128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone 6s/6s+ Discussion Thread | V2, Get yours from Apple Online Store now!

DonDropUrSoap
post Oct 10 2015, 06:44 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(handsetcikai @ Oct 10 2015, 06:42 AM)
but if you register for auto debit, there are no upfront payment. so when u terminate before end of 24 months, u need to refund the pro-rated subsidy.
what is pro-rated subsidy means?
handsetcikai
post Oct 10 2015, 06:49 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Oct 10 2015, 06:44 AM)
what is  pro-rated subsidy means?
this apply to postpaid plan. If you subscribe to i60 where you are given a subsidy of RM381.60 and you terminate in Month 7, you are required to refund RM381.60/24 months x 18 months = RM 286.20. (Price Inclusive GST).

This post has been edited by handsetcikai: Oct 10 2015, 06:49 AM
benny888
post Oct 10 2015, 06:53 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Anandtech review of the TSMC n Samsung chip. Read their conclusion summary. Is non conclusive. Basically I feel is just an overblown issue.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9708/analyzi...-and-samsung-a9

THE CONCLUSION
Wrapping things up then, where do we stand? The short answer is that all we know is that we don't know. What we know is that there isn't enough information currently out there to accurately determine whether the TSMC or Samsung A9 SoC has better power consumption, and more importantly just how large any difference might be. 1-on-1 comparisons under controlled conditions can provide us with some insight in to how the TSMC and Samsung A9s compare, but due to the natural variation in chip quality, it's possible to end up testing two atypical phones and never know it.

To that end I suspect that Apple's statement is not all that far off. They are of course one of the few parties able to actually analyze a large number of phones, and perhaps more to the point, having a wide variation in battery life on phones - even if every phone meets the minimum specifications - is not a great thing for Apple. It can cause buyers to start hunting down phones with "golden" A9s, and make other buyers feel like they've been swindled by not receiving an A9 with as low the power consumption as someone else. To be clear there will always be some variance and this is normal and expected, but if Apple has done their homework they should have it well understood and reasonably narrow. The big risk to Apple is that dual sourcing A9s in this fashion makes that task all the harder, which is one of the reasons why SoCs are rarely dual sourced.

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 10 2015, 06:57 AM
666devil
post Oct 10 2015, 07:00 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 10 2015, 06:53 AM)
Anandtech review of the TSMC n Samsung chip. Read their conclusion summary. Is non conclusive.  Basically I feel is just an overblown issue.

THE CONCLUSION
Wrapping things up then, where do we stand? The short answer is that all we know is that we don't know. What we know is that there isn't enough information currently out there to accurately determine whether the TSMC or Samsung A9 SoC has better power consumption, and more importantly just how large any difference might be. 1-on-1 comparisons under controlled conditions can provide us with some insight in to how the TSMC and Samsung A9s compare, but due to the natural variation in chip quality, it's possible to end up testing two atypical phones and never know it.

To that end I suspect that Apple's statement is not all that far off. They are of course one of the few parties able to actually analyze a large number of phones, and perhaps more to the point, having a wide variation in battery life on phones - even if every phone meets the minimum specifications - is not a great thing for Apple. It can cause buyers to start hunting down phones with "golden" A9s, and make other buyers feel like they've been swindled by not receiving an A9 with as low the power consumption as someone else. To be clear there will always be some variance and this is normal and expected, but if Apple has done their homework they should have it well understood and reasonably narrow. The big risk to Apple is that dual sourcing A9s in this fashion makes that task all the harder, which is one of the reasons why SoCs are rarely dual sourced.
Still back to the same thing. Double sourcing a bad thing. Make consumer concerned for price point they are already paying. Everyone wants to have the best of chips as already paying 4K for a phone.
The discomfort perfectionist nagging feeling will always be there, especially with Apple fans who always want to get the best and latest. Every time they feel like their battery did not last long( always have that concern after iOS updates), they will question izzit bcoz of their Samsung chip causing that.
I guess it will be good for Apple, as those in doubt will get ip7 next year to try their luck on better chip.
Hopefully no more double sourcing in ip7.

