123 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

USD/MYR drop, V2

Hansel
post Nov 11 2015, 07:06 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 11 2015, 03:56 PM)
I'm doing the opposite. Today i just transferred usd10k back to malaysia. Probably after conversion i will get RM43600 only. Going to dump into asw/asm soon. Maybe i am dummy.  sweat.gif

Good evening to all.

I was thinking of doing the above earlier, until the risk factors of the ASX Funds were unearthed. So, I decided to sell half of my ASX holdings and kept my foreign currencies overseas.

Well,... investing overseas is not all a bed of roses too. First REIT is a very good example. I used to say : 'never wrong with First REIT',... because I have done ALL the homework, and I know all the internal information with the managers. But who could have ever guessed that since the REIT is so good, the Indon Gov't might want to take it back home.

SREITs have their risks too. When the SP is not good, it gets delisted (Saizen REIT). When the SP is very healthy, it get 'SHIFTED'. rclxub.gif

Now have to start looking for another vehicle again to put my funds into.

Hansel
post Nov 11 2015, 07:11 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 11 2015, 06:58 PM)
Neither. I will convert to SGD and transfer to Singapore and put in SGX when those bank stock/telco/reits fall further  tongue.gif
I will convert one-third into the SGD and invest into the SGX and into the other new vehicle.

I will convert another third into the USD and invest into USD-denominated High-Yield Bonds Funds with the underlyings of US-based companies.

I will convert the last third into the Euros and invest into Euro-denominated High-Yield Bonds Funds with the underlyings of Europe-based companies.

Showtime747
post Nov 11 2015, 07:55 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 11 2015, 07:11 PM)
I will convert one-third into the SGD and invest into the SGX and into the other new vehicle.

I will convert another third into the USD and invest into USD-denominated High-Yield Bonds Funds with the underlyings of US-based companies.

I will convert the last third into the Euros and invest into Euro-denominated High-Yield Bonds Funds with the underlyings of Europe-based companies.
All these using RM50k ? shocking.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 11 2015, 08:06 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 11 2015, 06:58 PM)
Neither. I will convert to SGD and transfer to Singapore and put in SGX when those bank stock/telco/reits fall further  tongue.gif
hohoho...

singtel one of them, is it?

been waiting for 3.5x until my neck got stiff. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 11 2015, 08:11 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 11 2015, 07:55 PM)
All these using RM50k ?  shocking.gif
Hansel
post Nov 11 2015, 08:27 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 11 2015, 07:55 PM)
All these using RM50k ?  shocking.gif
Not in an absolute sense, of course,... but ratio-wise in larger amounts,... Will not qualify for best rates if converting only RM17K each into the SGD, USD and Euro....
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 11 2015, 08:42 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 11 2015, 08:06 PM)
hohoho...

singtel one of them, is it?

been waiting for 3.5x until my neck got stiff. laugh.gif
Y wait when u can grab the seller price tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 11 2015, 08:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 11 2015, 08:42 PM)
Y wait when u can grab the seller price  tongue.gif
no la, cannot like dat...

sgx is subject to a lot more foreign funds, not like bursa all local play-play syndicates. tongue.gif

sgx and us equities, gotta be extra careful and be very mindful of all kinds of forces by the minute, alto much more transparent and not subject to datuks and tan sris wet dreams. laugh.gif
SUSenticing188
post Nov 11 2015, 09:07 PM

97 posts

will it drop till 4.5?
nexona88
post Nov 11 2015, 11:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(enticing188 @ Nov 11 2015, 09:07 PM)
will it drop till 4.5?
maybe end of the month rolleyes.gif

school holiday coming. I observed MYR tend to get weaker this period sweat.gif
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 11 2015, 11:24 PM

10,001 posts

will it drop till 4.5?
Perhaps an astrologer have answer icon_idea.gif
prophetjul
post Nov 12 2015, 08:37 AM

12,268 posts

will it drop till 4.5?
It may quite fast.

