Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 10:50 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 31 2015, 01:13 PM)
The high-yield bonds funds are yielding 7+% at current nav.
I have Allianz Us HY, Natixis IF Loomis Multisector Inc SGD H and United Asian HY Bond Dist Sgd.

Which fund is giving the yield of 7%?
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 10:52 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Oct 29 2015, 12:48 AM)
Short term bond fund where will lose money? I suggest you can look into UNITED SGD FUND CL A ACC which I think is less riskier & less volatile short term bond fund in the market. This fund always remind me characteristic of Ambond slow and steady type. If you are fancy about the return of RHB ASIAN TOTAL RETURN FUND might as well direct put ur money into their mother fund UNITED ASIAN BOND FUND CLASS SGD as I believe the high return of Asian total return is solely because of MYR depreciation in the past. smile.gif

On the side note, there were really huge variety of bond fund to pick from FSM SG. https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/bond/home/index.svdo
I put in United Asian HY Bond Dist SGD. My favourite fund.
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 11:02 AM

2,679 posts

Recommended funds by FSM SG :

Asian Ex Japan : First State Dividend Advantage

YTD : 5.5%
Return : 1 yr (10.26%), 2 yr (12.66%), 3 yr (12.05%)

As for me, i will change the SGD notes in Msia and pass to a friend to bank in Sg bank. Most of them come back every 2-3 month once. Can save TT charges too.
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 11:04 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Oct 28 2015, 01:41 AM)
oh.. so i reporting in first =D

And again, back to my question last night, which i think it was unanswered yet...

"Hmm... sound interesting. Any idea that we as Malaysian, can invest via FSM sg too?
Need to open an account there? Is it troublesome?
Which bank do you feel that it is user-friendly for online banking?  *in Sg i mean...
Kindly enlighten, thanks "
Can try OCBC
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 12:05 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 3 2015, 11:57 AM)
Or you can change with your friend who's a malaysian and work in Singapore. They need spending money when they go back hometown right? Save even the spread on money changer  cool2.gif
Yes you are right. But most of them dont wan. sad.gif even good friend. Unless you have siblings there.
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 12:07 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2015, 11:47 AM)
The one that you are holding, the Alianz US HY. The price as of Oct 30, 2015 is USD 8.49 per unit and the annual DPU = USD 0.06 per month per unit x 12 = USD0.72 per year.

USD 0.72 / USD 8.49 = 8.48% yield.

HOWEVER : High Yield Bonds are also known as Junk Bonds - that's what many people say. Risk of defaults ?
Yeah i know. But thar is just a small amt in portfolio.

No pain no gain.
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 12:07 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 3 2015, 11:47 AM)
The one that you are holding, the Alianz US HY. The price as of Oct 30, 2015 is USD 8.49 per unit and the annual DPU = USD 0.06 per month per unit x 12 = USD0.72 per year.

USD 0.72 / USD 8.49 = 8.48% yield.

HOWEVER : High Yield Bonds are also known as Junk Bonds - that's what many people say. Risk of defaults ?
What funds are you having nw?
prince_mk
post Nov 3 2015, 05:50 PM

2,679 posts

Some guides frm FSM Msia V12

Put it simply, dividend is just "left hand go right hand"; there is ZERO IMPACT to the investor's value of holdings.

- Fund XYZ has 100,000 units issued, initially issued at RM1.00
- Current NAV price is RM1.02
- XYZ declares a "10% dividend" of 10 sen a unit
- After the dividend, the NAV will go down to RM0.92

For sake of illustration, we assume that dividends are paid out in cash (not reinvested), and no tax on the distribution.

Ali says: "Eh XYZ very good, gave me 10% returns..."
Answer:
WRONG! The 10% is expressed by reference to the Initial Offer Price of RM1.00 (RM1.00 x 10% = 10 sen). It does not mean that the fund made a profit of 10% for investors. In this scenario, the fund actually only made a return of 2% (RM1.00 + 2% = RM1.02) during the period.

Simply said, just imagine you pass me RM100 to invest in a trolley cart. 1 year later the trolley cart become worth RM92, and I collected rental income of RM10 on your behalf. The value of your investment is now RM102. I then decide to return 10% i.e. RM10 to you. So now u have a RM92 trolley cart and RM10 in cash on hand. The "dividend" that I decided to give you has ZERO IMPACT on the net worth of your investment, which remain at RM102.

Here's another variation to the scenario above; your RM100 investment could actually have incurred a loss, and I could still decide to "reward" you with a 10% "dividend". Let's say a wheel on your trolley was damaged, now your trolley is only worth RM60. The value of your investment is now RM60 + RM10 (rental income received in cash) = RM70. But I could still proudly say that I'm declaring a 10% "dividend" to reward you brows.gif

Key Lesson Point
A unit trust fund can declare dividend even when it has actually made its investors@unitholders poorer. By regulation, a unti trust fund can only declare dividend out of its REALISED INCOMES (interest income, dividend income, net proceed from sale of investments, rental income etc). Gains from market price fluctuations are not realised, i.e. they're "paper gain/(loss)". So, you could be having
(a) Fund A got realised incomes from which to declare dividends, even though during the same period it has huge paper losses.
(b) Fund B made lots of paper gains from market price movements, but it cannot/decided not to declare dividend to unitholders because of insufficient realised incomes. Bear in mind, some funds actually have a "no dividend" policy, and they are great performers. wink.gif
prince_mk
post Nov 4 2015, 09:20 AM

2,679 posts

What is Offer to Bid Returns (%) & Bid to Bid Returns (%)?
This is on the subject of investment returns of Unit Trusts.

