120 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V18

SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 20 2015, 09:05 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Sep 20 2015, 07:36 AM)
too bad he didn't died from our bullets

that SOAB....  vmad.gif
how u know..
James831
post Sep 20 2015, 10:25 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 01:26 AM)
just in concept study, possible type 26 or Fremm upgrade version.

2003 1 Gen -kedah class 1600 tons
2013 2 Gen -Gowind class 3000 tons
2023 3 Gen -New AAW Frigate  6000 tons.
3 gen should either DCNS FREMM frigate or BOUSTEAD design GOWIND MK2 .it about time to made use of those ToT/IP.
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 10:28 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 20 2015, 01:35 AM)
6000tons can very much a destroyer class already laugh.gif  which is beyond the realm of reality/ imagination

it more believable that we go for a improved gowind with AAW capabilities armed with sg formidable class weapon
the type 26 faced various design delays in fact during gowind tender, the type 26 was not more a concept on paper while the gowind already have a basic design
well in euro trend now newest frigate already go to 6000 tons level after long experience and study.
cost ship/hull not much different from 4000 --> 6000 tons, just 5-7% increasing in cost,
but improve space for crew, more store for food and ammunition, more weapon can fit, add multi-role mission bay, even quarantine bay
most importance, bigger ship have more power for system, for future more and more system, electronic , sensor, radar, weapon requirement huge power.
AAW Gowind or SG formidable only suite past and current requirement, but future thread after 2020 is different, also power supply in Gowind is limited.
we must have more bigger ambition in navy strength。
remember we in SCS facing bigger thread at Spratly issue. before 2010 spratly issue not that hot.

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Sep 20 2015, 01:42 AM)
Yup, and Type 26 is *still* on paper only. And our Gowind has also been compared favourably with the notorious LCS. So I'm quite proud. Only problem is building the things.... sigh.
You think this theoretical AAW Gowind can get Aster?
well UK already begin construct first 3 unit Type 26, fund already approval early this year.
suppliier start make component, and hull section start assembly begin 2017 at shipyard.
depend what type radar use in AAW Gowind, some radar support Aster some not.
in euro have 2 type radar, 1 is support US weapon/missile, 2 type is support euro weapon and missile.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 20 2015, 11:13 AM
thpace
post Sep 20 2015, 12:04 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 10:28 AM)
well in euro trend now newest frigate already go to 6000 tons level after long experience and study.
cost ship/hull not much different from 4000 --> 6000 tons, just 5-7% increasing in cost, 
but improve space for crew, more store for food and ammunition, more weapon can fit, add multi-role mission bay, even quarantine bay
most importance, bigger ship have more power for system, for future more and more system, electronic , sensor, radar,  weapon requirement huge power.
AAW Gowind or SG formidable only suite past and current requirement, but future thread after 2020 is different, also power supply in Gowind is limited.
we must have more bigger ambition in navy strength。
remember we in SCS facing bigger thread at Spratly issue. before 2010 spratly issue not that hot.
well UK already begin construct first 3 unit Type 26, fund already approval early this year.
suppliier start make component, and hull section start assembly begin 2017 at shipyard. 
in euro have 2 type radar, 1 is support US weapon/missile, 2 type is support euro weapon and missile.
Cakap kencang but duit tak ada

More economical to just the existing gowind and upgrade it

waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 12:24 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 20 2015, 12:04 PM)
Cakap kencang but duit tak ada

More economical to just the existing gowind and upgrade it
just boring, fun chat biggrin.gif
have to wait 5 year later, until that time only know 。。。。
i still thinking/imagination how MY in year 2020 。。。

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 20 2015, 12:24 PM
thpace
post Sep 20 2015, 12:29 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 12:24 PM)
just boring, fun chat  biggrin.gif
have to wait 5 year later, until that time only know 。。。。
i still thinking/imagination how MY in year 2020 。。。
Back to indonesia era

Here outdated equipment while they have better one
KYPMbangi
post Sep 20 2015, 12:36 PM

39 posts

US Navy T-6 trainer crashes near Las Cruces; pilots eject safely

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas (NNS) -- At approximately 10 a.m. MDT Sept. 19, a T-6A Texan II tandem-seat, turboprop trainer, assigned to Training Wing 4, based at Naval Air Station Corpus Christi, Texas, crashed in Las Cruces, New Mexico, after the pilots conducted a controlled ejection during a routine training flight.

