130 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

greyshadow
post May 10 2007, 12:59 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

I'm planning to go there this June together with my wifey
Now are deciding where to stay, thinking of either Strawberry Park or Equatorial
Anyone stayed there before please give some comment a bit, in terms of the rooms/facilities, cleanliness and their service quality. Btw we prefer somewhere which is quite and peaceful.
stimix
post May 10 2007, 02:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 10 2007, 12:59 PM)
I'm planning to go there this June together with my wifey
Now are deciding where to stay, thinking of either Strawberry Park or Equatorial
Anyone stayed there before please give some comment a bit, in terms of the rooms/facilities, cleanliness and their service quality.  Btw we prefer somewhere which is quite and peaceful.
Both resorts are equally good. And are the only resorts having heated swimming pools in CH.

Equatorial is a bit noisy as more Tourist & Singaporean like this Hotel very much. Strawberry is a littlebit old but still keeps its charm and very quiet. Room size...I will prefer Strawbery as it single suite having huge bathroom wth 2 doors somemore...U can even study inside the batroom as what my daughter did! Equatorial room is basic as what u seen on a 3-4 stars hotel ie. open the door, u see bathroom after batroom normal room-lah unless u take their suite/apt rooms.

Outside Equatorial, there are row of purposely built stalls/shops & also an entertainment centre However the stall/shops expecially the entertainment centre are falling apart..No one maintaining the place and even the Toilets are not for Human!

Straberry park located at the summit of a mountain in Tanah Rata..Very nice scenery up there.. And Hotel Equatorial situated also on the summit of the highest habitated hotels in whole CH in Kea farm.

My conclusion go for Strawberry if u like really quiet & clean environment

driftmeister
post May 10 2007, 05:03 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

century pines for me tongue.gif
the atmosphere is good
greyshadow
post May 11 2007, 04:20 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Just booked Strawberry park for 2 night using wotif.com

Really disappointed with the local service... really cannot harap and not professional at all.

First I call directly to both hotel, Equatorial and Strawberry, the reservation agent are unfriendly, and cold. I was told all of the superior or studio rooms are fully booked already, and I ask about the room rates, and both quoted me more than RM250++. I ask for some discount in a very friendly way and both refuse to budge an inch.
So I tried to email them directly, Equatorial are still fully booked, but Strawberry now have rooms available, and the quoted price are still RM250++

Then I try my luck again on a few local websites like Cuti.com.my, Equatorial are still fully booked, and guess what? Strawberry still got rooms, but the online rate are only slightly cheaper than the rates from hotel directly.

Now I really fed up, and try wotif.com, and woo hoo!! I got meself RM170 nett per night with breakfast at Strawberry Park Resort. At a rate almost 40% cheaper than their so called "special price offered to Malaysian only"!!

ironic isn't it? I book a local hotel using oversea website as a foreigner is a lot more cheaper than I book locally as a Malaysian. doh.gif

"Syabas" and "well done" to the Cuti-cuti Malaysia campaign, now you encourage more people to visit oversea as it's cheaper than visiting your own country!!

Blackbird
post May 11 2007, 08:05 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 11 2007, 04:20 PM)
Just booked Strawberry park for 2 night using wotif.com

Really disappointed with the local service... really cannot harap and not professional at all.

First I call directly to both hotel, Equatorial and Strawberry, the reservation agent are unfriendly, and cold.  I was told all of the superior or studio rooms are fully booked already, and I ask about the room rates, and both quoted me more than RM250++.  I ask for some discount in a very friendly way and both refuse to budge an inch.
So I tried to email them directly, Equatorial are still fully booked, but Strawberry now have rooms available, and the quoted price are still RM250++

Then I try my luck again on a few local websites like Cuti.com.my, Equatorial are still fully booked, and guess what? Strawberry still got rooms, but the online rate are only slightly cheaper than the rates from hotel directly.

Now I really fed up, and try wotif.com, and woo hoo!! I got meself RM170 nett per night with breakfast at Strawberry Park Resort.  At a rate almost 40% cheaper than their so called "special price offered to Malaysian only"!!

ironic isn't it? I book a local hotel using oversea website as a foreigner is a lot more cheaper than I book locally as a Malaysian. doh.gif

"Syabas" and "well done" to the Cuti-cuti Malaysia campaign, now you encourage more people to visit oversea as it's cheaper than visiting your own country!!
Hahaha.. and our tourism minister wants to know why so many Malaysian go overseas for holiday...!
yhtan
post May 11 2007, 10:54 PM

8,650 posts

is the old road(tapah) still as worst as before?
i'm considering going there by mid June
driftmeister
post May 11 2007, 11:38 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