Best Answer
The easiest way to translate this is bid to bid (BB) means before charges (such as broker fees) and offer to bid (OB) means after charges. So a return on a Unit trust that is calculated OB is the return after all of the charges have been taken into account.
prince_mk
post Nov 4 2015, 09:22 AM

2,679 posts

My Equity funds holding as at Nov 2015 :

1. Nikko AM Japan Div
2. First State Dividend Advantage
3. Pinebridge India Equity
4. Unitrd Globalhealthcare fund
prince_mk
post Nov 4 2015, 05:43 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 4 2015, 03:46 PM)
Same thing, focus on bid-to-bid returns. But hor, past returns are not indicative of future performance
Shortlist funds that you are happy with; then within those funds, if you prefer those that payout dividends for cash flow purposes, choose those lor. Just bear in mind if you don't reinvest the dividends, your capital would not really grow, or might shrink if the dividend payout is greater than IRR

Or, if you like a fund that does not do distribution, you can DIY dividends by selling some units on a periodic basis to simulate the dividend payout
What others equity funds that u think is performing besides First State Dividend Advantage (Asia Pac Ex Jap)?

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 5 2015, 07:26 AM
prince_mk
post Nov 4 2015, 05:44 PM

2,679 posts

Same thing, focus on bid-to-bid returns. But hor, past returns are not indicative of future performance
Shortlist funds that you are happy with; then within those funds, if you prefer those that payout dividends for cash flow purposes, choose those lor. Just bear in mind if you don't reinvest the dividends, your capital would not really grow, or might shrink if the dividend payout is greater than IRR

Or, if you like a fund that does not do distribution, you can DIY dividends by selling some units on a periodic basis to simulate the dividend payout
What others equity funds that u think is performing besides First State Dividend Advantage (Asia Pac Ex Jap)?
prince_mk
post Nov 4 2015, 05:56 PM

2,679 posts

prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 07:24 AM

2,679 posts

Btw our Ponzi2 is available in FSM SG smile.gif anyone buy this fund hehehehehe
prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 07:49 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 4 2015, 05:49 PM)
I wanted to ask you this question but you beat me to it

I also have First State Asian Growth fund, but both funds are from the same sector, so up and down together one
The US and europe funds all sky high dy so I don't dare to masuk la...limited bullets
I was advised by CIS that choose one of them coz they are having same mandate.

What i understand frm FSM Msia thread, sky high price means u get lesser units. when choosing a unit, u should see its performance instead of its price smile.gif correct me if wrong.
prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 11:21 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 5 2015, 08:08 AM)
101% correct
Boss Pinky

I learnt frm you. Tks for useful posting in FSM Msia thread. But i m still picking up. Keep up the efforts.
prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 12:32 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Nov 5 2015, 08:39 AM)
If you are going to a regional tactical fund.
Europe market and Japan market with QE is worth a look.

Europe may can have a look at Allianz Europe equity
Japan may can look at Eastspring Japan dynamic

If higher risk taker, Indonesia and India pure equity fund is suitable for long term, try to choose those accumulate and without dividend payment for tactical equity.

But ofcourse, first state DIVA are all the way the best selling fund especially for CPF OA investment. Constant divident, 1% of NAV every quarter with proven upside possibility is the best selling point.

If you are higher risk taker and looking at a sector fund
Healthcare sector may a good area to consider
Eg: United health care fund.
Yeah..the United Healthcare fund is top performing fund. Just went in thia fund last week.
prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 12:34 PM

2,679 posts

How about Small Cap funds in FSM Sg ?

A FSM article recommending :

1. Threadneedle Lux Pan Euro SM Cap Opp Ash
2. BNY Melon Japan Equity SM Cap

Thinking to have this as sup portfolio.
prince_mk
post Nov 11 2015, 12:02 PM

2,679 posts

Just topup First State Dividend Advantage and Allianz US HY today coz it was red.
prince_mk
post Nov 11 2015, 12:07 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Nov 6 2015, 07:03 PM)
Yes, buy from FSM to enjoy low sales charge and transfer to a bank such as UOB OCBC or DBS to avoid platform fees.

Bank do not have any platform fees, so is suitable for long term holding core fund.

Most of the banker will tell you cannot be done because it is a troublesome "sai kang" and do not earn them any revenue point, so find the right person is the crucial part.

In bank prospective view, they are more than happy to take in more unit from FSM because it count to their portfolio AUM.
Isnt the platform fee charged on quarterly basis? Even then fund is making loss also transfer back to bank ? Confused.

0.0507sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:15 AM