125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

ableze_joepardy
post Dec 19 2007, 10:41 AM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 15 2007, 02:05 PM)
As for price history, some Fund manager websites are better than others in providing this sort of information.
can u help me wit this? i cant find any specific in cimb-wealthadvisors.com website.. im looking for DALI history price actually.. maybe any CIMB UT agent can help me?
howszat
post Dec 19 2007, 04:28 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Dec 19 2007, 10:41 AM)
can u help me wit this? i cant find any specific in cimb-wealthadvisors.com website.. im looking for DALI history price actually.. maybe any CIMB UT agent can help me?
DALI = SBB Dana Al-Ihsan. The historical prices are there but the website programmer is too lazy to provide a simple functionality for you to download a date-range, or provide a simple chart.

PM me with your email and I can provide 9-mths history in csv format which you can use in a spreadsheet. In fact, I can provide history for practically any fund. Maybe I should start selling it... smile.gif
bbmars
post Dec 20 2007, 12:58 AM

545 posts

I am not sure whether bonds are available in MY. Bonds are what people look for during recession. Howver, they are low risk and as such, the returns aren't fantastics.... so do not expect too much.

Without diverification, buying UT in a single country dones't really offer you very much as most will return a some what similar profit. If your choices are opened, then it make more sense... I know because, I used to have fund that returns >100% for 1 year. My colleague who is still holding on to his UT since the last recession had >300% gain in India to date.. Of course, he had also bought into other countries UT available in SG.... I can only recall his profit gain date sometime in Sept, his investment $80K, profit = $60+K with UT bought over various period of time.... which includes some bought in the last few months.. The profit is an average of all... majority of his UT bought in hte pasdt few years are in ~200% range profit.. exceptional, like India as I mentioned earlier
Medufsaid
post Dec 20 2007, 05:35 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Dec 20 2007, 12:58 AM)
My colleague who is still holding on to his UT since the last recession had >300% gain in India to date..

Erm, which recession you are talking about? Bcos if i remember SG's recession is different from ours. 2001?

kingkong81
post Dec 20 2007, 12:46 PM

1,351 posts

Good point...this shows that in Unit Trust investment we need not to be over panic when economy is facing downturn, because we are all looking at long-term investment here.

Another example is Public Ittikal Fund which launched in 1997 when KLCI market crashed from 1000+ to only about 300+. Those who still holds the fund till today, the return now is at 250%+
bbmars
post Dec 20 2007, 11:30 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 20 2007, 05:35 AM)
Erm, which recession you are talking about? Bcos if i remember SG's recession is different from ours. 2001?
Yes, that was the year I started buying UT after having lost 40+k in 6 months on stock without knowing anything... jsut rush in and thought I can make something.. to realise.. BIG mistake without doing my homework and knowing anything about stock market...

However, my UT was break even and soon I sold all before serious damage. But My colleague hold on to his.. till now.

Added on December 20, 2007, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 20 2007, 12:46 PM)
Good point...this shows that in Unit Trust investment we need not to be over panic when economy is facing downturn, because we are all looking at long-term investment here.

Another example is Public Ittikal Fund which launched in 1997 when KLCI market crashed from 1000+ to only about 300+. Those who still holds the fund till today, the return now is at 250%+
be it long term. the climate to invest in UT has totally changed. In SG, some analysts are even suggesting maximising gain by selling instead of holding out like my colleague did. I sold mine when the recession started and bought back just in time for the bull run.. while I was making, he was recovering ground.. that's the different. Sure enough, I too suffered loses from my selling but bearly minimum compared to his as I mentioned, break even, some lost some make.. Then I bought at lower prices with cheaper UT when Mr Bull was about to start, my gain is much more than his instead. While I switch in and out to optimise gain figuring out which was best options, he stick with his and soon saw my profit souring while his still in recovering ground or some even stagnant.

Soon he follow suits and started making profit fron new purchases of Fast moving UT. Bought more of the same existing UT to average down prices to increase his stake..... Sometimes, it pays to be cut losses and switch UT to maximise the gain which I did experiemented... In fact, my risk level is rather high, so he kind of use me as the front runner before deciding because he claimed he have had enough loosing $$$ in stock and not willing another heart attck in loosing more $$$... His UT buying was also because I talked him out of it... that's why he had invested... to date, no regrets as he said.. better returns than the banks.

