Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

cybpsych
post Oct 10 2015, 12:20 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 10 2015, 12:15 PM)
Can I know what is your interest payment mode?
i replied this yesterday smile.gif

the cert will show the instructions. principal to renew, interest/profit credit to casa (monthly)
cybpsych
post Oct 10 2015, 12:30 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 10 2015, 12:24 PM)
why the interest is "capitalised monthly"

meaning the stuff did the normal convention type??

omg.

then whats your profit rate?

is it " NIL " ??
errr dont know about "capitalised monthly". no idea.

profit rate stated on the cert is NIL. but you can see the rate in M2U App Quick Balance (M2U desktop doesnt show much)

that's why i wanna monitor the rate and dividend monthly sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 10 2015, 12:36 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 10 2015, 12:32 PM)
m2u do not show any rate at all.
dont know about you. i can see in M2U App Quick Balance. normal m2u desktop or m2u app (normal login) doesnt show the rate.
cybpsych
post Oct 12 2015, 05:34 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 9 2015, 01:24 PM)
Ambank: I AmBanking on Great Rates - Fixed returns for long-term tenure
T&Cs (EN) | T&Cs (BM)

QUOTE(pobox @ Oct 12 2015, 04:41 PM)
Any good FD deal for senior citizen?
cybpsych
post Oct 12 2015, 07:53 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2015, 07:40 PM)
Banker's cheque from OCBC FD upliftment is still free after GST implementation?
I requested BC from ocbc casa (put into MBB GIA-i). got charged RM2.80 (deducted from casa)
cybpsych
post Oct 14 2015, 12:00 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Oct 14 2015, 11:22 AM)
mbb 4.5% no pidm, no capital guarantee, no scare meh meh  brows.gif  tongue.gif
can u pls stop trolling with all these useless posts?

this is not /k/
cybpsych
post Oct 15 2015, 09:51 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 09:06 AM)
For what? Ambank 4.55 and mbsb 4.7 is way higher than affin 3.7%. Why would one want to do that? Are you nuts to give the bank free money? shocking.gif
The thing here is
Mbsb 4.7% 6 monthly interest is deposited into a 2.8% SA
Ambank 4.55% monthly interest is deposited into a 2.8% SA.

We would like to see whether the monthly compounding interest by ambank 4.55% can beat the 6 monthly interest of MBSB or not at the end of 5 years. Assuming that interest credited into Truesavers will not be removed for 5 years. Who will win? laugh.gif
that's the reason why aeiou228 didnt bother to calculate the interest re-investment.

One could either use it, deposit to CASA or reinvest back to FD.

if you put fd for 5 years, and expect to get interest in monthly/half-yearly, why would he/she want to put the interest into TrueSavers and lock it down for 5 years?

If this happens, he/she would just take the interest out and put FD/eFD instead ... or just is it for normal day-2-day use.

different ppl, different requirements.

since aeiou228 already started the ball rolling, and you're interested on your calculation, why dont you start calculating for us to refer?

cybpsych
post Oct 15 2015, 04:23 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 02:31 PM)
Not really. If more people give free lunch, for what the bank want to give you? Better the bank keep for themselves. They will give you just enough.

Now if no one's giving the bank free lunch, banks become hungry. So they give us better rates so we place with them. Remember, no money how to operate? So no money no talk.

Say a bank's target is rm100k. If they already achieved rm100k, for what they want to be generous and give you better rates? Better the bank keep the excess and give to its shareholders.

Now, if bank haven't reach rm100k yet cause no one want to give them money, by giving better rates, more people will give them money.
this type of argument is moot and time wasting.
cybpsych
post Oct 16 2015, 12:05 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 16 2015, 11:40 AM)
Is there any bank that upon closing of FD exactly on maturity date claims that final interest will not be paid unless uplift on maturity date + 1 day. I think this bank is trying to spin some story here.

If no, then I am about to reveal an underhanded practise of a bank that does that exactly to theit FD customer.
the one thing that you didnt mention is which bank you're referring?

else, how would others with same fd/bank can comment? smile.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 19 2015, 08:37 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Oct 19 2015, 06:27 PM)
maybank gia-i is not fd and should be discussed elsewhere
let's ask cherroy what he think about this.

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 19 2015, 08:27 PM)
i count it an Islamic FD, without Pidm, similiar to what offered by Bank Rakyat, MBSB, BSN
concur. if we are to takeout all these Islamic FD/TD/iFD, better remove BR/MBSB/BSN altogether? laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2015, 09:11 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

bbgoat, 'bout MBB GIA, when do they credit the monthly interest?

1 month after placement? or follow calendar month @ 1st ?
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2015, 03:16 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 20 2015, 03:00 PM)
I just called to Raja Chulan branch:

This 4.6% for 2 years FD promo is available until 30th of November, not previously
stated as available until end of October.

