHB Asian Total Returns funds. look okok only. First State Div advantage also have not been great for the past 2 years. Somehow in FSM SG I cannot chase returns one, sure kantoi  cry.gif
Me also. Now i only have 2 funds in SG FSM - First State Dividend Adv and United Sgd fund.

Ramjade
post Dec 12 2016, 10:01 AM

24,346 posts

Ever look at United Asian HY Bond Fund/First State Global Infrastructure/Not sure what European Technology fund (better than Henderson which is what TA is feeding into)?
prince_mk
post Dec 12 2016, 12:19 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 11 2016, 10:39 PM)
This is the fund feeding into FSM MY's RHB Asian Total Returns funds. look okok only. First State Div advantage also have not been great for the past 2 years. Somehow in FSM SG I cannot chase returns one, sure kantoi  cry.gif
Me also. Now i only have 2 funds in SG FSM - First State Dividend Adv and United Sgd fund.

deadravel
post Dec 13 2016, 04:38 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 8 2016, 12:06 PM)
Took a look at the new offerings and decided to give this a go

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!.../PORTFOLIO00005

At least no need to headache and look at the many many funds and offerings on FSM SG. My portfolio size in SG cannot justify the amount of time needed to manage it
u mean the MAPS thing?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!...fo/introduction

i just stumble upon this today as well. quite interesting and hassle free i would say.
but does the fee justifiable?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!...icing-structure
TSdasecret
post Dec 13 2016, 04:49 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Dec 13 2016, 04:38 PM)
u mean the MAPS thing?

i just stumble upon this today as well. quite interesting and hassle free i would say.
Yup, they have a few portfolio and I opted for the balanced one.

For me main reason i went for it is because the SGD I have is not that much, so it does not justify the amount of time needed for me to monitor and try to time the market etc. So would try this out instead.

On fees, it's just slightly higher than the platform fees they charge, especially if you go for aggressive portfolio, because platform fees already 0.4%; management fees for MAPS only 0.5%

But of course everyone has different point of view. I hold the lazy ppl view tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2016, 05:03 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Dec 13 2016, 04:38 PM)
u mean the MAPS thing?

No because I did a calculation with excel for every SGD1k/year you invest over 10 years period, FSM SG will make about SGD220 from you versus SGD75 from Philips POEMS.
prince_mk
post Dec 14 2016, 08:14 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 13 2016, 04:49 PM)
Yup, they have a few portfolio and I opted for the balanced one.

For me main reason i went for it is because the SGD I have is not that much, so it does not justify the amount of time needed for me to monitor and try to time the market etc. So would try this out instead.

On fees, it's just slightly higher than the platform fees they charge, especially if you go for aggressive portfolio, because platform fees already 0.4%; management fees for MAPS only 0.5%

But of course everyone has different point of view. I hold the lazy ppl view  tongue.gif
I got to wait till early Jan to collect the divvy for First State Dividend Adv. then will sell this fund and put in this new product. see how it goes from there. tongue.gif auto pilot portfolio.

boss, do you invest in Sg reits too ?

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Dec 14 2016, 08:17 PM
xuzen
post Dec 18 2016, 10:57 PM

4,436 posts

Friend Hansel,

I know that you have advocated moving one's cash to Singapore for whatever reasons. To each his own.

Good sir, my question to you is, can one still achieve the same result if one were to buy a UTF denominated in Malaysian ringgit but exposed to overseas stock market?

Or perhaps, one were to buy UTF offered by Malaysia unit trust provider that is denominated in foreign currency; example AM Asia Pacific ex Japan REITs fund - Class B denominated in United State Dollars or another example CIMB - Principle Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund denominated in Singapore Dollars?

Thank you for answering my query.

Xuzen

P/s To the uninitiated the above mentioned UTFs do exist and are not hypothetical UTFs.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 18 2016, 11:00 PM
Hansel
post Dec 19 2016, 07:41 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 18 2016, 10:57 PM)
Friend Hansel,

I know that you have advocated moving one's cash to Singapore for whatever reasons. To each his own.

