125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V15 (new era pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

adilz
post Jun 17 2016, 12:52 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 17 2016, 12:38 PM)
Rich fags everywhere laugh.gif doh.gif
Trust me, this dude will have no qualms throwing out the GTX 1080s the moment GTX 1080 Ti comes out. Then throw that out if Titan comes out. Damn, I'm still hunting for a bargain LGA2011 X79 Motherboard.
kianweic
post Jun 17 2016, 12:57 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 17 2016, 12:42 PM)
Still awaiting TIME fibre in kampung middle of jungle laugh.gif laugh.gif
Hmmm, I will probably continue staying in the city because I would still want to have the convenience of the facilities in the city.

QUOTE(adilz @ Jun 17 2016, 12:52 PM)
Trust me, this dude will have no qualms throwing out the GTX 1080s the moment GTX 1080 Ti comes out. Then throw that out if Titan comes out. Damn, I'm still hunting for a bargain LGA2011 X79 Motherboard.
We should help him by buying his GTX1080s at a super cheap price (when he decides to throw them away).

CPURanger
post Jun 17 2016, 01:17 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 17 2016, 12:40 PM)
Hey unker gamer laugh.gif

Me started in 97 with duke3d rclxms.gif

That time pc was not even pentium 1 yet with 3dfx gc brows.gif gold mang icon_idea.gif
Unker stories, heh heh. I started, let me see, in the 80s. Playing centipede (Atari 2600) in Sungai Wang Plaza. There was a demo event. Went to KL with friends just to play games in the arcade. Later era of home computer, ZX spectrum, Apple II and etc. Much later PC (286, VGA, floppy) until today i7 + Nvidia card. Yes, I can continue to play until very old.

Time passes very fast. Before you know it, you are already unker or aunties, ha ha ! biggrin.gif

So for those who laugh at unkers, you will be unker very soon. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jun 17 2016, 01:17 PM
richard912
post Jun 17 2016, 01:37 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Jun 17 2016, 01:17 PM)
Unker stories, heh heh. I started, let me see, in the 80s. Playing centipede (Atari 2600) in Sungai Wang Plaza. There was a demo event. Went to KL with friends just to play games in the arcade. Later era of home computer, ZX spectrum, Apple II and etc. Much later PC (286, VGA, floppy) until today i7 + Nvidia card. Yes, I can continue to play until very old.

Time passes very fast. Before you know it, you are already unker or aunties, ha ha ! biggrin.gif

So for those who laugh at unkers, you will be unker very soon. tongue.gif
Good to know there are other unkers in the midst. My gaming started with the likes of the Phillips "TV game" in black and white that looks like the pix in the spoiler.

Gaming on home based PC started with a Sinclair ZX Spectrum, loading stuff off from a cassette tape. Then, brother Steve (Jobs), god bless his soul, introduced the first true PC in the form of the Apple II for the masses. Of course, I only managed to save up for an Apple clone back in the day, which served its purpose. After the Apple, it was the IBM PC XT (clone la of course) with a 8088 CPU. Mind you, these were all running stuff off 5.25" floppy disks then! Since then, 286, 386, 486, P1, P3 (I skipped P2) and so on..... a walk down memory lane, literally.

EDIT : Forgot tis is a GPU related thread. So, back then, graphics cards were EGA, VGA...I can't even remember the brand names anymore but prior to the red and green teams' emergence in the market, there was VooDoo (3dfx)!

This post has been edited by richard912: Jun 17 2016, 01:41 PM
goldfries
post Jun 17 2016, 01:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

biggrin.gif Talking about who is more unker ah?

Well my very first actual 3D card was a Canopus 3Dfx Voodoo, I bought it because it has 6MB VRAM instead of 4MB as on other Voodoo cards.

