Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

wil-i-am
post Oct 21 2015, 09:19 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 08:12 PM)
No. Is not the crappy stuff where you need to deposit xx% into CASA. CASA here is for them to credit interest into. I think it just cost rm20 to open a normal basic account? Of course why opt for basic savings when you can use Truesavers to earn an additional 2.8% on the interest of the FD? tongue.gif
Better choose AmBank FD 12 mths @ 4.20% pa plus extra 0.05% if above 50 yo, rite?
TSAh SiAnG
post Oct 21 2015, 09:28 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 21 2015, 08:13 AM)
HSBC Advance has come back with their 3months 5% FD, 1st placement only.

[attachmentid=5154725]

https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/hsbcadvance/pre...ement-promotion
Can I opt not to have their debit card and cheque book?

Since I plan to uplift the FD and close the Advance account after the FD due in 3 months time.
Ramjade
post Oct 21 2015, 09:29 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 21 2015, 09:19 PM)
Better choose AmBank FD 12 mths @ 4.20% pa plus extra 0.05% if above 50 yo, rite?
If above 50, I think i will pick ambank 4.55% tongue.gif you will never get such good deal again. Dump for 5 years. No need to worry about FD promo every year. Mbsb have been offering 4.7% for few years. Despite opr didn't go up, none can beat it yet. So that's why I say the 5 years one is really worth it
sandkoh
post Oct 21 2015, 09:33 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 21 2015, 09:19 PM)
no extra 0.05% for >50 yo. tongue.gif
cklimm
post Oct 21 2015, 09:46 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Oct 21 2015, 09:28 PM)
Can I opt not to have their debit card and cheque book?

Since I plan to uplift the FD and close the Advance account after the FD due in 3 months time.
i did not take their debit card, i think you can choose not to have their cheque book as well.
TSAh SiAnG
post Oct 21 2015, 09:55 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 21 2015, 09:46 PM)
i did not take their debit card, i think you can choose not to have their cheque book as well.
I see. Just to confirm, currently I have a HSBC basic savings account, I am still entitled to participate in this promotion right? Since currently I am not a HSBC advance account holder.

This post has been edited by Ah SiAnG: Oct 21 2015, 09:56 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 21 2015, 10:01 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Oct 21 2015, 09:55 PM)
I see. Just to confirm, currently I have a HSBC basic savings account, I am still entitled to participate in this promotion right? Since currently I am not a HSBC advance account holder.
I don't think so. As I am sure HSBC want new customers. No harm asking.
TSAh SiAnG
post Oct 21 2015, 10:06 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 10:01 PM)
I don't think so. As I am sure HSBC want new customers. No harm asking.
But it did mentioned that the promotion is opened to new HSBC Advance customers.

And if it is only opened to new customers, isn't it redundant to define fresh funds as "monies from sources other than any existing account with HSBC and must not exceed 7 working days in any of the eligible customer's account with HSBC"? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ah SiAnG: Oct 21 2015, 10:08 PM
zenwell
post Oct 22 2015, 02:49 AM

1,749 posts

anyone applied for CIMB eFD,min 10k,4%, 3months? is it one account can only do one placement? have any tried to place 2 eFD? eg: 2 x RM10k?
value_investor
post Oct 22 2015, 05:55 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 22 2015, 02:49 AM)
anyone applied for CIMB eFD,min 10k,4%, 3months? is it one account can only do one placement? have any tried to place 2 eFD? eg: 2 x RM10k?
I have 6 separate >RM100k CIMB eFD getting 3.7% (monthly), one of it not even eFD just branch FD but auto renewed to promotional rate ... but somehow the 7th eFD is just normal rate (3.15%). Maybe there is an upper cap?

cklimm
post Oct 22 2015, 08:26 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Oct 21 2015, 09:55 PM)
just give it a try lah
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 08:36 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Oct 22 2015, 05:55 AM)
I have 6 separate >RM100k CIMB eFD getting 3.7% (monthly), one of it not even eFD just branch FD but auto renewed to promotional rate ... but somehow the 7th eFD is just normal rate (3.15%). Maybe there is an upper cap?
Spot on
HNWI notworthy.gif
kochin
post Oct 22 2015, 08:41 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
how did you manage that?
3.7% monthly?
your RM did it for you?
earlofclarendon
post Oct 22 2015, 10:50 AM

195 posts

spoke to of the AmBank branch manager,

2year 4.6% has a target of RM1.5 bio.. so high
zero721
post Oct 22 2015, 10:54 AM

705 posts

3.7% monthly? Or annual?
BoomChaCha
post Oct 22 2015, 10:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Oct 22 2015, 10:50 AM)
spoke to of the AmBank branch manager,

2year 4.6% has a target of RM1.5 bio.. so high
I hope this Am Bank 2 years 4.6% can extend 1 more month until the end of Dec hmm.gif
pearl_white
post Oct 22 2015, 11:12 AM

232 posts

APR 4.7058% for AmBank looks great. 2 years is risky, given FED/BOE will raise 50basis and 100basis points respectively by end-2016.

Alpha of 50 basis points.
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 12:14 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:54 AM)
3.7% monthly? Or annual?
Shld b annual
Clement1001
post Oct 22 2015, 12:51 PM

914 posts

Noob question, may I know how does OPR effect FD rate ,for example if they increase/decrease 50 basis points how much will it adjust on Ambank 4.55%/annum.
Ramjade
post Oct 22 2015, 01:02 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Oct 22 2015, 12:51 PM)
Noob question, may I know how does OPR effect FD rate ,for example if they increase/decrease 50 basis points how much will it adjust on Ambank 4.55%/annum.
Once you place, any change in opr will not affect your deposit. Only your future deposit will be affected.

125 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:55 PM