Good sir, my question to you is, can one still achieve the same result if one were to buy a UTF denominated in Malaysian ringgit but exposed to overseas stock market?

Or perhaps, one were to buy UTF offered by Malaysia unit trust provider that is denominated in foreign currency; example AM Asia Pacific ex Japan REITs fund - Class B denominated in United State Dollars or another example CIMB - Principle Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund denominated in Singapore Dollars?

Xuzen

P/s To the uninitiated the above mentioned UTFs do exist and are not hypothetical UTFs.
Good morning bro Xuzen,...

Basically, for myself, some objectives of moving cash to SG is to park cash overseas so that my cash would not be under the jurisdiction of this Gov't anymore. Another objective would be to be able to invest into more instruments in an international financial centre,.. there are many other reasons, but these two came to my mind as I type this morning,... smile.gif my mind is watching the Aussie mkt and the ASX closely !!!

I don't really know much abt UTFs in Msia, I must say that first. But if I am to apply the principles of UTFs from SG, and other countries over to the Msian UTFs, then yeah, those UTFs you mentioned would be able to act as proxies to the international mkt. But you will need to pay them 'some charges' for them to act as proxies.

These charges are justified since they 'save' the investor from needing to do a lot of work going to open accts elsewhere, knowing how to use internet to transfer funds here and there, taxations rules, etc, etc,...

But your assets would still be under the jurisdiction of this Gov't. Look what happened to the exporters.
wodenus
post Dec 19 2016, 08:47 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 19 2016, 07:41 AM)
Good morning bro Xuzen,...

Basically, for myself, some objectives of moving cash to SG is to park cash overseas so that my cash would not be under the jurisdiction of this Gov't anymore. Another objective would be to be able to invest into more instruments in an international financial centre,.. there are many other reasons, but these two came to my mind as I type this morning,...  smile.gif  my mind is watching the Aussie mkt and the ASX closely !!!

I don't really know much abt UTFs in Msia, I must say that first. But if I am to apply the principles of UTFs from SG, and other countries over to the Msian UTFs, then yeah, those UTFs you mentioned would be able to act as proxies to the international mkt. But you will need to pay them 'some charges' for them to act as proxies.

These charges are justified since they 'save' the investor from needing to do a lot of work going to open accts elsewhere, knowing how to use internet to transfer funds here and there, taxations rules, etc, etc,...

But your assets would still be under the jurisdiction of this Gov't. Look what happened to the exporters.
What happened to the exporters? but yeah, diversification is good.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 19 2016, 08:47 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2016, 09:11 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 18 2016, 10:57 PM)
Friend Hansel,

Xuzen

For me the reason to go for Singapore funds are
i) You're only paying 0.75% SC compare to 2% SC if you use Philips POEMS. Heck you can even buy at 0% SC (FSMOne) but that will require ninja trick for Singapore platform (different from Malaysia ninja trick).
That 1.25% adds up overtime
ii) There are funds over in Singapore which outperform the Malaysian funds (REITS, Asia Pacific, US sectors, technology sectors) 3 years in a row
iii) Wider selection of funds (US REITS, AP REITS, global infrastructure, healthcare, Japan smallcaps, etc)
iv) Funds which depends on Fx differences are basically like holding on paper money. I prefer funds which can increase based on it's own strength + FX exchange.
v) Another one is say the price. Let's say MYR depreciate further by another 20% vs 5% by SGD, one can get the the fund at "cheaper price" by getting the Singapore fund as for Malaysian fund, one will have to pay the 20% increase in the price of the NAV versus only 5% increase in the NAV. (Not sure if I am clear or not).
vi) See what happen to Argentina/Venezuela. They impose people from bringing out their currency to protect their own currency.

