Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V4], Motion & Emotion
SKYjack
Jan 13 2021, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(TheGoodGuy86123 @ Dec 16 2020, 11:50 PM) Hi everyone, after months of stalking of all y'all comment and feedback, I've finally just got myself a 2013/ 2014 registered used 408 1.6T, as I understand it may or may not be a problematic cars, depending on our luck, hence I've decided to go for a 408 that have warranty until next year June 2021, I will be able to collect the cars on next Monday, do you guys think I should send to service centre or can go to outside professional workshop like renau tech? Thank you guys and I'm really happy to join the Peugeot family!!!! SC is a waste of time,especially now since Peugeot has changed hands. Go to Renautech, get your car up to good shape. They can fix everything.
rannworld
Jan 15 2021, 10:19 PM

Hi. Planning to buy Peugeot 408. But not sure 1.6 Turbo or 2.0 better. Any advise?
SKYjack
Jan 17 2021, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(rannworld @ Jan 15 2021, 10:19 PM) Hi. Planning to buy Peugeot 408. But not sure 1.6 Turbo or 2.0 better. Any advise? Both are good buys as price is rock bottom for both. If you enjoy spritted driving ,get the turbo model. This also comes with additional safety features. If you want a comfortable family sedan, NA will suite you fine! Both models have their own issues. All issues can be solved. Excellent Peugeot workshops in Klang Valley. Long term maintenance on Turbo model will be slightly higher!
wjchay
Jan 17 2021, 12:44 PM
Hi guys, I would just like to share that after changing tires to 225 50 17, my 408t feels much more comfortable now.
sylverJTR14 P
Jan 21 2021, 03:51 PM
Hi fellow Peugeot owners, I owned a 2016 Peugeot 408 1.6 Turbo. Recently I experience something funny with the car and would like to seek fellow sifus advice. Let's say if my car fuel is half or less than half tank, with that if I take a right turn at moderate speed of about 50 to 70 km/h ( like turning off from highway), my car will pull back, for 1 sec or 2, it feels like no power and going to stall, but recovers. This doesnt happen when I make a left turn, or if the fuel is more than half tank. I suspect that it could be my HPFP, yet to get it checked at workshop due to PKP. I hope sifus here can enlighten me a bit. Im sorry if this was discussed earlier in the forum, Im new in this platform.
sylverJTR14 P
Jan 22 2021, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 17 2021, 12:44 PM) Hi guys, I would just like to share that after changing tires to 225 50 17, my 408t feels much more comfortable now. Yes I did that too, actually still running on series 50. But the next tire chg Im getting back the series 45. I agree it's more comfortable now, but The steering feels a bit heavier than normal, also at higher than 150, it loses a bit of stability. I miss those sharp corners now
sylverJTR14 P
Jan 22 2021, 03:44 PM
Just to share, today I went to Bros Auto because my pug ABS sensor kong  . After diagnose, found both my rear sensor kaput. RH is permanent fault whereas LH is intermittent, to be on the safe side, I changed both. Now waiting for the forward to fail also
jiunkei_46
Jan 22 2021, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(sylverJTR14 @ Jan 22 2021, 03:44 PM) Just to share, today I went to Bros Auto because my pug ABS sensor kong  . After diagnose, found both my rear sensor kaput. RH is permanent fault whereas LH is intermittent, to be on the safe side, I changed both. Now waiting for the forward to fail also  i guess ABS sensor kong is norm, at least once need to replace.. i have all 4 replaced before, some under warranty, some i bought the parts myself and get the mechanic to replace it. btw, did they check for you the issue you mentioned about the power loss thing?
sylverJTR14 P
Jan 22 2021, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Jan 22 2021, 04:47 PM) i guess ABS sensor kong is norm, at least once need to replace.. i have all 4 replaced before, some under warranty, some i bought the parts myself and get the mechanic to replace it. btw, did they check for you the issue you mentioned about the power loss thing? Oh yeah, sorry I missed out that. They suspect it's the low pressure pump based on the symptoms. But it's not failed permanently, so I think Im just gonna use till it's gone  . Gotta maintain my car fuel more than half tank all the time. Anyway my pug both the low and high pressure fuel pump is still stock, havent been replaced yet
StevenL
Jan 22 2021, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(sylverJTR14 @ Jan 22 2021, 05:31 PM) Oh yeah, sorry I missed out that. They suspect it's the low pressure pump based on the symptoms. But it's not failed permanently, so I think Im just gonna use till it's gone :lol2: . Gotta maintain my car fuel more than half tank all the time. Anyway my pug both the low and high pressure fuel pump is still stock, havent been replaced yet  Apparently for conti cars it's best to fuel instead of waiting till the warning indicator light. That's according to my mechanic la as it helps to prolong the lifespan of the pump. This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 22 2021, 09:58 PM
NXaqua
Jan 23 2021, 07:23 PM
Hi fellow Peugeot owner,
I have a 408 NA, and my RH side door glass acting weird..like stuck in midway now and then.
Appreciate if any of you guys can share your experience in resolving this issue.
Thanks in advance.
djboycalvin
Jan 25 2021, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Jan 23 2021, 07:23 PM) Hi fellow Peugeot owner, I have a 408 NA, and my RH side door glass acting weird..like stuck in midway now and then. Appreciate if any of you guys can share your experience in resolving this issue. Thanks in advance. own 408 for 7 years and never have this issue. Maybe you can youtube search "car window not smooth" .. there are some technique like apply some wd40 so and so .. cheap to have a try.
