8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Colon cancer, stage 3, To chemo, or not to chemo?

philipskardon
post Oct 4 2015, 02:21 AM

83 posts

U probably have not checked with the oncologist yet. Have a chat and find out how many sessions suggested. That will give you a time frame on how long long the perceived "suffering" is. Every individual reacts differently.

Once you hear the oncology out.. Then comes the hard decisions. Honestly... What other options do u have?

Regardless of your options, Diet changes as suggested by others gives you a piece of mind and hope.. But don't totally go vegan. Great if you can do it but no scientific proof. Supplements, anything that might induce hormonal changes should be avoided. Obviously you will never know specifically which may do so...

Most important.. Stay positive, clean environment and try to be happy
Ramjade
post Oct 4 2015, 05:08 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 4 2015, 02:21 AM)
U probably have not checked with the oncologist yet. Have a chat and find out how many sessions suggested. That will give you a time frame on how long long the perceived "suffering" is. Every individual reacts differently.

Once you hear the oncology out.. Then comes the hard decisions. Honestly... What other options do u have?

Regardless of your options, Diet changes as suggested by others gives you a piece of mind and hope.. But don't totally go vegan. Great if you can do it but no scientific proof. Supplements, anything that might induce hormonal changes should be avoided. Obviously you will never know specifically which may do so... 

Most important.. Stay positive, clean environment and try to be happy
There is. Look at it this way. Ketogenic diet helps. How? Cancer cells are mutated cells which make them able to survive on very basic metabolism aka glucose aka carbs. But our body can adept to various ways of metabolism. Using ketone bodies for one. But then again, most Malaysians won't give up their rice, bread, biscuits. The body does not need glucose to survive as it can adept! Once one starts ketogenic diet, there's no turning back. One should drop all fast food, (mcd, KFC, dominos, pizza, Maggie, etc)

Cancer is complex so must be our tools.. One is ketogenic diet to starve the cancer cells but not your own cells. Another one is too kill them. That's where broccoli, turmeric, garlic, capsicum, carrots (high amount until one turns orange), white tea comes in (white tea contains higher egcg than green tea). metformin. The third one would be to increase the immune system to eradicate the cancer cells (increase the NK cells of the body)

So if you feed the body with nothing but potent cancer killing stuff, want or not, the starving cancer cells (ketogenic diet) will take those things in. Cancer develop over time and not overnight. So the healing won't be instant. It will take a while. Need to be patient.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 4 2015, 05:26 AM
SUSTham
post Oct 4 2015, 10:05 AM

1,576 posts

-

This post has been edited by Tham: Oct 5 2015, 12:37 AM
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 4 2015, 03:37 PM

627 posts

Thanks everyone for the advice
Just posted two days ago
Never though it'll get so many views 😱
I'll try to reply to everyone ASAP

Thank god today is break day 😂
And thank you for the advice !
Please give me sometime to reply OTL......

icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 03:38 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Oct 4 2015, 10:05 AM)
In other words, its a vegan diet.....
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 4 2015, 03:39 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(will4848 @ Oct 2 2015, 04:07 PM)
u just need to be strong....hope your mom get well soon.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you 😆
I hope so too icon_rolleyes.gif
Mesti mao powderful dalam masa ni 😂
icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 03:41 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2015, 05:08 AM)
There is. Look at it this way. Ketogenic diet helps. How? Cancer cells are mutated cells which make them able to survive on very basic metabolism aka glucose aka carbs. But our body can adept to various ways of metabolism. Using ketone bodies for one. But then again, most Malaysians won't give up their rice, bread, biscuits. The body does not need glucose to survive as it can adept! Once one starts ketogenic diet, there's no turning back. One should drop all fast food, (mcd, KFC, dominos, pizza, Maggie, etc)

Cancer is complex so must be our tools.. One is ketogenic diet to starve the cancer cells but not your own cells. Another one is too kill them. That's where broccoli, turmeric, garlic, capsicum, carrots (high amount until one turns orange), white tea comes in (white tea contains higher egcg than green tea). metformin. The third one would be to increase the immune system to eradicate the cancer cells (increase the NK cells of the body)

So if you feed the body with nothing but potent cancer killing stuff, want or not, the starving cancer cells (ketogenic diet) will take those things in. Cancer develop over time and not overnight. So the healing won't be instant. It will take a while. Need to be patient.
Holy fark, you have the balls to promote keto diet to make a cancer patient even worse off.....cancer cells feed on animal proteins and your ketogenic diet is nothing more than increasing dosage of that....

