Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

V-Zero
post Oct 25 2016, 02:39 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

Just noticed there's a FSM SG thread. :swt:
Lai kasi share2 how's everyone doing.

My semi-passive investment portfolio: (currently kiasi mode 50:50 EQ:FI ratio tongue.gif )
- First State Dividend Advantage (Asia Big Cap)
- HGIF Asia Ex-Jap Eq Sm Cos SGD AD (Asia Small Cap)
- Fidelity Global Technology A EUR (Global technology)
- United Asian Bond Fund Class SGD (Mid-high yield investment grade bond)
- United SGD Fund Cl A Acc SGD (Safe bond)

Recently dropped:
- Fidelity America A USD (Started to invest in US ETF directly)
- Allianz Eur Equity Gth Cl AT Acc EUR (not looking good in the near future for me, and their work culture.. Probably not that good for business profit. innocent.gif )
yck1987
post Oct 25 2016, 06:31 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 25 2016, 02:32 PM)
Hello

Any new funds you bought or topup lately?

Me topping up United SGD Fund only.
I just sold my entire on Fidelity China Focus Fund, total profit around $1.8k+ and I hold for 3 years long.
Sell partly on United SGD fund too, I'm preparing my warchest and will move to stock selection. flex.gif

Thanks God my another fund First State Dividend Advantage still doing great. innocent.gif
prince_mk
post Oct 25 2016, 07:14 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Oct 25 2016, 06:31 PM)
I just sold my entire on Fidelity China Focus Fund, total profit around $1.8k+ and I hold for 3 years long.
Sell partly on United SGD fund too, I'm preparing my warchest and will move to stock selection.  flex.gif

Thanks God my another fund First State Dividend Advantage still doing great.   innocent.gif
I made little loss of First State Dividend Adv despite of dividend received. Should I keep this ? do you still dca on this fund?

Would u consider HY bond funds like Allianz Income and growth etc. And HY bond funds you are holding at present?

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Oct 25 2016, 08:35 PM
yck1987
post Oct 26 2016, 12:32 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 25 2016, 07:14 PM)
I made little loss of First State Dividend Adv despite of dividend received. Should I keep this ? do you still dca on this fund?

Would u consider HY bond funds like Allianz Income and growth etc. And HY bond funds you are holding at present?
No bond fund other than united SGD Fund I hold. And yes I still doing DCA using cpf-Oa every month.
heavensea
post Oct 26 2016, 04:07 AM

9,616 posts

Is it any advantage for Malaysian to buy sg REITs via sg fundsupermarket? Or there's no different than I use Malaysia fundsupermarket?
Hansel
post Oct 26 2016, 07:19 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 26 2016, 04:07 AM)
Is it any advantage for Malaysian to buy sg REITs via sg fundsupermarket? Or there's no different than I use Malaysia fundsupermarket?
Yes,.. there are quite a number of funds listed in FSM SG that are not available in FSM MY. But, with FSM MY available today, I'm not sure if FSM SG will allow Msians to open accts or not,....
heavensea
post Oct 26 2016, 07:28 AM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 26 2016, 07:19 AM)
Yes,.. there are quite a number of funds listed in FSM SG that are not available in FSM MY. But, with FSM MY available today, I'm not sure if FSM SG will allow Msians to open accts or not,....
Thanks sir.
Avangelice
post Oct 26 2016, 09:23 AM

5,272 posts

unless they change the prerequisite of opening an account I do not think they would shoot themselves by limiting their clientele.

that said all you need is a Singaporean bank account and you are good to go. I'm now thinking if I can get my mom to refer me to ocbc Singapore wonder if I can take advantage of investing in Singapore
Hansel
post Oct 26 2016, 01:03 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 09:23 AM)
unless they change the prerequisite of opening an account I do not think they would shoot themselves by limiting their clientele.

that said all you need is a Singaporean bank account and you are good to go. I'm now thinking if I can get my mom to refer me to ocbc Singapore wonder if I can take advantage of  investing in Singapore
That's the part that is getting harder now,... opening a Savings Acct in Sgp without the proper papers. But Standard Chartered Sgp is still accepting opening of Savings Accts by Msians. Minimum average daily balance must be SGD1000.

Good luck,....
Avangelice
post Oct 26 2016, 01:56 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 26 2016, 01:03 PM)
That's the part that is getting harder now,... opening a Savings Acct in Sgp without the proper papers. But Standard Chartered Sgp is still accepting opening of Savings Accts by Msians. Minimum average daily balance must be SGD1000.