The two pilots ejected safely and were evaluated for minor injuries.

The names of the pilots are being withheld for privacy reasons. The cause of the incident is under investigation.

[sos]
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 12:52 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 20 2015, 12:29 PM)
Back to indonesia era

Here outdated equipment while they have better one
i still thinking our political leader lack of formidable to develop strong defense capability。
thpace
post Sep 20 2015, 01:28 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 12:52 PM)
i still thinking our political leader lack of formidable to develop strong defense capability。
One lack the political will to beef up defence

While another have no will to even have a defence force

Either one our defence is screwed
SUSKLboy92
post Sep 20 2015, 01:45 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 10:28 AM)
Frigate sizes AND costs are going up because most navies are trying to fit more capabilities onto lesser hulls as technology improves. The days of using frigates as throwaway ships are over.

Long-lead contracts for Type 26 have just been announced in August and the design is not 100% finalised yet, I am very doubtful they have started any major construction dude.

Maybe we can beg for some Type 23 as they are replaced...
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 02:08 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Sep 20 2015, 01:45 PM)
Frigate sizes AND costs are going up because most navies are trying to fit more capabilities onto lesser hulls as technology improves. The days of using frigates as throwaway ships are over.
Long-lead contracts for Type 26 have just been announced in August and the design is not 100% finalised yet, I am very doubtful they have started any major construction dude.
Maybe we can beg for some Type 23 as they are replaced...
That why we need proper frigate。not like Gowind class ...
for Type 26, beginning 2015 major design already fix, and announce, major component like design weight, proportion, engine,, radar, VLS, missile, already announce too.
current warship construction not like last time, it device to multiple section, so company involved this project just do their section, inlcude BAE it self.
and BAE only do final assembly all section together at shipyard. untill 2017, hard to see the ship, but went the start assembly, every ship can complete assembly in 6-9 month.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 20 2015, 02:12 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Sep 20 2015, 02:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 20 2015, 02:08 PM)
That why we need proper frigate。not like Gowind class ...
for Type 26, beginning 2015 major design already fix, and announce, major component already announce too.
current warship construction not like last time, it device to multiple section, so company involved this project just do their section, inlcude BAE it self.
and BAE only do final assembly all section together at shipyard. untill 2017, hard to see the ship, but went the start assembly, every ship can complete assembly in 6-9 month.
Chinese say, suit ambition to your appetite. This kind of vessel will certainly cost us multi-billions of ringgit EACH - and for what? Hypothetical battle with China, who is one of our strongest trade partners? Meanwhile no money for helis for Kalimantan border, Thai border, end up begging Brunei for old helis.

Go read up on Type 26 status and building plan. Construction scheduled to start 2016, in service only 2022. The goal is not to build at high speeds but at lower speed to save cost and preserve their shipbuilding industry.
azriel
post Sep 20 2015, 02:57 PM

Another pic of Sail Tomini 2015 sailing pass with the Indonesian Navy newest LST KRI Teluk Bintuni in front.

Photo by antarafoto.

This post has been edited by azriel: Sep 20 2015, 02:57 PM
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 20 2015, 03:09 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 20 2015, 01:35 AM)
6000tons can very much a destroyer class already laugh.gif  which is beyond the realm of reality/ imagination

it more believable that we go for a improved gowind with AAW capabilities armed with sg formidable class weapon

De Zeven Provincien and Alvario De Bazan already exceed 6000 ton and both classified as frigate. And SG Formidable class is not that much more advance than the Gowind that we get. I might be mistaken, but i heard that the NSM has a precision strike capability against target on land.
thpace
post Sep 20 2015, 03:18 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Sep 20 2015, 03:09 PM)
De Zeven Provincien and Alvario De Bazan already exceed 6000 ton and both classified as frigate. And SG Formidable class is not that much more advance than the Gowind that we get. I might be mistaken, but i heard that the NSM has a precision strike capability against target on land.
Excocet block 3 also got some ground strike capability. Not that uncommon anymore

We might be seing a multirole missles similarly how we are seeing multi role planes and ships

What set the formidable apart it its a ability for area defence on such a small vessel. Previously, it limited to destroyer class only. This is particularly usefully for fleet protection or convoy. What it lack it just it asw and anti surface suite which our gowind is more suited for that role.