And then you advocate the use of veggies to promote killing the cells, which is true but no relation to your keto diet.
icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 03:49 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 4 2015, 03:39 PM)
Thank you 😆
I hope so too icon_rolleyes.gif
Mesti mao powderful dalam masa ni 😂
Forget chemo, its only harming the whole body cells not targeting the cancer cells itself.

Its unfortunate that the doctors have to resort to chopping of the large intestine, and the doctor is so unprofessional in that it is a rush job without bringing awareness to the risk involves as well as the side effects.

Nevertheless, its important to remember that doctors most commonly treat the symptoms not the root cause of the disease.

I would suggest that your mom adopt a plant based food starting now and see where you go from there. No animal products including eggs and dairies. Sounds militant but we are talking about your mom's life here.

If you ask why doctors dont practice this, well they only have maximum 3 hours of nutrition study so they know shit about nutrition in curing disease.

Anyway, if you still unsure I strongly urge you to watch this video to know more about it:

http://nutritionfacts.org/video/solving-a-...cancer-mystery/

I only trust doctors who adopt plant based nutrition because the rests are aiming at selling you medications that you dont even need.

icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 03:59 PM

874 posts

TS,

Please also watch the annual summary of this guy's work in my thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3724601&hl=

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 4 2015, 03:59 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Oct 2 2015, 04:29 PM)
3 years back my wife was diagnosed with nose cancer (NPC). While its not the same as colon cancer, she had to do radio therapy and chemo (cisplatin) for 7 weeks.

She lost a lot of weight and was generally very week after 2 weeks of chemo. as I was her primary care giver, i had to make sure the house is always clean and avoid allowing too many people into her room to visit. She's got to be in a clean environment throughout the time of her treatment. Also note that her taste change as the chemo medication is platinum based so everything might start tasting metallish or fishy.

The hardest hit will be her emotional wellbeing. Make sure you and your family are there for her emotionally if you decide to do chemo.

A lot of people were suggesting alternative medication. I made my decision based on her recovery chance. As the onco for that. My wife's chances of recovery were high so we went for chemo.

Also make sure you do research yourself on care giving methods. Also do some research on the type of medication being administered. The hospital should also have support groups that will be useful as they can provide encouragement for your mom.
Ya, i underatand what you mean
Not only the physical that matter
But the emotional as well

The first week of her surgeries
She none stop scolding and having a bad mood(as bad as girls during menstruation 😂)
But we tried to tahan it
And try to take care of her wellbeing

At first we don't allow anyone to visit her
As it might be tiring her
But we allow people visit her later on
As it lighten her mood
Still scolding but at least there's someone to "pei" her
Someone to talk and entertain her
Instead of her dwelling in negative thoughts(whom she very good at)

Your wife and my mom same same 😂

The most difficult part was not the medication(as of now)
But her emotional wellbeing

And i read that your emotions has a part in your immune system
If too negative, you immune system might work worse(sorry, hard to explain this but i hope you get the point)

But for now we're deciding whether to allow her for chemotherapy
We worried it's too much for her body

But thanks for your experience of your wife's chemotherapy
May i know what chemotherapy method did the doctor used on your wife?
And how's your wife if i may ask
Ignore if you want as it's a personal question sweat.gif

Thanks for the advice and in depths experience! o7o☆
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 4 2015, 04:02 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(kent_lau7 @ Oct 2 2015, 09:11 PM)
I believe in natural therapy. The western method is not healing, it is just prolonging life to another few months while asking patient to suffer and pay huge amount for prolong few months life.
For healing to take place, the human body has the ability to heal itself.

