Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

yck1987
post Jul 7 2015, 11:54 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(adamdacutie @ Jul 7 2015, 11:53 AM)
wink.gif true
no one do top-up or cash-out? rolleyes.gif
yck1987
post Jul 8 2015, 07:51 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 8 2015, 06:34 PM)
My Manulife China is now down -10.41%. My other China linked funds are down an average -7.77% to -3.5%.

It is not inconceivable that my funds could go down to -20% or more. I am planning to buy more during this market correction. Mega sales have started.

As Peter Lynch said,

“Now no one seems to know when they are gonna happen. At least if they know about ‘em, they’re not telling anybody about ‘em. I don’t remember anybody predicting the market right more than once, and they predict a lot. So they’re gonna happen. If you’re in the market, you have to know there’s going to be declines. And they’re going to happen every couple of years you’re going to get a 10 percent correction. That’s a euphemism for losing a lot of money rapidly. That’s what a “correction” is called. And a bear market is 20-25-30 percent decline.

They’re gonna happen. When they’re gonna start, no one knows. If you’re not ready for that, you shouldn’t be in the stock market. I mean the stomach is the key organ here. It’s not the brain. Do you have the stomach for these kinds of declines? And what’s your timing like? Is your horizon one year? Is your horizon ten years or 20 years?

What the market’s going to do in one or two years, you don’t know. Time is on your side in the stock market.”

Look like I sold most of my China fund units on the right timing last week , IRR still at 25-27% . Today add back some by doing intra swift.
yck1987
post Jul 9 2015, 11:04 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 9 2015, 09:27 AM)
Yeehah. Fasten your seat belt. By the end of this month, with the triple "disaster" of IMDB, China and Grexit, it is quite likely that a lot of our portfolio will turn RED and the ROI will turn negative.

Everything from Ponzi 1, Ponzi 2,  China funds to TA European Equity Fund will fall. In summary, it is the end of the world aka Armageddon.

As investors, I assume we have 4 options:-

(1)  Sell off everything and swear off unit trust forever. See other forums where "investors" have ranted that unit trusts are useless and "cheating" money.

(2) Stay put. Hibernate in a cave somewhere and wait for the storm to pass. It may take a few months or a few years for your unit trusts to recover if you made a one lump sum investment buying at the peak of the market.

(3) For new potential investors in FSM, wait for the "perfect" moment to buy the unit trusts at the lowest price and sell at the "highest" price later (i.e. market timing). Good luck and let me know if you succeed in doing this. I wish to call you sifu.

(4) Practice DCA and VCA for the next months or few years until thing stabilise. Then take profit or do portfolio rebalancing depending on when the markets rebound.
for me I will do method (1), (3) & (4) together, if you had foresee that the more 'disaster' is coming, why not you sell some of your profit funds to at least lock-in some of your profit or keep as spare ammo and wait for the best moment aka 'disaster' time to make a lump sum in your comfortable range of your risk level. For the method 4, I do it since 2 years back to enjoy no upfront charges ma. I'm with FSM SG(The subscription date is the 8th of every month), only I will adjust the total amount with RSP based on market uptrend or down trend of the months. That's only what I do, maybe different from you guys.
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 09:43 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 10 2015, 09:02 AM)
Well, almost all European stock markets rallied yesterday in tandem with rises in America. Australian and NZ markets are showing a slight rise this morning. Question is, will we see another 'biggest single day hike' in China today like what happened yesterday? Surely looks like it. But then again its a Friday and stock markets don't usually do well on Fridays. So lets see.  whistling.gif
HSI open at 1.12% higher
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 10:08 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 10 2015, 09:48 AM)
Keep it coming !

Yesterday's rise was good but not good enough to reclaim the cumulative one week's losses.
ok, as u wish. close to 3% now. biggrin.gif KLCI also up today.
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 12:18 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2015, 11:19 AM)
For those with some technical knowledge may it this steady your nerves. For those without, just read it with an open mind.

My China exposure has moved to -1.24 z score. This means that there will be more than 68% chance that it will bounce back to the mean.

What this means? Top up lar!

Xuzen
top up already lo 2 days ago.
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 01:01 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 10 2015, 12:26 PM)
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
seems like you timed it perfectly....
sold most off just before the corrections and top up at just at the bottom...
notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
i experience it many times d up and down in the past 3 years. can up 10% then become negative. really need stronger heart to hold on china region. You can convince yourself aim for long term la when market turn to downtrend.