Good luck,....
My mom is a premium customer with OCBC. I am sure it would be easy for me. That said, I dont know if I should start investing via Singapore or wait a little. Seems that I am getting reports Singapore may be entering an economic depression.
TSdasecret
post Oct 26 2016, 02:55 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 01:56 PM)
My mom is a premium customer with OCBC. I am sure it would be easy for me. That said, I dont know if I should start investing via Singapore or wait a little. Seems that I am getting reports Singapore may be entering an economic depression.
Actually most of the FSM SG funds are regional or global funds. Not many local equity funds. FSM SG give a wide array of sector and exotic funds. That's the advantage of FSM SG over FSM MY

Avangelice
post Oct 26 2016, 04:01 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 26 2016, 02:55 PM)
Actually most of the FSM SG funds are regional or global funds. Not many local equity funds. FSM SG give a wide array of sector and exotic funds. That's the advantage of FSM SG over FSM MY
I don't know this has been asked but why fsm malaysia has so little funds options?
Ramjade
post Oct 26 2016, 04:16 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 04:01 PM)
I don't know this has been asked but why fsm malaysia has so little funds options?
That's Singapore. When you are best buddies with US, you get the best of the world. Latest tech, wide selection of investment.
TSdasecret
post Oct 26 2016, 04:17 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 04:01 PM)
Our asset management industry is not exactly doing well due to the bad reputation that people lose money, UTC just keep selling 'high risk high returns' funds

Oh, and my pet peeve - Got ASx funds and Tabung Haji and voluntary contribution to EPF where the capital is 'not at risk of going below cost', retail investors would not be motivated to go into investments that can lose money lor

So now do you see why I have an issue with these 'capital guaranteed' investments? It hinders our development as a nation in so many ways
Ramjade
post Oct 26 2016, 05:02 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 26 2016, 04:17 PM)
Our asset management industry is not exactly doing well due to the bad reputation that people lose money, UTC just keep selling 'high risk high returns' funds

Oh, and my pet peeve - Got ASx funds and Tabung Haji and voluntary contribution to EPF where the capital is 'not at risk of going below cost', retail investors would not be motivated to go into investments that can lose money lor

So now do you see why I have an issue with these 'capital guaranteed' investments? It hinders our development as a nation in so many ways
Not to start another war. I don't agree with your statement. Why? Malaysia don't have such stuff but it is up to the individual so seek out those stuff for him/herself. What you want everything to be spoonfeed to you?
Hansel
post Oct 26 2016, 05:51 PM

9,348 posts

Those ASX, etc funds are actually short cuts towards investing, giving out 6.xx%, which is, in a way,... good for investors who are under-informed and under-knowledged. But with the weakening MYR, and things getting more and more expensive, the returns from these ASX-like funds are not good anymore. IF,... we are earning SGD with these ASX funds, then I'm all for it !!!

Yes, I would agree with this statement, no doubt : It hinders our development as a nation in so many ways.

But a gov't which wants to stay in control is always doing this, right ? Hindering the people's development so that they don't know abt the word outside, and need to depend on the current gov't always,.. that's how a gov't stays in control,..

As Ramjade said, we should look after our lives lar,...who asked us not to venture ??
TSdasecret
post Oct 26 2016, 06:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 26 2016, 05:02 PM)
Not to start another war. I don't agree with your statement.  Why? Malaysia don't have such stuff but it is up to the individual so seek out those stuff for him/herself. What you want everything to be spoonfeed to you?
Look at my statement again. We are coming from completely different perspective; me at the policy making and macro view while you are looking at personal level

Sure, at personal level you are right. But most people don't venture out of the comfort zone of 'capital guaranteed' higher than FD returns in their entire life. To be fair, you also didn't until last month.

Basically the market works with free market forces, so products would only be offered if there's a demand. So if your capital market is dominated by all these institution investors who take all the retail investor money to invest, how to have a vibrant capital market?
prince_mk
post Oct 27 2016, 09:44 AM

2,679 posts

Boss

Do u hav FSM Sg?
Hansel
post Oct 27 2016, 12:20 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 27 2016, 09:44 AM)
Boss

Do u hav FSM Sg?
Yes, I do,.. I opened FSM SG acct a longtime ago,... I think 15 years ago ?? Near to that,... Back then, there was one asset class that I saw opportunities in, in spite of the world's view of this asset class,... My thoughts were always that interest rates had to drop in the world, it just can't sustain at such high levels,... But back then, interest rates were still sky-high in the world,... eg,..for those old-timer Aussies, they would remember that they could always survive on their FD interest rate at, say 7.5%,... when they had proportionate savings in their bank accts..

Not anymore today, bro,... they have to find dividend stocks today.

For myself,...events proved me right today,....To capitalise on my view, I had to open an account at FSM SG. For back then,...in our region, only FSM SG had such funds for me to participate in,...

Subsequently, like they say,.. the rest is history.
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2016, 04:29 PM

24,334 posts

For those with FSM SG, can look into dollardex.com to save cost.

44 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:58 PM