Watch out what one eat. It is what you eat and what emotion you accept that cause disease - (dis -ease)

That is what I believe.
Yes, we're being precautions on her eating
Though she sometime steal a snack
But luckily she stopped stealing some,
Maybe she begin to have bit of hope?
Idk, I'm still worried about her mental state as she tends to overthing and thinking about the worst case

I'll try to google more on natural therapy !

Ramjade
post Oct 4 2015, 04:04 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 03:41 PM)
Holy fark, you have the balls to promote keto diet to make a cancer patient even worse off.....cancer cells feed on animal proteins and your ketogenic diet is nothing more than increasing dosage of that....

And then you advocate the use of veggies to promote killing the cells, which is true but no relation to your keto diet.
Go read metabolism of cancer. There's a guy who found out about metabolism of cancer and he won Nobel price for it. But unfortunately his studies are being pushed aside. Ketogenic diet is not giving about more animal protein. Main point about ketogenic diet is replacing your carbs with something else. It is forcing your body to utilise something other than glucose. Please get your facts right. The carbs here is replaced with oil. Cancer cells cannot use protein, oil as energy source. You can find it on medscape.

icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 04:09 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2015, 04:04 PM)
Go read metabolism of cancer. There's a guy who found out about metabolism of cancer and he won Nobel price for it. But unfortunately his studies are being pushed aside. Ketogenic diet is not giving about more animal protein. Main point about ketogenic diet is replacing your carbs with something else. It is forcing your body to utilise something other than glucose. Please get your facts right. The carbs here is replaced with oil. Cancer cells cannot use protein, oil as energy source. You can find it on medscape.
Explain this:

icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 04:14 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 4 2015, 04:02 PM)
Yes, we're being precautions on her eating
Though she sometime steal a snack
But luckily she stopped stealing some,
Maybe she begin to have bit of hope?
Idk, I'm still worried about her mental state as she tends to overthing and thinking about the worst case

I'll try to google more on natural therapy !
TS stop wasting your time, go google more about a plant based diet and the doctors behind it. icon_rolleyes.gif

Ramjade
post Oct 4 2015, 04:30 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 04:09 PM)
Explain this:

Read this.
http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/757713_2

Tumor cells exhibit elevated levels of glucose uptake, a phenomenon that has been capitalized upon for the prognostic and diagnostic imaging of a wide range of cancers using radio-labeled glucose analogs.

Cellular transformation is associated with the reprogramming of cellular pathways that control proliferation, survival, and metabolism. Among the metabolic changes exhibited by tumor cells is an increase in glucose metabolism and glucose dependence.

I have read your page and I see you recommend carbs. What a way. If you have read, ancient people do not have much teeth problem cause they do not eat much carbs. Once people start eating carbs, that's when teeth problem start to appear. Go lookup. A research done on ancient people.

Second look at this way, those marker for cancer uses glucose solution to carry the radioactive marker and the cancer cells sucks up glucose that's why it's able to light up like a Christmas tree.

I based my stuff on facts not YouTube videos. Anyone can dress up as a doctor and give speech on YouTube. But for sites like ncbi, medscape, you really need to be a researcher.

If you want to continue promote carbs, go ahead.
icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 04:33 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2015, 04:30 PM)
Read this.
http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/757713_2
I have read your page and I see you recommend carbs. What a way. If you have read, ancient people do not have much teeth problem cause they do not eat much carbs. Once people start eating carbs, that's when teeth problem start to appear. Go lookup. A research done on ancient people.

Second look at this way, those marker for cancer uses glucose solution to carry the radioactive marker and the cancer cells sucks up glucose that's why it's able to light up like a Christmas tree.

I based my stuff on facts not YouTube videos. Anyone can dress up as a doctor and give speech on YouTube. But for sites like ncbi, medscape, you really need to be a researcher.

If you want to continue promote carbs, go ahead.
I take it that you didnt research on the doctor's history and credentials as well? user posted image

Not good to do that when there are so many Atkins diet promoters with absolute shit credentials.

