Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:06 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Nov 5 2015, 05:03 PM)
Does this OCBC has maximum amount as well? My current OCBC 4.2% only allows max RM30k which sucks.
the previous ocbc 13mth 4.2% p.a. has max RM10mil per account wor. hmm.gif

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...ingsDeal_en.pdf
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:18 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Nov 5 2015, 05:09 PM)
Mine was placed March this year, 12 months.
if March 2015, it could be OCBC Hugo Boss pen/Fresh Deal campaign. that one got RM5mil per account max limit.
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:19 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Nov 5 2015, 05:10 PM)
I got no account at OCBC. Mean i need to withdraw using banker cheque then go to OCBC for the FD?
yes.

and most likely need to create a savings account for interest crediting purposes.
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:47 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Nov 5 2015, 05:45 PM)
Goat gorgor, will follow your lead and go for 4.5% MBB 12 months tomorrow. Will opt out of CIMB 3months because 6 Feb 2016 is weekend and then followed by CNY holidays . I know they will 'cheat' me of 1 day interest, I boh song  tongue.gif .
just curious, why not OCBC's 12mth 4.5% pa?
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:52 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Nov 5 2015, 05:48 PM)
strange, right. it's stated rm5mil max per account.

as general guideline, put in mind that it will be rm5mil max per account lor.... well, unless ur target fund reaching 5mil biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2015, 05:56 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Nov 5 2015, 05:50 PM)
my place tarak OCBC . I wish to place OCBC too because MBB T&C worries me a little

6. The campaign rates are subject to any Overnight Policy Rate (“OPR”) change during the Campaign
Period.

I read the capital not guaranteed also .  hmm.gif
Still think MBB 12mth 4.5% or 2 months (effective rates 3.8%), if 2 mths , expiring in Jan 2016, maybe got good CNY promo hor tongue.gif
my rationale for putting in mbb were:

1) it was a good rate for 12mth tenure .... before all these new FD promos coming out la laugh.gif
2) i kinda prefer the monthly interest crediting. not much, but still a bonus.
3) it's from Maybank, there is some assurance of the bank. If MBB kaput in 12mth, am sure other banks would suffer worse.
4) i was lazy chasing promo, I was transfering from OCBC to MBB.
5) i dont want to keep so many CASA or FD. not like my fund are 6-7 digits big biggrin.gif

and finally, i dont like UOB or Ambank and Ambank TrueSavers. that banks are nowhere near me. wont bother with their rates, no matter how attractive it is.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 5 2015, 05:57 PM
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2015, 08:29 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Nov 5 2015, 10:25 PM)
My flexi housing loan got 4.5%. Now ocbc also providing 4.5% for 12 months,  which one I should put my fund?
4.5% rate based on remaining principal, right? furthermore, every month you repay the loan, reducing principal.

do u have equal or more fund than HL principal to park in FD? if not, the interest charged by HL will eventually higher than the interest gained from FD.

just my simplistic view la biggrin.gif imo, i'd split two funds: one for HL and other for FD (emergency standby).
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2015, 10:13 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:11 AM)
bro, you need to learn to analyse and read posts carefully. not just simple reply and get your post count up. you have been doing that. laugh.gif

does not make sense to fly to a foreign country just to place deposit (singapore excluded). political/economy stability, flight/time cost to be considered. foreign workers can transfer funds and place fd there. currency fluctuation not big concern as they can still use the currency there (family/relative). there is also a reason why their fd is high interest, economic uncertainty!
he's purely think about $ and sen, not other elements.

another batch of useless discussions.
cybpsych
post Nov 9 2015, 09:39 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 5 2015, 08:12 AM)
OK, checked MBB online. The "profit" is in, shown as "Credit FD Int". I calculated the amt given, it is 4%, as declared for first 6 mths.  rclxms.gif Calculated for 31 days for/over Oct month.  nod.gif

Maybe others can check theirs later.  biggrin.gif

Now looks like can put in more eggs there !  rclxm9.gif
my "profit" in as well. but description shown is different: "GIA DIVIDEND EARNED -0001 xxxxxxxxxxxx"

full 4% p.a. for 31 days (Oct-Nov).
cybpsych
post Nov 10 2015, 10:36 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 10 2015, 10:30 AM)
Why not maybank 4.5% pa?
most ppl not comfortable with maybank's GIA-i 4.5% p.a. without guaranteed return of capital & profit, and as well as no PIDM coverage.
cybpsych
post Nov 10 2015, 10:52 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 10 2015, 10:49 AM)
On Sunday in the Star newspaper, MBB came out with a good explanation on their GIA-i. One of the option is add on of the monthly interest into the capital. At the time of placement I did not know they have this option. So mine is probably same as yours monthly interest into SA. biggrin.gif
i guess this is [Ancient]-XinG- 's concern earlier whereby his/her profit is added into capital.
cybpsych
post Nov 11 2015, 05:07 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(starry @ Nov 11 2015, 01:32 PM)
Public Bank new FD rate effective today.
1 year 4.30%

[attachmentid=5273121]
- Click here for Terms & Conditions (for customers who participate from 11 November 2015 onwards) (PDF format, 49kb)
- Click here for Terms & Conditions (for customers who participated prior to 11 November 2015) (PDF format, 49kb)

cybpsych
post Nov 12 2015, 11:55 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 12 2015, 11:40 AM)
Can I check my OCBC fd via online banking? Instead of relying on a fd cert
sure, u can check ur ocbc fd online smile.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 12 2015, 11:56 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Chili_90 @ Nov 12 2015, 11:30 AM)
means put 100k fd and in the end will get 4.5k?
yep, about 4.5k interest after 1 year of placement with ocbc 4.5% p.a.
cybpsych
post Nov 12 2015, 03:39 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Chili_90 @ Nov 12 2015, 02:57 PM)
anyone tried maybank 4.5% fd before?  hmm.gif
no issue for me smile.gif already gotten 1st month's profit liao.
cybpsych
post Nov 12 2015, 04:21 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 12 2015, 04:20 PM)
Hopefully no need for PIDM in these 12 months =)
if disaster happen, my peanut fund is less impact than others' 6-7 figure funds blush.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 12 2015, 04:56 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2015, 04:23 PM)
Nothing will happen as maybank is putting it's name on the chopping block should something happen to the fund.
Nothing will happen. If something were to happen, maybank tak ada nama and no more confidence. laugh.gif
i'm not worried about maybank.

if worried too much, better keep cash under pillow.
cybpsych
post Nov 13 2015, 09:15 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 13 2015, 09:03 AM)
If I put in some peanuts, even though my peanut is much less than other's 6-7 figure, it's worth more to me =)

But yah, Maybank is not that risky I guess. I'd take OCBC though. Anyone know whether can apply purely using online (and no need go to bank) assuming I already have a savings account there?
OCBC's 4.5% promo came out ~1mth after MBB's biggrin.gif

furthermore, my peanut fund was from OCBC, so it's easier to transfer fund to MBB tongue.gif MBB's GIA-i was the best rate back in October sweat.gif

i have existing FD with OCBC (maturing next week), but i will be using it to reduce my OCBC homeloan principal. no more peanuts to play musical chair blush.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 13 2015, 11:47 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 13 2015, 11:39 AM)
Any idea if I have online banking in OCBC will it be linked to my fd account so that I can check on my fd via online banking?
already replied u yesterday.
cybpsych
post Nov 13 2015, 11:48 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Nov 13 2015, 11:36 AM)
there are 2 kinds of FD in the market. Do you guys know what is the difference? coz sometimes the bank offers highest rate but it might not be that good due to interest calculation is different.
what are the 2 kinds?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0426sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:53 PM