125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V4!, Happy Chinese New Year 2007 ! Rock on !

Everdying
post Mar 5 2007, 02:10 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

no, upgrade will never stop.
must reach the holy grail.

a '57 LP sunburst in mint condition.
blacktrix
post Mar 5 2007, 02:13 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

My holy Grail would be a mint condition Gibson Moderne.....

And then I'll gut it, whack in EMGs and a Floyd Rose.....

I can hear the Gibson collector's hearts breaking collectively now!
led_zep_freak
post Mar 5 2007, 03:49 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 5 2007, 10:46 AM)
back in the day, i can play any nirvana/blink182/green day song just using a kapok. only when go jamming i could get my hands on an electric guitar. talking about someone who did not have money to spend on gears.
OMG you suck, I played Pantera's Walk on my acoustic. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Seriously though, if someone wants to play 3-chord-songs on a mint Gibson, then let them be. tongue.gif I wouldn't trade my skills for a mint Gibson.

Then again... maybe I would. biggrin.gif

*Sorry for the random-ness*
blacktrix
post Mar 5 2007, 04:14 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Speaking of which........ here's an interesting topic.....
What's the first EVER song you learned on the guitar, and thought to you buy whom?

Mine was Unchained Melody by my guitar teacher......
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 5 2007, 04:18 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 5 2007, 04:14 PM)
Speaking of which........ here's an interesting topic.....
What's the first EVER song you learned on the guitar, and thought to you buy whom?
Song 2 by Blur, taught by valkyrie1232... notworthy.gif

of course, that was way back in those pre-millenium days before valkyrie started playing whole-tone scales, tapping, sweep arpeggios etc! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Mar 5 2007, 04:22 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 5 2007, 04:28 PM

5,231 posts

My first song was taught by my then guitar teacher, Cranberries' Zombies. The first full song I ever learnt though was Richard Marx's Now & Forever. biggrin.gif
BlueSilver
post Mar 5 2007, 04:41 PM

1,142 posts

My first song was also Richard Marx's Now & forever by Damien, my friend. smile.gif
echobrainproject
post Mar 5 2007, 05:15 PM

4,765 posts

my first song was My Redeemer Lives by Hillsongs. had to play in church in a week. lol. first non church song was probably Time of Your Life by Green Day.
joeboto
post Mar 5 2007, 05:18 PM

insert title
913 posts

me probably numb by linkin park. tongue.gif
self edited so that no drop chord at that n00bish times. blush.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 5 2007, 06:30 PM

2,650 posts

me? nothing else matters by metallica, self taught(took lessons only last september)
soulfly
post Mar 5 2007, 06:32 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

can't remember mine ... i think it's Nirvana's "About A Girl"

then started learning by myself thru tabs, and able to finish nothing else matters (with the exceptional of solo parts), and most metallica 'black album' stuffs.

never had any musical class (except for playing recorder, tambourine, snare, those small instruments back in primary school...lol)

Added on March 5, 2007, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(AlienProbe @ Mar 5 2007, 01:33 PM)
soulfly: i dont think that ur in ur sarcasm mode coz u tend to explain what u said in the next sentence...how ironic~
so... u're saying SX is bad? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 5 2007, 06:36 PM
ntc3freak
post Mar 5 2007, 07:05 PM

2,347 posts

hahah very nice argument u guys are having laugh.gif

@ soulfly,izzit wrong to play 3 chord songs???they're the first songs i learned,and i still play them.i dunno really,yes,it is easy,but i enjoy playing and listening to those songs still.but,i do respect ur opinion smile.gif

no disrespect to SX,but since it's 4 my bday,i want something better than that,if it was my own money,i'd go for SX.

btw,my first song was 'Adam's Song' by blink182.......learned with some hel from my dad laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ntc3freak: Mar 5 2007, 07:06 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 5 2007, 07:37 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 5 2007, 04:41 PM)
My first song was also Richard Marx's Now & forever by Damien, my friend. smile.gif
Haha, high 5... I still remember my guitar teacher playing that song while singing. Such a beautiful song. biggrin.gif
Lefty
post Mar 5 2007, 07:49 PM

Designer Piece
750 posts

I just start playing guitar a 2months. what is the advise to be a good guitarist? BTW, i prefer accoustic guitar not electric guitar. and i practise straming more.

all those taiko- taiko here can give me some tips? . the first song that i play is Nobody's home by Avril Lavigne. hehe. now work on to Dido-White Flag.

but i have 1 difficulty when i sing along my straming orientation tend to get wrong. how to overcome this ? thx alot for the help.

This post has been edited by Lefty: Mar 5 2007, 08:01 PM
ReeveX.com
post Mar 5 2007, 08:00 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

i still remember my 1st song was Beyond's Bu Zai You Yu...taught by my bro when i was abt 8-9 yrs old...
jep
post Mar 5 2007, 08:04 PM

1,182 posts

Planned to buy electric guitar la friends...any recommendation for budget +- 1.5K ?... cannot tahan already when my bos bought the Gibson SG 61' Reissue...whopping 7K...huhuhu..just starting back to play guitar..
Everdying
post Mar 5 2007, 08:14 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Mar 5 2007, 08:04 PM)
Planned to buy electric guitar la friends...any recommendation for budget +- 1.5K ?... cannot tahan already when my bos bought the Gibson SG 61' Reissue...whopping 7K...huhuhu..just starting back to play guitar..
go SG buy the epiphone G-400 brand new SGD600 tongue.gif
epiphone's answer to the '61 RI.

soulfly
post Mar 5 2007, 08:15 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(Lefty @ Mar 5 2007, 07:49 PM)
I just start playing guitar a 2months. what is the advise to be a good guitarist? BTW, i prefer accoustic guitar not electric guitar. and i practise straming more. 

all those taiko- taiko here can give me some tips? . the first song that i play is  Nobody's home by Avril Lavigne. hehe.  now work on to Dido-White Flag. 

but i have 1 difficulty when i sing along my straming orientation tend to get wrong. how to overcome this ? thx alot for the help.
that's because you use random downstroke/upstroke combination I guess. practice makes perfect. the best way is to relax yourself, and start by singing to yourself at first. make sure you sing and strum according to the tempo.

after that you can concentrate on pitching and stuffs laugh.gif

p/s: can't imagine Dave Mustaine singing while riffing the song "Holy Wars" rclxub.gif
valkyrie1232
post Mar 5 2007, 08:20 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Mar 5 2007, 04:18 PM)
Song 2 by Blur, taught by valkyrie1232... notworthy.gif

of course, that was way back in those pre-millenium days before valkyrie started playing whole-tone scales, tapping, sweep arpeggios etc!  thumbup.gif
First song I learned was Song 2 too and taught by Harmony Central tabs, in which I showed RustReaver whom I now notworthy.gif

If it wasn't for him I wouldn't know what are sweep arpeggios!
RustReaver, two can play at this game... whistling.gif
skydancer
post Mar 5 2007, 08:55 PM

308 posts

1st song, nirvana - come as you are, taught from a friend

125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:19 AM