NXaqua
Jan 25 2021, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jan 25 2021, 10:14 AM) own 408 for 7 years and never have this issue. Maybe you can youtube search "car window not smooth" .. there are some technique like apply some wd40 so and so .. cheap to have a try. Actually, it was replaced back in 2019 under Warranty. Anyway, thanks for the replied.
SKYjack
Jan 26 2021, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 17 2021, 12:44 PM) Hi guys, I would just like to share that after changing tires to 225 50 17, my 408t feels much more comfortable now. Tks for your feedback bro. I too intend to change to higher profile tyres. I was lookin at 55 profile, but this would affect handling. I feel 50 profile is just right as affect on handling will be only slight. What is your feedback on handling? Do you find body roll on fast corners? Or is negiable that you hardly feel it!
SKYjack
Jan 26 2021, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(StevenL @ Jan 22 2021, 09:57 PM) Apparently for conti cars it's best to fuel instead of waiting till the warning indicator light. That's according to my mechanic la as it helps to prolong the lifespan of the pump. That is very good advice! Whenever fuel hits the 1/4 mark on guage, I fillup. Coming up to 9th year, still on original fuel pumps!
SKYjack
Jan 26 2021, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(sylverJTR14 @ Jan 21 2021, 03:51 PM) Hi fellow Peugeot owners, I owned a 2016 Peugeot 408 1.6 Turbo. Recently I experience something funny with the car and would like to seek fellow sifus advice. Let's say if my car fuel is half or less than half tank, with that if I take a right turn at moderate speed of about 50 to 70 km/h ( like turning off from highway), my car will pull back, for 1 sec or 2, it feels like no power and going to stall, but recovers. This doesnt happen when I make a left turn, or if the fuel is more than half tank. I suspect that it could be my HPFP, yet to get it checked at workshop due to PKP. I hope sifus here can enlighten me a bit. Im sorry if this was discussed earlier in the forum, Im new in this platform.  Yes I strongly suspect faulty HPFP. HPFP is a recall item. If you haven't changed have to wait a while. ATM Bemax is not entertaining any recalls. They are very busy on take over and setup!
wjchay
Jan 26 2021, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 26 2021, 11:34 AM) Tks for your feedback bro. I too intend to change to higher profile tyres. I was lookin at 55 profile, but this would affect handling. I feel 50 profile is just right as affect on handling will be only slight. What is your feedback on handling? Do you find body roll on fast corners? Or is negiable that you hardly feel it! I feel handling is still good, but with caveat: I used to push corners with Michelin ps4, but my new tyres are now Goodtrip, still soft tyres but I don't push corners so hard anymore. Considerably now I still take my corners fast from time to time, I don't feel any body roll. I guess those stock stabilizers are still good. High speed on plus up to 150kph is steady. I think 50 is just nice, no need to go for 55. This post has been edited by wjchay: Jan 26 2021, 01:19 PM
sylverJTR14 P
Feb 3 2021, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 26 2021, 10:47 AM) Yes I strongly suspect faulty HPFP. HPFP is a recall item. If you haven't changed have to wait a while. ATM Bemax is not entertaining any recalls. They are very busy on take over and setup! Do you really think it's the HPFP? Im well aware this is a recall unit and mine is not changed yet. But my symptoms are only when im taking a corner, so it's the shift of the fuel in my tank that makes the low pressure pump to stop working for a moment ( or lose vacuum). HPFP is mounted near the engine right, and if Im not wrong, this HPFP mainly for high pressure demand and wont be affected by the shift of the fuel in the tank. Well all this diagnose was done by the mech at Bros Auto. Please tell me if im right bro Yea heard about the changeover. Kia is also going through similar chg now. Currently got few issues, those free services that were promised when u purchased KIA car can now only be claimed at the same outlet where you bought the car. And warranty claims for any component will also take longer time to process. My wife drives a KIA
SKYjack
Feb 3 2021, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(sylverJTR14 @ Feb 3 2021, 04:26 PM) Do you really think it's the HPFP? Im well aware this is a recall unit and mine is not changed yet. But my symptoms are only when im taking a corner, so it's the shift of the fuel in my tank that makes the low pressure pump to stop working for a moment ( or lose vacuum). HPFP is mounted near the engine right, and if Im not wrong, this HPFP mainly for high pressure demand and wont be affected by the shift of the fuel in the tank. Well all this diagnose was done by the mech at Bros Auto. Please tell me if im right bro Yea heard about the changeover. Kia is also going through similar chg now. Currently got few issues, those free services that were promised when u purchased KIA car can now only be claimed at the same outlet where you bought the car. And warranty claims for any component will also take longer time to process. My wife drives a KIA  Frankly its very difficult to say exactly from reading a symptom. I could be wrong here! I would believe Bros Auto, they are experienced and excellent with Pugs! I am also waiting on HPFP recall. Luckly no issues with my car at present. However since 8 years already, think I better change the HPFP as preventive measure.
sylverJTR14 P
Feb 3 2021, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 3 2021, 06:30 PM) Frankly its very difficult to say exactly from reading a symptom. I could be wrong here! I would believe Bros Auto, they are experienced and excellent with Pugs! I am also waiting on HPFP recall. Luckly no issues with my car at present. However since 8 years already, think I better change the HPFP as preventive measure. Yes I agree, preventive maint is so crucial for our baby lions  . Anyway Im thinking of changing my rim, got bored of it . Any suggestions on where I can get good choices. As it is, it's really tough to find a good looking PCD 4 rims