However, if you average up the % of profit over the years, his %/yr gain isn't really fantastics, but given the bank rate is that low.. his more than happy because his Gain actually BEATS bank rate hands down

This post has been edited by bbmars: Dec 20 2007, 11:48 PM
athlon 11
post Dec 21 2007, 02:57 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Dec 14 2007, 12:10 AM)
Hey come on la...wat is 5-6% service charge compared to >10% return p.a? Do u wanna look juz @ the black dot or the whole white paper. If u really wanna kutuk, why not blast @ the insurance agent better? How many of u know their commission? 4% max from UT agent compared to 30% commission. Who should be regulated more?  smile.gif
'Know how to calculate'

ok,i admit i borrow this phrase from Dreamer tongue.gif

say two fund,both give you 10% return,one service charge 6.5%,another one 3%,which one is better?

if you look the real profit gain,osk's klci traker fund actualy bit a lot fund that have higher rate on lipper and morningstar,why?because traker fund only charge 1% entry and 1% exit fees(note,this fund do not have switch facility)

this baru call 'think out of the box'

Added on December 22, 2007, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(bafukie @ Dec 8 2007, 11:02 AM)
i normally wont encourage ppl to do investment and insurance together. Seperate it, buy pure life insurance + investment in unit trust. That way, you get the best of 'both world'. Besides, if u know how much is the commission for insurance agent for the first 6 years, u will be disgusted like me.  biggrin.gif
somehow after calculation,i found out that for those below 30 years old,it is actualy better to buy a investlink insurance rather than term life,due to investlink are very cheap when you are young,even you add the high front charge to it,investlink for those young people are still much cheaper than buy term life,but do remember to terminate the investlink before reach 55 years old or at lease minimise the coverage if you attach medicard to your plan,after 55 years old,investlink will be redigulous expensive,better replace with term life.

This post has been edited by athlon 11: Dec 22 2007, 01:22 PM
athlon 11
post Dec 22 2007, 01:44 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Dec 7 2007, 02:55 AM)
Even Public Mutual will start to trim the service charge from 6.5% to 5.5%. Not much, but it is an improvement.
This is sure a good news!as we all know,public mutual is the big brother in mutual market,its action to reduce the service charge will sure be follow by other player later.

i personaly don't mind the initial service charge at 5 to 6.5%,as the agent need to come to our place to explain the fund and help us fill up the form,but the following top up process is rather passive and automatic,i see no reason the top up service charge can not be lesser than 4%.

acording to newspaper,the epf actualy only count less than 20% from the money invest to mutual fund,but starting next year,they will begin to enjoy 50% lower service charge than people invest by cash,because they have kwsp to help them voice up,i few that,people who like us,invest with cash,need to form a association to fight for our rights too.

This post has been edited by athlon 11: Dec 22 2007, 01:46 PM
kingkong81
post Dec 22 2007, 02:30 PM

1,351 posts

It has been confirmed that using KWSP/EPF investment, the service charge will only be capped at 3%. Public Mutual oso only charge 3.0% for EPF investment only. biggrin.gif

All the new service charge rate will be effective starting 1st Jan 2008

Merry Xmas laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Dec 22 2007, 02:31 PM
howszat
post Dec 22 2007, 08:26 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Dec 20 2007, 11:30 PM)
be it long term. the climate to invest in UT has totally changed.  In SG, some analysts are even suggesting maximising gain by selling instead of holding out like my colleague did. 
There are several ways of looking at it.

If you buy/sell instead of hold, then you need to get the timing right. In hindsight, getting timing right is usually easier said than done. It takes guts to buy when the market is going down. It takes discipline to sell when the market is going up.

On the other hand, doing at least some buy/sell (or switching) is likely to be better than just holding and doing absolutely nothing.

Added on December 22, 2007, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Dec 22 2007, 01:44 PM)
This is sure a good news!as we all know,public mutual is the big brother in mutual market,its action to reduce the service charge will sure be follow by other player later.

i personaly don't mind the initial service charge at 5 to 6.5%,as the agent need to come to our place to explain the fund and help us fill up the form,but the following top up process is rather passive and automatic,i see no reason the top up service charge can not be lesser than 4%.
Actually, many other Fund's service charge are already lower than PM. But hopefully, this will also make them reduce further.

This post has been edited by howszat: Dec 22 2007, 08:37 PM
bbmars
post Dec 23 2007, 12:21 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 22 2007, 08:26 PM)
There are several ways of looking at it.

If you buy/sell instead of hold, then you need to get the timing right. In hindsight, getting timing right is usually easier said than done. It takes guts to buy when the market is going down. It takes discipline to sell when the market is going up.

