[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

-Hzu-
post Oct 11 2015, 01:11 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(sheva78 @ Oct 9 2015, 12:50 AM)
This shop is selling Ducky Mini quite cheap if anybody is looking for one.

https://www.facebook.com/techgear.my
That's really tempting, I'm looking for a 60% right now but that's a blue switch.

Any cheaper alternatives with blacks? Also just clean looking keyboard is preferred.
-Hzu-
post Oct 13 2015, 05:07 PM

944 posts

Received my KBP V60 Mini with MX Greens. What an amazing switch. My first experienced switch was blues, but they're a little too soft to me, but perhaps it's because it's just the "Razer Switch" thing, which AFAIK are modified Kailh's blue.

Back to the V60 Mini, my little brother was like, "What the hell? You're gonna miss a lot of your keypresses like this." But I really like it. Very comfortable to press on and the keyboard itself very sturdy, stable and well built.

The only sad thing about it is that one of the LED is missing and it makes everything looks weird with the LED turned on. So maybe I should find a 61-keys PBT keycaps set for this and stop using the LED forever. sad.gif But the legends are very important and I still haven't memorized the function layers yet so maybe sometime later.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 13 2015, 05:16 PM
-Hzu-
post Oct 13 2015, 06:16 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Oct 13 2015, 06:09 PM)
Just wondering, was it from HeavyArm SS15 and is the missing LED from the Enter key?
Lol yea. Great service from HeavyArm but I've learned to accept this fate and consider myself lucky because now the keyboard is even more rare. ;p I can't imagine how they missed one LED during production.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 13 2015, 06:17 PM
-Hzu-
post Oct 13 2015, 06:48 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Oct 13 2015, 06:32 PM)
That's good, I owned that particular board for a couple of days and couldn't live with it. Exchanged it for something else.
Wait, you mean you were the previous owner of this? I was given the option to change but I liked the switch, so I didn't. It's not like I had any other choice. Even the Poker II being sold are using the Blue switch.
-Hzu-
post Oct 14 2015, 12:24 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 7 2015, 05:27 PM)
http://pimpmykeyboard.com/

Anything from this website.
Man, those Eve and Quartz sets looks really nice but they have no 60% set. Price difference could be huge if they could make 60% sets for those.
-Hzu-
post Oct 14 2015, 04:24 PM

944 posts

Anyone knows where I can find very cheap wrist pad and sleeve for 60% locally?
-Hzu-
post Oct 15 2015, 01:56 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Oct 15 2015, 12:54 AM)
never own one before but can't you DIY the LED on the Enter key?
Well, not really into soldering. I don't have the time and tools to do it either.

Also, still looking for a sleeve or a carrying bag for a 60% keyboard. I bought a big stationary bag, but it's just about the same length of the keyboard.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 15 2015, 01:58 AM
-Hzu-
post Oct 15 2015, 01:13 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 15 2015, 11:29 AM)
Affordable gaming mechanical keyboard roundup
By Steven Walton on October 14, 2015
http://www.techspot.com/review/1069-afford...yboard-roundup/

*disclaimer:
their missing some brands like filco, ducky..... i don't think you need to have lots of bling and macro to qualify as a gaming keyboard. just having mechanical switches should be enough. Even ducky has some multimedia shortcut capability as well, like disabling windows keys for example.

but if you really want to nitpick, then yeah a mkb with macro may be more gamer oriented, if that is something you actually use. personally i don't  rolleyes.gif
To them, macros and all that you use for gaming are what made them branded as "gaming keyboards." It's just a regular typing keyboard, if they don't have all those features, mechanical or not. Haha.

QUOTE(skye @ Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM)
Something arrived today. tongue.gif

Are those for sale or they are from your last group buy? Looking pretty nice though from here.
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 01:59 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:24 AM)
razer blackwidow chroma to compliment my mamba chroma biggrin.gif but that's a bit pricey
I've tried the Blackwidow Chroma. Only a few months after purchase, the LED have started to die. Some no longer change their colours, some now have different colours than the rest. The switch in my opinion is just meh. It's a modified Kailh Blue switch, it's not that bad but for what you are paying for, definitely not worth the price. Perhaps it's just my own preference. I feel that it's inconsistent and way too light for my fingers. And the keycaps too, feels cheap and thin.

Not to mention its terrible, improper layout too. But hey, whatever suits you. You have that RGB lighting, and macro keys. Sure, why not.

