125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

atah
post Oct 28 2010, 10:41 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ Oct 28 2010, 08:32 AM)

anyone know is it easy to get a money changer in Seoul? Plan to change to usd instead of won.
Is it adviceable?
i would change some Won enough for basic use, and some USD for emegency. u don't want to trap without Won especially using public transports or buying something in those small shops.

SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 12:25 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 25 2010, 03:53 PM)
its arranged by the tour liao. 12pm check out then straight go incheon airport  sad.gif

just did some research... seems like incheon got its own attraction as well..  laugh.gif

the island tour seems interesting..

Added on October 25, 2010, 3:54 pm
tqqqqqqqqqq wub.gif
are we going in the same tour? i ask them and they said can ask bus to send us late at night
sfwong1
post Oct 28 2010, 04:20 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ Oct 28 2010, 08:32 AM)

anyone know is it easy to get a money changer in Seoul? Plan to change to usd instead of won.
Is it adviceable?
i don get it why ppl change usd then only change back to the respected currency that they want,any reason? mind telling me? is it because changing like that is slightly more valueable?
Pseudonym
post Oct 28 2010, 04:50 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Oct 28 2010, 04:20 PM)
i don get it why ppl change usd then only change back to the respected currency that they want,any reason? mind telling me? is it because changing like that is slightly more valueable?
I don't think it's more worth it, instead you will lose more the more frequent you change your currency. The reason i'll do it is coz USD is common and you can easily find money changer to have it changed wherever you go. Unlike MYR where only certain places take that, i think it's being mentioned earlier in this thread.
childish_gal81
post Oct 28 2010, 05:00 PM

308 posts

yea..cos now MYR is stronger ..USD dropping..
furthermore, you can use USD in various country..
eg, if you changed too much WON, and you cant finish..if you change back to MYR, the value drop.
But if you have USD as backup, you can use it at another country eg Taiwan, etc..its widely accepted..

A bit off topic here.. for Taiwan NT, its more worth it to change to USD first as MYR -TW rate in Malaysia is bad..

This post has been edited by childish_gal81: Oct 28 2010, 05:02 PM
atah
post Oct 28 2010, 05:31 PM

633 posts

yup, for those not so common currencies, better to change it to USD or Eur first.

or the other option that i like to use is ATM withdrawal. i use maybank and they charge rm8 per transaction, and it's much worth it if you withdraw around rm500 or more.

childish_gal81
post Oct 28 2010, 05:33 PM

308 posts

My plan is to change around RM2k to won, then the rest will bring USD.
Problem is I dunno how easy to find money changer in Seoul.

sfwong1
post Oct 28 2010, 06:15 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ Oct 28 2010, 05:33 PM)
My plan is to change around RM2k to won, then the rest will bring USD.
Problem is I dunno how easy to find money changer in Seoul.
same for me i think i gonna bring rm2k worth of won 1st for my 7d5n tour trip,i think shud be enuf cos almost everything is paid for,just rdy some money for shopping

This post has been edited by sfwong1: Oct 28 2010, 06:16 PM
stimix
post Oct 28 2010, 06:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Reason why ppl converting 1st too US$ & thereafter to Won at Korea bcos Korean won is not well tradeble here in malaysia compare to US$, S$, ruppiah, RMB or HK$.

Others badly quouted currency in M'sia include Thai Bath, Peso, Dong & more. Therefore it is wiseable to exchange to US$ 1st & thereafter to Won BUT provided someone can confirm that the exchange rate in Icheon airport is good..(Taipei airport echange rate is good for sure)

For eg..check the Today best money changer rate for won - 1000won=RM2.95 http://wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

Whereas, Bank Negara qouted rate as Today is 1000won to RM2.768 http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

You will be instantly lost RM0.185 for every ringgit you change in Malaysia. But be warned. I'm not sure whether Icheon money changer having good rate or not unless someone can find any money changr online rate to verify this if converting to US$ & thereafter to Won.

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Oct 28 2010, 04:20 PM)
childish_gal81
post Oct 28 2010, 06:29 PM

308 posts

Precisely..any forumer in Korea now?can help to clear our doubts?
Derwyn
post Oct 28 2010, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 28 2010, 06:26 PM)
Reason why ppl converting 1st too US$ & thereafter to Won at Korea bcos Korean won is not well tradeble here in malaysia compare to US$, S$, ruppiah, RMB or HK$. 