2 Interest Payment methods:
(1) Above 50 years old can get monthly interest
(2) Less 50 years old can get half yearly interest

Min deposit is RM 10K

This FD promo is HOT...

earlofclarendon is No. 1  notworthy.gif    Ha ha..  thumbup.gif
beaten last year's Affin 2yr @ 4.38% p.a. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2015, 04:39 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Oct 20 2015, 04:25 PM)
Need to decide between 12 mths 4.5% and 24 mths 4.6%....  doh.gif
if put 10k to each FD, only difference is avg RM0.78 interest per month (mbb RM37.60/mo vs ambank RM38.39/mo)

as usual, this crude comparison excludes where the interest is credited. I just calculate from the origin of the fund.

for me, mbb's is acceptable since i'm not looking for tenure longer than 12 mths. if got bullet, still can put some minimal amount for ambank geh smile.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2015, 07:12 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 20 2015, 07:06 PM)
What lah, you are so eager. Did not ask that question. Put mine on the 5th. My guess is on the 5th or the date you put in the GIA-i.  biggrin.gif
just curious how the monthly interest works mah tongue.gif

I'll monitor mine on 1month after placement.
cybpsych
post Oct 21 2015, 06:58 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 1 2015, 06:27 AM)

Earn effective returns* of 4.5%p.a
Maybank | Campaign Fact Sheet | Terms & Conditions | Product Disclosure Sheet

With minimum placement of RM10,000 for Individual and RM 25,000 for SME/BB in a single receipt, earn effective returns* of 4.50%p.a for 12 months placement. What's more? Get your dividends paid monthly with Maybank Islamic Mudarabah General Investment Account-i.

Campaign Rates* are as follows:

*All rates are indicative

Should there be an Overnight Policy Rate change, the offered rates may be revised. Not covered by PIDM and the capital is not guaranteed.

Campaign Period:
Now till 30th November 2015 or upon reaching the overall limit, whichever is earlier.

How to sign up for this campaign?
Please visit any Maybank or Maybank Islamic branches for more details and if you are an existing Premier Wealth Centre customer, please contact your Relationship Managers.
QUOTE(yahiko @ Oct 20 2015, 10:49 PM)
hi interested to kknow more on this..
is this under General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) Campaign? Min fresh fund 10k? can open online?
read here thumbup.gif read all the supporting T&Cs
cybpsych
post Oct 21 2015, 03:56 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Oct 21 2015, 03:45 PM)
I thought I saw 4% offered by CIMB but now I can't find it anymore.

Anyone got any idea?
apa susah? hmm.gif

http://www.cimbclicks.com.my/eFD.html
cybpsych
post Oct 23 2015, 08:44 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2015, 08:36 AM)
This I can accept. thumbup.gif

sandkoh, why would you want to give banks free money? Banks leech from people (licensed ah long) So one should leech from them. By not leeching form them,  one is not forcing banks to give better rates. The more people leech from them, other bank have to offer better rates so we won't lose customer.
very funny on how you view it as "giving bank free money". this is not how banking works la.

so you place X amount for 4.2% p.a. interest rate. ok fine, for the sake of argument, give you 5% p.a. kawkaw. you're literally giving bank free money for ALL your X fund there, they invest it somewhere else getting more return than 5% p.a.

you are not getting 100% of the profit the bank made from your X fund.

same goes to credit card. gives you 10% cashback. so what, you've already spent 1K just to get back RM100. still got to pay bank RM900.
cybpsych
post Oct 23 2015, 09:01 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2015, 08:50 AM)
You are putting at 3.7% for one year. Other banks are able to give like 4.2% for one year. What's stopping the bank from paying you the extra 0.5? Nothing. Hence one is giving the banks free lunch worth 0.5%. If you tell me that is not free lunch worth 0.5%, I don't know what to think.
this is a CHOICE that ppl make, doesnt mean they want to give bank free money for choosing lower rate.

there are many other deciding factors that affect the CHOICE. there are few, e.g locations, banks reputation, pidm, customer service (short term and long term), personal financial economics, cashflow management (e.g. 5yr vs 2yr vs 3 months)

my parents happily chose PBB's 4.175% p.a. cuz they trust PBB, they are old-timers using PBB service (fast, convenient for senior citizen, staffs can converse chinese easily, etc etc).

i recently told them got Ambank 2yr @ 4.6% p.a. they said it's ok, no bullets to play around. just wait for maturity and then decide new placement. no need to "kecoh satu kampung" just because got higher promo rate around.

for myself, i cannot access Ambank branches easily. too far, inconvenient. better not waste my time and money. how about time wasted? take leaves from work? find parking? hopefully not get saman if park illegally?

if i do so blindly, i'm already wasting money even before stepping my foot into Ambank.

yes, getting more interest is nice for 2yrs (ambank). what if i urgently need the extra money next year?

again, this is a CHOICE that ppl make.
cybpsych
post Oct 23 2015, 09:35 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2015, 09:33 AM)
Yes. Is people choice.  Let's say we are going to put 1 Year with bank A. Why go for board rates with bank A when bank A can give you promo rates? That's what I meant.  If is out of the way,  not worth.  But if within distance of bank B and bank B able to give better rate for same term, one should choose bank B over bank A.
aiyor, it's the same as you choosing maybank efd 1mth @ 3.25% p.a. vs 3mth @ 3.30% p.a. lor.

why not go for mbsb 18mth @ 4.5% p.a. ?

why giving bank free money for choosing 1mth tenure? might as well go for 3mth or better still 5yr?

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 23 2015, 09:37 AM
cybpsych
post Oct 23 2015, 10:12 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Oct 23 2015, 10:05 AM)
5-years ... what if halfway interest hike to 6% per annum? The bank is not stupid, they lock you in for 5-years knowing the risk of interest fluctuation!
the argument was why give bank free money with lower interest rate whereas you can get higher rate at other banks lor laugh.gif

so, might as well we all go for 5yrs, right?

that's why, these type of argument is moot and pointless.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:33 PM