Bought it from money earned doing part time job while studying.
wKkaY
post Jun 17 2016, 01:51 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

My first NV card was back in 1998 with the RIVA 128... with 4MB RAM laugh.gif

It was so immature that it didn't even have a OpenGL driver at the time. The first GL driver was a wrapper that converted GL calls to DirectX and it looked horrible.
kianweic
post Jun 17 2016, 01:51 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

My history list of GPUs used:

1. Nvidia Geforce TNT 16MB
2. Nvidia Geforce 2 GT 32MB
3. ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (cooler replaced, Artic Cooling blower style)
4. Nvidia Geforce 4600TI (cooler replaced, Zalman flower, I think)
5. Nvidia Geforce 8800GT (cooler replaced, Xigmatek Battle Axe, I think)
6. Palit Nvidia Geforce GTX 285 (cooler replaced, Artic Cooling Accelerro Xtreme series)
7. MSI Nvidia Geforce GTX 580 (cooler replaced, Artic Cooling Accelerro Xtreme series)
8. Asus Strix Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 (cooler replaced, Artic Cooling Accelerro Xtreme series)
richard912
post Jun 17 2016, 02:01 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

I remember now, Tseng Lab and S3 were among some of the earlier GFX card players in the market. And I forgot to add CGA graphics too
Lurker
post Jun 17 2016, 02:14 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Jun 17 2016, 11:57 AM)
Idealtech

Holy CRAP!
Easy way to increase fb reach...
goldfries
post Jun 17 2016, 02:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jun 17 2016, 02:01 PM)
I remember now, Tseng Lab and S3 were among some of the earlier GFX card players in the market. And I forgot to add CGA graphics too
S3 Virge - upgradable RAM some more.
mensa
post Jun 17 2016, 02:42 PM

487 posts

missed my creative geforce 2 GTS sad.gif

This post has been edited by mensa: Jun 17 2016, 02:42 PM
richard912
post Jun 17 2016, 02:44 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2016, 02:39 PM)
S3 Virge - upgradable RAM some more.
Indeed! And let's not forget too that back in the day, the PC was only generating beeps and boops unless you invested in a sound card ala Adlip or Creative sound cards. I remember I once had a Creative AWE32
kianweic
post Jun 17 2016, 02:47 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jun 17 2016, 02:44 PM)
Indeed! And let's not forget too that back in the day, the PC was only generating beeps and boops unless you invested in a sound card ala Adlip or Creative sound cards. I remember I once had a Creative AWE32
I have never seen an Adlib sound card before.

I also had a few soundcards, list of my soundcard history (from memory):

1. Soundblaster 16bit
2. Soundblaster Live
3. Soundblaster Audigy 1
4. Soundblaster Audigy 2
5. Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme
6. Asus Xonar D2X

horns
post Jun 17 2016, 02:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

reading previous posts really brought back a lot of bitter-sweet memories in the old days. s3 virge i remember that haha! it's so nice to look back once in a while biggrin.gif

by the way, for asus strix series, for some reasons they don't have mid plate that covers the vram part (afaik based on 980). (msi, evga, etc mostly have it to help dissipate heats from those chips)

TSskylinelover
post Jun 17 2016, 03:05 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,241 posts

Wah unkers rejoice laugh.gif rclxms.gif lets have TT time and i become unker juniors here laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
PzGman
post Jun 17 2016, 03:18 PM

Private Pilot
828 posts

To think that a Voodoo 2 SLI setup was once considered the most elite and expensive option back in the day.

Lol
mashimarow
post Jun 17 2016, 04:02 PM

1,742 posts

wow, everyone so nostalgia

Too long can't really remember all those cards name already

My first card should be s3-virge, then every 3-5 years change new card, Geforce2 MX, Geforce FX5200, 6600, 8500GT, ,GT520,GT640,750Ti rolleyes.gif

my first pc should be 386SX with 2MB RAM laugh.gif
I don't change PC much, skip to P2 then swap to AMD Sempron, Athlon, finally back to i3

This post has been edited by mashimarow: Jun 17 2016, 04:03 PM
adilz
post Jun 17 2016, 04:14 PM

267 posts

Saw this today. cry.gif

mashimarow
post Jun 17 2016, 04:22 PM

1,742 posts

if you keep chasing the trend, then every year a generation of GPU is dead