125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

xuzen
post Jul 10 2015, 11:19 AM

4,436 posts

For those with some technical knowledge may it this steady your nerves. For those without, just read it with an open mind.

My China exposure has moved to -1.24 z score. This means that there will be more than 68% chance that it will bounce back to the mean.

What this means? Top up lar!

Xuzen

T231H
post Jul 10 2015, 12:04 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yeah016 @ Jul 10 2015, 10:40 AM)
Annual can share with me how to calculate annual return over using dollar/ringgit cross averaging method?
in page # 1 post# 1
there are 2 files that can be downloaded for use
1 is much easier to use but the other one is much nicer to view and analyse
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 12:18 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2015, 11:19 AM)
For those with some technical knowledge may it this steady your nerves. For those without, just read it with an open mind.

My China exposure has moved to -1.24 z score. This means that there will be more than 68% chance that it will bounce back to the mean.

Xuzen
top up already lo 2 days ago.
T231H
post Jul 10 2015, 12:26 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jul 8 2015, 07:51 PM)
Look like I sold most of my China fund units on the right timing last week , IRR still at 25-27% . Today add back some by doing intra swift.
QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jul 10 2015, 12:18 PM)
top up already lo 2 days ago.
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
seems like you timed it perfectly....
sold most off just before the corrections and top up at just at the bottom...
notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 10 2015, 12:27 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

IRR dropped below 6% for the first time in 2015...5.8% now sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 10 2015, 12:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2015, 11:19 AM)

Xuzen
>69% chance better lar, 1 SD tongue.gif
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 01:01 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 10 2015, 12:26 PM)
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
seems like you timed it perfectly....
sold most off just before the corrections and top up at just at the bottom...
notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
i experience it many times d up and down in the past 3 years. can up 10% then become negative. really need stronger heart to hold on china region. You can convince yourself aim for long term la when market turn to downtrend.

This post has been edited by yck1987: Jul 10 2015, 01:05 PM
T231H
post Jul 10 2015, 01:04 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jul 10 2015, 01:01 PM)
i experience it many times d up and down in the past 2 years. can up 10% then become negative. really need stronger heart to hold on china region. You can convince yourself aim for long term la when market turn to downtrend.
if can convince oneself for long term...why do one sell it off just before the correction?
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 10 2015, 01:04 PM

16,872 posts

Good read on China & HK:
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...na%20shares.PDF
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 01:07 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 10 2015, 01:04 PM)
if can convince oneself for long term...why do one sell it off just before the correction?
my first china single country fund is OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund in 2012 and then swift to Fidelity(FSM Sg)
xuzen
post Jul 10 2015, 01:19 PM

4,436 posts

Amboi! Semua merah-merah belaka, macam auntie visit!

Nowhere to run...no where to hide.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 10 2015, 01:25 PM

xuzen
post Jul 10 2015, 01:37 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 10 2015, 12:40 PM)
>69% chance better lar, 1 SD tongue.gif
It is has gone above -1 SD liao... reversion to mean is highly likely.

Think of the mean or average as an imaginary elastic line. When you pull it too either side, it will want to go back to its original shape. The further you pull it from its resting line (aka the mean value) the more it wants to go back to the mean.

So in financial modelling, we use Standard Deviation as a marker from how far it has moved from the mean. Right now, the China fund has breached -1 SD and based on statistical modelling, it wants to revert to the mean (in technical term this is called regression to the mean). In financial modelling stats; -1 SD... it has a probability of 66.67% to move towards the mean. If it has gone to -2 SD.. then the probability becomes 95.00%. At - 3 SD... the probability becomes 99.99%. -3SD is the max liao. There is no -3.01 SD or whatever.

However do note that in Black Swan Event all calculations are off as are all the modelling will be null and void.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 10 2015, 01:47 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 10 2015, 02:17 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2015, 01:37 PM)
It is has gone above -1 SD liao... reversion to mean is highly likely.

Think of the mean or average as an imaginary elastic line. When you pull it too either side, it will want to go back to its original shape. The further you pull it from its resting line (aka the mean value) the more it wants to go back to the mean.

So in financial modelling, we use Standard Deviation as a marker from how far it has moved from the mean. Right now, the China fund has breached -1 SD and based on statistical modelling, it wants to revert to the mean (in technical term this is called regression to the mean). In financial modelling stats; -1 SD... it has a probability of 66.67% to move towards the mean. If it has gone to -2 SD.. then the probability becomes 95.00%. At - 3 SD... the probability becomes 99.99%. -3SD is the max liao. There is no -3.01 SD or whatever.

However do note that in Black Swan Event all calculations are off as are all the modelling will be null and void.

Xuzen
Yar though keep in mind it went +2 to 3 SD up since er.. a year+/- back
thus this -1D(a bit more) is no biggie gua tongue.gif
ie the stretching of the rubber band UP, snapped back down a bit only comparatively (to its crazy up stretch)
thus, still havent reverted to mean yet (the fall)
thus, probability of it snapping back up after a fall of -1SD(++) is not as per norm
thus, ie dont all in / sai lang yet but may be peck a bit a bit

Just being the devil's advocate here to see 2 sides of the coin yar notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 10 2015, 02:19 PM
nexona88
post Jul 10 2015, 04:08 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Default risk climbs for Malaysia as Najib probe outweighs Fitch
Five-year credit-default swaps protecting sovereign notes climbed as much as 12 basis points in July to 148 after the Wall Street Journal reported last week that $700 million of a state investment company’s funds may have ended up in Najib’s bank accounts, a claim he is disputing. The contracts could rise toward 200, a level last seen in 2011, according to Macquarie Bank Ltd.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/d...ch?type=Markets
SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2015, 04:11 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 10 2015, 12:27 PM)
IRR dropped below 6% for the first time in 2015...5.8% now sweat.gif
just made a quick glance
seems like KGF, EI Hsaq, Hsao, HSc all + 1~5% Nav...i think today if go home check the Xirr...Better result
Vanguard 2015
post Jul 10 2015, 05:04 PM

3,541 posts

All markets green today? Mega sales over or dead cat bounce? Place your bet. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jul 10 2015, 05:07 PM
nexona88
post Jul 10 2015, 05:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

dead cat bounce tongue.gif
eleven dragon
post Jul 10 2015, 05:16 PM

239 posts

Why until now (5pm)...some of fund price still showing 08.07.2015?

eg Kenanga Growth fund, Kenanga AP total return fund, CIMB Ponzi 2...

I thought it has to update to 09.07.2015 one right? so slow?
Vanguard 2015
post Jul 10 2015, 05:18 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 10 2015, 05:13 PM)
dead cat bounce  tongue.gif
Don't curse me-lah. I am still topping up my China linked funds. tongue.gif

But I have no wrap account. So I have to do the poor man's version of the wrap account to avoid paying the sales charges. The transactions are still "hanging" in cyberspace.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jul 10 2015, 05:18 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 10 2015, 05:18 PM

16,872 posts

IRR back tio 6.0% tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0213sec    1.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:28 AM