Others badly quouted currency in M'sia include Thai Bath, Peso, Dong & more. Therefore it is wiseable to exchange to US$ 1st & thereafter to Won BUT provided someone can confirm that the exchange rate in Icheon airport is good..(Taipei airport echange rate is good for sure)

For eg..check the Today best money changer rate for won - 1000won=RM2.95 http://wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

Whereas, Bank Negara qouted rate as Today is 1000won to RM2.768 http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

You will be instantly lost RM0.185 for every ringgit you change in Malaysia. But be warned. I'm not sure whether Icheon money changer having good rate or not unless someone can find any money changr online rate to verify this if converting to US$ & thereafter to Won.
The best money changer rate that u got 1000won = rm2.95 is from where?

if the banks provide better rate cant we just exchange it in local banks?hehe

stimix
post Oct 28 2010, 08:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The link to wawasan money changer above-lah. Located at Basement of MV megamall.. However, thery are no longer the cheapest..You probably can get RM2.90 from those competing money changers in front of BB Plaza Starbucks
zstan
post Oct 29 2010, 01:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 27 2010, 05:01 PM)
This is the hotel I'm staying:
5-Nov : Incheon Winners Hotel, 891, Elwang-Dong, Jung-Gu, Incheon-Shi. Tel : + 82-(0)32-751-5322

6 & 7 Nov : Seoul Victoria Hotel, 42-8, Mia 4 – dong, Gangbuk-Gu, Seoul. Tel : +82 – (0)2-986-2000
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 28 2010, 12:25 PM)
are we going in the same tour? i ask them and they said can ask bus to send us late at night
hmmmm..different dates..my tour is the airasiago one..what about you?
shakiraa
post Nov 1 2010, 09:22 AM

hips dont lie
785 posts

hi all,

i'm planning my first trip to korea during the CNY holiday period.

i did some research but before i confirm and book my flight, i would like to seek more input if i miss out any good deal.

from what i have searched, below 2 seems to be the best deal:

airasia (to & flo): Rm1k + tax
cathay pacific (to & flo) : RM 2k + tax
thai airways (to & flo): rm 2.5k + tax

thanks. do let me know if there's any other airlines that provide cheaper flights.
stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 09:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Air Asia during promotion, you can even get RM260 to & fro inc tax haha..I got mine for RM300/pax all-in but if you excl the insurance & etc, probably only RM260.

Well not easy to get-lah...must fight wth others uding promotion period & booking normally >9 mths ahead of schedule..
Carmein
post Nov 1 2010, 09:54 AM

83 posts

Just got my sweater and a pair of gloves from UT yesterday. They are having sales now again. There were many people and most of them are going to Korea!
The cashmere jacket is priced at RM 999! Wow.
stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 09:57 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Still thinking whether to get long johns or not...since already having down jacket..UT selling 1 set at RM59 now..earlier, RM79.
aeiou228
post Nov 1 2010, 10:09 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Nov 1 2010, 09:22 AM)
hi all,

i'm planning my first trip to korea during the CNY holiday period.

i did some research but before i confirm and book my flight, i would like to seek more input if i miss out any good deal.

from what i have searched, below 2 seems to be the best deal:

airasia (to & flo): Rm1k + tax
cathay pacific (to & flo) : RM 2k + tax
thai airways (to & flo): rm 2.5k + tax

thanks. do let me know if there's any other airlines that provide cheaper flights.
http://www.avaairlines.co.th/
A bangkok based new airlines Asia Value Air is flying BKK-ICH. Booking commence in December. Now we can 2 in 1, visit bangkok first then Seoul.
stimix
post Nov 1 2010, 10:18 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

aeiou, when are you going? will definitely look for you for more tips after your trip.

Get use to your latest garmin maps dy?

Anyway..Too bad can't find any free updated S Korea Garmin maps & even Nokia ovimaps dun support S Korea..sigh.
aeiou228
post Nov 1 2010, 10:37 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 1 2010, 10:18 AM)
aeiou, when are you going? will definitely look for you for more tips after your trip.

Get use to your latest garmin maps dy?

Anyway..Too bad can't find any free updated S Korea Garmin maps & even Nokia ovimaps dun support S Korea..sigh.
18th. Nov. This thread has very little traveler's review on Korea and only rely on Hui_yin and Seng to give hands on Korean experiences. This was mainly due to the first batch of AirAsia-Lowyat.net Korea travelers still haven't fly off yet.
When is AA first flight to Korea ar ?

One piece of advice to you....book your room NOW !!! if you want cheap and good location.

As for Garmin, I DLoaded but haven't install yet.

125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:12 AM