Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1
Derwyn
Aug 10 2010, 01:22 AM
Hi, I also booked my flight to Korea this coming december via AirAisa But the problem is I underestimated the cost and booked 12 days...so anyone has an idea about how much do I need to bring for the 12 days?
I plan to backpack and travel in a budget, do u think RM2.5k is enough for 12 days?
Or better still anyone also wish to backpack there during early December? Maybe we can travel in a group.hehe
Derwyn
Aug 10 2010, 01:24 AM
Added on August 10, 2010, 1:41 am
I dun think I'm planning to go to Jeju, too expensive and heard that nothing fantastic over there. Hope 2.5k or max 3K should be enough la...should have thought of the cost and language barrier before buying the ticket.haha
I cant speak nor read Korean, this will be really challenging. haha
This post has been edited by Derwyn: Aug 10 2010, 01:42 AM
Derwyn
Aug 10 2010, 11:33 AM
Seng 007...Thank you very much!! I'm more relieved now cause keep hearing everyone saying Korea is super expensive.
ya i'd better learn some basic korean or else i'll surely get lost there...will refer to this thread for interesting and cheap places in Korea =)
Derwyn
Aug 11 2010, 10:07 PM
Actually why is Jeju so expensive??....what if i go there by ferry either from Busan or Mokpo? anyone tried that before?
The museums and other attractions at Jeju has very expensive admission fee? Thx =D
Derwyn
Aug 11 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 11 2010, 11:22 PM) Cheju is like flying from Kl to Batam island (~ 450km South of Seoul) if the cheapest non promo return flight ticket to Singapore from KL is ~ RM300+, so expecting the same going from Seou; to cheju lor..& Busan also not near from Seoul;. it's about 300km on the other side of peninsular. Ya I know the flight is expensive so im planning to go via ferry which will take hours from Makpo maybe (cause its nearest to Jeju)...the ferry from Makpo is bout rm80 one way but besides transportation, is the admission fee for places in Jeju expensive?
Derwyn
Aug 17 2010, 02:38 PM
Im also goin from early to mid december...probably will just borrow jacket from some frens who have them, dun feel like buying cos i dun think will be traveling very often to cold countries.hehe
Derwyn
Oct 1 2010, 10:02 PM
I'm traveling to Korea this december and was wondering instead of taking a ferry to Jeju Island, perhaps might consider to take a ferry to Fukuoka, Japan.
Has anyone did this before? Going to japan from busan...and anyone know how is the budget like?? Thanks =)
Derwyn
Oct 28 2010, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 28 2010, 06:26 PM) Reason why ppl converting 1st too US$ & thereafter to Won at Korea bcos Korean won is not well tradeble here in malaysia compare to US$, S$, ruppiah, RMB or HK$. Others badly quouted currency in M'sia include Thai Bath, Peso, Dong & more. Therefore it is wiseable to exchange to US$ 1st & thereafter to Won BUT provided someone can confirm that the exchange rate in Icheon airport is good..(Taipei airport echange rate is good for sure) For eg..check the Today best money changer rate for won - 1000won=RM2.95 http://wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.aspWhereas, Bank Negara qouted rate as Today is 1000won to RM2.768 http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.phpYou will be instantly lost RM0.185 for every ringgit you change in Malaysia. But be warned. I'm not sure whether Icheon money changer having good rate or not unless someone can find any money changr online rate to verify this if converting to US$ & thereafter to Won. The best money changer rate that u got 1000won = rm2.95 is from where? if the banks provide better rate cant we just exchange it in local banks?hehe
Derwyn
Nov 9 2010, 12:12 AM
Hi, I am traveling to Korea on early December. I plan to backpack and did not engage any tours...but I have not booked any rooms in motels or guesthouses in advance, might plan to search around and walk-in. Will there be any difficulties finding accommodation if i din book ahead?
Derwyn
Nov 9 2010, 10:10 PM
Anyone knows whether are there cheap jackets in seoul? Might want to bring 1 or 2 and buy a leather jacket over there.hehe
Derwyn
Nov 9 2010, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 9 2010, 10:17 PM) You really need a down jacket at this time. Others like fleeces or wool sweater..I think you need to wear additional layers + long John liao Ya thanks i will be bringing 1 down jacket will a few sweaters and hoodies...was planning to buy a down or normal jacket there if its cheap compared to Malaysia.
Derwyn
Nov 11 2010, 01:45 PM
Anyone knows is it possible to get Korean map for Garmin GPS?...will it be useful anyway? thanks This post has been edited by Derwyn: Nov 11 2010, 01:47 PM
Derwyn
Nov 11 2010, 11:13 PM
I've booked some accommodations and so far Daewoo Motel, Jongnowon and Namsan Guesthouse replied me, the cheapest being Jongnowon offering 38,000won for a double room...but now I'm still indecisive on which one to choose. Anyone knows other cheap n good guesthouses or motels in Seoul?hehe
Derwyn
Nov 14 2010, 11:19 PM
How long does it take if we use the train to get to seoul?...I think the airport limo takes about 70-90 minutes and since we can only leave the airport bout 10pm, it will be tough finding the accomodation in midnight in freezing temperatures.hehe
Derwyn
Nov 22 2010, 12:56 AM
My friend is in Korea now and she said she have problems surfing the net using IE with her laptop over there, it's like the IE won't function but skype and msn can be used, anyone faced such problems? =)
Derwyn
Nov 29 2010, 01:46 AM
Which one is more recommendable? Lotte World or Everland? And I realized that there are 2 types of tickets, one-day pass and admission ticket, one-day pass is cheaper than the latter. What is the difference between the 2 tickets?
And has anyone been to Yongpyong Resort without tour? I plan to spend 3 days at Gangwon-do and plan to go Yongpyong Resort, Namiseom, maybe hike up Seoraksan and take the cable car down if its possible, and maybe Sokcho if time permits. For those who have been there before, is my plan doable?...and will transport be a problem? Thanks
Derwyn
Nov 29 2010, 08:29 PM
[quote=sfwong1,Nov 29 2010, 02:12 PM] wah yr itinerary is almost as similiar as mine,yongpyong ski resort on my 2nd day,then nami island and mt sorak on the 3rd day
Are you going by yourself or taking a tour? Im taking the free shuttle to gangwon-do and I think I have to go nami island some other day cos if im not mistaken it's located between seoul and gangwon-do and I think its easier to go nami from seoul rather than from sokcho.
Derwyn
Nov 30 2010, 12:28 PM
Anyone brought a camera tripod to korea via airasia? Im departing tmr but dont know whether can I hand carry the tripod with bag into the cabin rather than check it in. If check-in overweight d.haha
Derwyn
Nov 30 2010, 10:35 PM
[quote=zstan,Nov 30 2010, 03:52 PM] i brought my gorillapod.  how heavy is your tripod? 2kg? can pass la don't worry. but depends on your hand luggage as well. Ya im bringing the 2kg one in a tripod bag...scared later hand carry in d the officer ask me to leave it or else cant board the plane.haha...hopefully can get in la. Im bringing a bagpack, camera bag and tripod for hand carry lo. This post has been edited by Derwyn: Nov 30 2010, 10:36 PM
Derwyn
Dec 1 2010, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 1 2010, 12:24 AM) camera bag usually ok one la..but i dunno where u gonna place ur tripod on the flight..do u have priority booking? if yes better go up the plane fast and chuck ur tripod in the cabin compartment first..the seats damn cramped.. maybe just put the tripod and backpack in the cabin, and the camera bag on my lap.