P.s. Someone just questioned my choice to buy an external keyboard for my laptop. *sigh* Normalfags won't understand lol.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Oct 16 2015, 02:02 AM
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 02:40 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 16 2015, 12:17 PM)
guess its luck... i havent got any issue on the LED till now... since Jan this year...
I think it's bought last year. To think that the LED would already have those problems when the keyboard wasn't even used for even half a day everyday and sometimes left for a couple months, I don't know anymore about Razer's quality. It's not mine, but it's expensive so I expected a lot better quality from Razer.
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 03:30 PM

944 posts

If only we have stores dedicated to bringing in mechanical keyboards locally just like the audiophiles have them, our life would've been a whole lot easier.
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 04:18 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Oct 16 2015, 04:05 PM)
You are expecting too much, really.
Many bringing Topre in the past experienced great loss. Now you can see DAS and other great brand in here already but less demand.
At the end, these brands still will pull out from the local. sad.gif
Mechanical keyboards are small market.
We audiophiles used to had a very rough time with the audiophile market too. But it's growing bigger right now thanks to a lot of companies creating more affordable yet high-quality audio equipment.

It's probably because people think it doesn't worth the money to spend on a keyboard (or anything, really). You're probably going to have to spend at least RM300 for a quality mechanical keyboard, or at least that's how I see the current market. (I am still new to this lol.) Same thing with headphones, I had people saying the same thing over and over again, "What's the difference?", until they actually tried them for themselves.

Well, I think I'm going way out of topic now.
By the way, I saw the gamer set keycaps in your StoreUni website with pictures showing QWER keys, but actually doesn't have them. Pretty disappointed. sad.gif
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 04:59 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Oct 16 2015, 04:25 PM)
We (other veterans as well) import those Topre which cost more than RM 800 and above to thousands of ringgit.
Decent mkb all cost more than RM 400 and above, like import a China-edition of Filco cost more than RM 600.
Too much cost involved in there. You need pay >10k and above to stocks limited small amount of keyboards.
Well, at the end, hard to sell as well. Such low ROI, and if wrong step, then seller may need to sell organs to pay debt.

You meant this 1?
http://www.storeuni.com/products/doublesho...iant=5956200579
Yes, that's the one. I also really like the looks of these keycaps though.

http://www.qwerkeys.co.uk/shop/sets/qwer-1...gamer-pack-red/

Wonder if they have full set keycaps, but the company is (almost?) dead. sad.gif
-Hzu-
post Oct 16 2015, 06:13 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(skye @ Oct 16 2015, 05:07 PM)
Closed down already. smile.gif
QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ Oct 16 2015, 05:30 PM)
qwerkey already bankrupt long time ago btw.
Yes, sadly. Those are such good looking keycaps though.
-Hzu-
post Oct 17 2015, 10:41 AM

944 posts

https://www.crowdsupply.com/ugl/ultimate-hacking-keyboard
-Hzu-
post Oct 20 2015, 05:43 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Oct 20 2015, 04:57 PM)
Guys,

Version 2 of HHKB Type-S Typing Sound released. Probably the last version I released.

Total time spent on this was ~24hours for re-constructing and adding features. Visual and audio experience.

Supported by web browser. Please use your keyboard to test keypress instead of mouse click.  laugh.gif

I want to thank YongJK for the sound recorder (Zoom H1).

Enjoy~ link below
http://www.storeuni.com/pages/hhkb-type-s-typing-sound

quovadis123
Hmm, not working on Microsoft Edge on Windows 10? Or was it my internet too slow to load the sounds? lol
-Hzu-
post Oct 20 2015, 05:48 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Oct 20 2015, 05:45 PM)
Sound just 278kb only. The sound only registered if you press keys on your keyboard.
If touch screen or mouse click on the keys, there will be no sound (because I muted it).  smile.gif

I only tested on Safari and Google Chrome only.
Well, I tried pressing on my keyboard too.
Or the sound is too silent that I can't hear them through my laptop's speakers?

Oh well, I'll try it on Firefox instead.
-Hzu-
post Oct 22 2015, 11:55 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(skye @ Oct 22 2015, 11:50 PM)
Why Gateron switches is cheap?
Because they are meant to be. tongue.gif

I'm waiting for a few pieces of them to arrive. Also bought a Varmillo Switch Tester to play around, which have both Cherry MX and Gateron switches to try out.
But actually, the only reason I bought it is because it can be used as a number row too. lol
-Hzu-
post Oct 27 2015, 10:57 PM

944 posts

Hello, anyone knows where I can find some O-Rings locally?

I'm looking to put some on my KBP V60 with the Cherry MX Green switches. What's the thickest rings that can be used with the stock keycaps? 3.0mm?
-Hzu-
post Oct 29 2015, 12:46 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Oct 28 2015, 06:49 PM)
I got mine from eBay for ~RM7. Arrived in 9 days...
[attachmentid=5201672]
What thickness are those? Those might be better on the V60 since it's backlit.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:06 PM