9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

BlitzAce
post Jul 26 2016, 05:26 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Uhhhh anyway. Anyone has a set of 17"s to let go? Or know some one..
BlitzAce
post Jul 27 2016, 04:24 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

I remember a Sales Consultant buddy of mine said he went to Pekan like uh, early this year? And saw a bunch of already-assembled facelift Jettas. Why they haven't been launched yet is anyone's guess..
BlitzAce
post Jul 28 2016, 05:18 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Yea at its price point, its hard to beat the drive in a VW. It's keeping it running well is the current issue here.
BlitzAce
post Jul 29 2016, 11:10 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

While current mk7 1.4s came in 2 diff tune (140/150 hp), I'm pretty sure all mk6 TSIs in Malaysia are 160s. Correct me if I'm wrong tho. Some one with better tech knowledge could tell from the engine code, iinm.
BlitzAce
post Jul 30 2016, 09:49 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Mmm perhaps you can go to the dealer it's sold from and request its service records/repairs etc?
BlitzAce
post Jul 31 2016, 03:23 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Yea. One thing in particular I can remember is that Polo Sedan/1.6 2nd service shot up from $800+ originally to $1.2k+-. Ugh.
BlitzAce
post Aug 1 2016, 09:24 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Jul 31 2016, 11:53 PM)
hi guys, paid deposit now waiting for loan approval. Where can i get new HU for vw ? any ideas ?

And any recommended shop for rims ? thinking of going 17 inch
You can either go for Delphi's RCD510 with basic features but still touchscreen or Bosch's RCD510 with more feature supports but more pricey, or all out for RNS510 with navigation and all that. Or, Blaupunkt/Kenwood HUs that are made for VWs. I won't comment on the China Android HUs, though.

I'd like to know other's suggestions on the 17"s also. 18"s (and 19"s!) are plentiful but no so for 17"s.
BlitzAce
post Aug 12 2016, 12:29 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Currently just the Golf R in Malaysia comes with Discover Pro. Even the new Highline 1.4comes with the 6.5" MIB2. Probably gonna change in the respec GTI though.

And you can try look for Quattro Motorsport in Facebook, they do Discover Pro retrofits, although are costly.
BlitzAce
post Aug 12 2016, 07:51 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Lel they offered 2k like what, early of August?
BlitzAce
post Aug 14 2016, 09:36 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 13 2016, 10:01 PM)
I think what he means is that new cars get different units... like they replaced the problematic TSI engines with timing chain with updated versions of those engines that have a timing belt when they went from the Mk6 Golf to the Mk7.

Found this site today...
http://k-electronic-shop.de/

They sell all sorts of "upgrade kits" for VW and Audi models, using original parts they claim. You can use Google translate, or if that's not helping you can ask me to translate. I suppose you could get them to ship to Malaysia, the big issue with be finding someone that can install these things.

Parts they sell are for example the rear view camera that is behind the VW logo of the Golf Mk7, or the adaptive cruise control. They also sell the camera assembly for lane assist, traffic sign recognition and dynamic light assist, though I imagine you'd need a new rear view mirror (plus the mounting), and they say you need a new windscreen too. Plus for dynamic light assist also the corresponding HID headlights. So it is a significant surgery. But maybe people here are interested smile.gif It's interesting what is possible... I might consider the rear view camera, parts aren't too expensive, not sure about workmanship.
I usually take a peek at Kufatec for these kind of things. But being the stuffs I want are pricey, uh I'm still holding I guess.

QUOTE(stasio @ Aug 14 2016, 06:20 AM)
As per teaser "New Jetta coming soon",
pic displayed new Jetta with "Preston" 18 inch rims.
Will be interested to see which models (as Vento or Golf?) will be offered to our market.
I doubt it'll come in such a high spec? Though I'm hoping they'll emulate Singapore's lineup with more variants and not forcing people to just pick one even if they can afford it ( and feel the burn a year or so after when a higher spec with cheaper price rolls out)

*took a peek at new batches of the Polo 1.6, apparently now it comes with center armrests with rear A/C, and some kind of Composition Media sibling.. Composition Color? headunit. VGM never mentions this, iinm. Stuff can even support Mirrorlink. damn.