This post has been edited by 666devil: Oct 10 2015, 07:25 AM
DonDropUrSoap
post Oct 10 2015, 07:59 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(handsetcikai @ Oct 10 2015, 06:49 AM)
this apply to postpaid plan. If you subscribe to i60 where you are given a subsidy of RM381.60 and you terminate in Month 7, you are required to refund RM381.60/24 months x 18 months = RM 286.20. (Price Inclusive GST).
so... pay back those $$$ and get the phone is still cheap lor ?
and if include its phone trade in, even more cheaper lor?

correct o not?
sicklad77
post Oct 10 2015, 08:07 AM

532 posts

Hmmm reading the chip issues here worries me.. Why la every time iPhone launched mesti Ada this gate and that gate..

Since the issue is on everybody's mind, u guys have any app recommendation to check ur ip6s which chip its using?
Can we compile a list and pinned it in the 1st post?
andrekua2
post Oct 10 2015, 08:40 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Oct 10 2015, 07:00 AM)
Still back to the same thing. Double sourcing a bad thing. Make consumer concerned for price point they are already paying. Everyone wants to have the best of chips as already paying 4K for a phone.
The discomfort perfectionist nagging feeling will always be there, especially with Apple fans who always want to get the best and latest. Every time they feel like their battery did not last long( always have that concern after iOS updates), they will question izzit bcoz of their Samsung chip causing that.
I guess it will be good for Apple, as those in doubt will get ip7 next year to try their luck on better chip.
Hopefully no more double sourcing in ip7.
Why do people really bother with some rumors from iFags site? Some of them are really anti-Samsung.

Hatred goes deeper than you knew...
TOMEI-R
post Oct 10 2015, 09:13 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 10 2015, 08:40 AM)
Why do people really bother with some rumors from iFags site? Some of them are really anti-Samsung.

Hatred goes deeper than you knew...
Ifags will always be ifags. laugh.gif Comes in all types and forms.. I rather be thinking how soon I can get the phone than which chipset I would be getting. Procrastinators will always be procrastinators. Some will say the Iphone 6 + has bendgate issue, so I would rather wait for the 6s +. Now the 6s+ is here, they are worried about not getting the right chip. laugh.gif
My point is why worry so much about petty issues? Its just a phone anyway. Just enjoy your new phone and thats it. I think most of the issues are blown out of proportion. Just look at the 6+ bendgate issue, When l first got the phone from Singapore, people were amazed as they never seen a big iphone but wanted to troll saying it could bend. I just answered them back you dont purposely bend a rm3k++ phone and if you did, you would be an idiot to do so. Its one year old now and I can still sell my 6+ 64 gb for rm2900++. And its not bent either after I year usage. So i dont see what the issue is.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 10 2015, 09:15 AM
fadzly
post Oct 10 2015, 09:32 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 9 2015, 06:31 PM)
Dah preorder ipon 6s/6s+ ker belom?  brows.gif
xla.. this year tak beli. too expensive. this year maxis punya website very sleek.. not like last year.

TOMEI-R
post Oct 10 2015, 09:38 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Oct 10 2015, 09:32 AM)
xla.. this year tak beli. too expensive. this year maxis punya website very sleek.. not like last year.
Probably there was lesser due to lower demand. Engko pun tak beli. laugh.gif
focaccia
post Oct 10 2015, 09:55 AM

42 posts

Guys, im really not sure whether to get the 6s+ or not..
what's the difference besides the screen size?? Battery life and screen resolution??
lazybump_nonsense
post Oct 10 2015, 10:27 AM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 9 2015, 05:13 PM)
erm.. it written there, as long as you sign package > SmartPlan 98, it will auto rebate 200 on your 1st month billing.

from Digi Website:

Pre-order Special: Get an additional RM200 rebated in your first month's bill when you sign up with Digi SmartPlan 98 and above. Offer ends on 16 October, 11.59pm.
oh yeah saw it...thanks
attw
post Oct 10 2015, 10:46 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(focaccia @ Oct 10 2015, 09:55 AM)
Guys, im really not sure whether to get the 6s+ or not..
what's the difference besides the screen size?? Battery life and screen resolution??
12MP primary camera over 8MP camera
5MP facetime camera over 1.2MP
2GB RAM over 1GB
A9 chip over A8 chip
Force Touch (or Apple calls it 3D Touch)

Screen size and resolution is the same

attw
post Oct 10 2015, 10:47 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 10 2015, 09:13 AM)
Ifags will always be ifags. laugh.gif  Comes in all types and forms.. I rather be thinking how soon I can get the phone than which chipset I would be getting. Procrastinators will always be procrastinators. Some will say the Iphone 6 + has bendgate issue, so I would rather wait for the 6s +. Now the 6s+  is here, they are worried about not getting the right chip. laugh.gif
My point is why worry so much about petty issues? Its just a phone anyway. Just enjoy your new phone and thats it. I think most of the issues are blown out of proportion. Just look at the 6+ bendgate issue, When l first got the phone from Singapore, people were amazed as they never seen a big iphone but wanted to troll saying it could bend. I just answered them back you dont purposely bend a rm3k++ phone and if you did, you would be an idiot to do so. Its one year old now and I can still sell my 6+ 64 gb for rm2900++. And its not bent either after I year usage. So i dont see what the issue is.
I've thrown my hat in the ring as well. Will upgrade to 6S Plus if I can sell my phone for a reasonable price biggrin.gif
harmeet15
post Oct 10 2015, 10:53 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 10 2015, 06:53 AM)
Anandtech review of the TSMC n Samsung chip. Read their conclusion summary. Is non conclusive.  Basically I feel is just an overblown issue.

THE CONCLUSION

This issue is really blown out of proportion by bloggers and other reporting sites.
Those people just needed a new -gate issue and could only come up with this.
Both companies are reputable chipmakers. Which chip you have in your phone should not determine how much you can enjoy your phone right?
People should forget all about this and just focus on getting their phones. Not guessing which chip is gonna end up in their phone.
giggs_509
post Oct 10 2015, 11:04 AM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Oct 10 2015, 10:53 AM)
This issue is really blown out of proportion by bloggers and other reporting sites.
Those people just needed a new -gate issue and could only come up with this.
Both companies are reputable chipmakers. Which chip you have in your phone should not determine how much you can enjoy your phone right?
People should forget all about this and just focus on getting their phones. Not guessing which chip is gonna end up in their phone.
Any heating issues on your phone bro?
kevink82
post Oct 10 2015, 11:48 AM

1,134 posts

My samsung is fine not really any overheating but i have to say the screen scratch so easily just like the 6........ put in pouch also scratched.....
fadzly
post Oct 10 2015, 12:01 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 10 2015, 09:38 AM)
Probably there was lesser due to lower demand. Engko pun tak beli. laugh.gif
too expensive bro.. tapi i check.. all sold out for gold rose 64gb - digi and maxis.
harmeet15
post Oct 10 2015, 12:05 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Oct 10 2015, 11:04 AM)
Any heating issues on your phone bro?
Was playing a game for an hour or so, not even a little overheated.
Battery also lasting me 1.5 days.
I don't see what they are complaining about.
sigheart
post Oct 10 2015, 12:13 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Oct 10 2015, 09:32 AM)
Lol not quite actually.

I waited for the preorder and accessed their website at 12 sharp.

There was bugs on the queuing system and website hangs that clearly frustrated a lot of people.

Some had page resets at checkout that took them straight back to the back of the queue.

Best part is even with the comparatively smaller number of people accessing the server it still failed.

And they even stopped operations of their entire website to cater to this preorder alone yet the server still failed to handle.

If they do the same for the iPhone 7 next year without upgrading their shitty servers, expect the same frustrations, only worse.

128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:14 AM