On the other hand, doing at least some buy/sell (or switching) is likely to be better than just holding and doing absolutely nothing.
I am doing both in fact. However, if you know that the market is entering the bear stage, you can simply sell and wait for opportunities to buy back cheaper and with more units. You have nothing to loose. Hold could be one option, but from experience, bear run will not just last for weeks, it could take months up to few years to recover. Besides, no harm selling because, ultimately, if you are still interested in investing, why not buy while you think its chances of rising is higher than while its doing down? That option is definitely much better than holding. You maximise your gain when the BULL begin to charge.

However, if you are not interested to bother about it and decide to leave it there.. well.. than maybe you should stayed engaged and invested. My colleague after seeing what I had done, could only add on to his portfolio than sell his existing holding to leverage on the bull run....

You have nothing to loose, if you are longer term investor, like me, I do test water at times before plunging more $$ in. I can simply buy more over a regulr period of time to average down at cheaper price. This is what the SRS scheme is doing. not sure you have that in MY.

Both strategies can be used no matter what. You have nothing to loose all to gain. However, like many who just simply plunge in with almost all they can invest, I think its not wise. Even Fundmanger don't advice you to do that... of course, most agents would say weclome... because they want you commision. I would rather do my own UT investment online than go to agents... ... let them earn your money like my other colleagues..... ha..ha.. make me sound so stupid when I told him what I did and he didn't believe, yet after 1 year, he bought from some one ... some agent.,. ha..ha.. paying 5% sales charge while I only pay 1.5% for the same funds. what a joke

Its need to do your homework before jumping in...
dreamer101
post Dec 23 2007, 05:49 AM

15,855 posts

All,

http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/quar...301D1E3E7E8D%7D

Google "Lazy Portfolio Farrell" to learn the concept of lazy portfolio aka Asset Allocation Model in simplistic way.

1) If you have a good asset allocation model that you are comfortable with. You could have open an USA online brokerage A/C and buy ETF that invest all over the world across multiple asset classes. The fee is only tradiing cost and annual fee is less than 1%.

2) If you follow asset allocation model and rebalance annually, you will always sell high and buy low.

3) If you can invest on all 4,000 largest public listed companies around the world with low fee (low fee) ( VTI + VEU), so why try so hard??

This is what I call investing. Something that you can do and go to sleep for 5 years without checking.

I appreciate all the money that you are giving me since I own PBB stock. But, there are better way out there. Even for KLSE, you could have buy an ETF that invest on largest 30 companies in KLSE with very low cost.

Dreamer
howszat
post Dec 23 2007, 01:54 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Dec 23 2007, 05:49 AM)
1)  If you have a good asset allocation model that you are comfortable with.  You could have open an USA online brokerage A/C and buy ETF that invest all over the world across multiple asset classes.  The fee is only tradiing cost and annual fee is less than 1%.
Can you recommend some names for USA online brokers? I have been looking at a few brokers websites, but of course you cannot believe everything you read on the web. smile.gif

This post has been edited by howszat: Dec 23 2007, 02:00 PM
dreamer101
post Dec 23 2007, 07:43 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Dec 23 2007, 01:54 PM)
Can you recommend some names for USA online brokers? I have been looking at a few brokers websites, but of course you cannot believe everything you read on the web. smile.gif
etrade. I think they have a Singapore office too.

Dreamer
adrianocy
post Dec 24 2007, 09:21 AM

907 posts

how can i become a public mutual fund agent..i knew hafta go thru CUTE...but where can i take it? is it easy to pass? thanks
leekk8
post Dec 24 2007, 11:08 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Dec 24 2007, 09:21 AM)
how can i become a public mutual fund agent..i knew hafta go thru CUTE...but where can i take it? is it easy to pass? thanks
You can look for any Public Mutual agent who can recruit downline. He/she can arrange all the agent registration, class and exam for you.

CUTE is not difficult, a quite simple exam.
gedebe
post Dec 26 2007, 09:49 PM

1,648 posts

What about the Rebound FRNID a floating rate negotiable instrument of deposit fund (FRNID) by CIMB, refer edgedaily.com?
Gurantee won't loose wan, really attactive!
kingkong81
post Dec 26 2007, 10:19 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Dec 26 2007, 09:49 PM)
What about the Rebound FRNID a floating rate negotiable instrument of deposit fund (FRNID) by CIMB, refer edgedaily.com?
Gurantee won't loose wan, really attactive!
Nothing is guaranteed my friend... smile.gif
rollinpark
post Dec 27 2007, 12:15 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 26 2007, 10:19 PM)
Saw on website min investment is 100k for frnid. smile.gif
cuebiz
post Dec 27 2007, 09:25 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 26 2007, 10:19 PM)
Capital is guarantee if held to maturity but the returns are not

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:41 AM