This post has been edited by BlitzAce: Aug 14 2016, 11:56 AM
BlitzAce
post Aug 14 2016, 02:40 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

QUOTE(SetaNoriyasu @ Aug 14 2016, 02:12 PM)
Taobao has it for less than 400ringgit shipped. Just got my hands on one, but I don't have a pry tool to remove the panel wihtout damaging it  bangwall.gif
Oh, what are you gonna install it on? Does it come with the fascia cover too?
BlitzAce
post Aug 15 2016, 11:49 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Yea if you can afford it w/out any problems why not. Add up the reverse camera, too.
BlitzAce
post Aug 15 2016, 12:23 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Yea mk7s has that CP thing making retrofits a bit hard than mk6s, so I guess that's why. Not un-defeatable, but, uh, harder. While the prev gen RCD is (mostly) plug and play it's not the case with the new MIB headunits. Plus I don't think Carplay/Android Auto is officially available here anyway for the time being..? But I've played a bit on the MIBII which is installed on the limited edition Beetle Club and oh boy, am I hooked. Faster, bigger/higher res screen. And ofc the Mirrorlink support.

Honestly my current retrofit wishlist fetches around what, $30k mark, lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by BlitzAce: Aug 15 2016, 12:26 PM
BlitzAce
post Aug 15 2016, 12:52 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

QUOTE(defnose @ Aug 15 2016, 12:29 PM)
I 100% agree with you. It is just your wants and not actually something you really need it.
If my parents are ministers in the cabinet I'd do it tongue.gif But really, the 5.8" screen is naffff. Looks lacking compared to the rest of the car. If it's a GTI, more so.
BlitzAce
post Aug 17 2016, 10:45 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Looking at the sneek peek seems like VGM is giving out decent specs with the B8 unlike the B7. The question is how much for all that? If all that gadgets come with a much higher price like the new Mondeo it won't sell either way. But I guess high specs+cheap price isn't really viable so...

Went to poke around with the 330G headunit in the new batch of Polo. Sharper, altho smaller screen than in the Composition Media, with no option to upload radio station logos, nor does the album tag in my sd card mp3s were displayed. No proximity sensor, too. There's a Mirrorlink button in the Phone screen, plugged in my phone with a usb cable ( yes, I brought everything), says my phone ain't supported. Oh well no harm in trying.. other than my friend covering for this guy poking around in a display unit, with no intention of buying sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BlitzAce: Aug 17 2016, 01:05 PM
BlitzAce
post Aug 18 2016, 05:03 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Well.. I heard it hovers around 1.2k nowadays for 2nd/30k service for the 1.6, differs a bit from SC to SC. Should be change of oil/air/pollen filters, 4l of engine oil and 4 x spark plugs, as well as labor. What did your invoice has in it?
BlitzAce
post Aug 19 2016, 02:09 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

My buddy says they facelift Jetta spec has been released, somewhat, with 3 variants like the Vento. The mid spec is tentatively priced lower than the outgoing model, with the highest spec having xenons with drls, kessy, electric seats, 17" wheels, u name it. I see 110kw for all three models so I'm guessing its using the current Golf 1.4 motor with 150ho/250nm, now. Hopefully it'll get EEV certified and uh, lower prices. Nothing concrete, though.
BlitzAce
post Aug 19 2016, 02:40 PM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

It's not VGM anymore, its VPCM. Must be something to do with the Porsche Holdings take over.
BlitzAce
post Aug 20 2016, 11:19 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Seems like the facelift Jetta will be using the 330G, too.
BlitzAce
post Aug 25 2016, 10:55 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Well I guess since they're still churning out variants of the Golf I suppose it's just facelift for now, huh. I don't really recall Golfs ever had any facelift except for the slightly different bumper mk2.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0339sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:24 PM