These are just my personal opinion.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 19 2016, 08:47 AM)
What happened to the exporters? but yeah, diversification is good.
You didn't know? BNM force them to convert 75% of their earnings back to RM within 3 months. Imagine you are holding USD and MYR/USD will depreciate to USD1 = MYR5. Because BNM force you to convert, you had no choice but to convert at 4.5.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 19 2016, 09:50 AM
TSdasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 12:10 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 14 2016, 08:14 PM)
I got to wait till early Jan to collect the divvy for First State Dividend Adv. then will sell this fund and put in this new product. see how it goes from there. tongue.gif auto pilot portfolio.

boss, do you invest in Sg reits too ?
No wor, I don't have a CDP account and clueless with stocks. Which broker did you go with?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 09:11 AM)
For me the reason to go for Singapore funds are
i) You're only paying 0.75% SC compare to 2% SC if you use Philips POEMS. Heck you can even buy at 0% SC (FSMOne) but that will require ninja trick for Singapore platform (different from Malaysia ninja trick).
That 1.25% adds up overtime
ii) There are funds over in Singapore which outperform the Malaysian funds (REITS, Asia Pacific, US sectors, technology sectors) 3 years in a row
iii) Wider selection of funds (US REITS, AP REITS, global infrastructure, healthcare, Japan smallcaps, etc) 
iv) Funds which depends on Fx differences are basically like holding on paper money. I prefer funds which can increase based on it's own strength + FX exchange.
v) Another one is say the price. Let's say MYR depreciate further by another 20% vs 5% by SGD, one can get the the fund at "cheaper price" by getting the Singapore fund as for Malaysian fund, one will have to pay the 20% increase in the price of the NAV versus only 5% increase in the NAV. (Not sure if I am clear or not).
vi) See what happen to Argentina/Venezuela. They impose people from bringing out their currency to protect their own currency.

These are just my personal opinion.

Seriously, if cost is such a main consideration, you should not consider unit trust at all, all the funds slap you with 1.5% management fees and some other expenses although you don't see it like sales charge and platform fees
Avangelice
post Dec 19 2016, 12:27 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 19 2016, 12:10 PM)
No wor, I don't have a CDP account and clueless with stocks. Which broker did you go with?
Seriously, if cost is such a main consideration, you should not consider unit trust at all, all the funds slap you with 1.5% management fees and some other expenses although you don't see it like sales charge and platform fees
+1. agree. I too have reluctance to shift my assets offshore just because of management fees and such but if it's part of a bigger plan for me to move out of this country then this plan would work.

prince_mk
post Dec 19 2016, 01:23 PM

2,679 posts

Very true. Ramjade, you are too calculative on d sales charge part. Wan good interactive platform is surely come with some cost.

I opened trading acc with Std Ctd. Custodian acc. No need cdp.
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2016, 01:56 PM

24,346 posts

Sorry if you say cost is not important, why bother buying from FSM Malaysia? Better buy from agent and kena charge 5.5% right? Cutting down cost = more saving. 1.5% is in the NAV already. That one cannot save. But save where you can. i.e: Service charge. If I want to save, I will go for ETF (that's my long term plan), Right now, no account cannot do anything. Waiting for account to be approve.

Why bother paying 0.4%/pa (FSMOne) when Philips giving only 0.75% one time charge? What's 3% saving? I already calculated. For every SGD1k you park inside FSM/Philips per year for 10 years, FSM earns about SGD2200 while Philips only earned SGD750.

If you add another zero to 1k to make it SGD10k/year, FSM will earn SGD22000 and Philips only earn SGD7500 from you. SGD22000 might not be alot for you. But that's alot for me.

Further proof

By choosing Philips, one save 65.91% over 10 years which if annualized is 6.591% pa. FSM platform fees of SGD2200/SGD10k is 22% of your money. Almost 25%!!! blink.gif shocking.gif Compare that to SGD750/SGD10k. Only 7.5% (still acceptable)

Now tell me again cost is not important.

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 19 2016, 01:23 PM)
Very true. Ramjade, you are too calculative on d sales charge part. Wan good interactive platform is surely come with some cost.