yeah
still the same
probably due to most ppl use the spg pulai route
the condition doesn't seem to be better ( just as bad as it used to be)
stimix
post May 12 2007, 09:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 11 2007, 10:54 PM)
is the old road(tapah) still as worst as before?
i'm considering going there by mid June
No matter how worst it is....it's still the nearest road to goto CH from KL. I hv numerous time compare the traveling time using Spg Pulai & Tapah & it end up almost similar time to reach Tanah Rata...reason? Ppl start timing the time from Spg Pulai but they forgotten u need to travel another ~70KM from Tapah to Spg Pulai which will take another 1/2hr and another 1hr to CH from Spg Pulai whereas, Tapah to CH also 1.5hr.... hmm.gif furthermore u save on toll & can stop at numerous orang asli huts for durian/ wild orchid, wild ginger flower & etc....
yhtan
post May 12 2007, 09:53 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 12 2007, 09:19 AM)
No matter how worst it is....it's still the nearest road to goto CH from KL. I hv numerous time compare the traveling time using Spg Pulai & Tapah & it end up almost similar time to reach Tanah Rata...reason? Ppl start timing the time from Spg Pulai but they forgotten u need to travel another ~70KM from Tapah to Spg Pulai which will take another 1/2hr and another 1hr to CH from Spg Pulai whereas, Tapah to CH also 1.5hr.... hmm.gif  furthermore u save on toll & can stop at numerous orang asli huts for durian/ wild orchid, wild ginger flower & etc....
thanks for the info
but what i care is the passenger in the car
i scare they cannot stand the condition of the road
stimix
post May 13 2007, 11:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 12 2007, 09:53 PM)
thanks for the info
but what i care is the passenger in the car
i scare they cannot stand the condition of the road
Drive slow-lah then the bck ppl will not really feel it. biggrin.gif ...Another factor u need to consider whether to use Spg Pulai or Tapah is the location of ur hotel..If ur hotel is Equatorial..it is advisaeable to use Spg Pulai as this Hotel is closest to the Spg Pulai route. But if hotel located at Tanah rata, use Tapah bcos if u use spg Pulai, u might caught in 2 major jam i.e one at Kea farm market & Another at Brinchang town b4 reaching Tanah Rata
yewkhuay
post May 14 2007, 02:08 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

drive safe............
ukiya
post May 14 2007, 03:38 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

by bus u will experience Roller Coaster Ride ...
by car u will experience snake ride...

both also will make u vormit or travel sick when in cameron... best way is to sleep for passenger or listen to soft music... driver... drive slow n safe !
SihamZhai
post May 14 2007, 04:08 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

I miss thier strawberry la.....can tapau for me....lol...
Nice place to go overall....better than genting, as genting is pack like sardines
panasonic88
post May 14 2007, 04:11 PM

37,028 posts

I have been thru all the pages here before making my trip to Cameron Highlands, last 2 weeks, I got some pretty good tips and info on where to stay, what to see, where to see, what to munchie, etc!

Would like to share a couple of pictures which I took during my trip there biggrin.gif

There we go!

Windy road, lorries / trucks
Have to have good skill to overtake them
especially when they are moving too slow
get the cool experience of drifting along the mountain laugh.gif

This is the hotel :
user posted image user posted image

I stayed in Equotorial Hotel, 2D1N, RM 288++
Nice environment, chilled (especially night time)
but is a bit costly for its price, because
the hotel room looks simple (a bit old due to long history), and for the price I paid, there was no breakfast bundled sweat.gif

The good is you would get to see the tea plantation view from your hotel's window, like this :

panasonic88
post May 14 2007, 04:12 PM

37,028 posts

Due to laziness, we had our lunch at the hotel's restaurant
The lunch tasted good, with a greeny view, but, is a bit pricey rolleyes.gif

Don't forget the pasar malam (only on Fri/Sat)
it is located at Brinchang
which is about 5 min's drive from Equotorial, it is near! biggrin.gif

A lot of food, from fried mushroom to fried crabby, fried chicken, prawns (RM5 only thumbup.gif ) fried ice cream with many flavours (strawberries thumbup.gif ) pancakes, plants like cactus, roses (3 packs for RM10 thumbup.gif ), and never forget, the fresh packed strawberries!! 2 packets for RM15 thumbup.gif wub.gif

I sapu 6 packets in one go, as a souveniors biggrin.gif

Don't miss out the well known self plucking strawberries farm? Yayy, how nice if I have that in my garden tongue.gif

Please have some laugh.gif wub.gif

Overall is a nice trip (except the windy & curvy road) thumbup.gif
joce
post May 15 2007, 12:01 PM

34 posts

can anyone confirm if there r any nightmarkets on sunday/monday? smile.gif
panasonic88
post May 15 2007, 12:17 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(joce @ May 15 2007, 12:01 PM)
can anyone confirm if there r any nightmarkets on sunday/monday?  smile.gif
Night markets @ Brinchang, available on Friday & Saturday, only.
joce
post May 16 2007, 11:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 15 2007, 12:17 PM)
Night markets @ Brinchang, available on Friday & Saturday, only.
i mean besides the one in brinchang, are there any other nightmarkets around? say tanah rata or sth.. on sunday/monday.. blink.gif

Added on May 17, 2007, 9:54 amheard tht the nightmarket in brinchang opens every night on school holidays. anyone from cameron can confirm this? many thanks.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joce: May 17 2007, 09:54 AM
driftmeister
post May 17 2007, 10:56 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(joce @ May 16 2007, 11:48 PM)
i mean besides the one in brinchang, are there any other nightmarkets around? say tanah rata or sth.. on sunday/monday..  blink.gif

Added on May 17, 2007, 9:54 amheard tht the nightmarket in brinchang opens every night on school holidays. anyone from cameron can confirm this? many thanks..  biggrin.gif
for school holidays, yes
mostly they will open as the tourist will be more than usual
but dun expect they will be as many stalls as friday/saturdays one
good luck
dragonteoh
post May 17 2007, 11:55 PM

711 posts

Wah haha i going to CH this saturday, any nice hotel or apartment introduce? we going by 2 couple , 1 car hehee from KL start journey but we plan to use Simpang Pulai exit, coz new road plus safety hehee

Just for now is headact on accomodation ... Strawberry Park offer Fresno (2 Room 1 Bath room) for RM250 + 60 Surchage so will be RM310 ...

Any body have suggestion on clean room nice hotel / apartment with below RM300 ?

130 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:34 PM