[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
ntw
Oct 15 2015, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(ealt @ Oct 13 2015, 05:05 PM) Hi guys, Need opinion. Between Filco keyboard and Ducky keyboard, which one you guys prefer? Currently interested on Ducky Shine 5 RGB.. my personal preference would be Ducky because they are using cherry stabilizers that's easier to change keycaps instead of costar stabilizers. QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Oct 13 2015, 06:16 PM) Lol yea. Great service from HeavyArm but I've learned to accept this fate and consider myself lucky because now the keyboard is even more rare. ;p I can't imagine how they missed one LED during production. never own one before but can't you DIY the LED on the Enter key?
-Hzu-
Oct 15 2015, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ Oct 15 2015, 12:54 AM) never own one before but can't you DIY the LED on the Enter key? Well, not really into soldering. I don't have the time and tools to do it either. Also, still looking for a sleeve or a carrying bag for a 60% keyboard. I bought a big stationary bag, but it's just about the same length of the keyboard. This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 15 2015, 01:58 AM
[davey.havok]
Oct 15 2015, 02:29 AM

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Oct 15 2015, 01:56 AM) Also, still looking for a sleeve or a carrying bag for a 60% keyboard. I bought a big stationary bag, but it's just about the same length of the keyboard. Try searching for "Grifiti Chiton", good product and not impossible to get.
Moogle Stiltzkin
Oct 15 2015, 11:29 AM
Affordable gaming mechanical keyboard roundup By Steven Walton on October 14, 2015 http://www.techspot.com/review/1069-afford...yboard-roundup/ *disclaimer: their missing some brands like filco, ducky..... i don't think you need to have lots of bling and macro to qualify as a gaming keyboard. just having mechanical switches should be enough. Even ducky has some multimedia shortcut capability as well, like disabling windows keys for example. but if you really want to nitpick, then yeah a mkb with macro may be more gamer oriented, if that is something you actually use. personally i don't This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM
skye
Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM
Something arrived today.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by skye: Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
Oct 15 2015, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(skye @ Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM) Something arrived today.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « those look amazing
justnits
Oct 15 2015, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(skye @ Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM) Something arrived today.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
-Hzu-
Oct 15 2015, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 15 2015, 11:29 AM) Affordable gaming mechanical keyboard roundup By Steven Walton on October 14, 2015 http://www.techspot.com/review/1069-afford...yboard-roundup/ *disclaimer: their missing some brands like filco, ducky..... i don't think you need to have lots of bling and macro to qualify as a gaming keyboard. just having mechanical switches should be enough. Even ducky has some multimedia shortcut capability as well, like disabling windows keys for example. but if you really want to nitpick, then yeah a mkb with macro may be more gamer oriented, if that is something you actually use. personally i don't  To them, macros and all that you use for gaming are what made them branded as "gaming keyboards." It's just a regular typing keyboard, if they don't have all those features, mechanical or not. Haha. QUOTE(skye @ Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM) Something arrived today.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Are those for sale or they are from your last group buy? Looking pretty nice though from here.
greedy5513
Oct 15 2015, 09:10 PM

guys, what decent MKB i can get for a 500 myr budget?
skye
Oct 15 2015, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 15 2015, 09:10 PM) guys, what decent MKB i can get for a 500 myr budget? Any keyboard that you like on first look.
greedy5513
Oct 16 2015, 12:24 AM

razer blackwidow chroma to compliment my mamba chroma  but that's a bit pricey
ntw
Oct 16 2015, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:24 AM) razer blackwidow chroma to compliment my mamba chroma  but that's a bit pricey what is your purpose? if you type a lot then you might want to get a proper typing keyboard like Filco/Ducky/Poker so that you can change out the stock keycaps when the legends start to fade, also better compatibility. if your main purpose of getting a mechanical keyboard is for the bling2 then you should get backlit keyboards like Ducky/Razer/Logitech/Corsair/E-element/Royal Kludge/etc...
-Hzu-
Oct 16 2015, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:24 AM) razer blackwidow chroma to compliment my mamba chroma  but that's a bit pricey I've tried the Blackwidow Chroma. Only a few months after purchase, the LED have started to die. Some no longer change their colours, some now have different colours than the rest. The switch in my opinion is just meh. It's a modified Kailh Blue switch, it's not that bad but for what you are paying for, definitely not worth the price. Perhaps it's just my own preference. I feel that it's inconsistent and way too light for my fingers. And the keycaps too, feels cheap and thin. Not to mention its terrible, improper layout too. But hey, whatever suits you. You have that RGB lighting, and macro keys. Sure, why not. P.s. Someone just questioned my choice to buy an external keyboard for my laptop. *sigh* Normalfags won't understand lol. This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 16 2015, 02:02 AM
greedy5513
Oct 16 2015, 08:10 AM

that's why i'm here, I'm here for help, will be using it for typing and gaming a lot.
ntw
Oct 16 2015, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 08:10 AM) that's why i'm here, I'm here for help, will be using it for typing and gaming a lot. if you want LED then get a Ducky (Zero Shine or Shine); avoid gaming brands
firstknight
Oct 16 2015, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Oct 16 2015, 01:59 AM) I've tried the Blackwidow Chroma. Only a few months after purchase, the LED have started to die. Some no longer change their colours, some now have different colours than the rest. The switch in my opinion is just meh. It's a modified Kailh Blue switch, it's not that bad but for what you are paying for, definitely not worth the price. Perhaps it's just my own preference. I feel that it's inconsistent and way too light for my fingers. And the keycaps too, feels cheap and thin. Not to mention its terrible, improper layout too. But hey, whatever suits you. You have that RGB lighting, and macro keys. Sure, why not. P.s. Someone just questioned my choice to buy an external keyboard for my laptop. *sigh* Normalfags won't understand lol. guess its luck... i havent got any issue on the LED till now... since Jan this year...
greedy5513
Oct 16 2015, 12:49 PM

Ducky give me the kind of cheap keyboard feel, any other brands I can check out? is there any special place in kl that has a lot of display mkb for me to play with ?
cloud8992
Oct 16 2015, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:49 PM) Ducky give me the kind of cheap keyboard feel, any other brands I can check out? is there any special place in kl that has a lot of display mkb for me to play with ? ducky give you cheap keyboard feeling ? are you serious ? if you said that i dont know what to say about razer FYI ducky higher end keyboard made in taiwan rather than china.
-Hzu-
Oct 16 2015, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 16 2015, 12:17 PM) guess its luck... i havent got any issue on the LED till now... since Jan this year... I think it's bought last year. To think that the LED would already have those problems when the keyboard wasn't even used for even half a day everyday and sometimes left for a couple months, I don't know anymore about Razer's quality. It's not mine, but it's expensive so I expected a lot better quality from Razer.
[davey.havok]
Oct 16 2015, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:49 PM) Ducky give me the kind of cheap keyboard feel Good to know I'm not the only person who thinks that (btw, I own almost 10 MKBs from 6 different brands). QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Oct 13 2015, 07:59 AM) Our MKB thread daily visitors reduced to less than 300 per day past weeks. During active last time, is more than 800 visits. This thread has too much anti-Razer sentiment. Yes, Razer has many shortcomings, but we should still be objective about it instead of automatically condemning every single MKB of theirs. If we can convert the Razer fanbois who come here, instead of telling them they are noobs and chasing them away, 800 visits per day shouldn't be an issue...