I opened trading acc with Std Ctd. Custodian acc. No need cdp.
Cost is an important part. Never underestimate cost as it add up overtime. Eg is shown above. If people tell you cost not important either:
1) Person have too much money
2) Never do calculation enough

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 19 2016, 02:02 PM
Avangelice
post Dec 19 2016, 02:05 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 01:56 PM)
Sorry if you say cost is not important, why bother buying from FSM Malaysia? Better buy from agent and kena charge 5.5% right? Cutting down cost = more saving. 1.5% is in the NAV already. That one cannot save. But save where you can. i.e: Service charge. If I want to save, I will go for ETF (that's my long term plan), Right now, no account cannot do anything. Waiting for account to be approve.

Why bother paying 0.4%/pa (FSMOne) when Philips giving only 0.75% one time charge? What's 3% saving? I already calculated. For every SGD1k you park inside FSM/Philips per year for 10 years, FSM earns about SGD2200 while Philips only earned SGD750.

If you add another zero to 1k to make it SGD10k/year, FSM will earn SGD22000 and Philips only earn SGD7500 from you. SGD22000 might not be alot for you. But that's alot for me.

Further proof

By choosing Philips, one save 65.91% over 10 years which if annualized is 6.591% pa. FSM platform fees of SGD2200/SGD10k is 22% of your money. Almost 25%!!! blink.gif  shocking.gif Compare that to SGD750/SGD10k. Only 7.5% (still acceptable)

Cost is an important part. Never underestimate cost as it add up overtime. Eg is shown above. If people tell you cost not important either:
1) Person have too much money
2) Never do calculation enough
bro why not do stocks. their fees are alot cheaper and you know what to do and what to invest in
TSdasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 02:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 01:56 PM)

Further proof

By choosing Philips, one save 65.91% over 10 years which if annualized is 6.591% pa. FSM platform fees of SGD2200/SGD10k is 22% of your money. Almost 25% blink.gif  shocking.gif

Cost is an important part. Never underestimate cost as it add up overtime. Eg is shown above.
I'm not saying cost is not important to me; but there are many other things that is more important to me than costs

I buy from FSM Msia because their advisory is more superior than most agents I meet; and timely and ease of execution of transactions is more important to me than costs.

Anyway, the comment I posted is not for myself because I know exactly what I wanted. I would be paying even more than 0.4% to get it, but I'm ok with that.

I just wanted to remind you that I didn't think you are taking the most cost advantageous option available if cost is the most important consideration for you. 1.5% of the cost in 10 years is 15% to your total capital; and that's just management fee

You should just go straight to ETFs or direct equities la; cheaper ma; and for those, I'm quite sure FSM won't be the cheapest as well

p/s: Despite my tone, my posts are never meant to be sarcastic. It is backed by facts and tailored to your priorities
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2016, 02:18 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 19 2016, 02:05 PM)
bro why not do stocks. their fees are alot cheaper and you know what to do and what to invest in
Ask yourself, can you repeat fund manager's performance? Do you have the money to buy stocks to make sure the broker fees is lower than UT fees? For Malaysia market, one will need min RM8k to make it worth while (Dividend Magic blog). DO you have time to monitor?

For me I answer no to all 3.
Avangelice
post Dec 19 2016, 02:26 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 02:18 PM)
Ask yourself, can you repeat fund manager's performance? Do you have the money to buy stocks to make sure the broker fees is lower than UT fees? For Malaysia market, one will need min RM8k to make it worth while (Dividend Magic blog). DO you have time to monitor?

For me I answer no to all 3.
actually bro. I been testing out a stock portfolio. you don't have to do day trading and invest in big cap companies. also if you follow fund fact sheets you will roughly know where they invest in and likewise do the same. now I'm testing out DCA method on my portfolio. don't always do multiple sales and you do fine. same as UT

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Dec 19 2016, 02:26 PM

44 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:40 AM