Also how can glucose be the culprit when it is the basic nutrient that our cells, good or bad needs. You cant starve the good cells of the nutrient. That is like trying to cure a person by starving them. doh.gif

This post has been edited by icehart85: Oct 4 2015, 04:36 PM
icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 04:37 PM

874 posts

Ramjade
post Oct 4 2015, 04:37 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 04:33 PM)
I take it that you didnt research on the doctor's history and credentials as well?  user posted image

Not good to do that when there are so many Atkins diet promoters with absolute shit credentials.
My sources are from ncbi.nlm.nih.gov. You can read them if you want.

Abstract
Introduction
Abnormal cancer metabolism creates a glycolytic-dependency which can be exploited by lowering glucose availability to the tumor. The ketogenic diet (KD) is a low carbohydrate, high fat diet which decreases blood glucose and elevates blood ketones and has been shown to slow cancer progression in animals and humans.

Ramjade
post Oct 4 2015, 04:38 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 04:33 PM)
I take it that you didnt research on the doctor's history and credentials as well?  user posted image

Also how can glucose be the culprit when it is the basic nutrient that our cells, good or bad needs. You cant starve the good cells of the nutrient. That is like trying to cure a person by starving them.  doh.gif
The body can switch metabolism but not cancer cells. Why do you think cancer cells light like Christmas tree when given radioactive glucose solution?

With KD. You are feeding the body with ketones. Not glucose so normal cells are not starving. But cancer cells cannot use ketones. So you tell me how they going to grow?

Is like a car which can run on petrol and water. Give it anything, it can run. But a cancer cell is like car which can only run on petrol. Give it water, how is it going to run?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 4 2015, 04:44 PM
icehart85
post Oct 4 2015, 04:46 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2015, 04:37 PM)
My sources are from ncbi.nlm.nih.gov. You can read them if you want.
Clearly you didnt click and watch my link above on colon cancer:

Video sources:

Clemens R, Kranz S, Mobley AR, et al. Filling America’s Fiber Intake Gap: Summary of a Roundtable to Probe Realistic Solutions with a Focus on Grain-Based Foods. The Journal of Nutrition. 2012;142:1390S-1401S.

S J O'Keefe, M Kidd, G Espitalier-Noel, P Owira. Rarity of colon cancer in Africans is associated with low animal product consumption, not fiber. Am J Gastroenterol. 1999 May;94(5):1373-80.

S J O'Keefe, D Chung, N Mahmoud, A R Sepulveda, M Manafe, J Arch, H Adada, T van der Merwe. Why do African Americans get more colon cancer than Native Africans? J Nutr. 2007 Jan;137(1 Suppl):175S-182S.

J Ou, J P DeLany, M Zhang, S Sharma, S J O'Keefe. Association between low colonic short-chain fatty acids and high bile acids in high colon cancer risk populations. Nutr Cancer. 2012;64(1):34-40. doi: 10.1080/01635581.2012.630164.

K M Tuohy, C Gougoulias, Q Shen, G Walton, F Fava, P Ramnani. Studying the human gut microbiota in the trans-omics era--focus on metagenomics and metabonomics. Curr Pharm Des. 2009;15(13):1415-27.

D Aune, D S Chan, R Lau, R Vieira, D C Greenwood, E Kampman, T Norat. Dietary fibre, whole grains, and risk of colorectal cancer: systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis of prospective studies. BMJ. 2011 Nov 10;343:d6617. doi: 10.1136/bmj.d6617.

I Segal, C A Edwards, A R Walker. Continuing low colon cancer incidence in African populations. Am J Gastroenterol. 2000 Apr;95(4):859-60.

A J Alberg, J M Samet. Epidemiology of lung cancer. Chest. 2003 Jan;123(1 Suppl):21S-49S.

D P Burkitt. Epidemiology of cancer of the colon and rectum. 1971. Dis Colon Rectum. 1993 Nov;36(11):1071-82.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:16 PM