44 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

Hansel
post Dec 19 2016, 03:00 PM

9,353 posts

For myself, in SG, since I do stocks and REITs directly, I don't buy their UTFs which invest into the mkt. I don't need that portfolio.

On the other hand, since I do NOT invest into high-yield bonds directly because there will be a lot of risks onto a single issuer, I buy UTFs which invest into high-yield bonds to spread out the risks and to leverage on the expertise of the investment mgrs.

This is my strategy,...
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2016, 03:02 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 19 2016, 02:26 PM)
actually bro. I been testing out a stock portfolio. you don't have to do day trading and invest in big cap companies. also if you follow fund fact sheets you will roughly know where they invest in and likewise do the same. now I'm testing out DCA method on my portfolio. don't always do multiple sales and you do fine. same as UT
I agree. Doing the stocks way is doable but need upfrant large amount which I don't have.
prince_mk
post Dec 19 2016, 10:12 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 03:02 PM)
I agree. Doing the stocks way is doable but need upfrant large amount which I don't have.
Num of min for Sg stocks is 100 units. U can give a try.
wodenus
post Dec 19 2016, 11:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 19 2016, 01:56 PM)
Sorry if you say cost is not important, why bother buying from FSM Malaysia? Better buy from agent and kena charge 5.5% right? Cutting down cost = more saving. 1.5% is in the NAV already. That one cannot save. But save where you can. i.e: Service charge. If I want to save, I will go for ETF (that's my long term plan), Right now, no account cannot do anything. Waiting for account to be approve.

Why bother paying 0.4%/pa (FSMOne) when Philips giving only 0.75% one time charge? What's 3% saving? I already calculated. For every SGD1k you park inside FSM/Philips per year for 10 years, FSM earns about SGD2200 while Philips only earned SGD750.

If you add another zero to 1k to make it SGD10k/year, FSM will earn SGD22000 and Philips only earn SGD7500 from you. SGD22000 might not be alot for you. But that's alot for me.

Further proof

By choosing Philips, one save 65.91% over 10 years which if annualized is 6.591% pa. FSM platform fees of SGD2200/SGD10k is 22% of your money. Almost 25%!!! blink.gif  shocking.gif Compare that to SGD750/SGD10k. Only 7.5% (still acceptable)

Now tell me again cost is not important.
Cost is an important part. Never underestimate cost as it add up overtime. Eg is shown above. If people tell you cost not important either:
1) Person have too much money
2) Never do calculation enough
True.. but then you need to get documents signed by notary public, then you need to courier it to them.. those are costs too. Unlike FSM one, they just need it to be scanned and emailed.
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 08:37 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 19 2016, 10:12 PM)
Num of min for Sg stocks is 100 units. U can give a try.
100 unit yes. But your broker charge? If you buy SGD1k worth, with SCB SGD10, it's already 1%. To make it 0.1%, one would need at least SGD10k.
Not to mention other broker which charge SGD25.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 19 2016, 11:05 PM)
True.. but then you need to get documents signed by notary public, then you need to courier it to them.. those are costs too. Unlike FSM one, they just need it to be scanned and emailed.
Not if you are a walk in customer. Besides it's only one time payment. And it will be cheaper if done via Govt instead of private.. How much are these cost compare to FSM charges over time? whistling.gif
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 08:43 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 08:37 AM)
Not if you are a walk in customer. Besides it's only one time payment. And it will be cheaper if done via Govt instead of private.. How much are these cost compare to FSM charges over time?  whistling.gif
Don't you need to have a Singapore address for them to waive that requirement?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 20 2016, 08:44 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 08:45 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 20 2016, 08:43 AM)
Don't you need to have a Singapore address for them to waive that requirement?
Nope no need. They told me walk in customer is alright even if you are a Malaysian.
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 08:49 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 08:45 AM)
Nope no need. They told me walk in customer is alright even if you are a Malaysian.
Okay, the website says you have to have a Singapore address though. So you have to factor in the cost of accomodation in Singapore as well. Three days in Singapore is easily 300+ bux.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 20 2016, 08:54 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 08:56 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 20 2016, 08:49 AM)
Okay, the website says you have to have a Singapore address though. So you have to factor in the cost of accomodation in Singapore as well. Three days in Singapore is easily 300+ bux.
Nope. Just take a night train to Singapore, Reach in the morning. Take another night train back to Malaysia. No accommodation cost. For food, I can survive 1 day on bread. I already planned out in case my application from Malaysia tak jadi.

Alternatively, you can get DllarDex to mail the forms to you and you mail them back.
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 09:17 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 08:56 AM)
Nope. Just take a night train to Singapore, Reach in the morning. Take another night train back to Malaysia. No accommodation cost. For food, I can survive 1 day on bread. I already planned out in case my application from Malaysia tak jadi.

Alternatively, you can get DllarDex to mail the forms to you and you mail them back.
Dollardex is 1%.. considering TT charges, might be more than 2% depending on amount.
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 09:28 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 20 2016, 09:17 AM)
Dollardex is 1%.. considering TT charges, might be more than 2% depending on amount.
Still cheaper than FSMOne in the long run.
wodenus
post Dec 20 2016, 09:56 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 09:28 AM)
Still cheaper than FSMOne in the long run.
Agreed but more expensive than any local provider.
prince_mk
post Dec 20 2016, 12:53 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 08:56 AM)

Serious eat bread only when you are overseas student and HNWI ASX.

Go and try their local foods. Nasi lemak or fishball noodles are nice ard sgd3.50

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Dec 20 2016, 12:56 PM
TSdasecret
post Jan 4 2017, 05:18 PM

1,498 posts

Thought I'd update here on MAPS. So I placed the minimum order of SGD5k last month. To my surprise, they actually place it into 20 funds where allocation vary from SGD100 (2%) to SGD (10%). Macam a bit over

Anyway, just let them do it lor. Current value SGD5,024.31
vincent7474
post Jan 4 2017, 11:28 PM

109 posts

Is it worth to TT to SGD now? MYR is so low now...
Hansel
post Jan 4 2017, 11:38 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(vincent7474 @ Jan 4 2017, 11:28 PM)
Is it worth to TT to SGD now? MYR is so low now...
The outlook for the RM is it will become weaker down the road !
Ramjade
post Jan 13 2017, 12:42 AM

24,346 posts

AIYH where did you find the option to filter risk return ratio?
AIYH
post Jan 13 2017, 12:47 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 13 2017, 12:42 AM)
AIYH where did you find the option to filter risk return ratio?
Fund selector option, once you search, on the performance data, see the risk return ratio column, can sort

Ramjade
post Jan 13 2017, 12:47 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 13 2017, 12:47 AM)
Fund selector option, once you search, on the performance data, see the risk return ratio column, can sort
Oh that. sweat.gif Thanks.
Ramjade
post Jan 17 2017, 06:19 PM

24,346 posts

AIYH, what's your option between

CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund Class SGD
First State Dividend Advantage
First State Asia Opportunities Class A ACC

I can't find 5 years info for Ponzi 2 - SGD so I use Ponzi 2 -MYR.

Orange = First State Global Umbrella PLC - Asian Equity Plus Fund = First State Dividend Advantage
Red = First State Global Umbrella PLC - First State Asia Opportunities Fund = First State Asia Opportunities Fund
Blue = CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund Class MYR

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 17 2017, 06:20 PM

44 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:43 AM