Therefore, it more a logical steps to armed the next batch of gowind with aster system and area defence capability.
SUSKLboy92
post Sep 20 2015, 03:27 PM

189 posts

We're nowhere near the Formidable's AAA ability... can't even reach ESSM and Aster 15 level. But I heard the SGs think Gowind's electronics are better so... and while MM.40 is lovely I wish we had Otomat. Oh well.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 20 2015, 04:11 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 20 2015, 03:18 PM)
Excocet block 3 also got some ground strike capability. Not that uncommon anymore

We might be seing a multirole missles similarly how we are seeing multi role planes and ships

What set the formidable apart it its a ability for area defence on such a small vessel. Previously, it limited to destroyer class only. This is particularly usefully for fleet protection or convoy. What it lack it just it asw and anti surface suite which our gowind is more suited for that role.

Therefore, it more a logical steps to armed the next batch of gowind with aster system and area defence capability.
Though exocet or even harpoon have land attack capability, It only have an active radar for terminal homing. That leave the task of guiding the missile to a land target to a GPS only. It'll not be a pinpoint strike weapon like a tomahawk.

NSM on the other hand use infrared imaging seeker for terminal homing, which mean it's more suited for precision strike. It has also a TERCOM guidance which will allow it to fly between terrain. It'll be like a mini Tomahawk.
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 04:30 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Sep 20 2015, 02:22 PM)
Chinese say, suit ambition to your appetite. This kind of vessel will certainly cost us multi-billions of ringgit EACH - and for what? Hypothetical battle with China, who is one of our strongest trade partners? Meanwhile no money for helis for Kalimantan border, Thai border, end up begging Brunei for old helis.
Go read up on Type 26 status and building plan. Construction scheduled to start 2016, in service only 2022. The goal is not to build at high speeds but at lower speed to save cost and preserve their shipbuilding industry.
seems you mistake, we talk 5 year later not now.
well we built suite to as, but need built properly, we built strong navy or defense not relate to China, we have our right to built our warship capability. we have so many thread in sea and border.
weak defense power no have foreign diplomatic word.
if what you think, what not just cancel Gowind, it also use multi-billions of ringgit, cost for Type 26 different not more than 10% compare to Gowind class. as mil fans you should know what price need to get good weapon and not look much on figure.
well i follow news type 26 news every day. seems you not understands,
some parts, already start built, 2016 in start built section, 2017-2018 for final hull assembly, and launch, than out outfitting system equipment and parts take 1-2 year, sea try 1 year, about 2022 handover to navy.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 20 2015, 05:13 PM
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 04:40 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Sep 20 2015, 03:27 PM)
We're nowhere near the Formidable's AAA ability... can't even reach ESSM and Aster 15 level. But I heard the SGs think Gowind's electronics are better so... and while MM.40 is lovely I wish we had Otomat. Oh well.
our electronic more newer, but not complete like Formidable have.
still hard compare Formidable as AAW frigate + GP frigate, we Gowind as ASW frigate.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 20 2015, 05:13 PM
waja2000
post Sep 20 2015, 04:42 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Sep 20 2015, 04:11 PM)
Though exocet or even harpoon have land attack capability, It only have an active radar for terminal homing. That leave the task of guiding the missile to a land target to a GPS only. It'll not be a pinpoint strike weapon like a tomahawk.

NSM on the other hand use infrared imaging seeker for terminal homing, which mean it's more suited for precision strike. It has also a TERCOM guidance which will allow it to fly between terrain. It'll be like a mini Tomahawk.
agree .... plus NSM more small easy to fit at ship.
i waiting NSM-VLS

120 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0296sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:02 AM