Petronas just took another tumble!

Loss of 560mil last qtr......our budget will be screwed big time!
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 12 2015, 08:41 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 12 2015, 08:37 AM)
It may quite fast.

Petronas just took another tumble!

Loss of 560mil last qtr......our budget will be screwed big time!
I tot Petronas registered small profits
http://m.thestar.com.my/story.aspx?hl=Petr...710E6EE97A02%7D
prophetjul
post Nov 12 2015, 08:46 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 12 2015, 08:41 AM)
Was watching bloomberg last nite, it said loss of 560mil because of impairment loss.

Also said it was 2nd loss in last 4 qtrs.

Even so, 91% plunge is worrisome to say the least

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Nov 12 2015, 08:47 AM
AVFAN
post Nov 12 2015, 09:33 AM

24,454 posts

that petronas profit plunge figure is awful. very roughly, it indicates petronas breakeven is about usd55/bbl.

brent at 46 now, next qtr will hv massive loss? sweat.gif

low commodity prices hurt currency, whether rm or aud.

aud today gained much, not due to commodity prices up but creation of jobs.

Australian Employment Soars 58,600 in October, Currency Jumps
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-currency-jumps

can putrajaya do the same? or add to the current >300,000 unemployed grads?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 12 2015, 09:37 AM
Icehart
post Nov 12 2015, 09:37 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 12 2015, 08:46 AM)
Was watching bloomberg last nite, it said loss of 560mil because of impairment loss.

Also said it was 2nd loss in last 4 qtrs.

Even so, 91% plunge is worrisome to say the least
Not surprised. Crude oil has plunged by as much as 70%.
prophetjul
post Nov 12 2015, 09:49 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 12 2015, 09:33 AM)
that petronas profit plunge figure is awful. very roughly, it indicates petronas breakeven is about usd55/bbl.

brent at 46 now, next qtr will hv massive loss? sweat.gif
low commodity prices hurt currency, whether rm or aud.

aud today gained much, not due to commodity prices up but creation of jobs.
can putrajaya do the same? or add to the current >300,000 unemployed grads?
Yeah

This bloody Aus economy is still so good! AUD so strong vs MYR vmad.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 12 2015, 10:47 AM

24,454 posts

how will "domestic issues" be resolved?

Zeti Says Ringgit Significantly Undervalued Amid Growth

The currency may recover when the U.S. Federal Reserve normalizes interest rates and as "domestic issues" in Malaysia are resolved, she said.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...economic-growth

Showtime747
post Nov 12 2015, 11:09 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 12 2015, 10:47 AM)
how will "domestic issues" be resolved?
Following the "rumours" last time, the update says the "domestic issues" will be solved by 1H16 when "the company" passes the debt to other companies and wind down the exposure. This is the only worry by foreign funds now. Other fundamentals like current account, budget deficit, inflation, unemployment, etc will go back to the "old normal". By then, RM will back to stable like past few years and only the usual external factors like oil price, USD rates hike, Euro/Japan/China QE will affect the RM drastically

The above is from my "source", who predicted <4.00 by 1H16. Sounds plausible to me
prophetjul
post Nov 12 2015, 11:10 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 12 2015, 11:09 AM)
Following the "rumours" last time, the update says the "domestic issues" will be solved by 1H16 when "the company" passes the debt to other companies and wind down the exposure. This is the only worry by foreign funds now. Other fundamentals like current account, budget deficit, inflation, unemployment, etc will go back to the "old normal". By then, RM will back to stable like past few years and only the usual external factors like oil price, USD rates hike, Euro/Japan/China QE will affect the RM drastically

The above is from my "source", who predicted <4.00 by 1H16. Sounds plausible to me
After wiping 1MDB's arse and cleaning it, ALL will be well. And they are using the perceived increase in NTA to clean up the mess.

123 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:12 PM