This post has been edited by yck1987: Jul 10 2015, 01:05 PM
yck1987
post Jul 10 2015, 01:07 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 10 2015, 01:04 PM)
if can convince oneself for long term...why do one sell it off just before the correction?
my first china single country fund is OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund in 2012 and then swift to Fidelity(FSM Sg)
yck1987
post Jul 14 2015, 03:59 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 14 2015, 03:49 PM)
How much negative ROI have u guys experienced?

I experienced -25% whistling.gif

i also experienced that % with RHB-OSK G&G fund rolleyes.gif
yck1987
post Jul 14 2015, 04:00 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(adamdacutie @ Jul 14 2015, 03:58 PM)
I guess during the sell offs we should do top ups of 10 % (1000-1000-1000-1000........) each day and enjoy the entire ride , and smile after everything is over
did you do that? how do u know its rock bottom already ha? unsure.gif
yck1987
post Jul 17 2015, 11:22 AM

808 posts

Our 2015 Recommended Funds List – Now Available! FSM SG

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...--10564?lang=en

my fund hit 5 out of 9 in the list. smile.gif

yck1987
post Aug 17 2015, 03:33 PM

808 posts

anyone top up today? KLCI still going downwards
yck1987
post Aug 17 2015, 04:03 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 17 2015, 03:54 PM)
just switched abt my China funds to Bolehland.
RHB Em Opp fund and HSO
I also tempted to add more into KGF, but recently cash tight. doh.gif
yck1987
post Aug 17 2015, 07:08 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 17 2015, 05:23 PM)
For the long run, I still believe that an asset allocation of 80/20 basis, i.e. 80% equity and 20% bond funds, is ideal for most investors. This is especially so when the markets are volatile.

The following funds seems to fit nicely into any portfolio of RM100K or less:-

(1) Kenanga Growth Fund or Eastspring Small Cap;
(2) CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic;
(3) CIMB Global Titans;
(4) TA European Equity Fund; and
(5) Libra Asnita Bond Fund.

Note : I cannot comment much on the current US funds or the Asian small cap funds available in FSM which should also form part of the core portfolio.

For a portfolio of RM100K or more, I think investors should diversify some money into specialist funds as part of the supplementary portfolio. Some funds which comes to my mind are:-

(1) Affin Japan Growth Fund;
(2) CIMB China Fund;
(3) TA Global Technology Fund.

Note :  Unfortunately FSM do not appear to have any global REIT fund.

What say you?
I'm doing 70:30 equ vs bond for quite some time already , working quite well to me

This post has been edited by yck1987: Aug 17 2015, 07:08 PM
yck1987
post Aug 17 2015, 08:48 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 17 2015, 07:26 PM)
Aladdin fund also hit new high @ 1.4187
thanks to forex gain ? wink.gif
yck1987
post Aug 19 2015, 03:20 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 19 2015, 02:24 PM)
May or May not happens in FSM MY this month...
if you want...check out FSM SG....
Celebrate SG50 – 0% Sales Charge On ALL Funds!
In the whole month of August, celebrate SG50 with us as you enjoy 0% sales charge on ALL funds!
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...LL-Funds--10650
I just make some major restructure to utilise the 0% sales charge. brows.gif

sold GEM fund, sold MODI sexy fund, switch sell Asian Bond fund, switch sell America fund.
add in Asia ex-jap fund, add in single country SG fund, switch buy asia pacific ex-jap fund, switch buy short term bond, switch buy China fund.

yck1987
post Aug 22 2015, 09:55 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 22 2015, 04:49 PM)
Unker Looi went through the initial phase of my UT investing journey during the past 2 years...the dunno-what-funds-to-choose phase, naturally he'd screw up tongue.gif

Give him some time wink.gif
my initial phase of choosing fund from FSM also refer from u notworthy.gif , I clearly remember that's amdynamic brought me here to this forum.
yck1987
post Aug 24 2015, 09:58 AM

808 posts

top up today??
yck1987
post Aug 24 2015, 10:14 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2015, 10:11 AM)
Guys, don't forget the forex factor...

Foreign markets may be down...

But Ringgit down EVEN WORSE...

Later if foreign markets recover, BUT Ringgit recover to what "those people" proclaim to be "fair value" of RM3.7X:USD1...your gains could be wiped out whistling.gif
what about your bursa ? any action yet?
yck1987
post Aug 25 2015, 08:51 PM

808 posts

After today update IRR stand at 4.67% for FSM MY.
But biggest single day lost in FSM SG portfolio cry.gif cry.gif

lucky got forex gain to cover icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by yck1987: Aug 25 2015, 09:00 PM

0.0498sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:00 PM